The Dilemna of Dravid : The Journey from Melbourne to Nagpur

Guest HariSampath

Indian cricket has been going through a transitional phase for the past 1 year, and the issue of the seniors has been the hot topic of discussion everywhere for months together. The torch has passed on to Mahendra Singh Dhoni, one of the best captains Indian cricket has seen, Ganguly has announced his retirement, and so has Kumble. India's successes and failures in the past year have largely been centered around our batting; our successes have been marked by some splendid performances by the openers Sehwag and Gambhir, who were both ignored at the beginning of the tour of Australia, and our failures have largely come about due to dramatic failures and collapses of our famous middle order. I would like to trace a path of this transition from the Bangalore test against Pakistan, till now..the road that started from Melbourne and has now led to Nagpur, with the Border Gavaskar trophy tantalizingly poised. No discussion of this transition, and no analysis if the failures can be complete without analyzing the journey of Rahul Dravid through this time period of one year, at a time when one of the finest batsmen India has produced, whom I prefer to call "Rock of Gibraltor"rather than "The Wall", is facing the biggest question of his career. It is just not his dilemna, it is a dilemna for skipper Dhoni, Chairman of selectors Srikkanth, BCCI and indeed all Indian cricket fans including Dravid fans. Nobody in the history of Indian top batters had ever gone through this kind of an extended failure like Dravid. I am not aware of any cricketer in the world at any time ( particularly top batsmen like Dravid) who had scored just one 50 per series for 6 test series in running, or averaged 27 over 25 tests or 20 over 15 test inngs,its just NOT a phase. Time and again,we have been singing this tune " next test, next series, cant judge by just one series, big one is around the corner"....far too many tests,far too many series and far too many corners have come and gone. Meanwhile, India has had a completely unproductive #3 spot for 2 years. God knows how many games this has cost us, and God knows how many chances youngsters have missed. Just think...if some other player(s) had been played in at least half these 25 tests, by now we will have 2 talented and performing youngsters, who would have played 4 test series each, that is 12 tests each and would have probably scored 800-1000 runs each. India by now could have had a well settled Badrinath and a Yuvraj/Kaif or someone else in the middle order. My point is simple : WHY should much more deserving candidates be continuously be ignored, when they are getting tons of runs, just to keep a totally "out of form Dravid" in the 11 ? Just look at the team imbalance it causes and what cost to the team. Classic Example is the Boxing day test last year. Consider the scenario. Yuvraj had come back ito the team in the 3rd test against Pakistan, and scored a brilliant 175, coming in at 60-4 on a seaming track, and with Ganguly , he saved India. From 60-4 , a potentially losing situation on the first morning, we ended up at 360-4 by evening, a match winning situation potentially. This kind of dramatic transformation , only the Sehwags and Yuvrajs can do. And yet, it opened up a problem...who to drop now to fit in Sachin ? Yes Sachin had to come in, but this resulted in Sehwag not getting selected in the 11 for boxing day test, and instead we had Dravid opening with Jaffer. By then, Dravid had been already failing in the past 3 test series. Yes...No 50 in SAf, 1 50 in Eng and 1 50 at home against Pakistan, a grand total of 3 Fifties in 10 test matches, and surely a candidate who should have been dropped . Yet the argument then was " how can we go in to a Boxing day test without Dravid, our only hope and wall, surely he will come back into form" . So Yuvraj stayed in, Sehwag out, and Dravid opened. Result ? total disaster. Many think that Dravid's crawl in the Melbourne 1st inngs cost us the game and the series too. The trend was set. I remember pleading with Kumble 6-7 times between the Bangalore test and Melbourne test to go in with Sehwag if we were to win, just like millions of other fans, but he remained stubborn. Dravid failed miserably; middle order caved in, too much pressure, Yuvraj too didnt get runs, and before we knew it we were 0-2 down by Sydney. Almost all cricket experts were unanimous in saying that Sehwag should have played the first 2 tests, and we saw why when he was selected for Perth and Adelaide. But now, yet another problem...Yuvraj, after 2 failures was dropped. Why ?? He had just done his 175 act in Bangalore, but was dropped to keep Dravid in the side.Why ?If Dravid could be given a 12 test run when he was struggling, why not Yuvraj when he he had just scored a brilliant 175 2 tests back ? After all Yuvraj can win games off his bat. But NO. We needed the "solid defence, experience and technique " of Dravid to go into the " all important Perth test". Yes Dravid got that 90, and we did win, but everyone knows how much it was due to Sehwag's opening start, Irfan and others. Then Adelaide, and again Dravid failed, Sehwag blasted a 150 to save the test for us when all the "solid technique batters" caved in the second innings. India lost 1-2. That series scoreline ( quite apart from the Sydney horrors) , on cricketing terms alone could have been 2-0 or 2-1 in our favor, we certainly wouldn't have been 0-2 down. This is a classic case of just how much obsession with "solid technique" and "experience" combined with farcical hope that "its around the corner", can impact the playing 11 directly and cost us tests and series. And then came SAF at home...Dravid crawled to a 100 off 300 balls on a feather bed , on top of a