Sehwag proves once again: Batting Strike rate matters a heck in tests.

patriot

yo dude when someone asks you batting avgs and career runs of great players do you come up with their Away numbers or Overall numbers? I dont know about you but all cricket experts will use the overall stat ... the most famous example ofcourse is the 99.94 stat ... likewise for ground stats ... because they are nothing but a function of runs made by individual batsmen.
:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: Bewakoofbhai, how did you jump from the point of argument about batting avg of touring sides in a another country to individual away and home stats ? :hysterical: I don't know about other retards about I am convinced you are top notch one !:hysterical:
is that the same list which had the VVS 281 in number 4 or 5 position ... :hysterical:
Lol.. now the in house ICF retard is questioning Wisden and it's team of highly qualified cricket statisticians. :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: Incase, you din't know there are 12 major factors that went into it and Lachhu probably missed out because of lower points because of pitch ( which din't have any demons) , support ( he had an established partner in Dravid), Shepherding tailenders ( he din;t have too). Anyways duffer, thats too complex an algorithm for someone of your ability. http://in.rediff.com/cricket/2001/jul/30select.htm BTW even a sedate Dravid ( with 5) beats SRT (4) in Man of the match contributions in winning causes. :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: Shayad test batting open karta toh aur achha karta SRT. :giggle::giggle::giggle:
If you had read it carefully ( and more importantly had a few braincells to understand whats written) you would have found out the answer to your question in the post itself ... here : because they are nothing but a function of runs made by individual batsmen.
What is so difficult to understand - If I had to say South Africa is a tough place to tour for subcontinental teams, would you check the overall batting avg in SOuth Africa ( like you retardledy want to) or the historical avg of subcontinental batters ? Bewakoofbhai , tere se toh Rawalpindi ke gadhe bhi zyada dimaag wale honge. JA ke soja, gadhe. :poink:
Again thats a very different question from your orig statement : feel free to slap yourself ... Whats the latest on your theorem ... :hmmm:
Bhwahahhahahahhahaha :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: different examples confuse you so much ?? Oh I should have made it easier, knowing it is only you. I bet if your maths teacher gave you for practice an easy numerical that had sheeps ...and then gave the same numerical in the exam with goats...you would tell her goats ke saath toh nahi padhaya tha. :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: Bwahahahahahah...your daftness is amusing. Kahan tak padha hai ?
I'd actually be interested to know just what are the qualifications of these statisticians.
http://in.rediff.com/cricket/2001/jul/30bat10.htm Salil, Was just going through the 5 that precede Lax's Mt. Everest like knock. 2 are Bradman's. I have no fricking clue to even imagine. Out of the other 3. 1) Botham's efforts were also victory in a follow on, the first since the 19th century. At Headingly against Lillee. 2) Lara's effort in Barbados batting with the tail - This I saw. Whether it is better than Lax's effort may be debatable but he did it without any support. Lax had Dravid all along. 3) Gooch's effort - no idea again. But it was the deadliest possible West Indian pace quartet. Again in Headingley.
Bhwahahhahahahhahaha :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: different examples confuse you so much ?? Oh I should have made it easier, knowing it is only you. I bet if your maths teacher gave you for practice an easy numerical that had sheeps ...and then gave the same numerical in the exam with goats...you would tell her goats ke saath toh nahi padhaya tha. :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: Bwahahahahahah...your daftness is amusing. Kahan tak padha hai ?
Pure bullcrap is all that can leak out of your foolish head. SRT is far greater than any other batsmen including your beloved punter so GTFO noob!
Quality of your argument has progressively gone down through the lifetime of this thread. Let me re-iterate - I am not talking about the original topic/discussion, but the quality if your argument in general. Time for you to get some education on fundamentals of reasoning. The latest sin you are committing is: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ad_hominem
That is your perception, but have you not observed that there are almost a dozen guys who are arguing randomly. Then there are clowns like SRT PWNS, who just come, abuse and leave. I presented atleast 4 arguments ( as below) that have either been uncontested, or been met with arguments that don't carry weight, IMO ( ...like so what if SRT killed Bangladesh, team was in trouble, it is not SRT's fault if Sehwag din't cash in on poor Bangladesh) 1) If what Veeru is doing anything short of miracle work, why the eff, din't the great messiah of Indian cricket SRT offer to open the test batting. After all, even a " WALL" like Dravid has been very uncomfortable doing it and din't succeed as did Laxman. Opening is a specialist's job. Veeru was no specialist opener, yet he came and gave India something that it lacked for 20 years. Not only that, he changed the way test match openers bat . Heck he has changed the pace at which India plays it's test cricket. For this, I admire the man immensely. IIRC, Ganguly promised to give him a place in middle order, if he failed as an opener. But he succeeded, like no other. Like, Dhondy mentioned earlier in this thread - apart from his own thumping contribution, how much easier has he made it for the Indian middle order, after he has ground to dust the opposition bowlers? 2) Bowlers win test matches. Kumble in that regard is our biggest match winner in tests. A total of 13 MoM proportion contributions have resulted in Indian victories in 132 matches that he participated in. Umpeteen times he has run through sides to script Indian victories. Veeru in just 76 matches for us, has managed to 5 MoM proportion contributions that have resulted in Indian victories. SRT who has played nearly 100 more test matches than Veeru has just managed 4, that have led to victories, in 20 years. Isn't that telling ? I don't think any excuses justify this. Veeru's sheer match winning abilties put him in a league of his own. 3) I have argued that SRT's numbers are inflated on the back of murdering minnows, that should not even matter. 8 tons and 120+ cumulative average against Bangladesh and Zimbabwe. Take these out and his numbers dip. Sharply. 4) Apart from Shane Warne, how many great bowlers has Sachin dominated for a period of time ? Don't remind me of a single knock here and there. Fact of the matter is he's cumulatively averaged in the 30's in matches where Donald, Mcgrath, Akram , Pollock etc. played for their respective sides. ( Please prove otherwise, if you think I am incorrect). He cashed in against Australia when his ultimate nemesis, Mcgrath din't play. With Sehwag, apart from Hoggard , who has troubled him, I don't know of any mean bowler who Sehwag has not butchered mercilessly. ( Mcwarne in Chennai in 2004), Actor ( always :hysterical:), Steyn and Co., Murali and Mendis.., Johnson,Lee and Co..etc etc. Honestly: I would liken SRT to a very intelligent student, who studies hard and sincere and gets most A's I would liken Sehwag to student who misses a few A's , and then cracks in 1 hour some of the most difficult exams that rest of the students fail to complete in 3 hours. A genius and class apart. Nothing against SRT, but I honestly don't think he is nearly as great as he is made out to be. At the end of the day, it is individual opinion. My last post on this thread. Peace out guys.
The only clown here is you making one big fool of yourself. It is pitiful that you can't realize the true greatness of SRT. Anyway the only thing you can do is sit back, weep like a girl, and watch in awe with Punter and ball biting Afretard while SRT continues to pile on the epicness. Now GTFO already... jeez... >.< SRT PWNS!

