CC1981 Posted August 13, 2008 Author Posted August 13, 2008 http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=20601080&sid=axydL1aIUDWg&refer=asia Oh i get it. Yes, ofcourse, CGI effects and stuff- but i don't mind that. I don't see why using lip synch or CGIs is that bad - the opening ceremony is supposed to be a spectacle anyways. I am simply commenting on the fact that the 2008 Beijing Olympics is, hands down, the best ever Opening ceremony ever done at Olympics, if not all sports. I am simply commenting on the product, namely,the opening ceremony, which was absolute top drawyer. I don't see why its so hard for some here to acknowledge that.
sandtest Posted August 13, 2008 Posted August 13, 2008 http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=20601080&sid=axydL1aIUDWg&refer=asia very good informative link. This at least should cool down a resident commie chest thumper here and his drivel of how great China is. From above link-- They instead chose 9-year-old Lin Miaoke, who wore a red dress, to lip-synch to Yang's recording, state-run China Central Television reported yesterday. Chen, the music director, told CCTV the switch was made because Lin looked better on television while Yang had a better voice. ``I think it is fair to both,'' he said. ``We have a perfect voice, and a perfect image and representation.'' This actually further substantiate my earlier observation that Chinis-- particularly Han Chinese suffer from inherent inferiority complex, mainly because of their history which is dominated by a small country like imperial Japan overtaking them in military might and India in religion and philosphy. India owned China without even sending a single soldier. Great Indic Dharmic philosophy of Budhism influenced Chinese so much so that Communist Mao worshippers have banned native Chinese from visiting the Budhists temples. In Mainland China busdhist temples are only for foreign visitors acting as a tourist spot. See, we Indians have no problem with China, but we have problem with Communist brainwashed ethnic HAN Chinese. they are in majority and they have robbed other ethinicities in China through their brutal Mao like oppression. Tibet and it's non-violent religion is fully controlled through their oppressive Han regime of Communist Chinese Party (CPC) Xinxiang, Uighur, Turkestan are always at odds with Han rulers. If CPC's brutal control over China is elmintaed and Tibet, Mangols, Uighurs are given their right to representation, China will be loved by evryone. But Han chinese will not allow that and these community keep sufferring forever.
CC1981 Posted August 13, 2008 Author Posted August 13, 2008 This at least should cool down a resident commie chest thumper here and his drivel of how great China is. What is there to 'cool down' ? And who's the commie chest-thumper you are talking of,star ? saaf saaf kahne ki himmat nahi haye kya ? WTF is wrong with using a mime ? the whole point of the opening ceremony is to have a show- and for a citizen of a country where the greatest of the shows and music pieces revolve around miming, its a rather inconsistent and ludicrous comment. particularly Han Chinese suffer from inherent inferiority complex, mainly because of their history which is dominated by a small country like imperial Japan overtaking them in military might and India in religion and philosphy. What utter nonsense. Han Chinese dont suffer from inferiority complex, they suffer from superiority complex. Get your accusations right, star. Every country has been dominated by others- small or big- for a long time. Even tiny Greece left a huge imprint on India when half of north-west was occupied by Greeks long after Alexander left. China, if anything, has one of the most consistent and successful imperial records in history- NOBODY-not the english,romans,persians,arabs,russians,german or Indians have had such success as the Chinese through history in keeping their country united. And having interacted with FAR many chinese than you ( Vancouver is teeming with them, i've dated several Chinese too), its clear that they are infact PROUD of their history-too much if anything- than being inferiority-driven. Inferiority-driven is far more applicable to India than the Han, who've been the b!tch of either the English,the Persians,turks or Afghans for most of the last 1000 years. It is Indians who feel like they have to prove their national 'manliness' and its ability and indeed, they do, having lost the art of dominance on a global scale atleast 50 generations ago. The Chinese have nothing to prove- they are the most successful civilization in history of humanity. Why/what should they feel inferior about ?!? Your accusations don't line up- with history as well as prevailing Chinese mentality. India owned China without even sending a single soldier. Great Indic Dharmic philosophy of Budhism influenced Chinese so much so that Communist Mao worshippers have banned native Chinese from visiting the Budhists temples And China is repaying the favour through Maoism - not a single Chinese soldier is here, yet Chinese imprint on India is strong- both politically and economically ( look at how much stuff we import from China). Look, the point is simple- don't get into a chest-thumping contest vs China: their history is just as illustrious and great as ours, they've had just as much, if not more success historically in science,politics,military and culture propagation and currently are far ahead in all but human rights and individualism. Denial of that won't see India lurch ahead- acceptance of this basic fact and learning what the Chinese do/think better than us will help us move forward. By refusing to acknowledge the brilliance of the opening ceremony is akin to a foreigner pooh-poohing India's world cup ceremony : a comment against the people and the culture, masked as a comment against the regime. In Mainland China busdhist temples are only for foreign visitors acting as a tourist spot. Having been to Mainland China, i can say this is patently false. In China, like in erstwhile Soviet Union, religion is state-controlled. They appoint the clergy or atleast, it must be ratified by the commies, they keep an eye/tab on who comes and goes from these religious shrines and discourage religious demonstrations. But no-one is banned from going to buddhist or daoist shrines in China-not the local Chinese. See, we Indians have no problem with China, 1. Speak for yourself- you arnt entitled to speak for all of India. 2. If you don't have a problem with China, where is your congratulation towards China for what was indisputably a stunning opening ceremony ? You won't see a SINGLE favourable comment from me towards the Chinese commies and infact i've provided many instances of caution towards the Panda. That is called disdain for the Chincommies. But failure to appreciate Chinese positives is most definitely having a problem with China and Chinese PEOPLE for sure. If CPC's brutal control over China is elmintaed and Tibet, Mangols, Uighurs are given their right to representation, China will be loved by evryone. Asking for China to give up Tibet, Inner Mongolia and Turkestan is exactly the same as asking India to give up Kashmir, Nagaland and Khalistan. You cannot argue in favour of one and against another and be credible- for doing so is strongly biassed and hypocritical and thus inciting of tension.