Why exactly is Tendulkar in the odi team???

• To "guide" youngsters like Jadeja in the team
    • To get his 100th 100 as he knows he's gonna struggle in Tests
    • He wanted to have a longer vacation in Aus so he came "back" for Aussie tri series
    • Can't say. It's a head scratcher and I have no clue

Dude, selective memory again? Sachin was always a blue-eyed boy of Indian cricket. Since you raised his ODI credentials lets talk about it now. What was so great about him that he didnt get dropped and played consecutively? And why are the youngsters today not given the same oppertunity this budhao had? Unless of course you are one of those who think Sachin is bhagwaan who was born with stars aligned at the right time and he deserved to play every game on his avtar-ness alone!
Faulty memory or passionate prejudice? in fact you seem to have more than one problem. In 90s, there was no such thing as test/ODI specialists. performance in tests helped secure place in ODIs, and vice versa... ( it is still applicable, to some extent). He was right up there among top 3-4 Indian batsmen, even if you look at ODIs in isolation, w/o begging for long run based on jawan khoon. Take few coffee shots, put on your specs, increase the font - I am repeating - no outstandingly performing senior had to be rested/rotated to allow him a long run, he continued earning the place - purely based on performances - relatively speaking. [time window chosen - between debut - until his first 100 in ODIs, as I assume he was just a blue-eyed boy until the first ODI century.] tests http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/stats/index.html?class=1;host=6;spanmax1=30+apr+1994;spanmin1=1+Nov+1989;spanval1=span;team=6;template=results;type=batting ODIs http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/stats/index.html?class=2;spanmax1=30+apr+1994;spanmin1=1+Nov+1989;spanval1=span;team=6;template=results;type=batting I will leave it as an exercise for you to look at the top performers in FC during that period.
Dude, stop worrying about me and lets talk about you now, shall we? Whats with this habit of invoking irrelevant points to cover your lack of knowledge? If you are in love with me, dont get upset if I dont swing that way :hysterical:
you flatter yourself way too much, too much in love with yourself? :hysterical::hysterical: Invoking irrelevant points is what you do when you take a swipe at anyone who doesnt agree with your idiotic line of reasoning against the marathi. If you really think that point was valid, please go bump the thread where your naivety and retardedness was being laughed at, and try to come up with a half decent explanation rather than running away again.
lol. Good that I got into your judgemental freak. How old are you? Pretending NOT to be a Sachin-bhakt but a dedicated one at that who goes to all length to protect his bhagwaan and when put in a spot comes after me.
The bhakth and cheerleader card is one of your most trite and hackeneyed responses. Try to come up with something better next time.
Nor is your bhagwaan gonna play 2015. Please keep shut then.
It is retarded to suggest that of all the failures we have tested over the years, we should play Parthiv Patel ahead of SRT?. :facepalm:
You showed up there too lol..Dude bromance ki jai-ho but please move to another chap, I dont swing that way again..And yes if you have a backbone you should have stepped into that thread then and there, not resort to your cowardice..as usual.
I did respond in that thread :doh: Just to others who were making sensible points, not to the ones spouting crap like you were.
Rather simple to explain that. SRT and Sehwag are both playing when they should NOT be playing. Is that because of selfish reasons? I think so. You obviously do not. Is that because SRT wants his 100. I think so. You do not. Is that because selectors dont know how to make them quit. I think so. You do not. Is that because chelas like you keep harping baja about their netaji? I think so. You do not.
