Bihar labourers are being chained and even publicly thrashed in punjab

This time reaosn is different .. Punjabi farmers want to keep them due to scarcity of labourers.. This is the result of spurt of infrastruicture project being undertaken in biahr these days and easy access of job for thes labourers in their own village.. These poor souls are screwed somewhere somebody drives them out somewhere somebody chains them in.. http://www.ibnlive.com/videos/68072/bihar-labourers-held-hostage-in-punjab-haryana.html

WOW! Machoism at its best! Clearly the economically developed states of Punjab Haryana are also very macho when it comes to treatment of fellow Hindustanis. Glad to see that Mera Bharat is truly mahaan. Incidentally I have been told that slowly but surely the job oppertunity are improving in Bihar and so the reverse migration may very well have started. It will obviously take a while but looks like the wheel are in motion. Another reason to beat the freaking daylight out of Laloo and his supporters.

Laloo took things to such an abysmal pass that there was no other way but upwards....... Lurker u have heard right, I have witnessed the war-scale construction job going on everywhere and construction is labour extensive project hence plenty of jobs are lined up for these labourers in bihar itself......Nitish Kumar comes of as honest hard-working man sans political posturing.. let us hope he stays for long..

Let's condemn such inhuman acts one more time. "Bandhua Majdoori" is illegal anyway in India. once again, same old story and anger, what UP and Bihar government did in last 50 years that they remain behind other states? Opportunities come and states grab that. A small city of Pune in Maharashtra, has many times more industries and investment than entire UP put together. Assuming that Maharashtra got ahead during last decade of British raaj and Mumbai factor, UP-Bihar has still to answer about IT-boom and their failure to attract chunk of investment. South Indian states Tamilnadu, Karnataka, AP and Kerala saw the new boom and grabbed it with both hands. As late as last year, I use to read full page advertisement of State government of Kerala in Mumbai newspapers showing herself as new attraction with SEZ benefits for IT companies (Kerala was the state lagging behind in IT with their other South Indian counterparts). Forget Bangalore, Chennai and Hyderbad, even Mysore has a lot of investment than all major cities of UP-Bihar. Every century presents a new opportunity. after 2000 we saw a Call Center-BPO boom. By now NCR and nearby states have call centers flourishing, while population of UP-Bihar is still reduced to be a construction labor. Yet we have leaders like MullaYam, Mayawati and Laloo, still busy in their role as "Kingmaker" and waiting if Commies draw the support from government, how they can play their cards and extract max benefit for themselves. How great it feels when you see, while leaders from other states travel to Mumbai in search of investment opportunity/seminars to showcase their plan, a leader from UP-Bihar travels to Mumbai to show his solidarity thet he will take a Raj Thackeray head on so that UP-Biharis can perform "Chaatha Pooja". As someone in my village summed it up well -- "50% logon ke ghar mein choolha nahin jalegaa, agar ghar ka ek aadmi, "baahar" kamaane na jaaye" :((

