Reserve 50% flats in Mumbai for Maharashtrians: Bal Thackeray

The clown is at it again After the disgusting move of the Congress to reserve 15% funds for Muslims, their rivals come up with this BS. http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/Cities/50_flats_must_go_to_locals_Sena/articleshow/2723065.cms MUMBAI: Shiv Sena chief Bal Thackeray on Tuesday warned that no construction of residential complexes in Mumbai would be permitted if flats in the new buildings are not reserved for Marathi-speaking people. He said up to 50% of the flats should be kept aside by builders for "sons of the soil." Thackeray did not specify the area of such flats but said these should be of reasonable size. In an interview to party organ Saamna , the Sena boss indicated his party might launch an agitation in support of its demand. He said earlier the Sena had fought for jobs for the local people and now its priority is housing. Many builders contacted by TOI said Thackeray's demand would not stand up to judicial scrutiny. If anyone challenges his "fatwa," the courts are bound to strike it down, they said. A leading builder observed, "Balasaheb should make a beginning by asking his party leaders like Manohar Joshi, who are builders, to reserve flats for Marathi-speaking people in their projects. Joshi is building a huge residential complex at Kurla." He said the Sena missed an opportunity to provide cheap housing for Maharashtrians when it was in power. It could have acquired land under Urban Land Ceiling Act and given it to housing societies of Maharashtrians, he added. In Navi Mumbai, a group of Marathi builders have banded together and promised to provide cheap housing to Marathi-speaking people. But some of them are reportedly rethinking their move since the sheer economics of the market will edge them out of business. Sena insiders say Thackeray, whose 82nd birthday is being celebrated by his followers on Wednesday, is shrewdly playing the Marathi card in the run up to the 2009 assembly elections. "Nobody understands the pulse of the Marathi middle-class as Thackeray does," a Congress leader admitted. Incidentally, Thackeray appears to have anticipated criticism over the fact that all his grandsons go to English-medium schools. He has sought to neutralise this by quickly pointing out in the interview that he makes all of them read Marathi newspapers daily and speak the language at home. Thackeray has also reiterated that NCP chief Sharad Pawar was ideal prime ministerial material but the company of Congress had "tainted" his image. He said L K Advani was well suited to be the PM.

Meanwhile Mr Thackeray has some 'not so flattering' words for Narendra Modi - http://www.ndtv.com/convergence/ndtv/story.aspx?id=NEWEN20080039256&ch=1/23/2008%201:46:00%20PM In an article in the party mouthpiece Saamna, Sena chief Bal Thackeray has a taken on BJP's poster boy, Narendra Modi. Thackeray said that the Gujarat Chief Minister came to power because of the 2002 Godhra riots. Thackeray said, ''Modi was benefited by Godhra and the Guajrat riots. It is because of these that he came to power, people of Gujarat began to feel that he is their saviour.'' ''Muslims are scared of him. But when power goes to our head, you can't say how a person will behave,'' he added. Indicating that the Hindu voters in Maharashtra would not take take to Modi's brand of politics, Thackeray wrote that people in Maharashtra are smart and will not accept anybody so easily. This criticism comes just days after the Shiv Sena objected to a Bharat Ratna for Atal Bihari Vajapayee.

Thackeray has been sucking up to Sharad Pawar at every given opportunity in the last few months.. and now this criticism of Modi ... I think SS wants to tie up with the NCP and kick out the BJP ... it is their best chance to get back into power in Mahrashtra after more than a decade.