Again started a rant with the bhakth and cheerleader card :sleep: rather than actually replying to even a single point made. Clubbing Sehwag with SRT doenst make sense here. SRT is almost at the end of his career while Sehwag still has a good few years left (even though he may be dropped if he doesnt play well). Why would selectors want to make Sehwag quit? Both need to be dropped/ rested for someone like Rahane to play in their place given that Gambhir scored well in this tourney and has secured his place. For Rahane to overtake Sehwag in team selections, either Sehwag has to have an extended poor run of form or we need a solid middle order with Yuvi as well. The former may happen at the end of the tour when selector's patience finally runs out and Rahane gets in his place for good like how Ashwin replaced Bhajji. But till that happens Viru will always be the first choice in matches which are not dead rubbers. SRT is playing because he considers himself good enough to contribute to the team - if you consider that a selfish reason then fine. If he was playing on solely for his 100, he would have played in the windies series/England home ODIs against a minnow side at home where he could have easily scored his century but he sat out so Rahane, Tiwary, Rohit Sharma all got their chances. The selectors would never drop him but ask him to retire when they feel that he doesnt fit in with their ODI plans. They have never faced such a conundrum because he has harldy played ODIs outside of the world cup. If he doesn't perform in this series, my hunch is he would himself hang up his boots.
What? Your largest contribution ever and to do a cop-out? Dude come back, you shouldnt have a problem wasting more bits in cyberspace, having a go at me and claiming to be some sort of neutral who is in bed with Sachin-bhakts. Please continue to show up in other threads and keep judging me. I will wait for a Valentine's boquet next year (NOT!) xxxx
Copout. lol. more like giving up on a senile budhao on the road who has made it his life's mission to rant about a certain marathi. You try reasoning once or twice with him but then just give up and move on and let the budhao enjoy his imaginary victory
you flatter yourself way too much' date=' too much in love with yourself? :hysterical::hysterical: Invoking irrelevant points is what you do when you take a swipe at anyone who doesnt agree with your idiotic line of reasoning against the [i']marathi. If you really think that point was valid, please go bump the thread where your naivety and retardedness was being laughed at, and try to come up with a half decent explanation rather than running away again.
I flatter myself? Arre Ganesh boss how does it feel to over and out and come back with tail between your legs? Since you went postal on my character, how does a 2 bit liar look like. Thora batao dost. As I have seen your knowledge of cricket fall rapidly, it seems your backbone went missing too. Showed up again? Awwww..I love you too Ganesh :hysterical:
The bhakth and cheerleader card is one of your most trite and hackeneyed responses. Try to come up with something better next time.
Nope. Those two words - cheerleader & bhakt - were crafted for likes of you. And you full qualify and henceforth would be called aloud of that. Congratulations. :two_thumbs_up:
It is retarded to suggest that of all the failures we have tested over the years, we should play Parthiv Patel ahead of SRT?
That was not your point :hysterical: Or did my riling get to your intelligence as well? Dude the question YOU raised was playing in 2015 and how PP wont play. By that method SRT wont play as well. So why is SRT eligible and not PP? Ab if you have some paisa on SRT to khul ke bolo, dont forget your own point :secret:
Again started a rant with the bhakth and cheerleader card :sleep: rather than actually replying to even a single point made. Clubbing Sehwag with SRT doenst make sense here. SRT is almost at the end of his career while Sehwag still has a good few years left (even though he may be dropped if he doesnt play well). Why would selectors want to make Sehwag quit?
Boss ever heard the difference between firing and retiring? SRT should retire. Meaning his career is over. Done. Finito. Sehwag should be fired. Let him go to domestic cricket and get his career together. Pretty simple. Samajh mein aayi baat Marathi cheerleader? (just for added effect, know you love it).
Both need to be dropped/ rested for someone like Rahane to play in their place given that Gambhir scored well in this tourney and has secured his place. For Rahane to overtake Sehwag in team selections, either Sehwag has to have an extended poor run of form or we need a solid middle order with Yuvi as well. The former may happen at the end of the tour when selector's patience finally runs out and Rahane gets in his place for good like how Ashwin replaced Bhajji. But till that happens Viru will always be the first choice in matches which are not dead rubbers.
Neither of that is happening. Yuvi is nursing his illness, Motaji is failing. So whats your advice ace? Looks like as of now you insist of chalta hai atitude. I am now worried if you are a SRT cheerleader or a Sharad Pawar bhakt.
SRT is playing because he considers himself good enough to contribute to the team - if you consider that a selfish reason then fine. If he was playing on solely for his 100, he would have played in the windies series/England home ODIs against a minnow side at home where he could have easily scored his century but he sat out so Rahane, Tiwary, Rohit Sharma all got their chances.
