Desi Cartman Posted August 13, 2008 Posted August 13, 2008 PURI: Chaos prevailed at Jagannath temple on Tuesday after a Muslim soldier accompanied his brigadier into the 12th century shrine, which is off-limits to non-Hindus. Police said havildar M A Rashid, a bodyguard to Brig. Beda Prakash, was with the army officer who was visiting the temple. Some priests there raised an alarm after they saw the soldier's name on his badge. Rashid pleaded ignorance about the rule that bars non-Hindus from entering the temple. "I had absolutely no idea about the rule. Nobody stopped me at the temple gate," Rashid, who is employed at the Army Air Defence College at Golabandha in Gopalpur, said. The brigadier defended his bodyguard's unintentional mistake. "We had no intention to deceive anyone. Rashid could have removed his badge and nobody would have been the wiser about his religion. But he did not do so," Brig. Prakash, who is posted in Lucknow, said. "We are armymen. We are people of high integrity." How shameful is this ? In today's India if we cant allow a person of different faith in a temple then how different are some of us from Taliban ...
sandtest Posted August 13, 2008 Posted August 13, 2008 Desi....please post a link. Need to analyse the source. And what's your beef in searching and posting every minor incident which has some bashing of Hindus :D are some of us from Taliban ... That is the most stupidity driven comment generated due to psy-ops of media without understanding context. In fact you have aided our sensationalist media's ultimate objective of selective quoting of news by falling pray to it.
Desi Cartman Posted August 13, 2008 Author Posted August 13, 2008 Desi....please post a link. Need to analyse the source. And what's your beef in searching and posting every minor incident which has some bashing of Hindus :D That is the most stupidity driven comment generated due to psy-ops of media without understanding context. In fact you have aided our sensationalist media's ultimate objective of selective quoting of news by falling pray to it. here is the link http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/India/Row_over_Muslim_jawan_in_Puri_temple/articleshow/3358641.cms If there is discrimination then its wrong. 2 wrongs dont make 1 right. Just like im furious at some idiots wanting to march and protest towards POK or not letting some worshipers build some shelters. http://www.indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=117343 As for the comment , why is it wrong ? I hate it when someone (muslim/dalit) is not allowed somewhere. I also hate the fact that its free to visit taj mahal on fridays. Somethings are just not right.
PaiN_KiLLeR Posted August 13, 2008 Posted August 13, 2008 Non hindus aren't allowed in the Puri Temple premises. Last year two European tourists were forced to leave after the priests objected to non-hindus being present in the Temple. After that, they carried out a several hours long cleansing ritual to purify the Temple.
THX_1138 Posted August 13, 2008 Posted August 13, 2008 one more reason to piss on all religion. good for nothing propaganda bull crap. never had to worry about restricting access to a laboratory or library to people of different color or ethnicity.
PaiN_KiLLeR Posted August 13, 2008 Posted August 13, 2008 http://www.hare-krishna.org/articles/1308/1/Puri-Temple-Priests-Purify-Temple-Following-Non-Hindus-Entrance/Page1.html After more than 18 hours of debate, the food cooked for approximately 7,000 devotees at Puri's Jagannath Temple was thrown away on Friday. A number of priests had insisted the prasadam (food blessed by the Deity) be discarded because it had been defiled by the entry of an American non-Hindu into the temple. The mahaprasad that went to waste was estimated to be worth around US $6,800. Police detained Mr. Roediger, a 59 year old engineer from New York, for five hours for allegedly violating the age-old temple tradition which bars non-Hindus, especially those who consume "objectionable food," from entering the shrine. Puri police said no case has been registered because there is no law under which Mr. Roediger can be charged. "Since there is no law to punish Roediger, the temple administration asked him to pay $5.00 for the mahasnana (purification ritual)," the police said. Temple authorities called Roediger's actions "an act of desecration." Former Indian Prime Minister Indira Gandhi was once turned away from the main gates of the shrine, as she was deemed to be non-Hindu, having married outside of the religion. One news source incorrectly reported: "Nonetheless, the temple does not allow entry to non-Hindus or foreigners - with the exception of Western Hare Krishna devotees, who throng to the temple each year in large numbers."
