Rightarmfast Posted May 29 Posted May 29 (edited) 16 hours ago, rkt.india said: How fortunate we are then that this era of cricket has a prodigy of its own. We who grew up not knowing what it felt like to watch Sachin Tendulkar the boy take on men twice his age, facing a ball has the ability to kill. All we have is some grainy footage from the late '80s. That interview with Tom Alter is gold dust. For Bradman, we have literature. Viv might not even make this category. We, the spoilt lot, are getting to watch Vaibhav Sooryavanshi in the streaming age, with riveting episodes dropping two-three times a week. We won't need to tell stories of him to the next generation, we could just show them the faces of Pat Cummins or Mitchell Starc after having tried everything against this boy less than half their age without success. There is no breather, no sighter, just six-hitting of the highest quality that has given him, at 15, arguably the greatest season anyone has ever had in the IPL: 680 (most runs), 242.85 (highest strike rate), 65 (most sixes in any season). https://www.espncricinfo.com/story/how-lucky-are-we-to-live-in-the-age-of-sooryavanshi-1538560 I was a very very young boy when Sachin had made his debut in Pakistan. So, I did watch him. Although, I started understanding real cricket, and my love for fast bowling from mid 90's onwards. But this Suryavanshi kid is at a different level. Waise bolna to nahi chahta hoo, lekin kya karoon.... Bihari hai, what did you expect? Edited May 29 by Rightarmfast
goose Posted May 29 Posted May 29 ridiciulous t20 talent, the best we've seen. but i see trouble ahead.
vvvslaxman Posted May 29 Posted May 29 6 hours ago, diga said: IPL pitches should not be a benchmark for the averages and s/r... nevertheless it doesn't take away anything from Suryavanshis talent and I want him to win us a 3 test series against Saffers There are times kahmikaze approach works on those wickets. Travis head has shown a couple of times. Once against SA on a green seaming wicket. Made a quick fire 90 where everyone was struggling to put bat to ball. THen that Perth test where 200 was expected to be a tough chase as they got rolled out for 124 in the first innings. Even pant has played a couple of good knocks on such wicketsTo get the best out of him surround him with incredibly solid batsmen.
diga Posted May 29 Posted May 29 8 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: There are times kahmikaze approach works on those wickets. Travis head has shown a couple of times. Once against SA on a green seaming wicket. Made a quick fire 90 where everyone was struggling to put bat to ball. THen that Perth test where 200 was expected to be a tough chase as they got rolled out for 124 in the first innings. Even pant has played a couple of good knocks on such wicketsTo get the best out of him surround him with incredibly solid batsmen. Yes...I remember the twin centuries by Philip Hughes that paid off against a peak Steyn.
nevada Posted May 29 Posted May 29 16 minutes ago, maniac said: @velu Who is the bhishma pitamah in the bottom pic? maniac and BacktoCricaddict 2
Ultimate_Game Posted May 29 Posted May 29 7 hours ago, Nikhil_cric said: Huh? I'm actually making the argument that he can play on seaming wickets. Not you. The guy "PitchTalks" whom you quoted in your post who is claiming that Sooryavanshi is a home-track bully and will struggle outside of India and home conditions. I agree with you about Sooryavanshi but was providing a different take against the original take. Nikhil_cric 1
BacktoCricaddict Posted May 29 Posted May 29 36 minutes ago, nevada said: Who is the bhishma pitamah in the bottom pic? Yem Yess Sandz and nevada 2
BacktoCricaddict Posted May 29 Posted May 29 36 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said: claiming that Sooryavanshi is a home-track bully and will struggle outside of India and home conditions On what basis? Does he provide any technical analysis or is it just more speculation designed to just put someone down? If it does happen that VS doesn't score in his first 3 SENA innings, people like this can always go: "See I told you ..."