There are two seperate issues in OP, before analysing these, we should not jump for sundry bashing of Thackeray as if we have got some opportunity to bash!! Firstly, the demand of Thackeray to ensure that "Bhoomiputras" get their own home is very much LEGITIMATE ---no doubt about it. Let us look it from "common man's" perspective. In Mumbai, there is a rapid infrastructure development happening....majority of building are being constructed with builders taking full control and forming a nexus among themselves to shoot-up the property price. Many residential complexes in Mumbai have flats and galas purchased and owned by "outsiders" like NRIs, businessmen, state agents etc. which is making, resident Mumbaikars life difficult to purchase a decent flat for living and sustaining family. Just go out hunting for a house in suburban Mumbai and feel yourself, the prices are ever increasing. A two bedroom flat costs anything between 60-80 lakhs -- not within a common mans reach. Just imagine the agony of Matrathi residents....They have to look at the high rise building only to find that they are owned by some high earning NRIs, other state businessmen, investors who come once a while and leave. By reserving 50% flat, Thackeray is making sure that "common man" gets the benefit at the expense of Rich man -- although not fair -- but definately an attempt to make sure that rising difference bewteen Rich class and lower class is shortened, good for stability of any society. I say all powers to Thackeray if he succeds in this. The second issue regarding Shivsena's relation with BJP -- one has to understand the dynamics of coalition politics and fear of identity crisis. After outstanding performance by NAMO in Gujarat, not only in Gujarat whole India has started recognizing that NAMO is a VISIONARY LEADER and his vision can not be restricted till Gujaratis. Two days back, NAMO visited Mumbai and addressed a rally in Shivaji park, we came to know that it was a HUGE success and NAMO was at his best as usual. Now, after this, Shivsena, I believe through such statements want to exert some pressure to BJP so that SS can get some concession when constituency seats are distributed between SS and BJP during elections. SS is realizing that BJP this time will press for contesting on more seats than in previous elections and rightly so, beacuse we have now, NAMO with us who is an instant crowd puller and a visionary par excellence who inspires millions of Indians through his work. On a side note, I was listening to recent NAMO speach and really was moved the way he shatterred the myth created by p-secs in dhimmi media. I bet if puppet PM Manmohan will listen following lines of NAMO he will die due to shame if he has any. NAMO said --- Maine apne Gujaratiyon se kehaa Gujarat ka sarkari khazaana SABHI Gujarat wasiyo kaa hai.....aur hamaare Pradhan Mantri ne kehaa, desh ke khazaane per pehlaa adhikaar Mussalmaano ka hai..:giggle:

Sandtest, I am resident of Mumbai as well and I know how tough it is now for a middle class person to own a flat in the city. I am all for subsidised housing to be provided for lower income groups. What I am totally against is this segregation of people into Marathi and Non Marathi speakers, it goes totally against the spirit of this cosmopolitan city. Once you start with these reservations, there is just no end to it. Imagine Bangalore having reservations for Kannadiga's, Delhi for Punjabis, Kolkatta for Bengalis etc .. what a mess that would be. And if Thackeray has his way, there would be reservations for Marathi speakers in schools, colleges, jobs, sports and what not. Heck he even wants multiplexes to reserve screenings for Marathi movies :hysterical:. We all got to see what a hypocrite Thackeray is during the aftermath of the New Years eve moltestation incident outside JW Marriot. He initally blamed 'north indian' immigrants for breakdown of law and order in the city, and as soon as he realised that majority of the culprits were infact Maharashtians, he made a quicky U-turn saying the boys were just innocent onlookers.

There are two seperate issues in OP, before analysing these, we should not jump for sundry bashing of Thackeray as if we have got some opportunity to bash!! Firstly, the demand of Thackeray to ensure that "Bhoomiputras" get their own home is very much LEGITIMATE ---no doubt about it. Let us look it from "common man's" perspective. In Mumbai, there is a rapid infrastructure development happening....majority of building are being constructed with builders taking full control and forming a nexus among themselves to shoot-up the property price. Many residential complexes in Mumbai have flats and galas purchased and owned by "outsiders" like NRIs, businessmen, state agents etc. which is making, resident Mumbaikars life difficult to purchase a decent flat for living and sustaining family. Just go out hunting for a house in suburban Mumbai and feel yourself, the prices are ever increasing. A two bedroom flat costs anything between 60-80 lakhs -- not within a common mans reach. Just imagine the agony of Matrathi residents....They have to look at the high rise building only to find that they are owned by some high earning NRIs, other state businessmen, investors who come once a while and leave. By reserving 50% flat, Thackeray is making sure that "common man" gets the benefit at the expense of Rich man -- although not fair -- but definately an attempt to make sure that rising difference bewteen Rich class and lower class is shortened, good for stability of any society. I say all powers to Thackeray if he succeds in this. The second issue regarding Shivsena's relation with BJP -- one has to understand the dynamics of coalition politics and fear of identity crisis. After outstanding performance by NAMO in Gujarat, not only in Gujarat whole India has started recognizing that NAMO is a VISIONARY LEADER and his vision can not be restricted till Gujaratis. Two days back, NAMO visited Mumbai and addressed a rally in Shivaji park, we came to know that it was a HUGE success and NAMO was at his best as usual. Now, after this, Shivsena, I believe through such statements want to exert some pressure to BJP so that SS can get some concession when constituency seats are distributed between SS and BJP during elections. SS is realizing that BJP this time will press for contesting on more seats than in previous elections and rightly so, beacuse we have now, NAMO with us who is an instant crowd puller and a visionary par excellence who inspires millions of Indians through his work. On a side note, I was listening to recent NAMO speach and really was moved the way he shatterred the myth created by p-secs in dhimmi media. I bet if puppet PM Manmohan will listen following lines of NAMO he will die due to shame if he has any. NAMO said --- Maine apne Gujaratiyon se kehaa Gujarat ka sarkari khazaana SABHI Gujarat wasiyo kaa hai.....aur hamaare Pradhan Mantri ne kehaa, desh ke khazaane per pehlaa adhikaar Mussalmaano ka hai..:giggle:
Boy , you talk serious crap ... I am not sure whether you are joking or serious .
Firstly, the demand of Thackeray to ensure that "Bhoomiputras" get their own home is very much LEGITIMATE ---no doubt about it.
Bhoomiputra? Ghanta mera. What is my Bhoomi, ST? Bihar? Or is it Gaya? Or is my mohalla? And if either one of them is my bhoomi why should I give a toss about India? Strange how you consider Mumbai belonging only to Marathis.
Just go out hunting for a house in suburban Mumbai and feel yourself, the prices are ever increasing. A two bedroom flat costs anything between 60-80 lakhs -- not within a common mans reach.
I concur with this. We have discussed this before of course and I have come down hard on NRIs and other aspects that has boosted the price of land. But surely the way to contain it is to not add another reservation of sorts. What next - 50% of coal coming out of Jharkhand shall be used by the state only? Guess no more power in many other states in India then. xxx
Another one line eehh ?
What do u want thesis.. Apparently he is cosy with pawar these days and has started returnign to the crap.. cricising Modi just not ON .. show me even 1% of result in his comparison thackrey then u will be entertained.. BTW I was not commenting about his 50% flat noise.. IF he thinks that's right for keeping the demography intact so be it...