THX_1138 Posted August 13, 2008 Posted August 13, 2008 http://www.hare-krishna.org/articles/1308/1/Puri-Temple-Priests-Purify-Temple-Following-Non-Hindus-Entrance/Page1.html After more than 18 hours of debate, the food cooked for approximately 7,000 devotees at Puri's Jagannath Temple was thrown away on Friday. A number of priests had insisted the prasadam (food blessed by the Deity) be discarded because it had been defiled by the entry of an American non-Hindu into the temple. The mahaprasad that went to waste was estimated to be worth around US $6,800. Police detained Mr. Roediger, a 59 year old engineer from New York, for five hours for allegedly violating the age-old temple tradition which bars non-Hindus, especially those who consume "objectionable food," from entering the shrine. Puri police said no case has been registered because there is no law under which Mr. Roediger can be charged. "Since there is no law to punish Roediger, the temple administration asked him to pay $5.00 for the mahasnana (purification ritual)," the police said. Temple authorities called Roediger's actions "an act of desecration." Former Indian Prime Minister Indira Gandhi was once turned away from the main gates of the shrine, as she was deemed to be non-Hindu, having married outside of the religion. One news source incorrectly reported: "Nonetheless, the temple does not allow entry to non-Hindus or foreigners - with the exception of Western Hare Krishna devotees, who throng to the temple each year in large numbers." douche bag central...
Desi Cartman Posted August 13, 2008 Author Posted August 13, 2008 http://www.hare-krishna.org/articles/1308/1/Puri-Temple-Priests-Purify-Temple-Following-Non-Hindus-Entrance/Page1.html After more than 18 hours of debate, the food cooked for approximately 7,000 devotees at Puri's Jagannath Temple was thrown away on Friday. A number of priests had insisted the prasadam (food blessed by the Deity) be discarded because it had been defiled by the entry of an American non-Hindu into the temple. The mahaprasad that went to waste was estimated to be worth around US $6,800. Police detained Mr. Roediger, a 59 year old engineer from New York, for five hours for allegedly violating the age-old temple tradition which bars non-Hindus, especially those who consume "objectionable food," from entering the shrine. Puri police said no case has been registered because there is no law under which Mr. Roediger can be charged. "Since there is no law to punish Roediger, the temple administration asked him to pay $5.00 for the mahasnana (purification ritual)," the police said. Temple authorities called Roediger's actions "an act of desecration." Former Indian Prime Minister Indira Gandhi was once turned away from the main gates of the shrine, as she was deemed to be non-Hindu, having married outside of the religion. One news source incorrectly reported: "Nonetheless, the temple does not allow entry to non-Hindus or foreigners - with the exception of Western Hare Krishna devotees, who throng to the temple each year in large numbers." I will visit puri temple and confuse these morons. I am a brahmin but I eat beef :finger:
sandtest Posted August 13, 2008 Posted August 13, 2008 here is the link http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/India/Row_over_Muslim_jawan_in_Puri_temple/articleshow/3358641.cms As for the comment , why is it wrong ? I hate it when someone (muslim/dalit) is not allowed somewhere. I also hate the fact that its free to visit taj mahal on fridays. Somethings are just not right. If that incident is true, then definately these idiot priests are causing bigger harm to Dharma than wahhabism and evangelicalization conversions of Hindus has caused. No disrespect DD, I just asked because Toilet paper of India (TOI) hardly reports the news with balanced data enough for one to comprehend. There is at average one Hindu bashing or news on daily basis without giving name and details of actual culprits. For example in this news they started with "Chaos prevailed" without giving the detail how it caused "Chao", except quoting a Police man. Nornmally, a policeman is deployed in every major temple these days due to threat of terror. Anyway, the preist name itself is inclonclusive. This incident might have been due to lack of "Sauch" loosely translated as "Cleanliness" in English. Actually anybody is allowed in temple if he is done a "sauch" which includes, removing Chappals and bathing. May be good soldiers might have forgot to remove shoes in this case, who knows. In either case such practice is abhorrent and only gives more amunition to dawah and salvation preachers.
