Should gurus and babas lead political campaigns?

1983-2011

You guys dont seem to understand why the public are trying to push and frankly force the issue. I really dont think some of you guys even have an idea of the levels of corruption and how widespread it is. To long abroad me thinks. It is so complete and so instituniolised in all aspects of India. And the politicinas are only ones who can address and can start the change. But they do not and will do everything to stop it, from smoke screens, diversion tactics and stalling tactics. Now why do they not want to stop corruption? COS THEY ARE MAKING CRORES OF MONEY AND THEIR ALLIES ARE MAKING CRORES! Yet it seems naively some want to put the faith in the constitiutuional sysyetms to address it. The poiticians will never do anything to tackle it, call it a conflict interest if you will. As why would they stop the gravy train? Public pressure and civil rights are way to FORCE change. Leaving it to mechanisms of parliament and writing a letter aint gonna change jack. Some clearly spent to much in west and think india works along these lines:giggle:
I do know about the level of corruption in this country and how this disease has permeated into every sector/institution of India but do you really think someone like Baba Ramdev is the right person to enforce any changes - a person whose only aim is to hog some media limelight and who is talking about creating a "sena" - I do not trust him at all and IMO guys like him are not the right people and will not achieve ANYTHING.

If this awakens the voters not to accept corruption and not to vote for corrupt politicians then good. It is 20/40 year project to eradicate corruption but this may be a start. Everything in India needs someones palms greased to do it. Apply for passport and have all correct form etc still need to bribe as wont get it. Want to get your kid in a good school even though kid has best marks, still need to give donation. THIS HAS TO STOP!

the only thing it will do is to awaken the voters to vote for Baba Ramdev in 2014 Lok Sabha election :hysterical: I can't even begin to imagine where this country will go once that happens.

I do know about the level of corruption in this country and how this disease has permeated into every sector/institution of India but do you really think someone like Baba Ramdev is the right person to enforce any changes - a person whose only aim is to hog some media limelight and who is talking about creating a "sena" - I do not trust him at all and IMO guys like him are not the right people and will not achieve ANYTHING.
For gods sake stop going on about Ramdev. No one likes him etc I agree. I think he is mentally deranged(although has provided comedy moments). However, Hazare, Bedi and co are starting anti corruption and I support it. Its not about the civil members of society and their indiv records. Its about the over all message and ending corruption. Stop looking at the messenger and look at the message. If these guys are getting public fired up about corruption , then its all good. I repate again, sorruption is one thing stopping India becoming greates country in world and also in eradicating poverty and increaasing eductaion etc I support all movements against corruption in India, even by Ramdev even if he is bonkers. Although he is losing the plot right now:hysterical:

the only thing it will do is to awaken the voters to vote for Baba Ramdev in 2014 Lok Sabha election :hysterical: I can't even begin to imagine where this country will go once that happens.
OK well get behind Hazare and his campaign. Or start your own. I will support you if you want a non corrupt India and are pressuring govt to clamp down on it

Guest Gunner
Named a few. Clarified your denials that they succedded and contributed to great changes. Then after you are shown you are wrong, then say cant be bothered to answer blah blah. Me thinks you have found you are out of your depth sonny. You attemoted to rewrite history on your keyboard in 2011 and found out that actually you cant really do that:hysterical: Classic was your take on aparthied movement by mandela and co. In that you summed it up as just the whites decided to give it up when they wanted to. I mean seriously, dont you even feel remotley embarrased by such ridiclous sweeping statements
I am only sorry about engaging in any conversation with a fool like you. You are as dim as they come. And you showed me up on what? :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:

