b555 Posted September 30, 2010 Posted September 30, 2010 http://www.dnaindia.com/sport/report_sunil-gavaskar-dropped-for-wanting-higher-pay-says-he-ll-work-free_1445474
SachDan Posted September 30, 2010 Posted September 30, 2010 Gavaskar was dropped from the GC after he reportedly told Manohar that former players in the body should be paid Rs5 crore a year. Manohar told the members that Gavaskar told him he was promised the sum by Modi. This would mean he is entitled to Rs25 crore for his five-year appointment. :WTF:
achilles Posted September 30, 2010 Posted September 30, 2010 They've found another thing to blame on Lalit Modi. I think Sunny kind of overstretched himself here. With the nos. out in the open and tax issues, it was a given that we would rebut any suggestions of him making money from the board.
yoda Posted September 30, 2010 Posted September 30, 2010 They've found another thing to blame on Lalit Modi. I think Sunny kind of overstretched himself here. With the nos. out in the open and tax issues' date=' it was a given that we would rebut any suggestions of him making money from the board.[/quote'] Sunny overstretched cause he says something about your hero LM? :hysterical: You think it is hard to believe that Modi would have promised these guys 5x5 crores? On the contrary, given the random way in which LM did business it is totally believable that he would have made this ridiculous promise.
ViruRulez Posted October 1, 2010 Posted October 1, 2010 Gavaskar turns down IPL governing council role, feels members should be remunerated Related Links News : IPL auction set for 'mid-to-end November' News : BCCI makes major changes to IPL governing council News : IPL Governing Council likely to be trimmed Players/Officials: Sunil Gavaskar Series/Tournaments: Indian Premier League Teams: India Sunil Gavaskar has turned down the BCCI's offer to be part of the IPL's governing council, saying he felt that the league was a commercial enterprise and those working for it should be remunerated. The Indian board had said on Wednesday that members of the reconstituted council would no longer receive a salary. "I have been contacted and I have declined because after yesterday [Wednesday] I had second thoughts," Gavaskar told NDTV. "The IPL is a commercial enterprise and non-BCCI members, former cricketers included, should be remunerated for the expertise, experience and time that they bring to the table." Gavaskar had, on Wednesday evening, said he was willing to work in an honorary capacity but said this was not a turnaround. "Let me tell you for Indian cricket I am always there, but the IPL is a commercial enterprise." Under the old system, the three former cricketers on the council - Gavaskar, Ravi Shastri and Mansur Ali Khan Pataudi - were paid Rs 1 crore (approximately $220,000) for their services. Doing away with salaries was only one of the wholesale changes the BCCI made to the governing council at its annual general meeting in Mumbai on Wednesday. It dissolved the existing body and set up a new one with Chirayu Amin as the chairman. The council also included five other members - Arun Jaitley, Ranjib Biswal, Anurag Thakur, Ajay Shirke and Rajiv Shukla - and two former cricketers, one of whom was Shastri, who had agreed to work in an honorary capacity. Shashank Manohar, the BCCI president, had said that he needed to check with Gavaskar and Pataudi whether they were willing to serve on the council without remuneration. http://www.cricinfo.com/indian-premier-league-2011/content/current/story/479471.html I would not completely disagree with Gavaskar. 1 crore is a bit too high but I also agree that they should be remunerated to some extent at least say 30-40 lakhs yearly with IPL being a commercial and highly profitable enterprise.
achilles Posted October 1, 2010 Posted October 1, 2010 Sunny overstretched cause he says something about your hero LM? :hysterical: You think it is hard to believe that Modi would have promised these guys 5x5 crores? On the contrary, given the random way in which LM did business it is totally believable that he would have made this ridiculous promise. He is the biggest makhi-choos genius that Indian cricket has ever seen. He wanted to sell off everything to make money. I'm sure had he been around in IPL4, he would've taken some inspiration from "Robot" and made helmets which show ads on it. I doubt he would promise to pay 5 crores to someone for a close to nothing work. Its too much.