Yes. And he played IPL because he wanted to give Malinga a bowling practice. SRT is playing because the selectors, and chelas like yourself, dont have the gumption to kick his sorry ass out. Any other players - VVS, Ganguly, Dravid - would, and have, been kicked out. This whole partiality towards one cricketer is justified because we have cheerleaders like you in our midst. Now bring out your Pom Poms. And here, some recent pictures I took of you - :girldance: :cheerleader: :girldance:
I flatter myself? Arre Ganesh boss how does it feel to over and out and come back with tail between your legs? Since you went postal on my character, how does a 2 bit liar look like. Thora batao dost. As I have seen your knowledge of cricket fall rapidly, it seems your backbone went missing too. Showed up again? Awwww..I love you too Ganesh :hysterical:
Arre budhao uncle, continuing to flatter yourself. :giggle: chalo koi nahi, be happy in your imaginary victory and warning everyone how Google is ripping every website owner :fear:
Nope. Those two words - cheerleader & bhakt - were crafted for likes of you. And you full qualify and henceforth would be called aloud of that. Congratulations. :two_thumbs_up:
Phir wohi tumhare zamaane ka ghisa pita tape recorder :sleep:
That was not your point :hysterical: Or did my riling get to your intelligence as well? Dude the question YOU raised was playing in 2015 and how PP wont play. By that method SRT wont play as well. So why is SRT eligible and not PP? Ab if you have some paisa on SRT to khul ke bolo, dont forget your own point :secret:
Yaar ajeeb cartoon bande ho, poora post padthe nahi ya yadaarsth kam ho gayi badhti umar ki wajah se. The point I made in one of the earlier post was that if we rest both Viru and SRT (which is not going to happen), we will have to play Parthiv as opener which is retarded since the whole point of resting is to give a youngster a chance who can play in 2015. Aur tum phir wohi baaja leke shuru ho gaye ki SRT has also not made any runs so whats the difference in playing him or Pappu.
Boss ever heard the difference between firing and retiring? SRT should retire. Meaning his career is over. Done. Finito. Sehwag should be fired. Let him go to domestic cricket and get his career together. Pretty simple. Samajh mein aayi baat Marathi cheerleader? (just for added effect, know you love it).
That is what I said - clubbing Sehwag and SRT makes no sense as the situation with both of them is quite different. Sehwag might very well be fired after the series is over, but in the current series he wont be played behind any other youngster because of lack of experience in the middle order. Rahi SRT ke retire honey ki baat, if he doesnt do well in this series he will most probably hang up his boots. If he does well, he will play in the Asia cup and then retire because he will anyway not play in the bilateral series at home like he hasn't done for last 1-2 years now.
Neither of that is happening. Yuvi is nursing his illness, Motaji is failing. So whats your advice ace? Looks like as of now you insist of chalta hai atitude. I am now worried if you are a SRT cheerleader or a Sharad Pawar bhakt.
Answered in the previous post. if he fails in the current series, he might be dropped in Asia cup and Rahane will become the first choice opener. Exactly how Ashwin replaced Bhajji after an extended run of poor performance. No changes will happen in the current series though
Yes. And he played IPL because he wanted to give Malinga a bowling practice.
Playing IPL is inconsequential here. On on hand you argue that he shouldnt be playing for India to allow youngsters get changes, on the other criticize his playing IPL. Should he retire from IPL too, because some younger player can get practice in Mumbai Indians side?
SRT is playing because the selectors, and chelas like yourself, dont have the gumption to kick his sorry ass out. Any other players - VVS, Ganguly, Dravid - would, and have, been kicked out. This whole partiality towards one cricketer is justified because we have cheerleaders like you in our midst. Now bring out your Pom Poms.
Not sure if you mean tests or ODIs. Because VVS and Dravid have been given just as many chances as SRT in tests and both of them have a poorer record in the last 3-4 years than SRT. Rahi ODIs ki baat, the others were discarded quite early and the comparative performance over the last 3 years in ODIs has been very good for SRT. In fact the current run of 5 matches is his first run of poor performance after the world cup where he top scored. So If selectors want him out of ODIs, they will make a decision only after the series. They wont drop him or ask him to retire mid series. Aussies who dropped Punter mid series only after his 3 year average of 30 became way poorer to 3.6. If he had done half decently, they would have dropped him only after the series got over.
