Inflation touches 11.05%: how are u guys back home feeling the pinch

OR u are all rich folks and don't give a damn.. I asked my mother other day: mehangai bahut badh gai hai ka .. sabji wagairah ka bhaw.. She had no clue because vegetable grows in backyard ahence they seldom have to buy stuff from market.. Foodgrains again comes from own field so no idea of how inflation impact even there.. even those who buy buy it once couple of quintals wheat /rice and consume it for whole year so are kind of insulated from mmentary fluctuations.. I guess for city dwellers things would be different...

so what is the cause of this rampant inflation? i am not intune with economics back home, but the inflation being experienced here is overwhelmingly artificial and the result of investors bidding high on forward contracts (thanks to a pre enron collapse legislation passed by the bush government that permits individuals to speculate on forward contracts without the obligation of using those commodities). is this speculation by investors the cause of inflation at home too? or is it just a matter of demand and supply?

BTW agriculture produce particualrly in north bihar has been beyond expectation this wheat season. Every kattha produced around 3-mann i.e 120 kg.. unprecedented according to my father. SO this inflation most probably will come down; hang in there.

Inflation is an ever present danger in fast-expanding economies. In the oil rich states of the gulf, the lowest inflation rates hover around 10%. Excessive money supply, rampant consumption and rising wages lead to overheating of the economy. Interest rates in India are at around 8%- way too low to take the heat out of the market. The current levels have been reached because of oil prices. There's no country in the world that's immune from inflation right now.

India's case is little different it has 400 million middle class sort of well to do on purchasing power parity basis as well to do as any developed country.. Then we have sub-sharan africa too inside india.. around 200 million. For these folks things get little tight. As long as PDS takes care of them. Most unfortunate ones in this are the urban poor, rural poor is relatiuvely fine he/she gets his wages in the form of food-grains hence is immune to the quirky pricing of the same. Oil rich states are different even the poorest of poor there are rich enough to afford food/house; in India 11% inflation for long will be disaster.. it's not like our growth has gone to 15% it still remains at 8-9 percent like it was before... BTW bubble in real estate market is slowing down and rightly so. this sudden sport was so not sustainable.

I am surviving by listening to QEDXhYCzqNA Inflation is killing in US as well. I have given up on Organic and went back to usual stuff. Also now most of my shopping is being done at Costco..:(( Jameen pe aa gaya hoon.

Organic stuff makes sense upto some extent not to me khanti robust bihari though.. but u sud have been shooping in costco to start with what's the point of paying more for same stuff of same quality

This is getting ridiculous. Oil is now at nearly $140/barrel! How can an average middle-class Indian household, with incomes of around 15,000-20,000 rs, pay 50 rs/litre for fuel and buy vegetables at 45-50 rs/kg? Inflation is killing the lifesavings of many households. People have had to dig into their hard-saved money to keep up their spending pattern. This may lead to a whole new generation of retired people with zero life-savings. Imagine their plight! However, the middle-class' troubles pale in front of the poor. Its been estimated that approximately, 300 million people have been pushed back into poverty in the last few months. If people of the West are complaining of high gas prices, then the guys from the 'third world' are entitled to burn their street down. I am pretty sure that rising costs and inflation will spell doom for this current Congress-coalition govt, even though there is very little they can do about it. If things dont change quickly, we can almost guarantee and BJP govt come the next elections.

living in india might drive one crazy doesn't matter whether u are pprivileged or unprivileged.. if u are privileged the guilt of ***** all around kills u if unprivileged well u are in deep ***** anyway.. we also have world's most luxurieus home in india mukesh amabani's house is worth 2 billion dollar I am told... god knows how he sleeps at night.... more that bjp this kind of scenario drives people in arms of leftist ..

Thats impossible. You can literally buy a town with that money!Even Lakshmi's Mittal's Kensington palace in one of the poshest areas of London cost him 'only' 60 M pounds. You really have to pity the common man's plight. The salaries ( except for those in IT) has stayed stagnant, while the expenses have gone over the roof. What will he/she do? Most of this is because of the high price of oil. Its bout time someone had a dose of common sense and chucked lines 'Oh, its a free marker, the price of oil is determined by supply-demand' and all that crap. The fact of the matter is, there is a steady correlation between supply and demand, but its the speculators in the oil market that have been driving the prices up. The price of oil should be capped at $45/barrel. That may sound a far-cry given the current situation, but that was what the price was, even till a few years ago.

Mehgaai kee maar legtaa hai Kangressi govermand ko le doobegi next election mein....:--D Can you imagine, this price list of Mega Mall in my area (considered as one of the economical place to purchase grocery) Apple -- 120 Rs./Kg Mango - Alphonso- 120 Rs/2 Kg -- the best offer ( and this is mango season !!):giggle: Rice -- Lowest quality - 28 Rs. Kg., eatable quality rice is no less than 36 Rs./Kg. Next, those Rikshaw, Taxi unions will soon start making noise to raise their fare rates, followed by B.E.S.T. Buses and routine will continue.

