Speeds and Performances of Pacers and Spinners

19 minutes ago, express bowling said:

Rameez, " Indian pacers dud extremely well " ( or something to that effect )

Uthappa, " Indian pacers did nothing extraordinary really. Just hit the right areas. Bumrah good length and Hardik back of a length "

Dear Mr.Uthappa, Bumrah was constantly varying between 145 k and 122 k while bowling same good lines and different lengths ( yorkers, good lengths and even a back of a length ). If that is not extraordinary, I don't know what is.  !!!!  

Another defensive commentator added to our august group. 

Saw some of utthapa's podcast does not seem to give any tech. details.  Can understand it happening if it was like if he had his own  yt channel and him doing match to match analysis, but in podcast and chats not able to present tech. specs is v.odd.

think ashwin is next level in-terms of knowledge  

1 hour ago, Mosher said:

Boom! Yorker and Saim gone.

boom had got him in the previous ball itself, i thought keeper would catch that ball but bcos of 145k sheer pace it flew behind........

i am proud of boom for maintaining sheer pace. he got 2 wickets in his first over and the MATCH was won in that over itself. Hardik also got one wicket so he was also great.

ISHAN is going to win the MAN of the World CUP , Player of the tournament award. He will play all the matches and will score good number of runs and at a high strike rate finally winning the player of the series award.

1 hour ago, singhvivek141 said:

Did Uthappa really said that ? I thought he has more sense than the geriatic oldies in commentary box.

I think what Uthappa was trying to say was that all you need to succeed is to put the ball in the right areas. Nothing more is needed. 

They somehow miss all other aspects of fast bowling unless they see swinggg.

1 hour ago, express bowling said:

I think what Uthappa was trying to say was that all you need to succeed is to put the ball in the right areas. Nothing more is needed. 

They somehow miss all other aspects of fast bowling unless they see swinggg.

It's equivalent - just need to time the ball only irrespective of conditions ,power isn't needed.Is it?

Should be asked to Uthappa,just like batting isn't all about timing anymore

How can pace bowling be not only about pace but everything else?

Should leave topics about pace bowling, comment on batsmen Robin

30 minutes ago, Suhaan said:

It's equivalent - just need to time the ball only irrespective of conditions ,power isn't needed.Is it?

Should be asked to Uthappa,just like batting isn't all about timing anymore

How can pace bowling be not only about pace but everything else?

Should leave topics about pace bowling, comment on batsmen Robin

Amongst any Ind cricketer only Ahswin talks sense and looks like he knows and understand game.

Rest just repeat same lines 

Edited by tapandrun
7 hours ago, tapandrun said:

Amongst any Ind cricketer only Ahswin talks sense and looks like he knows and understand game.

Most ex cricketers don't want to work hard on the game once they retire,they just talk nonsense of the past of early2000s and 90s

The technicality and data oriented this game has become needs more honesty from these guys

They just want to earn while remaining dated,why shouldn't they,if they get money for nothing it's obviously good for them

Broadcasters like Star are cringe and they promote these chewtpana,they don't have any feedback team to respond to these upsurd statements 

Edited by Suhaan
14 hours ago, MK55 said:

At least Ramiz Raja is pointing out the pace. 

Rameez always does. The commentators from other countries always do. As far back as 1998, I remember Ramiz pointing out Srinath's pace during Ind Pak test match. He said something to the effect that 'it was not easy to play against the pace of Srinath and Waqar'.

Only Indians downplay our bowlers.

There have been a lot of talk about Bumrah's fitness, his pace, and his quality.

One thing is clear. Bumrah has not gone down in quality, and pace.. One bit! For a fast bowler to maintain a speed of 145 for a period of 10 yrs ( 2016-2026) is nothing short of miracle. There haven't been many a bowlers in the history of the game who have maintained their speed for more than 5-6 yrs, that includes Waqar and Donald too. 

Bumrah is far from over. Period. 

3 hours ago, Rightarmfast said:

There have been a lot of talk about Bumrah's fitness, his pace, and his quality.

One thing is clear. Bumrah has not gone down in quality, and pace.. One bit! For a fast bowler to maintain a speed of 145 for a period of 10 yrs ( 2016-2026) is nothing short of miracle. There haven't been many a bowlers in the history of the game who have maintained their speed for more than 5-6 yrs, that includes Waqar and Donald too. 

Bumrah is far from over. Period. 

I think the question was on his ability to sustain pace for longer spells in Tests.

We saw in Australia...he started series with high % of deliveries in late 130s to mid 140s...but by 4th test, he was hovering in early to late 130s...with occasional bursts of touching 140.

This is natural though, the amount of stress his action puts on his body to generate that pace, its not sustainable for long spells specially when you're in your 30s. Bumrah has been a warrior to sustain his fitness anf play all 3 formats plus the IPL. Now I feel that he knows he is at his peak of powers in terms of skills and hence is enjoying every moment.

