yoda Posted February 16, 2011 Posted February 16, 2011 btw, even about the captaincy, he only commented when pressed. his initial response was that he didn't want to talk about Sachin.
CSK Fan Posted February 16, 2011 Posted February 16, 2011 For someone unknown reason, it's the Tendulkar fanboys who seem to have an illogical acrimony for Azhar. Comments like Azhar owes all his wins to Tendulkar - what rubbish. If we are talking about tests all of Azhar's wins came at home, where Tendulkar's contribution while important, was nothing compared to Kumble. If anything, Azhar owes his test wins to Kumble more than anyone else. The average age of this forum also precludes the appreciation of anyone or anything before the mid 90s or so. It might work for undisputed all time greats like Gavaskar, Richards, or Kapil (well even he does not get spared by the fanboys) but as soon as you try to praise some of the very good, but not great cricketers like Azhar and Vengsarkar there is a segment which runs off to stats guru and produces inane numbers. What these fanboys fail to realize is that praising someone's achievements, does not equate to running down Tendulkar nor does it merit an automatic comparison. Since Gavaskar's retirement to the early-mid 90s when Tendulkar really came into his own, Indian batting was shored up by players like Vengsarkar and Azhar. They were not great and had their struggles on bouncy pitches like most Indian batsmen, but they were instrumental in many superb Indian performances. It's disappointing to see and and every thread on Azhar meander into meaningless name calling - just open a thread about the role of Azhar in match fixing and vent out your frustrations there, rather than derailing threads from their topic. Yaar you also have to understand that there is a lot of emotional tie-ups with Azhar who was one of the favourite players of many before he got caught. Its very difficult in one's heart to forgive and forget Back to the topic, Azhar was pretty diplomatic and right in the intervew but apart from that I feel that obviously Azhar would be unhappy as he and Sachin were pretty close before the match-fixing controversy and Azhar would feel let down by Sachin completely cutting off all ties. But I also believe that Sachin did the right thing because the country needed to beleive that some of the players were honest for them to start taking interest again in the game
CSK Fan Posted February 16, 2011 Posted February 16, 2011 Ok' date=' will replace the text to "next only to don" and take out "maybe" :)[/quote'] Why, thats your honest opinion, right?
Raghav_12 Posted February 16, 2011 Posted February 16, 2011 Crime committed? He supposedly fixed matches and was disbarred by BCCI for life from cricket. The CBI did not follow up with any criminal law suit against him. He appealed against the action of BCCI and that case is still pending. I don't remember exact details of cases etc. But I believe that his culpability in match-fixing episode was beyond any doubt. As I mentioned earlier that a person need to have right to earn his livelihood whatever crime he might have commited. But doing that, through being a member of parliament doesn't look good to me. Personally, I used to be fan of Azhar until late early 90's but not after that.
Ultimate_Game Posted February 16, 2011 Posted February 16, 2011 Why' date=' thats your honest opinion, right?[/quote'] Yup, I would put Tendulkar next only to Don as a batsman
Desi Cartman Posted February 16, 2011 Posted February 16, 2011 I think its best that he hopes that SRT , RD and all dont want to talk about him.
anbuchelvan Posted February 18, 2011 Posted February 18, 2011 The match fixer is to be ignored not glorified.should be shot in public.Bas**rd. He Joined congress to get away from CBI.