As much as I hate to argue further on this ...you continue showing sheer sheer ignorance thats so tempting to smack.

I have answered this but lets try again .... In ODIs (where he has opened for more than 300 inngs now ) do you think the cricket ball suddenly stops moving because people are in colored clothing ? Or the strike bowlers lose their mojo because its a ODI?
Could it because the likes Kaluwitharna , Kamran Akmal, Irfan/ Yousuf Pathan ,Afretard also open(ed) alot in ODIS but tests is a different ball game ? Have you wondered why Mark Waugh and Ganguly 2 ODI great openers never opened in tests ? Could it be hat fields are far more attacking in tests ? Seriously, how long have you watched the game ?
VS faced Mcrath in a grand total of one series where he avgd 42 and that was at home. SRT did that in 2 full series : where he avgd 46(away ) and 50 (home) thhe third time he was badly injured but yet played (literally with one hand) and that inngs of 55 at Mumbai is the inngs you need to watch out of all to understand why he is regarded as the Boss ... on a pitch where scoring 30 runs was considered to be equivalent to making a 100 SRT along with VVS pulled us out of a terrible situation. VS made 13 runs in 2 inngs. Not any of his fault because he was up against a quality attack on a difficult pitch. But considering the sort of cheap shots that you take this might just be right down your ally .. who knows.
Lies, lies and more lies. SRT played 9 matches against Aus when Mcgrath played, Avg of 36.7 http://stats.cricinfo.com/ci/engine/player/35320.html?class=1;filter=advanced;orderby=default;player_involve=2101;template=results;type=batting Give up dude.

Patriot - we all have our own opinions but can we not present them without bad mouthing each other? Consider this a polite request - I know I am new here and all that :). It is not as if opening is the only role that is challenging in cricket from a batting perspective. Each role is different and is equally important. After all a wicket is a wicket for the opposition as long as it is a top order batsman. Tendulkar not opening cannot be held against him. Sehwag is a special talent. He has world beating talent. But why are we arguing that Sehwag is greater than Sachin when the man himself has no qualms supplicating himself to the master when it comes to the craft of batting. Let Sehwag cross the 10,000 runs barrier and play 2-3 more seasons and then it would be time for us to come back to this thread and discuss comparative greatness between these two. Right now, I am afraid is not the time for Sehwag to stand up to comparison with Sachin Tendulkar.

Hey Vortex. I really enjoy reading your articles. On the topic of bad mouthing, what I have observed here is anyone who critiques SRT gets bad mouthed. If you follow the trail here and other threads you will gather. I have all the reasons and facts ( until they are proved otherwise) to feel that SRT is not as great as he is perceived to be. In any case, I am entitled to any opinion on an open forum. If some fans take critique on SRT , so personally, who is to be blamed ? Regarding Sehwag, if he remains injury free ( :pray: ) , he alone will win us many more test matches on the back of his bat cruel bat and cruise past 10,000 runs. Yes, he is modest and has great respect for SRT, who was the apparent reason that he played cricket. But he is a far deadlier version of his idol. Just like Ram was the more illustrious avtar of Vishnu than Parshuram. :winky: Sehwag's true greatness will be realised only when he leaves the game.
I would liken Sehwag to student who misses a few A's , and then cracks in 1 hour some of the most difficult exams that rest of the students fail to complete in 3 hours.
For a batsman , the most difficult exams would be batting in the 2nd innings or playing outside the subcontinent ( for an Indian batsman) . Not the 1st innings on a subcontinental pitch.