You really have to pity the common man's plight. The salaries ( except for those in IT) has stayed stagnant, while the expenses have gone over the roof. What will he/she do?
And these IT folks have driven the property rates sky high that we heathens can't even dream of buying a bigger home in Mumbai suburb :((

regarding armtwisting by OPEC countries, Thailand suggested a very bold step which India should have thrown it's weight behind. They said like OPEC, we Rice and grain exporting countries should form "a cartel of rice exposting nations" in the line of OPEC, where we can dictate the price of food-grains and selective export....that would have been great to to teach a lesson to those mofos who are refusing to increase the production of oil. Stop supplying them food-grain, screw UN and Humanitarian pinkos!

Mehgaai kee maar legtaa hai Kangressi govermand ko le doobegi next election mein....:--D Can you imagine, this price list of Mega Mall in my area (considered as one of the economical place to purchase grocery) Apple -- 120 Rs./Kg Mango - Alphonso- 120 Rs/2 Kg -- the best offer ( and this is mango season !!):giggle: Rice -- Lowest quality - 28 Rs. Kg., eatable quality rice is no less than 36 Rs./Kg. Next, those Rikshaw, Taxi unions will soon start making noise to raise their fare rates, followed by B.E.S.T. Buses and routine will continue.
Bhai...Alphanso Khaoge to paisa to dena hi hoga...Malda aam khao...30/kg..:--D... and decent quality rice is 24-26/kg... other varieties of rice are cheaper.. also i read a report that the whole sale prices of Dals..Vegs..and other things have not seen the increase of more than 2-3 % dues to fuel price hike and othet things.. Its the local shopkeepers who are looting the customers... and IMO..thats where Govt controlled Kendriya Bhandars and Big Malls like Big Bazaar..Reliance.. Subhiksha..etc can help the aam aadmi... its easier for Govt to keep a tab of the prices of these Big fishes... i always buy things either from Big Bazaar or Reliance fresh...and their proximity from my house...and easy access by Metro is a big Plus...Petrol bhi bachta hai...
Bhai...Alphanso Khaoge to paisa to dena hi hoga...Malda aam khao...30/kg..:--D... i always buy things either from Big Bazaar or Reliance fresh...and their proximity from my house...and easy access by Metro is a big Plus...Petrol bhi bachta hai...
Yeah, Big Bazaar has bit cheaper rates, plus they are consistent in quality, but it's not in my area. Malda se yaad aaya, we call similiar mango as "Langada" in UP...I brought a box of Dashahari while returning back from Allahabad, 170Rs/5Kg, good quality. 26 Rs. rice you talking about must be "kollam" variety ya phir Mumbai mein Chaaoor Dilli se zyaada mahang bichaat banai??..waise bhi ek baar Basmati muh mein baith jaay toh aadat jaldi chutati nahin :--D
Thats impossible. You can literally buy a town with that money!Even Lakshmi's Mittal's Kensington palace in one of the poshest areas of London cost him 'only' 60 M pounds. You really have to pity the common man's plight. The salaries ( except for those in IT) has stayed stagnant, while the expenses have gone over the roof. What will he/she do? Most of this is because of the high price of oil. Its bout time someone had a dose of common sense and chucked lines 'Oh, its a free marker, the price of oil is determined by supply-demand' and all that crap. The fact of the matter is, there is a steady correlation between supply and demand, but its the speculators in the oil market that have been driving the prices up. The price of oil should be capped at $45/barrel. That may sound a far-cry given the current situation, but that was what the price was, even till a few years ago.
it's true MM .. i am told that house is 10 or 20 storey with every facility in the world imaginable.. it has parking space for 100+ vehicle. heli pad yada yada everything......... property price will come down for sure..... in matters of oil price i do believe subsidy worsens the situation. in free market consumption wud have gone down with price but subsidy makes sure consuption pattern remains the same'' let us face it no BPL person consums petrol their gas is proverbial Mitti Katel" and if i ma not mostaken that price has been virtually locked for ages thanks to subsidy............if demand goes down even open countries will feel the pinch will have to slash down the price..
regarding armtwisting by OPEC countries, Thailand suggested a very bold step which India should have thrown it's weight behind. They said like OPEC, we Rice and grain exporting countries should form "a cartel of rice exposting nations" in the line of OPEC, where we can dictate the price of food-grains and selective export....that would have been great to to teach a lesson to those mofos who are refusing to increase the production of oil. Stop supplying them food-grain, screw UN and Humanitarian pinkos!
arab countries can afford higher price and they should be made to pay the same if they play with oil prices.. but what i feel more than arab countries it's the middlemen like refineries and oil companies who are driving the price high and reaping gold
I too never liked those neighbourhood shop owners their price has always been whimsical..... corporatization i of retail sector os the way to go with govt control
Yeah, Big Bazaar has bit cheaper rates, plus they are consistent in quality, but it's not in my area. Malda se yaad aaya, we call similiar mango as "Langada" in UP...I brought a box of Dashahari while returning back from Allahabad, 170Rs/5Kg, good quality. 26 Rs. rice you talking about must be "kollam" variety ya phir Mumbai mein Chaaoor Dilli se zyaada mahang bichaat banai??..waise bhi ek baar Basmati muh mein baith jaay toh aadat jaldi chutati nahin :--D
big bazaar cheap tha.. man ak mahine ka fruit/veggy supply cost me around 7000 on last india trip.. this is not cheap