Edited by singhvivek141
21 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

I think the question was on his ability to sustain pace for longer spells in Tests.

We saw in Australia...he started series with high % of deliveries in late 130s to mid 140s...but by 4th test, he was hovering in early to late 130s...with occasional bursts of touching 140.

This is natural though, the amount of stress his action puts on his body to generate that pace, its not sustainable for long spells specially when you're in your 30s. Bumrah has been a warrior to sustain his fitness anf play all 3 formats plus the IPL. Now I feel that he knows he is at his peak of powers in terms of skills and hence is enjoying every moment.

Captain Rohit bowled him to the ground in Australia 24/25 test series. Was bowling too many spells a day with inadequate breaks inbetween. 

In England 2025 tests, Bumrah was consistently in the 137 k to 145 k in the first 2 tests he played, fastest of 147 k, before he had a leg injury and dropped pace in the 3rd test he played. 

If we don't overbowl him, Bumrah can still be 137 k to 145 k/147 k in tests. Maybe a bit slower in the last test of the series.

17 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

Not entirely in agreement with you. Please check his performances and speeds with different bowling partners. You need good bowling partners to give your best performances, when the workload is divided. You can't be an enforcer and a stock bowler at the same time. 

And for some reason, and especially on this forum, we somehow keep associating slower speeds with deteriorating skill level, motivation, physical abilities, and what not. For dog's sake, the guy has been playing for over 10 yrs and has been a top performer. He understands the nuisances of bowling. The finesse, and the fine tuning of when to use speed, and when not to. He is able to understand when he needs to use pace to go for the jugular, and when not to. 

Murge pe top chalane ki koi use nahi hoti. Chhoori se kaam chal jati hai. 

So, people need to take a chill pill and trust the bowlers too. The guy is fit as a fiddle and hasn't lost pace at all. 

On 2/16/2026 at 1:57 AM, tapandrun said:

Ashwin is an engineer by training. STEM background people more often than not will enjoy the stats, data analysis and biomechanics part of the game.

Most of our ex-cricketers either never went to college, or are from humanities background. Hence they are more interested in shayari than what is happening on the ground. 

8 hours ago, Gollum said:

Ashwin is an engineer by training. STEM background people more often than not will enjoy the stats, data analysis and biomechanics part of the game.

Most of our ex-cricketers either never went to college, or are from humanities background. Hence they are more interested in shayari than what is happening on the ground. 

Damn right. Ashwin is educated, and very sharp. It also helps that he is a South Indian:wp57::wp12:!

9 hours ago, Gollum said:

No,that is not the reason

Being an athelete you got to have basic understanding of human anatomy and batting/bowling biomechanics even 2000s cricketers have spent considerable man hours in gyms

They aren't that naive,they just try to look cool,comical and besides that they just wake up, dress up and hit the road to studios,their are no ethics with these guys who are supposed to speak their mind

They have to have some sense of responsibility ,they can't talk like g@@du or be one when they have been part of a professional setup not long ago

शमी ने अगरकर को ललकारा, 8 विकेट लेकर सेलेक्शन कमेटी के मुंह पर तमाचा मारा, हाथ में पट्टी बांधकर रिकॉर्डतोड़ गेंदबाजी

https://hindi.news18.com/cricket/mohammed-shami-claims-career-best-8-90-to-light-up-ranji-trophy-semi-final-and-once-more-ace-pacer-gave-signal-to-ajit-agarkar-and-team-india-selectors-10193418.html

On 2/17/2026 at 7:04 PM, Suhaan said:

शमी ने अगरकर को ललकारा, 8 विकेट लेकर सेलेक्शन कमेटी के मुंह पर तमाचा मारा, हाथ में पट्टी बांधकर रिकॉर्डतोड़ गेंदबाजी

https://hindi.news18.com/cricket/mohammed-shami-claims-career-best-8-90-to-light-up-ranji-trophy-semi-final-and-once-more-ace-pacer-gave-signal-to-ajit-agarkar-and-team-india-selectors-10193418.html

SHAMMI mein hain DAM....Sher banda Hai.

he is definitely slower now than possibly what he was...is he bowling 140+ still. getting 8 wickets in an innings.....- what can i say, figures say all.

2 hours ago, vishalvirsingh said:

SHAMMI mein hain DAM....Sher banda Hai.

he is definitely slower now than possibly what he was...is he bowling 140+ still. getting 8 wickets in an innings.....- what can i say, figures say all.

How do you know his current speed?

Draca from Italy is quick. Hitting 88mph with ease. Almost at 90mph. Like I said a long time ago, ( and was questioned and bullied so much here), for a pure athlete, with ample training and will to push speed, hitting 140k's is natural.