BERGKAMP Posted December 14, 2011 Posted December 14, 2011 Maybe now we will hear his own opinions and not just the communistic BCCI propoganda that him and Shastri are always spouting. You can see the video of him moaning like a bee yatch here, it is a bit embarassing IMO, also probably the reason he has been axed for AUS commentary duties - http://www.ndtv.com/article/india/my-faith-in-bcci-has-been-shaken-gavaskar-157672 Former India captain Sunil Gavaskar has blasted the cricket board after its refusal to pay him $1 million fee per season for media activities involving the Indian Premier League (IPL). The decision was taken at the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) working committee meeting on Delhi on Monday. "BCCI has made a u-turn on my contract. I am baffled after reading reports that BCCI has refused to pay me my dues and my faith in BCCI has been shaken," Gavaskar told NDTV. Gavaskar said he got an assurance from BCCI president Sharad Pawar that his dues will be cleared. "Sharad Pawar and Arun Jaitely both promised me on phone that my dues will be cleared. In fact, Sharad Pawar and Lalit Modi had promised me a Rs4 crore IPL contract in 2007," he said. http://www.dnaindia.com/sport/report_sunil-gavaskar-slams-bcci-for-refusal-to-pay-1-million-fee_1625450
Stuge Posted December 14, 2011 Posted December 14, 2011 its out why he is not doing commentary in Australia .
chainsmoker Posted December 14, 2011 Posted December 14, 2011 So that is why he is now removed from the commentary team for the Aussie tour. Shameless BCCI
chainsmoker Posted December 14, 2011 Posted December 14, 2011 I think even Harsha would have spoken something in favor of Sunny Gavaskar and against BCCI so he is also removed from commie team
rajmarie Posted December 14, 2011 Posted December 14, 2011 Actually...now Gavaskar will realise that when he was preaching all hail BCCI....how the same has turn around & bite him hard. Good for him & all such people. Now Gavaskar....start writing or try atleast to write (after so long writing propoganda)...professionally...without BCCI influcence. Like all cricketer...commentators needs break also :giggle:
achilles Posted December 14, 2011 Posted December 14, 2011 Lets get set for a meek commentary team from India, just because Cement-man doesn't think it is necessary to honour contracts. :isalute:
BERGKAMP Posted December 14, 2011 Author Posted December 14, 2011 Thats the thing, there was no contract, just a casual conversation over the phone, and now Gavaskar thinks he is owed a million dollars. Neither party comes off well in this.
Needforspeed Posted December 14, 2011 Posted December 14, 2011 When such big amounts are involved are they just promised on the phone? Normally there should be some contract isn't it?
Magneto Posted December 14, 2011 Posted December 14, 2011 When such big amounts are involved are they just promised on the phone? Normally there should be some contract isn't it? In the desi way of functioning, a lot of times contracts are bypassed in various spheres. Didn't know that it was the same with BCCI as well.