The problem with religion!!!!!!!!!!!!

Excellent thread Kumar and I am glad that you were courageous enough to point out what you beleive are drawbacks in Sikhism. Here are a few things I do not like about Hinduism: a) So many festivals. On one hand it is great, on the other hand it can get too interfering. As in last month was the month of Saawan as per Hindu calandar and most of my Hindu friends went veggie for a month. I was the proud non-veg who would make his chicken without darndest care in the world. Of course at work my colleagues did make faces suggesting how I have turned my back yada yada. To make things better(for me) I made it a point to make the most delicious chicken dishes and shove it in their face every day. b) Inteference of Pundits. This is debatable from a religious angle since one can argue if Pundits indeed have as much religious sanctions as they claim. However the facts on ground is that these buggers hijack religion and put themselves as the Lord of all things Hindu.Even today after a religious function happens the first thing that is done is to send a thaali with a proper dinner/lunch to a Pundits house before anyone can eat.
well said lurker:hatsoff: One of ur points is one I forget and goes beyond annoying. With religion I will always get alot of people making fun of me for my turbin. Eessentially in south africa and on a trip to USA they think that I can be a muslim and even call me paki. This can be annoying and frustrating even though I have an aussie accent:D but its darn right mean and they make fun of my religion. I though everyone would accept other religions in the world but for this reason its the hardest and even if they dont think im a terorist or even a muslim they stiill make fun. I hope one day all religions will live in peace but sincerely i very much doubt it as religions no matter how great and loving will never get along with other religions, and for this main reason, dare i say............................................................................ religion can be bad at times:sad_smile:

The major problem with any religion is that all/most of them condemn other religion/Gods. This automatically makes their followers look askance and with suspicion at the followers of other religions. It gives one a superiority complex because they had the good chance to be born to a particular religion and when those ideas and beliefs are challenged, violence is the result. Thou shall have no other God than me (or its interpretation) in various religion is the commandment responsible for all the violence in the name of religion