Guest Gunner
You guys dont seem to understand why the public are trying to push and frankly force the issue. I really dont think some of you guys even have an idea of the levels of corruption and how widespread it is. To long abroad me thinks. It is so complete and so instituniolised in all aspects of India. And the politicinas are only ones who can address and can start the change. But they do not and will do everything to stop it, from smoke screens, diversion tactics and stalling tactics. Now why do they not want to stop corruption? COS THEY ARE MAKING CRORES OF MONEY AND THEIR ALLIES ARE MAKING CRORES! Yet it seems naively some want to put the faith in the constitiutuional sysyetms to address it. The poiticians will never do anything to tackle it, call it a conflict interest if you will. As why would they stop the gravy train? Public pressure and civil rights are way to FORCE change. Leaving it to mechanisms of parliament and writing a letter aint gonna change jack. Some clearly spent to much in west and think india works along these lines:giggle:
I lived in India 22 years before I moved out, how long have you lived there little boy? Don't you be ****ing around with me.

Guest Gunner
The Govt. drafters are saying that the PM, MPs, Babus, Judges and many others should be kept out of the jurisdiction of Lokpal bill.. Do you agree with that line of action? How can we leave an important bill like this which could implicate MPs, ministers, politicians to be finalised by Govt? BTW the Bill should've been passed by Govts and politicians long back and they've done didly squat. So how many decades you want the public to wait? What you talking about man? You appear to be living far from Indian reality...
Gunner FYI.. Effing 42 years, Gunna.. Effing 42 years..Don't you think Govts and politicians have got enough chances? Or you reckon they should sit on it for another 100 years? This is the FIRST time some civil societly members have been ALLLOWED by the Govt. to atleast DRAFT a bill. There's no GUARANTEE that it will pass in the PARLIAMENT..
I know the history of this legislation. This is besides the point. I fully understand how India works, I was born and educated there you see. My point is very simple, the civil rights move to forece the government to table the bill is fine. But civil society drafting the bill is not acceptable. If there are disagreements the opposition parties are there to take it up. The communists for example have by and large correctly reflected the opinion of the public. If you have doubt in the government motives, the next step is to start a movement asking for constitutional amendment to hold direct public referendum on key issues like Switzerland does. I am saying that you have to follow the constitution, there is no point in throwing out the constitution like that idiot KT is suggesting.

Now Anna Hazare is threatening to go on a fast again from 16th August unless the Lokpal Bill is passed on or before August 15th. Seriously WTF man - who does he think he is, blackmailing the Govt of the country like this. Just because the Govt has accommodated him in the panel to draft the bill, he's now going like - do this or I will go on a fast, do that or I'll go on a fast, pass the bill before this date or I'll go on a fast :facepalm: If he continues like this then that day is not far when the Govt either puts him behind bars or worse still, says that Ok, you are so keen on going on fast unto death so please carry on with your fast, we won't stop you.

I am only sorry about engaging in any conversation with a fool like you. You are as dim as they come. And you showed me up on what? :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
Very mature. Why dont you debate the points, instaed of indulging in name calling and smoke screens. Me feels you dont fancy the debate after the hole you dug for yourself. Ironically you are indulging in these diversionary tactics similar to our govt at the moment. Please lets discuss your point that mandela did jack and civil right movement in SA did jack. And that resoultion only happened cos whites seemingly got bored one day and handed things bcks to the majority accordin to you and your 2011 history lesson. p.s dont hide behind name calling and smoke screens