Sandtest u have raised some valid points Shv Sena might be under scare of losing its vote share to BJP.. Cue for KR they are two party and have always been so don't come up with Shiva sena does this while attakcing BJP.. I like sub-nationalism all those states which have the strong under-current of sub-nationalism are doing great. it kind of drives people in positve way.. No wonder Bihar is at the bottom reason no sub-nationalism whatsoever in Bihar.

I like sub-nationalism all those states which have the strong under-current of sub-nationalism are doing great. it kind of drives people in positve way.. No wonder Bihar is at the bottom reason no sub-nationalism whatsoever in Bihar.
Indeed. It is high time Biharis talked of Bihar first. Have had enough of getting shafted in the name of India when every Tom Dick and Thackeray seems to give a damn!
What do u want thesis.. Apparently he is cosy with pawar these days and has started returnign to the crap.. cricising Modi just not ON .. show me even 1% of result in his comparison thackrey then u will be entertained.. BTW I was not commenting about his 50% flat noise.. IF he thinks that's right for keeping the demography intact so be it...
And why do you want thesis when I criticize Congress with one liners. Stop being hypocrite ... and your posts confirm my judgment about all political parties . That's why I said "CHOOSE NONE" when you and your pal wanted to advocate BJP . And you started accusing me of being an idealist and what not for that ... And what happened to the shared ideology between BJP and "Dynastic" Shiv Sena !:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: Man , I am telling you , you guys are fools if you think that these parties have common man interest . They are political entities with vested interest . Support them if you must , but at your own peril .. lest thou shalt not get burned . And that's my free two cents for the day .
Bhoomiputra? Ghanta mera. What is my Bhoomi, ST? Bihar? Or is it Gaya? Or is my mohalla? And if either one of them is my bhoomi why should I give a toss about India? Strange how you consider Mumbai belonging only to Marathis.
Good point Lurker, in fact I whole heartedly concur with your idea of ONE India without regional/language/caste based divide. But let's allow some room for ourselves to think about Mumbai in terms of LEGAL definition of "Bhumiputra". SS demands that "son of soil" should get preference over "parprantiya". Now let's see who this 'son of soil" could be in practical LEGAL terms. For a moment assume that SS implements a law by the virtue of which xyz jobs/lands will be allotted to "bhumiputras".....but point is how "bhumiputras" can be legally identified -- well it is done by producing following documents -- (1) a birth certificate from Mumbai Municipal Corporation proving that you are born in Mumbai (2)The ration card (3) Your Voter/election commission provided Photo-ID card if you have. Now a person who is born in Mumbai, and getting a birth certificate, automatically becomes "bhumiputra" irrespective of whether he is born in a Gujarati, Bihari-UP or south Indian family. In my view that is the best and fair implementation of "bhumiputra'..else Mumbai will be flooded with people of all over India. Incidentally, since last few years to get a job in BMC run organization you need a birth certificate showing that you are born in Maharashtra. My younger sister teaches in BMC school because she is born in Mumbai...while I can't get a job in maharashtra government coz I am born in UP --- It is "fair" and simple. On a seperate note, we people of UP and Bihar should stress on the fact that instead of moving out to Mumbai, Banglore we must try and find a job/business in our own place where, we can work and earn with respect and pride while remaining a 'bhumiputra" and proud Indian at the same time, meanwhile contributing to growth and prosperity of our respective state/district......instead of crying and moaning that certain Thackeray is demanding to expel UP-Biharis although we are Indians whole India is ours etc. I was planning to open a small business in the form of Cyber cafe in the small chauraaha near my village, land is still cheap there....but problem is there is hardly electricity and theft/dakaiti happens every second night:hysterical:
(1) a birth certificate from Mumbai Municipal Corporation proving that you are born in Mumbai (2)The ration card (3) Your Voter/election commission provided Photo-ID card if you have. Now a person who is born in Mumbai, and getting a birth certificate, automatically becomes "bhumiputra" irrespective of whether he is born in a Gujarati, Bihari-UP or south Indian family.
First of all that itself is a violation of Indian Constitution wherein every Indian is free to work anywhere in India. Secondly this reminds me of the time my Dad was posted in Ranchi. My Dad went to college in Ranchi(he was Gold Medalist from Ranchi University), half of our relatives lived there and my Dad himself has lived there for almost 10-15 years. My brother at the time was selected at Ranchi Medical College and suddenly Bihar became Bihar-Jharkhand. Now my brother had to "prove" he was a Jharkhandi and not taking the seat of a "bhumiputra". Since our village falls in Jharkhand getting the domicile was no big deal but that left such a bad taste in everyone's mouth that we left Ranchi for good. Never went back there either. I can see the exact same predicament for a lot of people. Had I been in India right now I would have been in Mumbai for 10 years now and still be considered an outsider, in my own country. Woohoo!!! :dance::dance:
In my view that is the best and fair implementation of "bhumiputra'..else Mumbai will be flooded with people of all over India.
Isnt that how it has grown anyway? Mumbai has risen thanks to Indians, and not only Marathis. You can take examples ranging from Bollywood to stock exchanges and see how many are Marathi dominated.
My younger sister teaches in BMC school because she is born in Mumbai...while I can't get a job in maharashtra government coz I am born in UP --- It is "fair" and simple.