Great post Sandtest!!!!!!!!!!!
:two_thumbs_up: We are the culprit, in democracy you choose your leader and sadly a yadava will keep voting for mulaya singh yadav or laloo yadav no matter what..... I still remember having conversation wiht freind of one of my relative both were trainee in Lal bahadur Shahstri academy vehemently defenidng rabri's instatement as CM... I kept asking bhaiya what makes you think that she will bring any value to the administration... His answer kept veering around wait and watch hwo things change never bothered to give me any reaosn about his optimism.....Needless to say he was yadavji from my state.... That small incident was a cursor to what bihar has become.... I could buy into support for laloo but rabri donning CM hat was the utter abyss in bihari politics.. You guys are slightly better off in UP..... Similarlry a bhumihar for instance of Laalganj in Vaishali district will vote for a bonafide criminal munna shukla just because he is bhumihaar.. a muslim will vote for taslimuddin a big mafia just because he is muslim....... so on and so forth....... But still with the frequency that people are getting away with somewhere beating biharis in order to shoo them away and somewhere just for the opposite paints a very grim picture.
I dont quite understand. Are the laborers' date=' who returned back to Bihar, chained in Bihar?[/quote'] Sriram. Many migrant Bihari workers work in the fields of Punjab and Haryana where there is a severe shortage of such workforce. Now that situation is improving in Bihar, in terms of work for such unskilled workers, they are returning to home state. This is not going very well with Punjabi/Haryana landlords who are now resorting to chaining the Bihari workers lest they go back.
As someone in my village summed it up well -- "50% logon ke ghar mein choolha nahin jalegaa' date=' agar ghar ka ek aadmi, "baahar" kamaane na jaaye" :(([/quote'] That is self flaggelation my friend. Do tell me how many modern Indian states that are doing "great" are working without "bahar ki kamai". Heck when the modern Indians fall over each other as to how modern India (Bangalore, Hyderabad etc etc) has risen that is largely driven by Indians migrating one way or the other to West/Middle East etc. This is actually a classic case of "End justifies the means". One reason why Biharis(and UPs) remain economically backward is because unlike their counterparts from Andhra, Tamil Nadu, most certainly Gujrat and Punjab, they were not falling over each other to make a beeline to jump ship and go outside their own homeland. I suggest you take a trip to one of the USA counsellates in India(say Bombay) and find for yourself what is the %age of Biharis standing in the line waiting and praying to escape outside India...and compare that to Gujratis, Marathis, Tamils etc etc.. That should answer all your questions about bahar ki kamai. Personally I see no reason why a Bihari should have a problem working anywhere in India. And I definitely see a problem of mass escapades of Indians outside India(mind you I am one of those). xxx
That is self flaggelation my friend. Do tell me how many modern Indian states that are doing "great" are working without "bahar ki kamai". Heck when the modern Indians fall over each other as to how modern India (Bangalore, Hyderabad etc etc) has risen that is largely driven by Indians migrating one way or the other to West/Middle East etc.
That is a fair observation...but, are you implying that development of those states is due to money remmittances from west/middle east. I doubt, any state can progress and eliminate poverty through remmittances by expats.
Tamil Nadu, most certainly Gujrat and Punjab, they were not falling over each other to make a beeline to jump ship and go outside their own homeland. I suggest you take a trip to one of the USA counsellates in India(say Bombay) and find for yourself what is the %age of Biharis standing in the line waiting and praying to escape outside India...and compare that to Gujratis, Marathis, Tamils etc etc.. That should answer all your questions about bahar ki kamai. Personally I see no reason why a Bihari should have a problem working anywhere in India. And I definitely see a problem of mass escapades of Indians outside India(mind you I am one of those).
Your observation should be correct regarding no. of Indic expats living in west are more from Punjab, Guj and south than UP-Bihar since you are there....But the reason is not many from UP-Bihar as compare to their other fellow Indians were able to move to west becoz of the fact that they were still lacking in overall education ratio, and FUNDING. It's not entirely correct that UP-Biharis will not fly over each other to go to Amreeka if they get a chance. For example, my own brother-in-Law went to US for studying becoz his father owns a school in Mumbai and is rich enough to cough-up a lum sum of 10 lakh rupees. While my uncle was reduced to take up a school teacher job in UP due to financial contraints. In fact, in my previous post, I was not talking about Indic population in West, but about number of UP-Bihari labors in Mumbai and delhi, haryana, punjab etc.

Also I recall another example of downfall of industries in UP. My 'Nanihaal" (mother's place) is near Bhadohi, UP, some years back I use to see myriads of Carpet Industries (big and small)mushrooming in Bhadohi area and imploying thousands of people. Their handmade carpets were exported too. But, today, you will find very few karkhaanas of Carpet weaving in Bhadohi, wonder what was the reason of downfall of an industry which was once flourishing. Instead those jobless folks are forced to migrate in Mumbai to work as carpenter, mason, helper or a 3 wheeler/taxi driver.