Sehwag blazer 300 in Chennai. Presumably the "big one " had come...now things were supposed to be normal ...but no...he failed yet again rest of the series. He who had the "solid technique and experience", and who was the "wall", and who had finally got a 100 after 20 test matches, couldn't stop the Ahmedabad debacle of 76 all out. Why ? he could have got a 80-100 and stood tall...but no. Now the excuse is " all else failed too...Sehwag failed, VVS, Ganguly, no Sachin etc"...its ridiculous how Dravid apologists get set on a theory and find arguments to explain facts. All these Sachins, Laxmans, and Sehwags had been getting tons recently, but it was Dravid who was failing series after series. So what excuse now ? nothing. Then we go to SL...ah , now we will all see who fares well against the rookie Mendis, after all didnt we say after our younger lot caved in to Mendis in ODIs " wait till the tests come, its a different ball game, the seniors will show how its done and will own Mendis" . In fact Kumble didnt even think too highly of Mendis and said " that was our inexperienced players, but our seniors have the technique and experience and are not bothered about Mendis". Wow...then came the month of Mendis, and the Wall had NO clue whatsoever. This wasnt pace, swing , bounce or seam. This was pure and simple spin bowling on which Dravid and seniors had grown up on, and Mendis just cleaned them up all through the series making ALL of them look like novices. He just ran through the famed batting like knife through butter. It was Sehwag alone who stood up with a 200 and we still lost 1-2. But wait....Dravid put together a 50 in the last test...mind you, he didnt impact the test, but everyone started saying " ok, now he is back, he has conquered Mendis, and things will be back to normal . Surely we cant afford to go into the "all important Boeder Gavaskar trophy " without Dravid , we need his "solid defence, experience and technique" to counter Brett Lee and co. And so, amid all the cries of " sack the seniors", poor Ganguly is dropped even from Irani trophy. Why ? He had got a 200, 100 and a 90 in the Pakistan series, had played reasonably well in Australia, helped us win the Delhi test against Pakistan, done lots better than Dravid in South Africa, all the while Dravid had failed, mind you. But his failure in SL was the only thing seen...never mind that Sachin, Dravid , Laxman too failed miserably...it had to be Ganguly who was the scapegoat to such an extent, he was not even included in a domestic team. Then came the new selection committee, Ganguly had an intimate discussion with Krish Srikkanth in Chennai where he outlined his disgust with the unfairness in course of a India A match, that he was shamed into playing, after Srikkanth reinstated him after persuading him to retire by the end of the series. So now we go in with the same seniors again, but with a difference in this series: Everyone was on notice, performances count, and that alone counts. Srikkanth was understanding with all seniors , including Kumble when it came to a honorable exit, afterall it was originally Kumble's idea to BCCI last year at the behest of the senior players. But Srikkanth was firm, " go honorably, but perform till you stay, if you do neither, I may have drop you, but will do it quietly and in a dignified manner". Ganguly becomes wise , and accepts what has commonly come to be known as the VRS plan. He performs magnificently, helps save the 1st test, gets a 100 to help win the 2ns test, and again plays well to save the 3rd test. But Dravid ? NO....he hasn't signed up for the plan till now. Even Kumble realised after 3 tests that it is real, and the term " honorable exit " means, he has to exit now and can do so with honor, but if he stayed on and not announce he is going, Srikkanth may have to enforce his part of the job and drop Kumble on performance. It worked. Kumble has retired. Now VVS. He too is told " get runs, we will keep you till your 100th test, but get runs". VVS does so, gets a 200 and saves his place by performance. Meanwhile , Yuvraj, Kohli and Rohit Sharma have all got brilliant 100s against Aussies in the tour game, Badri is knocking on the doors....and Dravid ? He is still dragging his feet, no runs still, has failed yet again...just one 50 in 3 tests in his familiar failure routine. And now what are people saying " how can we go into the all important Nagpur test without the solid defence, experience and technique of Dravid" Does anything change ? Can we at least have new excuses from apologists? None of these folks are genuine fans of Dravid or of Indian cricket, if they continue to turn a Nelson's eye to the truth and just want Dravid to continue to play for purely sentiment. Of all people I am absolutely sure that Dravid is the one who will not make any excuses, let alone new ones, and he knows how he would feel if he pulls on for a few more tests and still fails. Surely neither he nor the fans want that ? I do hope Dravid announces his retirement, is selected and gets a good 100 in Nagpur along with Ganguly , help India regain the BG trophy and retires in honor. After all this was a journey that started together for Dravid and Ganguly at Lord's, maybe its fitting they go out together, and in the same manner in which they came in, with honor.That is the only way to go, Rahul...just do it.You know better than most that the team is greater than the individual, and the game is greater than the team. You know how many talented youngsters are waiting in the wings to aim for the same glory you had been enjoying for 12 years The game of cricket is asking you a question. Your fans expect you to answer it the same way you have answered all questions hurled at you by bowlers for years together. Good Luck for Nagpur, and beyond cricket too !