And here, some recent pictures I took of you - :girldance: :cheerleader: :girldance:
Here is one of yours :cantstop: rema.jpg
Dude, do you look at your own numbers? Have a look at your one day list, for example. See how many games SRT played as compared to Sidhu, Manjrekar, Kambli etc. SRT played 76 games in the time. Sidhu 43, Manjrekar 45 & Kambli 39. ALL had better average than SRT. Can you help understand? And if the assertion is going to be Test cricket, do throw some light on why a middle order Test batsman was allowed to open the innings in LOI?
Arre budhao uncle, continuing to flatter yourself. :giggle: chalo koi nahi, be happy in your imaginary victory and warning everyone how Google is ripping every website owner :fear:
I must have hurt you pretty bad in the whole Google thread. Because I cant even recall the topic and you remember all of my post lol. Chalo since we are doing a confession what else do you like about my Ganesh. Are you coming out of the closet by any chance :hysterical:
The point I made in one of the earlier post was that if we rest both Viru and SRT (which is not going to happen), we will have to play Parthiv as opener which is retarded since the whole point of resting is to give a youngster a chance who can play in 2015. Aur tum phir wohi baaja leke shuru ho gaye ki SRT has also not made any runs so whats the difference in playing him or Pappu.
Okay read it slow this time. So it makes sense. SRT's career is done. He gets to go or gets dropped. Sehwag needs a kick up his bum. Send him back to domestic cricket. With me so far? Good. Start building a team. Now when Sachin came to LOI he was a middle order batsman, a pretty average one too. He was NEVER an opener from day 1. Azhar and team came up with that. We can come up with similar/same idea. Maybe it will work. Maybe not. But why should the budhaos keep playing as their jaagirs and not allow any thought/strategy to be in play?
That is what I said - clubbing Sehwag and SRT makes no sense as the situation with both of them is quite different. Sehwag might very well be fired after the series is over, but in the current series he wont be played behind any other youngster because of lack of experience in the middle order. Rahi SRT ke retire honey ki baat, if he doesnt do well in this series he will most probably hang up his boots. If he does well, he will play in the Asia cup and then retire because he will anyway not play in the bilateral series at home like he hasn't done for last 1-2 years now.
This actually makes sense. However your replies have been 90% cr@p and 10% sense, and I am confused on what is more relevant, suppose being a Marathi cheerleader you would want me to go with numbers, so I should pass this section in total!
Playing IPL is inconsequential here. On on hand you argue that he shouldnt be playing for India to allow youngsters get changes, on the other criticize his playing IPL. Should he retire from IPL too, because some younger player can get practice in Mumbai Indians side?
No its not. Sachin's stature is being questioned as a player. And its not only me. Indians, non-Indians, experts/common man have all raised question on why he played IPL and skipped important games. To me personally I am more interested in why he would skip Ranji and domestic games. As for what he needs to do, personally I would love for him to retire and spent a year or two leading Mumbai in Ranjis. Would love VVS and Dravid to do that too.
So If selectors want him out of ODIs, they will make a decision only after the series. They wont drop him or ask him to retire mid series. Aussies who dropped Punter mid series only after his 3 year average of 30 became way poorer to 3.6. If he had done half decently, they would have dropped him only after the series got over.