I know the history of this legislation. This is besides the point. I fully understand how India works, I was born and educated there you see. My point is very simple, the civil rights move to forece the government to table the bill is fine. But civil society drafting the bill is not acceptable. If there are disagreements the opposition parties are there to take it up. The communists for example have by and large correctly reflected the opinion of the public. If you have doubt in the government motives, the next step is to start a movement asking for constitutional amendment to hold direct public referendum on key issues like Switzerland does. I am saying that you have to follow the constitution, there is no point in throwing out the constitution like that idiot KT is suggesting.
Who said throw out the constitution kid. You clealry cant understand english, should we try hindi cos what ever language is used you seem to struggle kid. What can be done is public pressure. In all democracies you have pressure groups , even in your beloved west there are many pressure groups. Some times nothing gets done without protest and pressure. Especially when govt does not want to act cos they are filling their pockets, something you do not want to seem to address starngley. Their is nothing in the constitution which stops people protesting, in fact freedom of speech protects that kid. The reason govt is now pretending to act is public pressure. Long may that continue. I also see no harm in non elected bodies helping draft bills and advise on this. This happens all the time anyway in all forms of democracy through advisory committes , were many non elected people are brought on board to advise and help in the field of expertise. In england kid your parliament has zillions of advisory committes who help in drafting and advising on bills and policies. Need public input on this lokpal bill and any anti corruption ploicies. As poloticians will not be able to self regulate as too corrupt on a massive scale. Civil input is a must to ensure no self regulation and things are done HONESTLY with right intent. Seems the kid wants the corruption to continue and nothing to be done so as to protect his false misconceptions about what can be done constitunally.

I've strong reasons to believe why Congress is trying to make it a Saffron Corruption Vs Secular Corruption..
They are trying to turn it communal so as to distract and smoke screen so the gravy train continues. They do not want the money making to end. And why would they, they are making too much money. Hence need civil movements to push anti corruption measures

Guest Gunner
Who said throw out the constitution kid. You clealry cant understand english, should we try hindi cos what ever language is used you seem to struggle kid. What can be done is public pressure. In all democracies you have pressure groups , even in your beloved west there are many pressure groups. Some times nothing gets done without protest and pressure. Especially when govt does not want to act cos they are filling their pockets, something you do not want to seem to address starngley. Their is nothing in the constitution which stops people protesting, in fact freedom of speech protects that kid. The reason govt is now pretending to act is public pressure. Long may that continue. I also see no harm in non elected bodies helping draft bills and advise on this. This happens all the time anyway in all forms of democracy through advisory committes , were many non elected people are brought on board to advise and help in the field of expertise. In england kid your parliament has zillions of advisory committes who help in drafting and advising on bills and policies. Need public input on this lokpal bill and any anti corruption ploicies. As poloticians will not be able to self regulate as too corrupt on a massive scale. Civil input is a must to ensure no self regulation and things are done HONESTLY with right intent. Seems the kid wants the corruption to continue and nothing to be done so as to protect his false misconceptions about what can be done constitunally.
Just because you call me "kid" 50 times doesn't mean jack so sod off.

Guest Gunner
Very mature. Why dont you debate the points, instaed of indulging in name calling and smoke screens. Me feels you dont fancy the debate after the hole you dug for yourself. Ironically you are indulging in these diversionary tactics similar to our govt at the moment. Please lets discuss your point that mandela did jack and civil right movement in SA did jack. And that resoultion only happened cos whites seemingly got bored one day and handed things bcks to the majority accordin to you and your 2011 history lesson. p.s dont hide behind name calling and smoke screens
You need a special school. I never debate with idiots.

Having a committe with elected officials and non elected officals is perfectly constitutional. I repeat this happens in democracies all over the world including India. Committes are always formes to advise, help in drafting bills and just in general policy directions. As elected official are not all knowing and great. As they need advise on numerous matters from specialists in many an area. I mean how can MPs draft legislation for example on medical matters without significant input from proffessionals. The fact committes are set up with civil people is fine. They will discuss and help draft and thats perfectly constitutional as in lokpal bill committe. Then any bill must of course being ratified in parlimanent which will inviolve debate from our great elected ones who people like gunner seem to adore. Parliamnet can not ratify the bill and may vot against the bill. So no issues constitunlally here , so no idea why people are crying like the parliamnent has been bypassed. p.s can waith for the pathetic debate we have from our pants mps full of walk outs/disruption etc etc

I don't think you normally have protesters injecting themselves into committees. Yes administrators are picked by elected officials to advise them. You have the IAS officials and cabinet secretaries for that. These are the guys who are familiar with the process and have knowledge of international issues who can help draft a bill, not Anna Hazare and retired judges and Yoga Gurus.