yoda Posted August 13, 2008 Posted August 13, 2008 some hindu temples restrict access to only hindus to keep the place strictly for religious purposes as opposed to making it a tourist spot. of course if your a beef eating hindu or a guy who likes to piss on all religions you should be least concerned about whether a hindu temple allows non-hindus or not.
Desi Cartman Posted August 13, 2008 Author Posted August 13, 2008 some hindu temples restrict access to only hindus to keep the place strictly for religious purposes as opposed to making it a tourist spot. of course if your a beef eating hindu or a guy who likes to piss on all religions you should be least concerned about whether a hindu temple allows non-hindus or not. Is your post in reply to my comment that I eat beef ? please be specific so I can be bothered to reply
Desi Cartman Posted August 13, 2008 Author Posted August 13, 2008 If that incident is true, then definately these idiot priests are causing bigger harm to Dharma than wahhabism and evangelicalization conversions of Hindus has caused. No disrespect DD, I just asked because Toilet paper of India (TOI) hardly reports the news with balanced data enough for one to comprehend. There is at average one Hindu bashing or news on daily basis without giving name and details of actual culprits. For example in this news they started with "Chaos prevailed" without giving the detail how it caused "Chao", except quoting a Police man. Nornmally, a policeman is deployed in every major temple these days due to threat of terror. Anyway, the preist name itself is inclonclusive. This incident might have been due to lack of "Sauch" loosely translated as "Cleanliness" in English. Actually anybody is allowed in temple if he is done a "sauch" which includes, removing Chappals and bathing. May be good soldiers might have forgot to remove shoes in this case, who knows. In either case such practice is abhorrent and only gives more amunition to dawah and salvation preachers. I know what you mean but its about one's right. If Im an Indian then I should be allowed to visit a temple in Puri as well as live in Srinagar if I want
sandtest Posted August 13, 2008 Posted August 13, 2008 some hindu temples restrict access to only hindus to keep the place strictly for religious purposes as opposed to making it a tourist spot. of course if your a beef eating hindu or a guy who likes to piss on all religions you should be least concerned about whether a hindu temple allows non-hindus or not. very good point Yoda, you are right on the dot. Problem is people view Hinduism with their "elitist" attitude and chest thumping atheist judgement. Not that they are wrong in that , but Hinduism is really not a strict religion that it can be categorized by such incidents. "Sauch" means cleanliness is an important "Vigraha" in fact one of the main thing before performing any Pooja. Anyway, it's very rare that Muslims visit or accompany a freind to temple. We had a very good atheistic Muslim friend, even he use to stay outside and wait till rest of us finish some prostration inside temple. He hardly accompnied us during Ganesh Chaturthi Visarjan (throwing of idols inside sea).
DomainK Posted August 13, 2008 Posted August 13, 2008 I agree with Yoda. I think if a religious institution or a temple does want to restrict access to those only who follow the religion, there is nothing wrong in that. But to throw away food cooked that day just because a non-Hindu entered the temple is sick. I hope that they didn't throw the food away and gave it away to the homeless. You can ask non-HIndus not to enter, but I can not digest that cleansing and throwing away of food. Disgusting.
