See the best part is I can take my entire collection with me, so no more CD's and even with flash drive - 8GB is still like $30 avg, so I have to get atleast 4-5 of them
80 gigs? Long drive pe jaana hai kya boss? :D
I only hear music in the car, instead of looking at the cd visor case, use the remote to browse
Car is 12V , but what I hear it is "irregulated" ( I have no idea what that means ) I am trying to connet my external HDD to the USB Car Deck 2 Options 1) Connect the USB to the Car Dec and Power through the car adapter ( not sure if it will work and there will be power cable coming out of the glove box as well which will look untidy ) OR 2) Let the HDD work through the Car Deck USB power - but it says power output is 500mA and the power source of the ext HDD says 12V Thus the question, 500mA to 12V ? how
OK Rajeev. What kind of external hard drive do you have? There are 2 kinds. 1. External Hard drives that come with a power cord with a normal plug. 2. External Hard drives that use USB power only (dont need an external power cord) Basically, when you connect your external hard drive to your computer, do you have to connect it to a plugpoint, or no. If no, then you *might* be able to use it by just plugging it in to the car usb. I dont know how much power it consumes/how much current it needs, so I cant tell you for sure. If yes, then you need something like the following pic, which basically converts the 12V DC to 120 V for your charger. 2im3sy9.jpg I am not sure whether you can connect your hard drive directly to the car along the lines of your thinking (both are 12V). It would be helpful if you gave us a link to what your HDD looks like.
1. External Hard drives that come with a power cord with a normal plug. It would be helpful if you gave us a link to what your HDD looks like. Regular IDE HDD with a external HDD case Picture of th power supply 0706_001821.jpg ------------------- This is from the manual of the deck usb.jpg P.S Can you direct to me some sites where I dont need a power supply, infact if you can point to the right one looking at the USB specifications
OK. You have a normal external HDD with a power supply. So, this HDD wont work with your system until you get the car charger to plugpoint converter like the one in the picture I have uploaded. I dont understand what you mean by your last statement, but I am guessing you want to buy a hard drive which doesnt need a power supply? Here is a link to one of them. I am not sure whether this will work with only 500mA of current from your USB, since the specifications are not online. I think your best bet would be to get a power adapter, or get a good 8gb flash drive. http://www.seagate.com/ww/v/index.jsp?locale=en-US&name=FreeAgent-Go-USB-2.0-160-GB&vgnextoid=b2e2dc70b78a0110VgnVCM100000f5ee0a0aRCRD&vgnextchannel=d5fe16b4862a0110VgnVCM100000f5ee0a0aRCRD&reqPage=Model

The thing is, flash drives consume VERY little power. Hard drives spin, and so I wouldnt advise you to have them in your car, where there will be bumps and stop start. Ideally, you should get a SSD, but those are insanely expensive, so I seriously think that the best bet for you would be a 8gb flash drive. Hard drives have a disk which spins at a very high speed and something similar to a needle which writes/reads. So your chances of your hard drive "crashing" will increase a great deal. Also, it will drain a LOT more power from your car.

Looking at your car system, I notice that it has a dock for an ipod? How about getting an ipod, where you can store all your music, as well as play all of it in the car. My friend has a similar system to yours, and it was pretty good actually, he could navigate his iphone right from the remote in his hand. A 80 gig ipod costs 259 Cad $

yeah..I know ipod can be an option, most of the decks cater to almighty ipod now I have asked questions in a car audio forum where some of them have one it easily

mA or milli Ampere is a unit for measuring Current, whereas Volt is for measuring Potential Difference. Think about it this way... the size of your battery is determined predominantly in its Volt capacity (i.e. 1.5V AAA or AA batteries)... whereas current measures the juice the battery can supply... for instance, the intensity/capacity of vacuum cleaning devices is measured in the Amperes their internal motor can operate at (e.g. 12A motor etc etc).
depends what kind of load one has resistive/capcitive/inductive.. if its resistive load u cud have constant current ..

My Solution with no mess http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=26328&vpn=PEF16GUSB&manufacture=Patriot $59.99 The Deck is awesome, picked up 2,235 songs from the USB within 23 seconds. It picked the iphone on the fly and has better boost form it Its been almost 10 years since I souped up my car stereo, learnt that bass/treble is all passe ad now these toys have Low/Med/High filter as equalizers including something called Sound Retriever, which can immediately boost an MP3 if its low kpbs I was surprised to see how Toyota's mount their stock speakers, they were actually covered in foam - now how the hell will you enjoy music when your speakers are covered by foam

So you're using this usb drive as well as the iphone.. = 32gb? btw, how do u like the iphone.. mine's coming tomorrow.. unless something unforseen happens..
u can use either USB or Iphone ( iphone is 8GB btw ) I love the iphone, little glitches but happens sometimes only..like going back to main screen but I am sure s/w update will fix it GPS is great, I did a search and did "locate me"..I driving the car and locator moves alongside and then the destination dot matches, its pretty cool