8 more iits wwoooooo hooooooo

I know some of my elitits classmate are going to shed few extra tears over this. In their views this amounted to liquidation of the brand-name iit... Hope over the years they too might have seen the light... I for one could not care less about brand-name .. iit was not opened to cater to 2-3000 odd brand-name flashers..Purpose was something else.. http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/India/Eight_more_new_IITs_approved/articleshow/3244949.cms

Well, If they had done this a few years back, I would have surely gotten into one. :D Its a good move, just 3400 seats for a student population that runs into millions isnt enough. The govt definitely has the resources to build sophisticated campuses, with the latest Research Labs, but the important question is; Where will the Professors come from ? Already, the teaching standards in India are pathetic, apart from the Top-most institutions. In fact, a majority of the Assistant Professors and Professors in almost all of the Engineering collleges in a state like Tamil Nadu, are people who did their UG degree, couldnt get a job in IT, did PG, couldnt get job again and went into teaching. So, you can imagine how high the teaching standards will be. Now that I think of it, some my teachers in my UG were absolutely shocking. Even I could have taught the subject better than them.

I dont really a problem with this and welcome this move. With country of 1 billion and to only have like 4 or 5 IITs wasnt good enough. This will give more students the opportunity to get proper education. I dont think the quality will suffer much as there will be quite a few more students to fill up those spots and it may decrease by only very little if at all.

I know some of my elitits classmate are going to shed few extra tears over this. In their views this amounted to liquidation of the brand-name iit... Hope over the years they too might have seen the light... I for one could not care less about brand-name .. iit was not opened to cater to 2-3000 odd brand-name flashers..Purpose was something else.. http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/India/Eight_more_new_IITs_approved/articleshow/3244949.cms
for once post without your petty petty personal politics... it will get your message across and it will not make you appear like a complete imbecile... everyone from all social and political stratas is welcoming the expansion of higher education in india. so before you go wiping your behind with fake allegations, count till ten and control your raging aneurysm.
for once post without your petty petty personal politics... it will get your message across and it will not make you appear like a complete imbecile... everyone from all social and political stratas is welcoming the expansion of higher education in india. so before you go wiping your behind with fake allegations' date= count till ten and control your raging aneurysm.
Just because ur two digit IQ can't comprehend my logic doesn't make me any less.. don't push it boy u shoudl be happy that i am entertaining a moron like u.. since honestly u are not fit enough to tie my shoes.. bloody idiot Seriously what the ffccuk is wrong wiht u have u received baton from that other idiot cc.. let me guess .. most probabaly u got a bachelor's degree form some-where and thanks to google read sthg ther and consider urself authority on everything undere the sun and anyone who doesn't agree with u has to be imbecile.. (usually these recent bachelors have delusion of grandeur) grow up.........

To be honest all these recent opening of colleges/universities have started to confuse me. There is always the case of not finding enough qualified professionals to teach/educate at these locations. However my gripe is do we really need these many Engineering Colleges across the country? Every 2nd Indian seems to be an Engineer anyway. With the IT, ITES and similar phenomenons these days even BSc/Msc graduate are getting in and making money for themselves and family. So the next question would be does more Engg graduates equate to less number of such Bsc graduates finding job?

Unfortuanetly still the demand/supply equation has lacunae at supply end in the filed of engineering.. yes u rightly pointed where from the faculty are going to come.. well that's the next question they will have to do sthg about it More of BSc graduates will find themselves in engg colleges see the bright side
Unfortuanetly still the demand/supply equation has lacunae at supply end in the filed of engineering..
For now yes but how sure are we that this is a definitive trend for the next 10 years, let lone 25 or 50?? This morning there is a telling story in Wall Street Journal http://online.wsj.com/article/SB121623686919059307.html?mod=yhoofront about how the value of college degree is falling down. This is specifically true for technology sector. As of now the decline of America(or West) degree is seen as a benefit for Indians. Most Indians outsourcing companies are working on this model whereby an American shall charge 50$/hr, an Indian will do so at 10$/hr. However now rates on American soil is falling and Indian is going up. So I am not so sure how long this trend shall continue.
for once post without your petty petty personal politics... it will get your message across and it will not make you appear like a complete imbecile... everyone from all social and political stratas is welcoming the expansion of higher education in india. so before you go wiping your behind with fake allegations' date=' count till ten and control your raging aneurysm.[/quote'] Honestly, thats the dumbest post I have seen a long while. DR made some valid, sensible points in his OP, but WTF with this response!

