IPL4 player retention

thanks guys. So if a player is taken by Punjab or RR , then there is a risk that he might lose everything in case these teams lose their appeal. this is not fair for the player as in the auction the player doesnt have a say
I dont think they're going to have the auction before it is finalized whether these two teams can play in the fourth season. My guess would be if the team(s) are not allowed to play, then the retained players would go back in the auction.
thanks guys. So if a player is taken by Punjab or RR , then there is a risk that he might lose everything in case these teams lose their appeal. this is not fair for the player as in the auction the player doesnt have a say
Yes that is an issue............bcci babus :hehe: Where is Modi when you need him?:giggle:
no kidding. even though Modi had his own set of uselessness like the IPL nights party and gori cheer leading and maxmobile timeouts, at least he made sure that critical things went ahead without all this bakwaas.
I hope this IPL circus gets derailed soon.
what is wrong in having a pro league? it is not practical to have one with tests or ODIs, so the only possibility is with T20s. pretty much every sport has a pro league format and it is good to see that in cricket as well. if you are talking player burn out, yes that is an issue, but it is overblown more by people here than the ones who are playing.

Has the new commissioner/bcci babu done anything? To me it seems BCCI took over him and are trying to fix it themselves while the Amin babu is quietly sitting in the background????

what is wrong in having a pro league? it is not practical to have one with tests or ODIs, so the only possibility is with T20s. pretty much every sport has a pro league format and it is good to see that in cricket as well. if you are talking player burn out, yes that is an issue, but it is overblown more by people here than the ones who are playing.
Agree. The potential is astronomic with having such a pro league in cricket. Excluding these player auctions, the culture, loyalty and integration into local areas in India can create a mass following for many decades to comes. The local rivalry between close neighboring cities or top players going at it each other is a unique experience in cricket. Especially at a domestic level. Not only this but international players that are from non cricketing playing nations also have the opportunity to shine and be in the limelight. Another way of expanding the game to all sectors of the world. Look at NBA or EPL, those leagues didnt turn into such strong following or culture overnight. It took a century to build it where it is at now. Already in India there is a slight taste of culture, rivalry and excitement. Imagine what it will be a decade from now.

Ganguly for the simple fact that he is hard to deal with. At this juncture he is not worth it. With regards to RD or VVS they are the real pro's who if I can draft for a reasonable amount of money would do it basically to play them when needed as one of the seven domestic players if they are in good nick and more importantly serve as mentors for the young local talent.

No.The court has asked kings 11 for 18 million $ guarantee so that the players will be paid if in case they are picked but kings 11 gets banned from IPL. Don't know the verdict on RR. Which means that players getting picked for kings 11 could easily get free money for 2 years.
Raina is a very good buy for Raina. I'm surprised that Raina stayed with CSK as he could easily fetch atleast 1.3M from Pune. He's a franchise player and CSK already have two in Dhoni and Raina. Maybe CSK management paid him a little bit more off the record:P In the auction, if two teams desperately want one player then who knows how much higher the bidding will be. So good to retain the nucleus of the team right now than later. A bit surprised KXIP didnt retain Yuvraj or Delhi Gambhir and Dilshan. Anybody know how if there is going to be a max bid in the auction?
Like Yoda pointed out, the players are actually paid a different amount. Its just that when one player is retained, the team losses a set amount of money from its salary cap. CSK and MI are already down by 4.5 million but how much they actually paid to the players is anyone's guess.

Except for Dhoni none of the retained players are worth it considering the fact that for the first player protected you shell out $1.8 million of the $9 million salary cap. That is a huge burden. Mumbai Indians are the biggest duds to retain a player like HS and worse they already used up 50% of their cap on the four players protected which means they will be on the sidelines for most part of the auction when the cream is getting bid.

What's the point in taking a chance in the auction when you can keep some proven performers? Except for HS and Kohli all other protected players have performed admirably for their respective teams. I do agree that the amount lost protecting players is a bit much. Instead of this random rule, they should say whatever you pay them is what your cap goes down by. Then again this is BCCI.
Chennai: MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, M Vijay, Albie Morkel
The champions have retained their best. Its times to get back Ashwin, Bollinger, Haydos and Murali along with some good players. I am sure VB Chandrasekhar and Fleming will do a good job at this

He deserves that, I wont be suprised if CSK has paid extra to Raina and Vijay apart from the retainer amount. Raina is the MVP for Chennai in all three editions.

Raina is a very good buy for Raina. I'm surprised that Raina stayed with CSK as he could easily fetch atleast 1.3M from Pune. He's a franchise player and CSK already have two in Dhoni and Raina. Maybe CSK management paid him a little bit more off the record:P In the auction, if two teams desperately want one player then who knows how much higher the bidding will be. So good to retain the nucleus of the team right now than later. A bit surprised KXIP didnt retain Yuvraj or Delhi Gambhir and Dilshan. Anybody know how if there is going to be a max bid in the auction?
I do agree that the amount lost protecting players is a bit much. Instead of this random rule, they should say whatever you pay them is what your cap goes down by. Then again this is BCCI.
That wont be fair to other teams, if what you say happens, then each team can claim they paid their 4 players, say only 500K and pay the rest of their value, off the record.
That wont be fair to other teams' date=' if what you say happens, then each team can claim they paid their 4 players, say only 500K and pay the rest of their value, off the record.[/quote'] what off the record? They don't go by claims made by the teams, there are contracts with written information. If you think money exchanges outside of the contract system, that would be illegal and a violation of the cap system.
:dc: disappoint me very much. So time to support my birthplace team :rr: go warne go :cheer:
Saale dilli ka khata pita hai and support kisi aur ko ?:whack: