Guest dada_rocks Posted July 24, 2008 Posted July 24, 2008 http://www.thehoot.org/web/home/story.php?storyid=3233&mod=1&pg=1§ionId=5&valid=true Author chimes: Let me confine myself only to the channel's decision not to telecast the footage, but hand it over to the Speaker of the Lok Sabha. This raises a few questions: Is it the job of a TV channel to provide proof to any Constitutional authority, in this case the Speaker, before it could telecast the news to its viewers? Does this not give handle to critics to allege that the channel was silenced? In fact, in a panel discussion in another channel, this was hinted. It is possible that the channel might have felt that it was taken for a ride by unscrupulous politicians and thus the whole episode was quite fishy. So, it was not fair to telecast the tape since the channel itself was not convinced about the authenticity of the whole operation. In such a case there was no need for the channel to hand over the tape to the Speaker. The editor-in-chief of the channel gave quite a righteous bite that the channel did not want to be part of the bitter political battle. For the last one week, politicians and the media have been making allegations that lot of money is changing hands. Politicians especially from the UPA, named parties from where there will be abstentions or cross voting to bail out the UPA. In many discussion forums on the channels, the media was taunted for not doing anything to investigate these charges and the anchors were only asking "Where are such huge amounts coming from?" When CNN-IBN did a sting to expose such dirty operations, why did they feel shy of telecasting the news, especially in the context of the channels outsourcing such sting operations in the past for an astronomical fee? A statement from the channel says "While trying to investigate deeper into this trail, we realized that the issue needed further probing and we could not at this stage telecast it without further verification". If the job was only half done, why did the channel decide to hand over the incomplete tape to the Speaker? What purpose does it serve? The statement further says: "We are also aware that as the matter involves honourable members of Parliament and involves a question of parliamentary privileges, the media needs to be extra cautious before airing or telecasting any such news". This is quite funny. The "cash for query" sting and scam involving MPs Constituency Development Fund, related to "honorable members of Parliament" and the channels that telecast these sting operations received applause from all quarters. No channel was punished for breach of privilege. Why did CNN IBN develop cold feet on this sting, especially when it claims "Whatever it takes"? Is the reluctance to telecast due to the fact that the concerned MPs preempted the channel by disclosing the "Cash for Votes" operation on the floor of the House violating an understanding? Telecast of the tape, after the operation was exposed on the floor of the house, would give the impression that the channel was in cahoots with the BJP and was trying to support the BJP in the murky political scenario. If the bribe episode allegedly by the SP was true, the channel should not have bothered about the after-effects of telecast and should have stood by the truth. Only then, their tagline "Whatever it takes" would be credible. Otherwise, it is only a verbal jugglery. "Publish and be damned" is the idiom mediamen are taught right from the journalism schools. How far is this relevant today? That is the crucial question.
Desi Cartman Posted July 26, 2008 Posted July 26, 2008 I agree 100% . I dont understand how they can authenticate a video .. video is a video whats are they checking ? I think its either a case of bribe or pressure ..
Guest dada_rocks Posted July 26, 2008 Posted July 26, 2008 Forma; complaint registered against two SP MPs and 1 congress MP.. in my view case should eb registered that biggest bahurupia Manmohan Singh.. he seems to have this propensity of savign his govt by these shady dealings.. 1993 and 2008
Guest dada_rocks Posted August 8, 2008 Posted August 8, 2008 Am i imagning things or BJP seems to be boycotting the CNN (congress news network) IBN.. Am yet to see even a single BJP leader voicing his opinion in those staged talk shows.. Is it true sandy or I have not been watching this fake news channel enough...
Guest dada_rocks Posted August 11, 2008 Posted August 11, 2008 Sudhndra Kulkarni who organized this sting along with BJP MPs claiming the tape whihc he saw with speaker was doctored in that 24 hours when Rajdeep sardesai said he had given tapes to speaker and speaker syas he has not received it yet..
Guest dada_rocks Posted August 11, 2008 Posted August 11, 2008 BTW that doctored tape with sardesai's spin is ON right now.. he does the freudian slip[ while commenting on tape instead of cash for vote he ends up saying cash for tape:--D
sandtest Posted August 11, 2008 Posted August 11, 2008 first of all whoever given the tape to Rajdeep Farcedesai was an idiot or deliberately done so with intention of not getting telecasted. I am harping here since last one year that Rajdeep is a pimp of Congress. It's not for nothing that Congress party awarded him with a Padmashree award. I have already created a thread long back for this then our ignorant Cricket fans here at ICF termed me as a right winger, extremist, Hindutva and what not without even reading the facts about what is said. anyway here is the link of old news regarding Rajdeep for padmashree award....(I will try bump that thread if I can find:giggle:) http://www.televisionpoint.com/news2008/newsfullstory.php?id=1201244404
Guest dada_rocks Posted August 11, 2008 Posted August 11, 2008 Point is who else if not this stooge.. I am sure others wud have called Amar singh and told him about this plan.. this stooge I guess agreeed because he wanted to make money later from amar singh....
sandtest Posted August 11, 2008 Posted August 11, 2008 BJP has boycotted CNNIBN and so far major BJP leaders are staying away from this Channel. Venkaiah naidu last week has already given official statement regarding boycot of CNN IBn till they telecast the "unedited" version of tape. Thing is, in such tapes anyone will keep a copy and send it to rival channels in case one channel sells their soul to Congress.
Guest dada_rocks Posted August 11, 2008 Posted August 11, 2008 Yes they bungled up there.. they should have kept one copy.. as it seems tape has been carefully doctored ahmed patel is nowhere to be found as claimed.. Sudhndra Kulkarni a very renouned and credible journalist who was in the know is claiming the same and is willing to testify for that before any commission..
