IPL-2 auctions were rigged in favour of Chennai Super Kings

Video London: Lalit Modi, the former IPL chief in exile, has lashed out at the Indian cricket board (BCCI) for its running of the lucrative Twenty20 league while alleging that the 2009 auction was rigged in favour of the Chennai Super Kings, whose owner is the current BCCI president, N Srinivasan. Speaking to CNN-IBN, Modi alleged that when he was in charge of the IPL, the rules were tweaked to allow former England allrounder Andrew Flintoff to remains with Chennai. "The Flintoff auction was rigged," he said. "All players were supposed to go back to the auction after the first three years but that did not happen. I was arm-twisted into allowing Flintoff to stay with the Chennai team. The retention clause was not my idea. I had created a level playing field. "The rules have been changed to favour some powerful BCCI members. If you tweak the model along the way it's going to fail. There is no level playing field in the IPL today. There is a lack of transparency now. Many wanted to be part of the game after it became a success." Against the backdrop of Sahara India's pullout of the sponsorship of the Indian team and their withdrawal of the Pune Warriors franchise, Modi said the current IPL model had become untenable. "This model will not work. You have to keep the players in mind. There are things being done by the BCCI that in the long run will hurt Indian cricket." Earlier on Saturday, Modi had tweeted, "Sahara termination - shows how unhappy the major sponsor and franchise owner is with the way BCCI deals with its partners. This is really a sad day. Sahara has been sports biggest supporter and pillar." Modi, who was suspended as the IPL commissioner pending investigations into alleged financial irregularities, had a very public fallout with Srinivisan. He had earlier accused him of misusing his position as the Indian board secretary to benefit the Chennai franchise. He has now called for the sacking of Srinivisan in order for the smooth running of the IPL. As a result of all that was going wrong, Modi also said the BCCI stands to lose Rs 10000 crore. "Its not rocket science. Look at the numbers. I've put them all there on my website. I dare the BCCI to prove me wrong." Asked whether such a situation would have arose under his leadership, Modi said: "The IPL was fair and open when I was in charge in first three years and Sahara would not have pulled out during my time."

These are the figures being spoken about by Lalit Modi-

During my term at the BCCI, I had concluded deals, which benefitted the Board to the tune off approximately USD 7 billion. Notable amongst these were media rights deal with Nimbus for four years of USD$612 million in 2006, team sponsorship deal with Sahara for four years of USD$103 million in 2005, team apparel sponsor deal with Nike for four years worth USD$53 in 2006, BCCI sponsorship deal with WSG for USD$46million in 2007, Indian team overseas rights with Zee TV for around USD$200 m, the Indian Premier League eight franchisees for USD$723.59 million in 2008,ESPN deal for CLT20 global rights for USD$1 billion in 2008, IPL Media Rights Deal with Sony-WSG for USD$1.26 Billion in 2008 , web media rights of BCCI for USD$50 million in 2008 , IPL title sponsorship and ground sponsors for UDS$220 million in 2008 , Renegotiated Sony- WSG IPL Media rights from $1.26 billion to over USD$2.16 billion on in 2009, Nimbus Communications four year deal for the rights to India's home international games at USD$431 million in 2009 ,IPL Theatrical Rights Deal with ESD for over USD$ 100 million in 2009, IPL Entertainment Broadcast deal with Viacom for over USD$30 Million in 2010, the Indian Premier League two franchises for USD$723.59 million in 2010 . First Srinivasan, as treasurer, inexplicably allowed bank guarantee of US $60 million in relation to the breach of telecasting rights by Zee TV to lapse. It allowed Zee TV to go scot free at the cost of BCCI with nothing more than an admission of mistake from him. While, to safeguard BCCI's interests, for the two new franchises to be inducted in IPL, I had proposed bank guarantees of the full bid amount and only those companies that had a net worth of US$1 billion from potential bidders, the BCCI with Shashank Manohar and Srinivasan at the helm took the step of reducing the bank guarantee amounts to one tenth and trashing the net worth clause altogether. Consequently when the Kochi franchise defaulted due to weak financials the only recourse BCCI had was to encash the bank guarantee of USD$ 33 million as against a whopping USD$ 333 million which I had proposed resulting in a straight loss to BCCI to the tune of USD$ 300 million. The only contract, which Srinivasan portrayed as enhancing BCCI’s revenue, was the revised Sony Media rights agreement of the year 2010 allegedly enhancing revenue by USD$ 80 million. What was however implicit in the said arrangement was dilution of the BCCI's bank guarantee provisions to favour Sony and put BCCI at a risk. Also giving up BCCI's right to exploit 150 seconds of FCT (FREE COMMERCIAL TIME) - which I had negotiated on behalf of the BCCI, and Sony had agreed for BCCI to exploit - had a potential revenue amount of nearly USD$ 150 million. In the end now with probably 8 teams and about 59 games in the fifth edition of the IPL will result into a loss of 2 billion USD or INR 10,000 crores with contracts being cancelled or downsized or lost by this administration.
For the complete article - Source