DomainK Posted August 13, 2008 Posted August 13, 2008 I am from Orissa. I remember that one of the leading Jagannath devotees ever known was Muslim by religion. The story (I dont know whether true or fiction) says that lord Jagannath loved him the most in the world and once day when he went to visit the Puri Temple, he was denied access and the Lord was very angry with the authorities for denying access to a loving devotee. There are several stories regarding the car festival. But the most popular one says that Lord Jagannath comes out so that can he could meet those devotees who are not allowed inside the temple. The legend says that the Lord is not at all happy with the rules made by the pandas (the priests in the Puri temple are called pandas) that untouchables should not enter the temple. There are many such legends. Irrespective of whether they are true or not, they all send the same message. There should be no restriction of entry to a temple.
sandtest Posted August 13, 2008 Posted August 13, 2008 I agree with Yoda. I think if a religious institution or a temple does want to restrict access to those only who follow the religion' date=' there is nothing wrong in that. But to throw away food cooked that day just because a non-Hindu entered the temple is sick. I hope that they didn't throw the food away and gave it away to the homeless. You can ask non-HIndus not to enter, but I can not digest that cleansing and throwing away of food. Disgusting.[/quote'] Agree with you. Also that food throwing news source is a hare Krishna website....well, they are most liberal temples in India.:-D:two_thumbs_up: We have one in Juhu where anyone can visit and have food. But there is this internal competition among Shivites, Gaudiya Vaishnavites and Advaitins in India to prove each other's philosophy and practice not confirming to Vedas :--D...funny this may sound but a sectarian clash exist though it's highly non-violent in nature and limited till criticizing in discourses and writing.
Guest Hiten. Posted August 13, 2008 Posted August 13, 2008 Agree with you. Also that food throwing news source is a hare Krishna website....well, they are most liberal temples in India.:-D:two_thumbs_up: We have one in Juhu where anyone can visit and have food. But there is this internal competition among Shivites, Gaudiya Vaishnavites and Advaitins in India to prove each other's philosophy and practice not confirming to Vedas :--D...funny this may sound but a sectarian clash exist though it's highly non-violent in nature and limited till criticizing in discourses and writing. ISKCON temple is Juhu is awesome. Moreover, the kasta kachoriya's they sell is mouth watering :two_thumbs_up:. I miss it so much :((
DomainK Posted August 13, 2008 Posted August 13, 2008 Agree with you. Also that food throwing news source is a hare Krishna website....well, they are most liberal temples in India.:-D:two_thumbs_up: We have one in Juhu where anyone can visit and have food. But there is this internal competition among Shivites, Gaudiya Vaishnavites and Advaitins in India to prove each other's philosophy and practice not confirming to Vedas :--D...funny this may sound but a sectarian clash exist though it's highly non-violent in nature and limited till criticizing in discourses and writing. Yes, and this internal competition sounds so bloody funny. Really these guys are idiots.
CC1981 Posted August 13, 2008 Posted August 13, 2008 some hindu temples restrict access to only hindus to keep the place strictly for religious purposes as opposed to making it a tourist spot. of course if your a beef eating hindu or a guy who likes to piss on all religions you should be least concerned about whether a hindu temple allows non-hindus or not. i disagree with this. A temple can always have a time for religious ceremony and a time for public access. No temple is doing religious ceremonies 24/7 and even if they are, there is no reason to make it exclusivist. Tourism not only brings in money, it also increases awareness- i know some white Hare-Krishnas here, who became so after watching a parade, getting interested and then visiting the temple to learn more. Exclusivism will prevent these type of conversions as well and if anything is more detrimental to the philosophy.
Tapioca Posted August 13, 2008 Posted August 13, 2008 very good point Yoda, you are right on the dot. Problem is people view Hinduism with their "elitist" attitude and chest thumping atheist judgement. Not that they are wrong in that , but Hinduism is really not a strict religion that it can be categorized by such incidents. Sanders, a problem with such incidents is that on one hand we claim that Hinduism is the most tolerant, universally accepting religion, that it is the only one that does not claim to be the only true religion, and so on. Yet on the other side we seem to be so insecure to believe that presence of a non-Hindu inside the temple will contaminate it and reduce the "presence" of the God in the premises.