The Mumbai Khadoosness

Shehezaada

Hey guys, I guess I should introduce myself a bit before asking this question: I'm a cricketer who's been playing club cricket (U-16, U-19, League 3rd, 4th, 5th division) since I was 13. I started playing cricket when I was 11... my cousin taught me when he came from India. Since cricket was hardly alive in Canada those days, I never got to experience watching any live matches. However the following year in Grade 6 me and a paki friend of mind started to play at school and the trend caught on. We organized World cups, got some crackers to play with us as well...and it carried onto middle school. From then on we were recruited by a coach to join a club named Inverhaugh in Elora. It was the only grass wicket in all of canada and at the time we were quite lucky to have it. So me and my friends got some good coaching, and decent practice every single week. At the beginning Inverhaugh was nice to us...we didn't have any equipment at all. They let us use a kit that had been made up of leftovers from the senior cricketers (bu still was fairly good material). I was selected for the U-19 team in a couple of weeks and top scored on debut as a middle order batsmen who bowled both off breaks and leg breaks. As time went on I captained the U-19 side and played regularly for the senior side. After 5 years of Inverhaugh we realized there were major problems beginning to develop. After a major incident, me and my three best friends left Inverhaugh and started to play league cricket (I had debuted in the league, EDCL, at 16 and so I had some experience as well). After a half season with a very poor team (although they were a great bunch of guys), we've finally realized our dream. We realized that Inverhaugh had become too controlling. Often I would set fields for specific batsmen (little moves like a silly point for a batsmen who played with bat infront of pad, or short cover/midwicket on slow surfaces)...only to find that they had been moved by t