^ show the documents , Tape recording etc the words i guess Modi wrote an spoke enough Nothing against to Modi but he has to provide concrete proof...speach wont cut any more he done that enough

IPL Auction rigged! As per Lalit Modi IPL auction was rigged in 2009 to benefit CSK. We all knew IPL did bend the rules to benefit certain franchises (CSK, MI) and finally we get some details... Here's an excerpt from the article...

Lalit Modi, the former IPL commissioner, has said that the sale of Andrew Flintoff to Chennai Super Kings during the 2009 IPL player auction had been manipulated and that he "should have not allowed that to happen."
Link... http://www.espncricinfo.com/indian-premier-league-2012/content/current/story/552470.html So lot of skeletons tumbling out of the IPL cupboard and IPL at the moment is a joke with hardly any credibility :haha:

If BCCI had any shame they would clear out its directors and whatnot and re appoint Modi to fix this mess before they embarass themselves in front of the whole world. It can get a lot more ugly if they dont take any actions and live up to their ' chalta hai' attitude.

Modi helped Mumbai get Pollard - official Seeni counter attacks :giggle:

The secret tiebreaker rule in the IPL player auction was devised by Lalit Modi, the former IPL commissioner, "for Mumbai Indians to get Kieron Pollard" in 2010, an official from one of the original eight IPL franchises has said. The official's comments were made to ESPNcricinfo after Modi, during an interview to Indian television channel CNN IBN, said the tiebreaker was meant to level the field in the IPL. "The tiebreaker only came in because, how do you determine when you have a fixed purse for the tournament. And this is well researched, that you reach the cap and still two teams are bidding, secret tie-breaker came as a penalty clause where the team actually pays back a higher fee but it goes back to the BCCI, which is then used to offset other player costs," Modi said. "But the objective, again, was to make it equal. All bidders get an equal opportunity to buy a player." The franchise official, however, disagreed and said the field had not been level even during Modi's time as IPL chief. "The truth is, has there been favouritism in the IPL? Of course there has been," the official told ESPNcricinfo. "There has been favouritism in the sense, if you create a rule like the tiebreaker, you know it favours only certain franchises. That rule was made by Modi himself. The tiebreak rule was made for Mumbai Indians to get Kieron Pollard in the auction."
http://www.espncricinfo.com/indian-premier-league-2012/content/current/story/552488.html
It was still fair wasnt it? Everyone had the chance to get Pollard at the end of the day.
may be or may not be... thats a Quote from a Team Official...i dont know how it favoured MI ..but the article is there in CI so i quoted here ill repeat BCCi is the biggest evil...Modi is small evil
Obviously it favoured MI because they were willing to spend any amout of money to get him. Hence the tie breaker. Other teams werent as financially strong. So official is saying that he favoured MI because they have more money to waste.
tie breaker was good solution in small auction in 3rd auction cap was just $750000 every team had chance to get him...
What is Modi talking about. He was heading the IPL when these scams supposedly took place. Isn't he equally to blame?
Yea hes admitted to most of them, but the bcci babus were the one pulling the strings......you think he would speak out against them while doing his job? Eventually the babus wanted to kill the golden goose and run IPL themselves by firing Modi. And the whole bcci went into losses after Modi got fired. Modi is now showing how fked up BCCI are atm because they dont know how to run organization and IPL going into losses by losing so many contracts worth billions of dollars. Modi invested in the game cricket as much as he could, he didnt comprise the quality and credibility of the IPL just to get some few extra bucks. Modi was responsible for bring in 8 billions dollars to the BCCI, in which most of it is lost after he was fired.

^ One doubt i have is whether the Details of Tie Breaker Auction revealed to all Franchises isnt there chance of rigging this... :hmmm: