A week with Dhoni and the boys

"The morning after the Test ended quicker than Lord's and Trent Bridge (is that a portent for The Oval?), a young man waited outside the team hotel. He was seen standing outside the Marriott when the players left and when they returned, he was still there - just a short distance away from main porch of the hotel for three straight days, doing nothing, just standing around the stone steps. He waited for players to step out of the hotel. Whenever they did, they were greeted with respect, words of commiseration and a handshake and then asked to sign an autograph book or a photograph. Every exchange would not have lasted longer than a few minutes and still the young man, a student of international business management, he said, waited for the next one. It is an inexplicable allure, detached from the humdrum reality of the fan's own life or the Indian cricket team's fish bowl. Yet it is very much a part of it." Hmmm, I was not there the morning after the match finished. However, I was there a lot and maybe they meant me?! Who knows? I studied medicine. So it may well not be me. However, there was no Asian fan (and I was supporting India to get back in the series!) there for three consecutive days. I was there on Monday, Tuesday, Friday and Saturday and no Asian fan were there as much as me. Oh well, could be famous :P Credit to the boys in general for being down-to-earth decent guys and being so kind to me. It would be interesting to see whether there was any other diary: but my friend commented that others from ICF were also watching net practices etc?

let me get this straight' date=' you gave batting advice to a indian test batsman? it was generous of him to smile it off. i would have taken a bat straight to your face.[/quote'] There were a few giggles and Abhi smiled. He is a very nice guy and enjoys his Subway sandwiches!
I've heard this about Sehwag from quite a few people - he treats his fans like ****. Surprised about Gambhir, though.
Thats a bull Sehwag Bhai gave me a autograph and i tuk pic with him who will u believe me or the pakistani fan and i spoke to Gambhir as well he wasnt arrogant gave me autograph.
i would believe the Pakistani Fan because he has provided pics. even i can say I have met Bob Marley and used to jam with him, you believe me?

Great experience. Thanks for sharing. All the Indian boys seem to be really nice people off the field too. Gambhir and Sehwag were maybe having some bad days. Dil saaf hai unka. Everyone else seems good too. I particularly like the way you pointed and no one has picked up so far your observation on Sachin. If what you state is true, I think Greg Chappell might have been right when he said Sachin was being stubborn, instead of adjusting for the team et al. Raina is a good human being too. I've always liked the guy for where he's reached given his starting point in cricket. Also, don't be surprised to see Sreesanth toned down off the field. He's a very nice guy. I have a few mutual friends with him. Never met him yet but have heard a lot of good things about him. He's a gem of a guy, like Rahul Dravid.

i would believe the Pakistani Fan because he has provided pics. even i can say I have met Bob Marley and used to jam with him, you believe me?
I dont need to prove you whether i met sehwag or not i m only saying sehwag isnt arrogant because he did sign autographs and i took photo with him before he left on monday morning.

That's good for you Sarkar: he didn't sign any on the 6 occasions I saw him. Maybe you caught him on the only good day he had in Birmingham. I never saw him sign at any time/take any pics. Maybe you were the chap studying business management. P.S. it is not about do you believe the Pakistani fan. We are all humans and your own players see past these kind of things.

Great pics .. :two_thumbs_up:

I did not buy into the theory that Sachin was very humble. In India they treat him like God: I found that he generally behaved like that and he is above the coach and other team members.
btw....on what basis did you make this assumption that Sachin behaves like he is above the coach and other members?

- Going through back exits by himself (via separate transport) - A fan asking where Sachin was to Fletcher and he sarcastically said to Fletcher "Surely he's answerable to you?" This brought a rise-smile and no response - Raina: "We don't disturb him." Others saying a similar thing - Just the general vibe that you get by hanging around the team for such a while - Refusal to sign autographs for most fans including only a few of us outside the hotel including British OAPs who commented to the security staff "Have we upset Sachin, we're really sorry if we've done something wrong." As brilliant a cricketer as he is: I don't think it will be the worst thing for Team India when he calls it quits in terms of the team ethic.

:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: I've seen the team members at various events since 1996. Your experience is just that, your experience. In my experience, Dravid has been terrible. I posted about it a week back in the thread about Virat Kohli. Again, that is based on what I've seen. This is over 4 tours of England and matches in India. Sehwag has been absolutely brilliant whenever I've seen him!

- Going through back exits by himself (via separate transport) - A fan asking where Sachin was to Fletcher and he sarcastically said to Fletcher "Surely he's answerable to you?" This brought a rise-smile and no response - Raina: "We don't disturb him." Others saying a similar thing - Just the general vibe that you get by hanging around the team for such a while - Refusal to sign autographs for most fans including only a few of us outside the hotel including British OAPs who commented to the security staff "Have we upset Sachin, we're really sorry if we've done something wrong."
Flimsy premise. you are believing what you want to believe, by interpreting events in a way that suit your belief. None of the events you quoted suggest what you are wrote earlier. Sachin being one of the most popular players is naturally wary of going in a crowd where he will be hounded for autographs. Anyways it is your personal opinion and I dont want to get into a debate regarding it.
As brilliant a cricketer as he is: I don't think it will be the worst thing for Team India when he calls it quits in terms of the team ethic.
Thanks for your concern. Team India will let him know that if they feel Sachin is lacking in team ethic.

Again, it's a personal opinion. Nothing more. I am not surprised that indeed you wouldn't agree. You have to be there to see it. But I love Sachin the batsman.

As brilliant a cricketer as he is: I don't think it will be the worst thing for Team India when he calls it quits in terms of the team ethic.
I agree, hassan. This selfish, choking midget from Mumbai has been a blot on Indian cricket for the last twenty years. If only we had kicked this loser out years ago, we would have been the greatest cricket team on the planet. Unfortunately we kept him in, and he has been destroying the Indian team ethic ever since :((

He is an amazing player no doubt. My favourite batsman. India will miss his test runs clearly. But I think it will benefit the team in the long run when he retires.

I dont need to prove you whether i met sehwag or not i m only saying sehwag isnt arrogant because he did sign autographs and i took photo with him before he left on monday morning.
abay photo lee hai to phir post kar..scared to show your face?

Cheap shot ganeshran: how would it benefit Pakistan if India does not play us? Btw, I feel that me and my friend are unique- fans of cricket first followed by being fans of our teams. This is where we differ to those like ganeshran.