It is fair since it worked for you one way and didnt in another way. In my book it is incorrect. You should be able to get a job in BMC if you are qualified for it.
I was planning to open a small business in the form of Cyber cafe in the small chauraaha near my village, land is still cheap there....but problem is there is hardly electricity and theft/dakaiti happens every second night:hysterical:
I have similar plans(of entrepreneuship) but I am going to wait just a bit and hope that the law and order situation is fine. Right now I dont see myself making that effort. xxx
And why do you want thesis when I criticize Congress with one liners. Stop being hypocrite ... and your posts confirm my judgment about all political parties . That's why I said "CHOOSE NONE" when you and your pal wanted to advocate BJP . And you started accusing me of being an idealist and what not for that ... And what happened to the shared ideology between BJP and "Dynastic" Shiv Sena !:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: Man , I am telling you , you guys are fools if you think that these parties have common man interest . They are political entities with vested interest . Support them if you must , but at your own peril .. lest thou shalt not get burned . And that's my free two cents for the day .
Heck u don;t criticise them as we speak I have not been able to get even a customary censure for communal politics of congres in tasleema nasreen episode.. They do think about comon man's interest apparently u never had any opprtunity to serve selflessly at any level that's why this cynicism.. I have ben part of RSS no matter how cynically I look can't come up with any credible alibi over why an university professor would be slogging without any returns in soem poor neighbourhood a doctor wud be leaving its clinic closed so that some health awareness gets spreaded in some god forsake area.. All those rss members never wanted any public position nor fought for any it was selfless work and hence I have belief there cud be political parties associated with these organization who think like them.. When I see MOdi working tirelessly 18 hours a day without taking single day off I have no reason to belittle his commitment saying he has some sinsiter design.. And I also believe for better or worse if any tangible change has to happen it will come through politics cosmetic soln here and there from this and that organization notwithstanding..
Boy , you are one of a kind intellectually dishonest person I have ever seen . You have never criticized the likes of Thackerey other than your one liners in spite of all his wrong doings and yet you have the audacity to question my veracity when it comes to unequivocal condemnation of Congress. Let's make this real simple . Like they say , the proof of the pudding is in the eating , I am gonna state the following for the records - 1. Modi Government should be held accountable for mishandling Gujarat Riots . The supreme court agrees with my assessment .Heck , even Vajpayee agrees with me .:D Supreme Court has been strongly critical of the Modi government's investigation and prosecution of those accused of violence during the riots.Let's not forget the Best Bakery case and thank god , Bilkis Bano finally got justice .. the thread which I started yesterday is for everybody's perusal. 2. Rajiv Gandhi government should also be held accountable for mishandling Sikh Riots . Legal actions must be pursued against thugs like HLK bhagat , Tyler and Sajjan Kumar as these three individuals have been found guilty as per Nanavati Commission The Commission also held the then police commissioner S.C. Tandon directly responsible for the riots so he should also be charged. And now , do you have the intestinal fortitude to agree with point no 1 . Please spare me your usual spin .... Yes or No answer will suffice .
Boy , you are one of a kind intellectually dishonest person I have ever seen . You have never criticized the likes of Thackerey other than your one liners in spite of all his wrong doings and yet you have the audacity to question my veracity when it comes to unequivocal condemnation of Congress. Let's make this real simple . Like they say , the proof of the pudding is in the eating , I am gonna state the following for the records - 1. Modi Government should be held accountable for mishandling Gujarat Riots . The supreme court agrees with my assessment .Heck , even Vajpayee agrees with me .:D Supreme Court has been strongly critical of the Modi government's investigation and prosecution of those accused of violence during the riots.Let's not forget the Best Bakery case and thank god , Bilkis Bano finally got justice .. the thread which I started yesterday is for everybody's perusal. You are confusing a judge yapping in his personal capacity as opposed to official court line..That judge was driven by media frenzy and he knew there was no legal merit in those yapping of his hence didn;t make it official.. Modi govt did whatever it cud instead of doing nothign despite army's availability very next door by Rajeev thug Gandhi who happens to be many's idol here.. 2. Rajiv Gandhi government should also be held accountable for mishandling Sikh Riots . Legal actions must be pursued against thugs like HLK bhagat , Tyler and Sajjan Kumar And Rajeev gandhi should be given bharat Ratna how come this chief criminal's name is misisng for that list fo yours...as these three individuals have been found guilty as per Nanavati Commission The Commission also held the then police commissioner S.C. Tandon directly responsible for the riots so he should also be charged. And now , do you have the intestinal fortitude to agree with point no 1 . Please spare me your usual spin .... Yes or No answer will suffice . As usual you have produced zilch in evidence which I have been asking for ever without any avail.. I have produced evidence to the contraray that he did whatever he cud so if anyone needs to apologize it should be you .. Yes I have no evidence against Rajeev gandhi either but one thigns is sure in his case he did nothing so can't throw the excuse that he tried.. Heck for him it was easy to do things givenb army was right next door..