Ultimate_Game Posted May 29 Posted May 29 2 minutes ago, BacktoCricaddict said: On what basis? Does he provide any technical analysis or is it just more speculation designed to just put someone down? If it does happen that VS doesn't score in his first 3 SENA innings, people like this can always go: "See I told you ..." No basis. Check out the post shaed by Nikhil_cric. Made a generic statement which applies to every batter to use it against Sooryavanshi. Show me one batter who does well on a green pitch? He's talking as if likes of Rohit, Kohli etc. have scored thousands of runs on greentops. Every batter will struggle on a greentop. In fact funnily enough on a green top I would back Sooryavanshi more as he won't wait to get dismissed and will bat aggressively and score runs. On a green top you need to maximize scoring opportunities as you'll get a ball with your name on it soon enough. So may as well score as many as possible before getting dismissed. BacktoCricaddict, GoldenSun and Tillu 1 2
BacktoCricaddict Posted May 29 Posted May 29 4 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said: No basis. Check out the post shaed by Nikhil_cric. Made a generic statement which applies to every batter to use it against Sooryavanshi. It's just a bloody nonsensical ego-trip then. Old fogies with keyboards. Ultimate_Game 1
Bigg Brother Posted May 29 Posted May 29 True. Couldn't witness Sachin's peak. Now we can witness VS. Need to draft him into LOIs asap.
rish Posted May 29 Posted May 29 Not sure how other batters will motivated after seeing this guy. I can understand how Tyson Gay must have felt now.
deathmonger Posted May 29 Posted May 29 5 minutes ago, rish said: Not sure how other batters will motivated after seeing this guy. I can understand how Tyson Gay must have felt now. It's still a team sport. You might not become best batsman in world but can play in the best team in the world with him.
Need4Speed Posted May 29 Posted May 29 (edited) 15 hours ago, deathmonger said: It's still a team sport. You might not become best batsman in world but can play in the best team in the world with him. like we still got Dravids..Gangulys..Laxman's in the presence of Sachin.. You need a good team to win an ICC tournament..not just one batter.. Edited May 30 by Need4Speed express bowling 1
prudent_kreeda Posted May 29 Posted May 29 15 hours ago, Ultimate_Game said: My counter to the argument... how many batters will score on green tops? This argument is futile as all of the white-ball cricket is played on flattish wkts across the globe. And if the pitch has something in it then every modern batter will struggle and not just Sooryavanshi. Enough with such doomsayers and get him in intls already. Nobody is playing T20s and ODIs on greentops. Every great batter has failed under some conditions , against some kind of bowling .What is batting success of Virat in ENgland except one series , - people put him on moon praising? What was the batting success of Dravid inSA, AUS may be one good series in Aus? Ponting in india ..so many such cases .. And which modern indian T20 player wins matches on a juicy wicket and how many times we get such pitches in T20 and ODI? Even in tests what is point of playing and getting 10 runs in 100 balls , if pitch is tough getting 30-40 would be big contribution in winning ,than a 100 ball 10.? Keep aside all this crap swing and seam and get him in . i would suggest play him in MO when is selected for test team in due course, till then carnage in short formats as opener. Ultimate_Game 1
The Realist Posted May 29 Posted May 29 Just be thankful that Kohli no longer around and captain. Likes of VS would never have debuted. Kohli hated young talents who overshadowed him hence not one young player emerged during his international captaincy. Ultimate_Game 1
Lord Posted May 29 Posted May 29 48 minutes ago, The Realist said: Just be thankful that Kohli no longer around and captain. Likes of VS would never have debuted. Kohli hated young talents who overshadowed him hence not one young player emerged during his international captaincy. Gill is no different tbh Ultimate_Game 1
deathmonger Posted May 30 Posted May 30 5 hours ago, Need4Speed said: like we still got Dravis..Gangulys..Laxman's in th epresence of Sachin.. You need a good team to win an IC tournament..not just one batter.. Yes. Interesting thought experiment. Sachin came into a weak team. Vaibhav will come into the GOAT T20 team.