Why should RD retire? He is still fit. Retirement should only be based on fitness, not on form or age. The selectors should drop him. They should have dropped him after the SL tour itself. RD can go back to domestic cricket and if he can sort things out and score big 100s/200s he can be back for India's tour to Pakistan or NZ.

when u r discussing about Dravid, it is pertinent to remember that he was asked to open the first test in australia .he sacrificed for the team's cause. Not sure whether any one else in the line up from #4 to 7 would have done so. he is a team man.last time when he had lean period in pakistan, in the friendship series he came back to form with a 270 and the last 100 runs were scored quite fast. there is no point in making a case against Dravid.every one can read the score cards and stats. v here in ICF know the circumstances, pressure,opposition,quality , importance of an innings as well as any one.forget 50's and 100's. a crucial knock of 30 in a tough situation like sydney is more valuable than a 100 many times.if the rest of the team could not handle the great aussie spin of Michael Clarke and if Bucknor screws us big time, u cant blame Dravid.he did his best to save the sydney test.even in perth he was instrumental in india taking a big lead in the 1st innings.his presence in the crease and partnerships were very valuable. his england tour may not be great but again he was involved in important partnership in the first innings of 90 odd with tendulkar and india won the test. small but valuable. when india won in delhi against pak, he contributed 38 & 34 in a low scoring game.significant contribution if u recall the test. in the chennai test against SA, his hundred cant be written off.all u have to do is to check how the others fared(only Viru and Jaffer handled SA bowlers comfortably). in SL he had 2 good innings and did better than SRT and SCG. he has been getting the starts. it is not that he is getting out off the second ball .even in this series he has been getting out due to lapses in concentration rather than getting dismissed pathetically/incompetently.

This is such a homer post. First of all Dravid was suckered into an awful stroke when he slashed at a really wide delivery by Michell. THAT was pathetic and incompetent. Scoring 22 runs combined in two innings on a completely flat track without the threat of spin is pathetic. The rest of your posts is a house of cards. We can make excuses for all the batsmen who don't perform but Dravid is there to be a number 3. This isn't the IPL, domestic cricket, or playing lower down the order. Dravid is batting at number 3. A position where test match fortunes are made and lost. I love the guy but he is not batting like a number 3, he's not scoring big innings and worst of all other teams know this and target him. He is the weak link in the top order. He doesn't need to retire if he doesn't want to. He should be dropped and go back to domestic cricket until he proves himself worthy.
Guest HariSampath
Why should RD retire? He is still fit. Retirement should only be based on fitness, not on form or age. The selectors should drop him. They should have dropped him after the SL tour itself. RD can go back to domestic cricket and if he can sort things out and score big 100s/200s he can be back for India's tour to Pakistan or NZ.
Yes, fitness is a better reason than age, but form is certainly a critical factor. When someone has such a deplorable run of scores for 2 years, he has to be dropped. Form and performances, and most importantly team needs and the merit for each position in 11 should be the guiding factor. Dravid should have been dropped after Pakistan series , and be asked to get runs in a big way in domestic season to be considered again. But selectors missed it then, and two more times, after Aus tour and also SL tour. It was because Kumble was stubbornly backing him to the extent of affecting team needs, balance and team goals.
Really? I liked Kumble the bowler, but Kumble the captain has really made some asinine decisions during his time.
Guest HariSampath

^ Oh yeah..Kumble has backed Dravid to ridiculous extents, such as during the Pakistan series, Aus tour and even SL. But for Kumble the Vengsarkar selection committee would have dropped Dravid midway through Aus tour. In fact Kumble had made so many biased decisions and errors in captaincy, it had cost India at least 3 test matches minimum.