yoda Posted October 1, 2010 Posted October 1, 2010 I doubt he would promise to pay 5 crores to someone for a close to nothing work. Its too much. When he can pay them (not promise) 1 crore for like you said doing close to nothing, he could have easily made a faltu promise saying as we go forward we will pay you 5 crores. If LM hadn't made that promise, there was no need for Sunny to make them statement. Anyways I agree with some that it should be a paid position, how much I guess is a question of supply and demand.
achilles Posted October 1, 2010 Posted October 1, 2010 When he can pay them (not promise) 1 crore for like you said doing close to nothing, he could have easily made a faltu promise saying as we go forward we will pay you 5 crores. If LM hadn't made that promise, there was no need for Sunny to make them statement. Anyways I agree with some that it should be a paid position, how much I guess is a question of supply and demand. I think Sunny has been so caught, for maybe his IT returns must be painting a different picture. Which may have got him so annoyed at the BCCI for publicly stating that he earned Rs.1Cr a year and was promised to receive Rs.5Cr a year. 30 lakhs is fine. There is hardly anything worth that work since it was always a one-man show. But 30 lakhs is still tolerable. The nos. being spoken are big. People spend their entire life and can't touch 5 crores in savings.
mastana Posted October 3, 2010 Posted October 3, 2010 Unlike you' date='[b'] I have an opinion. All you do is suckup to people with your "hehe" lemme ridicule this comment coz everyone in the thread is doing so. You are turning into a random "hehe" toss over. Look at yourself before passing statements about others. There is a world beyond you and PK. PK atleast makes some decent posts and great contributions. You just come and "hehe" around at people. Learn some internet etiquettes or you always know that there is an ignore button. You've worked very hard to get this reply out of me coz you pretty much derail every thread with your nonsensical comments about me and this time, its beyond tolerable limit. Keep your love to the PMs. Thank you very much. Good evening. -Edited-
achilles Posted October 3, 2010 Posted October 3, 2010 -Edited- Name-calling is really childish. Read my reply again and if you can't find anything sensible to say again, PM me.
sangrock Posted October 4, 2010 Posted October 4, 2010 Gavaskar a 'destructive' influence - Bishan Bedi Cricinfo staff June 17, 2007 Bishan Bedi on Gavaskar: 'He's always liked power without accountability' © Getty Images Enlarge Bishan Singh Bedi, a former Indian captain, has delivered a scathing salvo against another, Sunil Gavaskar, in the wake of recent happenings in Indian cricket. Bedi termed Gavaskar a "destructive" influence and felt he "always liked power without accountability". These comments come in the wake of Gavaskar criticising Dav Whatmore in one of his columns, despite being part of the committee that was to decide the next coach. "Cricket circles had immense and blind respect for him [as a cricketer] and he successfully used this to ensure that board officials remained in awe of him," Bedi told Outlook, a weekly Indian magazine. "He wants the glamour, the position and if there are any financial gains so much the better ... but he does not want any accountability. He's always liked power without accountability." Bedi was critical of Gavaskar's role at the National Cricket Academy, where he was the director from 2001 to 2006. "I had a lot of time for his batting but never as a thought leader," said Bedi. "You tell me what his contribution has been. He is destructive, there is nothing positive. I remember the time I was called by the then NCA director Brijesh Patel, along with Erapalli Prasanna and VV Kumar, to train spinners there. We did not hear at all from NCA chairman Gavaskar before, during or after the camp. I also recall his presiding over a captains and coaches meeting where he gave me the impression that he was not even listening. "I can't forget the time he once told a team meeting 'The day I stop thinking of money, I will stagnate'." Gavaskar has been embroiled in a few controversies in the last few years, one of them involving writing about how John Wright, India's former coach, was abused by the players only after Wright's term ended. More recently he suggested John Emburey as a candidate for the job of Indian coach despite the fact that his coaching credentials were less than impressive. http://www.cricinfo.com/srilanka/content/story/298297.html I still believe that Gavaskar is a greedy and manipulative sob. The members should be remunerated to some extent at least say 30-40 lakhs yearly with IPL being a commercial and highly profitable enterprise. (Courtesy ViruRulez) and YES. IPL is trying to be greedy too by not remunerating them.
kashyapdatta Posted October 4, 2010 Posted October 4, 2010 sunil gavaskar is a legeng.ipl governing council has to retain him.