Guest dada_rocks Posted August 19, 2008 Posted August 19, 2008 Gopry details of parts deleted by CNN IBN from none other than the man who was in the know all the while of this sting operation Sudheendra Kulkarni.. http://outlookindia.com/full.asp?fodname=20080818&fname=cfv&sid=1&pn=3 Postscript: After a long delay, CNN-IBN telecast the programme on the ‘Cash-for-Votes’ tapes on 11 August 2008.I would like to place on record my observation and belief that the channel has been less than truthful to its own investigation. It has concealed the truth about the involvement Shri Amar Singh and Congress leaders in the scandal by suppressing important sections of the recorded material. For example, CNN-IBN has showed no clips of the meetings in Le Meridien Hotel, where Suhail had accompanied two BJP MPs to meet Shri Ahmed Patel. I wonder if it has submitted any tapes to the parliamentary committee about the Meridien part of the investigation. CNN-IBN’s original alibi for not telecasting the tapes was that its investigation was "incomplete". It is strange that between July 22 and August 11, it never deemed it necessary to contact either me or my colleague Suhail Hindustani for any questions related to further investigation in the matter. Suhail has affirmed this to me. As submitted earlier in this letter, Suhail had told me that a person in yellow shirt who carried the amount of Rs. 1 crore, and accompanied Sanjeev Saxena to Shri Argal’s house, was also present at Shri Amar Singh’s house. He is clearly seen with Saxena in Shri Argal’s house in the programme telecast by CNN-IBN. He may perhaps be there on the tape submitted to the parliamentary committee, but the channel has not shown his presence near Shri Amar Singh’s house. If the tape actually shows his presence near Shri Amar Singh’s house, then it is an additional and crucial piece of evidence of Shri Amar Singh’s involvement in this scandal. His identity and role must be properly probed.
Guest dada_rocks Posted August 19, 2008 Posted August 19, 2008 Here is the sworn statment of Suhail Ahamed alilas Suhail Hindusatni a BJP worker who facilitated this sting http://outlookindia.com/full.asp?fodname=20080818&fname=cfv&sid=2
THX_1138 Posted August 20, 2008 Posted August 20, 2008 I agree 100% . I dont understand how they can authenticate a video .. video is a video whats are they checking ? I think its either a case of bribe or pressure .. most video are encoded using H.261 or M-peg 4 type compression and by checking the individual frames, it can be determined if the video has been tampered (since the video is encoded using a sequence of several 8 bits for each frame and a audio track is encoded with each frame... thus if the audio track has been tampered or if particular frames have been edited out, one can determine such discrepancies).
sandtest Posted August 20, 2008 Posted August 20, 2008 most video are encoded using H.261 or M-peg 4 type compression and by checking the individual frames, it can be determined if the video has been tampered (since the video is encoded using a sequence of several 8 bits for each frame and a audio track is encoded with each frame... thus if the audio track has been tampered or if particular frames have been edited out, one can determine such discrepancies). Good information. Thanks for sharing.
sandtest Posted August 20, 2008 Posted August 20, 2008 Still, I am bewildered, when even a newbie in politics who has little knowledge of Indian media personnel knows that Rajdeep Sardesai is a pimp of Congress and CNN IBN recieves huge funds from evangelical missionaries of India, then how come those folks decided to handover an important tape to such a channel and person?? and moreover never kept a copy of those? I lost interest in the saga, immediately after this.
THX_1138 Posted August 20, 2008 Posted August 20, 2008 Still, I am bewildered, when even a newbie in politics who has little knowledge of Indian media personnel knows that Rajdeep Sardesai is a pimp of Congress and CNN IBN recieves huge funds from evangelical missionaries of India, then how come those folks decided to handover an important tape to such a channel and person?? and moreover never kept a copy of those? I lost interest in the saga, immediately after this. i dont know much about this... but corporate sponsored media cannot maintain an objectivity with regards to news reporting. their opinions and content will almost always be skewed in favor of their sponsors. fox never if ever criticizes the bush administration, as does NBC, they never say a word against microsoft, or CNN ever bad mouth ted turner or GE.
Guest dada_rocks Posted August 20, 2008 Posted August 20, 2008 Still, I am bewildered, when even a newbie in politics who has little knowledge of Indian media personnel knows that Rajdeep Sardesai is a pimp of Congress and CNN IBN recieves huge funds from evangelical missionaries of India, then how come those folks decided to handover an important tape to such a channel and person?? and moreover never kept a copy of those? I lost interest in the saga, immediately after this. HE was showing signs of feeble ewquanimity and botomline is as a political party you will have to play your politics with acceptance of existing media till some channle symathetic BJP causes comes up...... Honestly BJP misses Pramod Mahajn for events like this.. He was the master media manipulator.. BJP needs to find another Mahajan.. You are being modest dude you have betetr understanding of politics than majority fo politicians..... mo
Guest dada_rocks Posted August 20, 2008 Posted August 20, 2008 most video are encoded using H.261 or M-peg 4 type compression and by checking the individual frames' date=' it can be determined if the video has been tampered (since the video is encoded using a sequence of several 8 bits for each frame and a audio track is encoded with each frame... thus if the audio track has been tampered or if particular frames have been edited out, one can determine such discrepancies).[/quote'] Point is they have officially deleted parts too claimign for so and so minutes there was no event .. it's easy to hide the deletion of relevant parts in litanty of those socaleld non-ventful period official deletion.. whole Ahmed Patel conghress leader episode disappeared from the video..