IF somebody tells me this person speaking as empotionally and doing what he has doen so far for gujraat's development doesn;t mean well for the betterment of INdia he/she/it needs to visit psychiatrist.. Enjoy that's how emotional people are for bharat-mata in RSS sakaha.. that's why these people volunteer for the duty at border whenver it's warranted without expecting anything.. So don't u say no political party means well.. anyway enjoy.. hYzRFIH_euE&feature=user

So much for straight shooting by this hindutva ! :hysterical::hysterical: Only a delusional fool will think that the judge was driven by media frenzy and not by merits of the case. Even the parliament and Vajpayee condemned him . Are gonna call Vajpayee a joker ? And do you have any evidence that the judges were driven by ulterior motto ? And in the case of the Supreme Court , they were not driven by any agenda but by facts . The facts are that Supreme Court has been strongly critical of the state government's investigation and prosecution of those accused of violence during the riots, directing police to review about 2,000 of the 4,000 riot related cases that had been closed citing lack of evidence or leads . The facts are that they were aware of the Best Bakery case had potential to open Pandora's box. The facts are that state and law enforcement officials used to harass and intimidate key witnesses, NGOs, social activists and lawyers who are fighting to seek justice for riot victims. And since you do not have any evidence against Rajiv Gandhi , so my original motto needs to resurface - "If Rajiv Gandhi is guilty , so is Modi and vice versa " I am sure you will agree with this ...