Actually THX in this case DR's reputation preceded himself. You were perhaps peeved at his mention of word "elitist". However in this case DR was being self-deprecating, considering he happens to be from one of the IITs himself. Moral of the story I suppose is DR needs to go easy on elitist :hysterical:, specially since he keeps saying that with English media.

Honestly' date=' thats the dumbest post I have seen a long while. DR made some valid, sensible points in his OP, but WTF with this response![/quote'] THX is undobtedly the worst behaved poster here....Always decrying the fellow posters with unnecessary remarks.No respect what so ever.
THX is undobtedly the worst behaved poster here....Always decrying the fellow posters with unnecessary remarks.No respect what so ever.
well you might need to call the customer services line: 1-800-BLOW-ME
Honestly' date=' thats the dumbest post I have seen a long while. DR made some valid, sensible points in his OP, but WTF with this response![/quote'] its been almost six months since the announcement of increasing the number of IITs and IIMs... has there been one word of criticism from anyone? if indeed the elitists rate themselves above the rest since they are or atleast are perceived to be better educated, why on earth would they protest the expansion of education?
Actually THX in this case DR's reputation preceded himself. You were perhaps peeved at his mention of word "elitist". However in this case DR was being self-deprecating, considering he happens to be from one of the IITs himself. Moral of the story I suppose is DR needs to go easy on elitist :hysterical:, specially since he keeps saying that with English media.
actually i like this guy... not because we agree, but because he debates well and does his research (though still waiting on an analysis of subscidies on foreign h, agriculture) unlike some of his other contemporaries. but yeah he ought to lay off the "elitist" crap a bit.
For now yes but how sure are we that this is a definitive trend for the next 10 years, let lone 25 or 50?? This morning there is a telling story in Wall Street Journal http://online.wsj.com/article/SB121623686919059307.html?mod=yhoofront about how the value of college degree is falling down. This is specifically true for technology sector. As of now the decline of America(or West) degree is seen as a benefit for Indians. Most Indians outsourcing companies are working on this model whereby an American shall charge 50$/hr, an Indian will do so at 10$/hr. However now rates on American soil is falling and Indian is going up. So I am not so sure how long this trend shall continue.
Well when that happens wwe can freeze the further addition in number of engg colleges let us first reach to the break-even point ..
amaa yaar likha hi na elitist.. heck i too am freaking elite .. Gali diya kya elite ko..:haha: sala word bhi nahin likh sakta hun kya.. actually he can't disassociate his bitter disagreement from one thread to other thread.. Every thread is new beginning yes if your knowldgee from other posts adds any value do add that but just thorw bitter words fbecause u have some greivance due to other posts is most idiotic way of having a debate.. sala koi khet-khalihaan ka panga hai kya yahan.:nervous:
its been almost six months since the announcement of increasing the number of IITs and IIMs... has there been one word of criticism from anyone? if indeed the elitists rate themselves above the rest since they are or atleast are perceived to be better educated' date=' why on earth would they protest the expansion of education?[/quote'] You need to update the system files that read 'sarcasm', dude. Clearly, DR was speaking tongue in cheek. Thought you were intelligent enough to understand that.
its been almost six months since the announcement of increasing the number of IITs and IIMs... has there been one word of criticism from anyone? if indeed the elitists rate themselves above the rest since they are or atleast are perceived to be better educated' date=' why on earth would they protest the expansion of education?[/quote'] Chalo finally some sense prevailed and u raised few questions as opposed to throwing BS name-calling.. that word was for very specific segment of elitist sorry you don't qualify as one of those elite.....so lay off.. And yes u don't know better than I about how those tag-wielders feel about expansion of iit.
amaa yaar likha hi na elitist.. heck i too am freaking elite .. Gali diya kya elite ko..:haha: sala word bhi nahin likh sakta hun kya.. actually he can't disassociate his bitter disagreement from one thread to other thread.. Every thread is new beginning yes if your knowldgee from other posts adds any value do add that but just thorw bitter words fbecause u have some greivance due to other posts is most idiotic way of having a debate.. sala koi khet-khalihaan ka panga hai kya yahan.:nervous:
:haha::haha: Its quite fun reading DR's posts!

oke oke sorry dude there is no need to sulk I went over-board there but got pi$$ed over your bemausam ki bansuri.. thread close everybody welcomes this move of exonasion except fee elite whihc doesn't include THX.. :winky: no more fun for MM:--D