How Jeejaji Qutrrochhi was bailed out in the latest round

http://outlookindia.com/full.asp?fodname=20070620&fname=rajinderpuri&sid=1 The court in Argentina dismissed the Indian government's plea to extradite Ottavio Quattrocchi. The court ordered the Indian government to compensate Quattrocchi for legal costs to contest a case without basis. This should cause no surprise. How could any court rely on CBI allegations when the Indian government's law ministry had recorded that there was no case against Quattrocchi? A recent report in The Indian Express recalled how the government's law officers kept CBI officials in the dark while informing Britain's Crown Prosecution Service (CPS) that Quattrocchi's frozen accounts may be released because there was no case against him. This, while CBI officials were urging on CPS to keep Quattrocchi's accounts frozen! Why our government persists with Quattrocchi's extradition despite this may concern parliament, not foreign governments. [Jeejaji comes before India after all] Quattrocchi's lawyer Alejandro Freeland told a news agency that CBI did not argue its case fully. He said: "CBI brought only half the papers relating to the case." How did he know this? Was Quattrocchi's defence counsel privy to material used by the prosecution? This would not sound far-fetched if Quattrocchi's long reach in India were recognized. :angry_smile:Some underplayed aspects of the Jain Hawala case exposed that long reach. Mera Bharat Mahan.. Noone in electronic-media is asking these questyions, they rather discuss about Abhi-Ash married life.:devil_smile:

For 20 years plus this man single-handedly make a billion population country seem like moron. And then he is let go scott-free. Yep we sure are on the road to be a super power. How gentile a country are we that a complete novice like Sonia can decide our destiny?

We are weird people bordering on having moronic tendencies.. BB maaf kar do I know it sounds like self-loathing but I can't think of any other explanation.. BTW I forgot the main part: CBI got the wind of Qutrrochchi being in custody in Argentina whole one month late or may be got the wind but sat there on Sonia Mata's guidelines. Mind you purportedly most honest gentle person Manmohan Singh is heading all this circus officially. Unofficially chain-puller may be Sonia Mata but in offcial terms buck stops at his desk.

^^ I am not so sure about the "honesty" of Manmohan Singh. I have greatest regard for him to have the vision to usher the Modern Economy in India but his stint as PM has practically destroyed that. What good is honesty if you do not have the moral backbone to stand for yourself and be a mere puppet? Today I read how he conveyed Kalaam the decision that UPA shall put forward Pratibha Patil. I wonder how that meeting went. Two of the greatest Indians of our time looking helplessly at each other while an absolute nobody decides this country's destiny. I have a feeling Manmohan Singh would have been feeling embarassed. Coming to Q, I was shocked that the man who is arguably one of top 10 people saught by India was left to enjoy himself even though the notice was given to India atleast a month ahead. Then again have we not heard the same about Indian Govt. being informed about Dawood and his brothers? Har saakh pe ulloo baith hai Anjaam-e-Gulistaan kya hoga? xxx

That's where I differ lurker Manmohan Singh didn't have vision about liberalization otherwise he was in the loop of indian setup at least a decade before that seminal event of 1990. Given we were fully anchored with the ideals of socialist economy in those days him being picked for a critical post like Governor of RBI tells me he must have been socialist. In 1990 four decades of socialist bankrupted the treasurey and we went with beggin bowls to world bank and world bank made the loan conditional on opening up the economy. So If anyone we should thank for that vision it's world bank. Giving credit to this to someone like Manmohan Singh who presided over the mere implemenatation by virtue of being FM sounds similar to Mushy being credited for turn-around policy on taliban. Both events were compulsion of the time for the respective leaders. WOuld give one thing to manmohan Singh though when the implementation started word on the street was the Singh saheb used to move around with resignation letter in his pocket lest someone twisted his arms and he might need those. Narsimha Rao gave him clean chit despite opposition from several quarters in his own cabinet. God knows where India lost that selfless Dr. Singh.

Kahe ki mafi maang rahe ho babuwa ... yeh baat tau hamau bhi kahat ho ... I said pretty much the same things to Lurks on the other thread .... we have a facked up sense of doing business be it any sphere .... Forget the Chuthiya Babus ... what stops the Judiciary and Executive branches from doing their jobs ? How hard is to deal with lowlifes like quatrochi , Masood azhar, Afzal et al ? Hire some hit men take them down ... and if sheet hits the fan throw the evidence on the babus faces in private. But ye sab karne ke liye you need folks with strong convictions and only the larger interests of the country at heart and not the No.of zeros in his bank account ..
Fir misunderstanding ke liye maafi.. and hat will be unconstituional.. and yes it's hard when grand old party in power supports them