New Delhi: A 24-year-old call centre employee who met with a fatal accident on the Delhi-Noida border was left unattended for more than two hours early Monday morning as the police of Delhi and UP quarrelled over who should take the victim to hospital. The Supreme Court has repeatedly made it clear that in case of an accident, the first priority of the cops must be to ensure the victim gets immediate medical aid and issues of jurisdiction are subsidiary. The accident occurred around 4.40am, when the bike of the victim, Ravi Girdhar, skid and hit the road divider a few metres from the Noida border in Mayur Vihar. Presuming him to be dead, police personnel from both sides argued over their respective jurisdictions even as Ravi lay on the divider, his head stuck in the iron railing. According to witnesses, it was only around 6.15am that cops from New Ashok Nagar police station, under whose jurisdiction the area falls, arrived on the spot. The Noida police had reached the spot half an hour earlier. Personnel from the forces then argued over who should be taking the victim to hospital. Finally, Ravi’s family members, who had been informed of the tragedy by the call centre, arrived at 7.15am and took the youth’s body away. This is what a senior Delhi Police officer, who didn’t want to be named, had to say: ‘‘The victim was dead the moment he skid and hit the railing. We had to take photographs of the site and carry out a few legal duties before we could have shifted him to a hospital. Obviously, if he had been alive, we would have moved him to a hospital immediately.’’ The Noida police too washed their hands of any responsibility. ‘‘The accident site does not fall in our jurisdiction. Our checkpost is far away from the spot. We were also told over wireless that Delhi police had already reached the spot. Hence, we could have been interfering in their jurisdiction,’’ said Rakesh Gautam, SP (city), Gautam Buddh Nagar. APATHY RETOLD 4.40am | Biker Ravi Girdhar (above) crashes into road divider at Mayur Vihar, 100m from Noida border. Cops later claim he died on the spot 4.45am | A journalist informs Delhi Police control room 5.45am | Noida police reach spot, do not touch the body 6.15am | Delhi cops arrive, argue with Noida counterparts 7.15am | Ravi’s family comes and takes body to hospital
Ajeeb Ajeeb log hai iss duniya mei.
its so sad ... those morons just wanted to avoid work while the poor guy had his head stuck in the iron railing for hours and then the cover up . Its seems so filmy but sadly its true :thumbs_down:

more from his family

New Delhi: Ravi Girdhar’s death, with his head stuck between two railings and the cops quarrelling over jurisdictin, has outraged many. A TV journalist who passed the site minutes after the fatal accident, said, ‘‘I was shocked to see a bike lying 100 meters from the Noida border around 4.45am. I found a man with his neck stuck on the divider grill. He had stopped breathing. I called up 100 which said that I should call Noida police as the area comes under their jurisdiction. When I told them that I had no contact numbers of the UP police, the Delhi police control room said that they would relay the message to their counterparts. Finally, the UP police arrived at 5.45am. They refused to take him to a hospital. Around 6.15am, Delhi cops came to the spot,’’ he said. Vishal Giridhar, 28, elder brother of the victim, said, ‘‘We received a call from my brother’s office saying that he was critically injured and admitted to the LBS Hospital. We left immediately in an auto only to be told by the police to wait till they inform us where my brother was being shifted. On receiving no communication, we moved to the accident spot to find my brother lying on the divider. We had to bring an auto that carries goods for taking him to the LBS hospital,’’ he said. Vishal, shaken by his brother’s death, was shocked by the attitude of the cops. ‘‘Even if my brother was dead, he needed to be treated as a human being. He could not have been allowed to lie on the road for almost three hours.’’ According to the Delhi Police, Ravi had been speeding to reach his office at Sector 3 in Noida. He was a resident of Sector 15, Rohini. ‘‘Close to the UP border, Ravi’s bike skid due to overspeeding. He hit the divider and was airborne for a few seconds hitting the iron railing of the divider. His neck got stuck in it. The impact broke his neck and he died instantly,’’ said a senior officer. Vishal said his brother usually took the office cab at 3am. ‘‘On Monday, he was joining office after two days’ leave as he was busy with functions during Navratri. He was tired and wanted to sleep. He sent the cab back and left for work on his bike at 4am,’’ he said. Ravi, who completed his graduation through correspondence, had been working in the Noida office for a year. He was earlier employed at an Okhla-based call centre. According to a colleague of Ravi, he was expecting a promotion as team leader. ‘‘He was forced to work as my father is asthmatic and stopped working years ago. Our sister too got married and left. Ravi bought the bike after saving money for three years,’’ said Vishal.
:(( Im feeling so sad .... its horrible .. these policewalas should be punished ... at least they could have moved his body ..
more from his family :(( Im feeling so sad .... its horrible .. these policewalas should be punished ... at least they could have moved his body ..
they shud loose their job and get 2 yrs of jail as they are responsible for his death,atleast others can get few important lessons.
they shud loose their job and get 2 yrs of jail as they are responsible for his death' date='atleast others can get few important lessons.[/quote'] sadly , hoga kuch nahi ... just pathetic