I feel v shud wait for at least till the 4th test is over. i am sure he will come back to form, which will only improve in the England series. He is a class act.
Well, that's logical too. But he needs to perform big time. Being one of his biggest fans, I feel some time out from international cricket will do him good, just like it did to Ganguly. And he can work a bit on relaxing his mind and also fine-tune his technique, especially the front-foot shuffle. Then nobody can stop him from once again becoming one of the best test batsmen.
Guest HariSampath
I feel v shud wait for at least till the 4th test is over. i am sure he will come back to form, which will only improve in the England series. He is a class act.
Rajan, u have lost it...just give it a rest. Didnt we wait for 2 years ? Dravid did get a 90 and a 100 ...so ? how come he is still struggling ? So if he gets a 80 in Nagpur, he should be in for the full Eng series ? and then what if he does his 21 and 8, 12 and 29 routine ? we would hear you say " oh he is getting starts...he just got an 80 in Nagpur...will get a big one soon"...Oh man....get real, u know how hollow your reasoning is, its completely devoid of any logic...read my full analysis and for a change tell me WHY Dravid shouldnt be dropped ?
^ Oh yeah..Kumble has backed Dravid to ridiculous extents' date=' such as during the Pakistan series, Aus tour and even SL. .[/quote'] There was no reason to drop him during Pak series. He had just 2 below par series and that too away from home. He had no reason to be dropped from the Aus series. It at all, he should have played down the order instead of opening. He could have been dropped after Aus series as we had a home series against SA. Anyway, what's done is done. He definitely deserves to be dropped unless he comes up with a match-winning 100+ (which I think won't happen).
Guest HariSampath
Which we've been hearing about - in this forum - for what ? nearly 2 years ?
Since June 2006. Dravid has played in 20 test matches and only once has played any innings of significance, that is , a match impacting inngs that made a big difference to team's batting fortunes. That was a 90 at Perth, but its just 1 inngs in 20 tests. This is the strongest indictment of he being retained in the 11 in preference to other better players.
^ Oh yeah..Kumble has backed Dravid to ridiculous extents' date=' such as during the Pakistan series, Aus tour and even SL. But for Kumble the Vengsarkar selection committee would have dropped Dravid midway through Aus tour. In fact Kumble had made so many biased decisions and errors in captaincy, it had cost India at least 3 test matches minimum.[/quote'] I don't know about the back/dressing room stuff, but yeah his captaincy on the field has been . . . . disapointing. It's the main reason why I prefer a new captain. Dhoni looks to be the guy and I wish him the best of luck. At least he seems to get the most out of his players and plays with an identity and positive focus. Kumble was far to laid back and let things happen instead of directing the course of the match.
Guest HariSampath

I have heard a couple of whispers, not too sure if they are accurate...but apparently Dravid may play in Nagpur, and some announcement may come from him in the middle of the test match, possibly after 1 innings is completed. I am trying to get some reliable confirmation.

I don't know about the back/dressing room stuff, but yeah his captaincy on the field has been . . . . disapointing. It's the main reason why I prefer a new captain. Dhoni looks to be the guy and I wish him the best of luck. At least he seems to get the most out of his players and plays with an identity and positive focus. Kumble was far to laid back and let things happen instead of directing the course of the match.
And I have a feeling that Kumble does not like changes. He is too orthodox in nature. What my friend calls the "Narayan Shankar" syndrome- "Mujhe kisi bhi tarah ka parivartan pasand nahi hai. His strategies are archaic and too predictable. His bowling changes are worse than what a school captain would do. He does not think about field placings at all....just keeps fielders at conventional positions. And yes, he is afraid of making changes in the team composition as well. He likes to see the team the way it has been from his early years. A great bowler, a great human being, but not so great captain.
Guest HariSampath

Well, no. He went in with a defensive mindset, backed Dravid when he should have gone in with Sehwag, lost the early advantage in the series to go down 0-2. The sydney umpiring cost us big, but Kumble's captaincy was way too defensive for the first half of the series, by which time we lost it