Ben Stokes future ATG

maniac

5 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

dont let me count how many times stokes blew opp himself 

2016 t20 Wc final

That's dumb. obviously every player will have embarrassing moments and failures but what separate from a champion and pretender is their body of work.

Not every innings someone plays can be a clutch knock but the amount of clutch knocks or spells one has seperates them out.

Stokes is waaaay ahead in that matter. In fact I can list 5 allrounders who have done more than Hardik and are not pigeon holed by oh that's the way he plays, he is only a cameo specialist etc.

Edited by Global.Baba
1 minute ago, Global.Baba said:

That's dumb. obviously every player will have embarrassing moments and failures but what separate from a champion and pretender is their body of work.

Not everyone innings someone plays can be a clutch knock but the amount of clutch knocks or spells one has seperates them out.

Stokes is waaaay ahead in that matter. In fact I can list 5 allrounders who have done more than Hardik and are not pigeon holed by oh that's the way he plays, he is only a cameo specialist etc.

so why to put other down

compare 2 ppl body of work when its equal stokes has been playing from 2011

go ahead keep listing....ur n my debate wont matter in the end. All wud is how they end career and none of their career has ended

6 hours ago, Global.Baba said:

Ben Stokes Man of the tournament IPL 2017. Man of the match WC Finals. Played a few match winning innings in tests. so that's got everything covered I hope.

How was his performance in last IPL? The decline is real.

Edited by Khota
On 1/15/2020 at 1:52 PM, Ankit_sharma03 said:

so why to put other down

compare 2 ppl body of work when its equal stokes has been playing from 2011

go ahead keep listing....ur n my debate wont matter in the end. All wud is how they end career and none of their career has ended

Pandya will be 31 next Wc.  He is out of favor in tests. Sure he might light it up in the WT20 and I hope he does because there has never been a doubt about Pandyas spot as a LOI player.

However the point is that a lot of champion players already have that defining innings or spell within the first few years. If your benchmark is cameo knocks then Cant argue there.

Stokes 2-3 years in played a back to the wall 100 against a rampaging Johnson and Harris. It wasn’t a slog fest it was a proper batting knock. 

We still keep going back to Pandyas knocks here and there in CT and SA which wasn’t a great knock. SA knock  could have been great had   he converted to a 150 which could have won us the game. Obviously not his fault when others failed but that’s when champion players deliver match winning performances.

Our definition of an allrounder is different. For me it is a proper batsman or a bowler who is good in the other department. Stokes is a proper no.5 who can bowl 140ks and on his day can be equally good with the ball.

Pandya is still a 5th bowler and only fit for certain situations in LOI. Can he be the proper 3rd seamer in tests ? Can we trust him to bat at 4 or 5 in all situations? 

Sorry but Pant and Pandya had a golden chance in the semis and blew it.

Gilchrist debuted in 1996-1997 by 1999 he was the man of the match in a wc final.

Kapil Dev debuted in 1979 and by 83 he was a wc winning captain.

Inzamam barely played international cricket and he played a blinder in the semis of 1992.

Sachin debuted in 89 and by 1992 he was the best batsmen for us in the wc and won man of the match vs Pak in a high stakes game.

Rohit debuted in 2007 and same year he played a cruicial role in Wt20 win and later in CB series.

Kohli debuted in 2008 and by 2011 was already the next big thing and played cruicial knocks in the WC.

Ashwin showed that he belonged in 2011 when he made his debut.

Neither Pant nor Pandya or for the matter of fact Rahul have yet played that defining knock. I think Rahul has had some good knocks in tests and T20.

Both Pant and  Pandya have this humongous reputation but so far have not stood up and played a match winning knock that stands the test of time. They have had good opportunities as well.

Edited by Global.Baba
5 hours ago, Global.Baba said:

Pandya will be 31 next Wc.  He is out of favor in tests. Sure he might light it up in the WT20 and I hope he does because there has never been a doubt about Pandyas spot as a LOI player.

28-33 is suppose to be peak of any cricketer 

no he is not out of favour he is injured....the last time he was fit he was called in hurry to Aus

However the point is that a lot of champion players already have that defining innings or spell within the first few years. If your benchmark is cameo knocks then Cant argue there.

at 7 what do u expect 100s

Stokes 2-3 years in played a back to the wall 100 against a rampaging Johnson and Harris. It wasn’t a slog fest it was a proper batting knock. 

Ab main SA ki baat krunga ull be like Wohi hai ginanane ko , 11 test men aur kya ginau 

We still keep going back to Pandyas knocks here and there in CT and SA which wasn’t a great knock. SA knock  could have been great had   he converted to a 150 which could have won us the game. Obviously not his fault when others failed but that’s when champion players deliver match winning performances.

clearly at 7 u expect 100 n consistency 

Our definition of an allrounder is different. For me it is a proper batsman or a bowler who is good in the other department. Stokes is a proper no.5 who can bowl 140ks and on his day can be equally good with the ball.

yes stokes is more quality so for him shud we drop pandya, do we drop every who is not of starc quality 

Pandya is still a 5th bowler and only fit for certain situations in LOI. Can he be the proper 3rd seamer in tests ? Can we trust him to bat at 4 or 5 in all situations? 

Even stokes is 5th bowler only

3rd seamer in test in asian condition....in overseas why wud u 

Even stokes cant play as 3rd seamers in most condition

Sorry but Pant and Pandya had a golden chance in the semis and blew it.

So did every cricketer so many times , stokes had in 2016WC and that was a won game

Rohit, kohli, dhawan had same opp 

Gilchrist debuted in 1996-1997 by 1999 he was the man of the match in a wc final.

uss hisab se to tendulkar ne kabhi kuch nhin kiya kisi Wc final men

Kapil Dev debuted in 1979 and by 83 he was a wc winning captain.

By that logic u shud 1st question kohli

Rohit debuted in 2007 and same year he played a cruicial role in Wt20 win and later in CB series.

PAndya n jadeja played cruical knocks but whole team was useless

In rohit n inzy case whole team perfromed

cricket is a team game

Kohli debuted in 2008 and by 2011 was already the next big thing and played cruicial knocks in the WC.

he only had 1-2 good knocks mostly against bang

Ashwin showed that he belonged in 2011 when he made his debut.

Neither Pant nor Pandya or for the matter of fact Rahul have yet played that defining knock. I think Rahul has had some good knocks in tests and T20.

Both Pant and  Pandya have this humongous reputation but so far have not stood up and played a match winning knock that stands the test of time. They have had good opportunities as well.

Both of em havent even played 70-80 games till, u wanna put them go ahead do at ur own peril.....

Pandya is not fit to tie shoelaces of Stokes.They are of different class , Pandya is a slogger who has no other game.Stokes is a proper batsmen with very sound technique and has ability to explode at any given time.Is he a top class bowler no but he will walk into any international side just on his batting alone.

This nonsense that Pandya bats at no7 so is inconsistent is ridiculous excuse.He was good enough he would have gone up the order.

Edited by putrevus