Yes they can. There is a reason a squad comprises of more than 11 players. Folks can be rested/dropped/called back. And some can be sent to Australia too. What is needed is backbone, and kickout fans like you who excel in throwing their Pom Poms for the failed God. :cheerleader:
rema.jpg
Remember what I mentioned to you earlier? How the only things worse than the cricketing knowledge of a Sachin-bhakt are: a) Comebacks. b)Sense of humor. c) Originality. Dude, thats the best you can do??? Seriously? Couldnt come up with a picture on your own? How sad is that mate? By the way my pics are already there on many places. You can check them on the first page of http://indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=17964. Dont send me any Valentine though...keep stalking but keep away :cheerleader: :cheerleader: :cheerleader:
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/cricket/series-tournaments/sachin-tendulkar--an-indian-icon/top-stories/Sachin-Tendulkar-must-quit-ODIs-say-57-in-TOI-poll/articleshow/11997477.cms :hysterical: :hysterical: :hysterical: 57% of TOI reader also want Sachin to quit. Lurker, U_G you are not alone whole nation is with you even yesterday newshour Arnab was shouting why is this man in team why the hell is he playing. Even India TV and Aaj Tak are saying same. ufff Out of topic but gr8 comment in TOI section How many of the 57% believe that the Congress govt - who is out of form since independence, should quit from Lok Sabha / Rajya Sabha? I know its not relevant, but we jump to decide Cricketers fate's where we have no say, but dont even jump across the street to vote where we actually have a say.
:two_thumbs_up: This actually surprises me coz most of Indian fans I come across want SRT to continue. Among my friend circle I am the only chap who would like to see SRT retire or dropped. Rest of the guys want him to continue and retire when he wants to.
:hysterical: :hysterical: :hysterical: 57% of TOI reader also want Sachin to quit. Lurker, U_G you are not alone whole nation is with you even yesterday newshour Arnab was shouting why is this man in team why the hell is he playing. Even India TV and Aaj Tak are saying same. ufff
Both me and you will agree that this is inherently sad. Even as a SRT (worst) critic these days I count him as one of the top 3 greatest cricketers we have produced alongside Kapil and Gavaskar. To see him come to a position where majority wants him out is sad. Where me and you differ though of course is you think his criticism is incorrect while I say it is very fair.
How many of the 57% believe that the Congress govt - who is out of form since independence, should quit from Lok Sabha / Rajya Sabha? I know its not relevant, but we jump to decide Cricketers fate's where we have no say, but dont even jump across the street to vote where we actually have a say.
Oh thats easy. Indian people deserver this. I am from Bihar, state perhaps worst riddled by politics. We deserved Lalloos and Rabris and their khandaan. Nitish Kumar is turning things around of course. But you can extend Bihar example to India. We are all so dvided, by religion, language etc etc that we end up looking at smaller picture and chewtiyas come to power. Simple.
:two_thumbs_up: This actually surprises me coz most of Indian fans I come across want SRT to continue. Among my friend circle I am the only chap who would like to see SRT retire or dropped. Rest of the guys want him to continue and retire when he wants to.
Do you share an apartment with Ganesh, Akshay & Raghav. If so dude......:hail: :hail: :hail:
:giggle: My days of sharing apt are long gone :haha: But still follow cricket with my friends and for the world cup we watched every game at each other's place with a superbowl sort of get-together for every game, especially the opener against B'desh and the final. I didn't sleep for nearly 2 days after we won the cup :--D
:giggle: My days of sharing apt are long gone :haha: But still follow cricket with my friends and for the world cup we watched every game at each other's place with a superbowl sort of get-together for every game' date=' especially the opener against B'desh and the final. [b']I didn't sleep for nearly 2 days after we won the cup
But did you open a thread celebrating the win? :hitler:
:giggle: My days of sharing apt are long gone :haha: But still follow cricket with my friends and for the world cup we watched every game at each other's place with a superbowl sort of get-together for every game' date=' especially the opener against [b']B'desh and the final. I didn't sleep for nearly 2 days after we won the cup :--D
Saale chun ke do match bata raha hai jisme SRT nahi chala tha in WC now I know who is manhoos for him. Next match please do not watch, I am sure Sachin ka balla chalega :haha:
But did you open a thread celebrating the win? :hitler:
I sure did but there were so many opened it was pushed down within a few mins. That evening/night was busy going around the city horning/honking & flag waving with friends with the flag :yay:
Saale chun ke do match bata raha hai jisme SRT nahi chala tha in WC now I know who is manhoos for him. Next match please do not watch, I am sure Sachin ka balla chalega
Arre dekhe to saare match the but these two were extra special along with the semi final :smiley:
I sure did but there were so many opened it was pushed down within a few mins. That evening/night was busy going around the city horning/honking & flag waving with friends with the flag :yay:
Ohh good that you atleast opened a thread. You are spared of proving your allegiance to Indian cricket team now :cantstop:
I must have hurt you pretty bad in the whole Google thread. Because I cant even recall the topic and you remember all of my post lol. Chalo since we are doing a confession what else do you like about my Ganesh. Are you coming out of the closet by any chance :hysterical:
Hurt me? :hysterical: Arre budhao uncle, itni hasi aayi ki pet dukh raha tha aur tum toh dum daba ke satak liye. Badthi umar ke saath yaadaasht bhi jaa rahi hai :cantstop:
Okay read it slow this time. So it makes sense. SRT's career is done. He gets to go or gets dropped. Sehwag needs a kick up his bum. Send him back to domestic cricket. With me so far? Good. Start building a team. Now when Sachin came to LOI he was a middle order batsman, a pretty average one too. He was NEVER an opener from day 1. Azhar and team came up with that. We can come up with similar/same idea. Maybe it will work. Maybe not. But why should the budhaos keep playing as their jaagirs and not allow any thought/strategy to be in play?