That is a fair observation...but' date=' [b']are you implying that development of those states is due to money remmittances from west/middle east. I doubt, any state can progress and eliminate poverty through remmittances by expats.
Of course it is. You and I may disagree about the extent of it but the fact remains that the economy of these states are definitely improved tremendously. I will give you an example. In late 90s I was in Trivandrum doing my ITP training for TCS. I was surprised at the sheer number of Mercedes Benz plying on the streets. Do bear in mind I was based in Mumbai by this time but the number of Mercedez/capita was so much more in Kerela than Mumbai(India's economic hub). The reason was rather simple - Gulf money. I will say if you visit a Gujrati(or Andhra or Tamil Nadu) city you will see a person sitting in the West(for studies, career whatever) in almost every second house. In a Bihar town this is not even every 10,000 houses.
Your observation should be correct regarding no. of Indic expats living in west are more from Punjab, Guj and south than UP-Bihar since you are there....But the reason is not many from UP-Bihar as compare to their other fellow Indians were able to move to west becoz of the fact that they were still lacking in overall education ratio, and FUNDING. It's not entirely correct that UP-Biharis will not fly over each other to go to Amreeka if they get a chance.
Thats another self-flagellation. For instance, the bulk of first migration that happened towards the West(say England) happened for two races - Punjabis and Gujjus. Why Punjabis?? Look up the reason right at the 1857 revolution and please see which ethinc population actually fought against the Indian interest. Also check out which ethnic population fought overwhelmingly against British. In books ranging from Ghalib to William Darlymple, the revolutionaries are referred to as Purabias, as in them being from Purab(East) largely from UP/Bihar. Also check which two martial races fought in support of British in this revolution. Not one, not even one freaking book, mentions anything about Paschim(West of Delhi). Obviously Brits helped these races then. So no surprises you see tons of them specially in England and Canada.
In fact, in my previous post, I was not talking about Indic population in West, but about number of UP-Bihari labors in Mumbai and delhi, haryana, punjab etc.
And I am talking of both. Here are some cold facts. If in year 2008 US Government gives away 10,000 Green Cards, you can bet that 2/3 of these would go to Andhra land, Tamil Nadu, Gujrat etc, supposedly three of the most developed states in the country. This doesnt mean every Gujrati is running from India. Not at all. We have atleast one member(Kabira) who went back but the above numbers are more than accurate, check with any NRI. Indians fall over each other all happy when they realize Gujjus control 75% of American hotel. And when the same people are told - Biharis/UPs control 75% of vegetable trade in Ahmedabad they all go nuts! What kind of logic is this?? Fact of the matter is ke paisa bolta hai. A millionaire Gujju who moves to England is called Enterprising(dont we find Indians who absolutely love Lakshmi Mittal), on the other hand a Bihari who migrates outside simply to feed his family is butt of joke. As the saying goes Gareeb ki joru sab ki bhaujai. xxx
Also I recall another example of downfall of industries in UP. My 'Nanihaal" (mother's place) is near Bhadohi, UP, some years back I use to see myriads of Carpet Industries (big and small)mushrooming in Bhadohi area and imploying thousands of people. Their handmade carpets were exported too. But, today, you will find very few karkhaanas of Carpet weaving in Bhadohi, wonder what was the reason of downfall of an industry which was once flourishing. Instead those jobless folks are forced to migrate in Mumbai to work as carpenter, mason, helper or a 3 wheeler/taxi driver.
That was close down due to NGO campaign of how child-labour is being used there.. I am sure those chilldren now must be doing more shadier stuff in face of lack of employment opportunities... Got to give them I have visisted that area bulk of socalled child labour were self-employed kids in their parents loom.. no external exploitation.. Mind u everyone wants their kids to go to school but some can;t afford it and I don't see anything wrong in those kids helping their parents .. if NGO serioously meant business they should have opened n number of free-food lodging schools and those kids have been weaned off loom to schools.. Bottomline this bllind opposition of certain practises without going into details of why it happens and what will happen if it's banned is not healthy
ottomline this bllind opposition of certain practises without going into details of why it happens and what will happen if it's banned is not healthy
I agree to that. Much as I cringe about kids being employed often I can also see that this may very well be the only way for them, and their family, to survive. Many times closing such children employed industry does more harm than good. The paradox is furthered if we realize that most countries today are turning towards Capitalism and away from Socialistic values. In an era where market sets the policy and not the other way around how exactly do you expect these kids to get education/benefits when Government role is being rendered to a bare minimal?
Sriram. Many migrant Bihari workers work in the fields of Punjab and Haryana where there is a severe shortage of such workforce. Now that situation is improving in Bihar, in terms of work for such unskilled workers, they are returning to home state. This is not going very well with Punjabi/Haryana landlords who are now resorting to chaining the Bihari workers lest they go back.
No, the report seems to suggest that the those workers, who went back to Bihar, were being chained as punishment by the local Bihari contractors. I am not a 100% sure on that though.
Yes I stand corrected. Thats exactly right. :two_thumbs_up:
That is ridiculous. I can understand these guys being mis-treated in another state, but chained in their own homes?!? why do these people take such atrocities lying down?
No yaar it says a job contractor in punjab chained them because he dared to return to Bihar instead of completing the job in aluminium factory in punjabr.. Local contractor in punjab it says....
Of course it is. You and I may disagree about the extent of it but the fact remains that the economy of these states are definitely improved tremendously. I will give you an example. In late 90s I was in Trivandrum doing my ITP training for TCS. I was surprised at the sheer number of Mercedes Benz plying on the streets. Do bear in mind I was based in Mumbai by this time but the number of Mercedez/capita was so much more in Kerela than Mumbai(India's economic hub). The reason was rather simple - Gulf money. I will say if you visit a Gujrati(or Andhra or Tamil Nadu) city you will see a person sitting in the West(for studies, career whatever) in almost every second house. In a Bihar town this is not even every 10,000 houses.
Came across a very interesting article in New York Times.
Remittances from global capitalism are carrying the whole Kerala economy,” said S. Irudaya Rajan, a demographer at the Center for Development Studies, a local research group. “There would have been starvation deaths in Kerala if there had been no migration. The Kerala model is good to read about but not practically applicable to any part of the world, including Kerala.”
http://www.nytimes.com/2007/09/07/world/asia/07migrate.html So yes Sandy boss when you doubt, and I quote - any state can progress and eliminate poverty through remmittances by expats, you are indeed in the wrong. And I bring this up not to prove you wrong but to drive the point as to how many modern "successful" Indians states are basically being brought up on Expats money and personally I am not sure if thats an "achievement" of sorts. xxxx