What idea should the team come up with? Moving SRT down the order wont work beause there are more youngsters in the middle order than opening. Just stating that we should come up with some random solution of moving *someone* up / down the order which is supposedly being blocked by SRT and Viru playing makes no sense. If you have a plan that the team management should follow, then lets hear it and decide why its being blocked by the presence of seniors.
This actually makes sense. However your replies have been 90% cr@p and 10% sense, and I am confused on what is more relevant, suppose being a Marathi cheerleader you would want me to go with numbers, so I should pass this section in total!
Its same thing I have been saying all along. The only crap I posted was in reply to your crap :doh: Like I said, others have made the point that SRT should leave. Outy, Bumper, Gunner and quite a few others who had the same opinion in the last one year and its a totally valid stand even though I dont agree with it. Its just you who comes here to rant about the marathi and when your arguments fall flat on their face, you resort to the bhakth/cheerleader card or other ad-hominem remarks.
No its not. Sachin's stature is being questioned as a player. And its not only me. Indians, non-Indians, experts/common man have all raised question on why he played IPL and skipped important games. To me personally I am more interested in why he would skip Ranji and domestic games. As for what he needs to do, personally I would love for him to retire and spent a year or two leading Mumbai in Ranjis. Would love VVS and Dravid to do that too.
The IPL is inconsequential to your argument, infact it contradicts itself when you say that SRT should not skip India games to play IPL and then in the same token say that SRT continuing to play India games is denying youngsters a chance. Chit bhi meri pat bhi meri. There is no point in playing Ranji after retiring. ganguly did that and he was thoroughly criticised for treating cricket bengal like his personal fiefdom and blocking younger players for playing in Ranji.
Yes they can. There is a reason a squad comprises of more than 11 players. Folks can be rested/dropped/called back. And some can be sent to Australia too. What is needed is backbone, and kickout fans like you who excel in throwing their Pom Poms for the failed God. :cheerleader:
The current 5 matches is the first time SRT is playing since the world cup, and if selectors want to take a decision on his career, they will do so after the series not send him back in the middle. This is pretty obvious to understand, except to bhaiyas who were probably beaten by Raj Thackeray's men and harbor a grudge against all marathis
Remember what I mentioned to you earlier? How the only things worse than the cricketing knowledge of a Sachin-bhakt are: a) Comebacks. b)Sense of humor. c) Originality. Dude, thats the best you can do??? Seriously? Couldnt come up with a picture on your own? How sad is that mate? By the way my pics are already there on many places. You can check them on the first page of http://indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=17964. Dont send me any Valentine though...keep stalking but keep away :cheerleader: :cheerleader: :cheerleader:
Yaar tum originality ki baat karte ho :giggle:. you have as much originality as the senile buddhas who stand near the chai or pan ki dukan and keep ranting conspiracy theories, or the old distant relatives in the family that no one takes seriously and who make a fuss just to gather some attention in their old days.