Well half of them are full time vegetarian' date=' which is also one of the reasons I dont take these half with me to restaurant :--D I maybe a closet veggie-racist :hatsoff:[/quote'] On a different note , their is used to be a thai place very close to Camelback Road near the Hard Rock Cafe , The food especially chicken yellow curry was out of this world . I forgot the name of the place !
On a different note ' date=' their is used to be a thai place very close to Camelback Road near the Hard Rock Cafe , The food especially chicken yellow curry was out of this world . I forgot the name of the place ![/quote'] Must have been closed now KR. Even the Hard Rock Cafe is shut now :((
well said lurker:hatsoff: One of ur points is one I forget and goes beyond annoying. With religion I will always get alot of people making fun of me for my turbin. Eessentially in south africa and on a trip to USA they think that I can be a muslim and even call me paki. This can be annoying and frustrating even though I have an aussie accent:D but its darn right mean and they make fun of my religion. I though everyone would accept other religions in the world but for this reason its the hardest and even if they dont think im a terorist or even a muslim they stiill make fun.
Well I was called a Paki twice in my last visit to London and I dont wear a turban Kumar. I can certainly see that you would be raising more than a few eyebrows with your turban. In US if you were travelling in religious South it can be quite painful. Generally speaking people are good by nature and once they realize your turban is a religious thing they would leave you alone.
yea, might be the fact im not very used to it and was a bit of a shock to me.:D
200' date='000 years? what on earth are you talking about?[/quote'] You need to read few religious books few sceince books those are the rough numbers they agree on for the life of human species..
Excellent thread Kumar and I am glad that you were courageous enough to point out what you beleive are drawbacks in Sikhism. Here are a few things I do not like about Hinduism: a) So many festivals. On one hand it is great, on the other hand it can get too interfering. As in last month was the month of Saawan as per Hindu calandar and most of my Hindu friends went veggie for a month. I was the proud non-veg who would make his chicken without darndest care in the world. Of course at work my colleagues did make faces suggesting how I have turned my back yada yada. To make things better(for me) I made it a point to make the most delicious chicken dishes and shove it in their face every day. b) Inteference of Pundits. This is debatable from a religious angle since one can argue if Pundits indeed have as much religious sanctions as they claim. However the facts on ground is that these buggers hijack religion and put themselves as the Lord of all things Hindu.Even today after a religious function happens the first thing that is done is to send a thaali with a proper dinner/lunch to a Pundits house before anyone can eat.
I can't relate with the either of the two points raised.. none of these are issues where I come from.. ye aapki regional samsya klag rahi hai mujhe global to certainly nahin hai
Far greater people have said things better than I cud ever manage so a select few "Humanity without religion is like a serial killer without a chainsaw." - unknown "Religion is excellent stuff for keeping common people quiet." --Napoleon Bonaparte, French emperor (1769-1821). "Gods are fragile things; they may be killed by a whiff of science or a dose of common sense." -- Chapman Cohen "We must respect the other fellow's religion, but only in the sense and to the extent that we respect his theory that his wife is beautiful and his children smart." -- H. L. Mencken "In the absence of fear there is little faith." -- Michael Pain and my fav "Give a man a fish, and you'll feed him for a day; Give him a religion, and he'll starve to death while praying for a fish" Karmyog bhi ak sadhana hai.. no need to pray just do your everyday duty and fishing comes under that section.. Jeevo jeevasya bhojanam.. -- unknown
I can't relate with the either of the two points raised.. none of these are issues where I come from.. ye aapki regional samsya klag rahi hai mujhe global to certainly nahin hai
Arre haan to bhaiya is topic ka vishay hi wahi hai na? What is YOUR gripe with your religion. I am sure my gripe is not similar to yours, or vice versa. Ab isse aap regional kahein, ya personal, yeh global to ekdam hi nahin hai.
Haha,here in my university, I got into a scuffle with a cadet corps guy. He started it with Paki, terrorist slants, and then abused me, and started throwing punches. I overpowered him, made his girlfriend cry, and then realized we were doing it all in front of the barracks. The girl called another cadet corps member, who was a hulk, and I ran away, and never wandered in that area.:yay::yay: Proudest I have ever felt. Only problem, I stood up for Pakistan. :hysterical::hysterical: P.S.: I am not Sikh.
Hello everyone, I have started this new threa to discusss what religions flaws are. People say that religion has alot of poistives from it, but one must realise that with every religion there are flaws. I am not ust talking about sikhism but as well as other religions. Today I will discusss what reallly religion can be like and being restricted from and how religion can kind of be a pain in the a%s. Firstly as a sikh(which I love being) means alot of annoying thing which I do not like one bit. As a sikh my mother is a very extreme sikh and doesnt allow me to eat meat at all, even fish. Which can be very annoying. I did enjoy meat until 6 but then mum said that being a vegeterian was much better, much better? I have felt no difference since I was eating meat and that allo gobby just gets annoying even do mum says try mango chutney which ruins it. Hair can be an issue, but I am very proud of my hair. If you dont cut it, it can be very hard to control it and can be hard to do things. I am a very impatinet person and what annoy me is washing my hair everyday, which in all honesty takes too long, then after that I have to put my turbin on which can be hard and very frustrating especially if I am just learning it as my dad generally helped me on that. Another point is church/gurdwara. Every sunday my mum wakes me up at 7 after being with friends till 1 at nite, telling me service is at bloody 8 oclock. gurdwara can be a good experinece and all that, but 6 hours sleep is not good and considering that sunday is the day i relax and not to mention its a 3 hour sevice in cape town. Its not that I dont like gurdwara service but do i really have to go EVERY SUNDAY? Mums from india are tooooooooooo religious. Lastly for sikhism my father prohibits me from consuming tobacco or alcohol at all, as it is bad for you. IMO most thing are bad for you as they cause cancer. Those drugs are relaxing drugs, its not like im taking narcotics with a semit carbolyxic hydromolecule is it? I want to try those drugs and my religious father says think what guru nanak would say and think. God bless guru nanak, but even is trying it all that bad. For other religions I know it can be quite bad and annoying. especially islam, as no dance, music without instuments, no pork, woman with hajibs, no cinema and theatre and more. In conclusion even though religion can bring porsperety to ones life and make it so much better, it can be very hards to listen and obey the rules in a holy boo kof a certain religion. I think I laern it a hard way compare to other relgious ppl. With this I hope that you find ways and see that religion is very important even though there are flaws. With every religion I am sure that there will be more postivies than downs and for that religion is good.:two_thumbs_up: Dont let problems get to you like sometime for me:D:pray:
Sikhis mhas to be most practical religion as of today. Was watching a documentary on ndtv where they showed how volunteers from gurrudwara brought a dead river-bed to life without support from govt officials.. When president Qalam send his missive that if any financial help they need president's office will be ready to pitch in.. their response was cost is zero so we don't need any money..... You are hungy and no food to eat then go to gurudwara .. there is a reaosn u don't see sikh beggar.. Points you have pointed are very trivial yaar.. any organization who aspired to instill discipline will not come of as pleasing all the time..
Arre haan to bhaiya is topic ka vishay hi wahi hai na? What is YOUR gripe with your religion. I am sure my gripe is not similar to yours' date=' or vice versa. Ab isse aap regional kahein, ya personal, yeh global to ekdam hi nahin hai.[/quote'] Main ghar aaya karta tha dipawali/chhath mein during those six days there is complete shunnign of any non-veg items yet my father would go ( mind u he is sanskritacharya very religois person) if he eats then what purpose shunning those for few days serve.. Panditji logon ka jab naam aata hai mere man mein ak hi shabd aata hai bechara.. unka naam vipra garib for a reason hai.. once in a while thori izzat se koi pet nahin bharta .. in my opinion they are being punished for the collective crime of kshtriya/obc ....Aapne Bihar mein hi kabhi aapne dekha hai koi brahman landlord ho..
Haha,here in my university, I got into a scuffle with a cadet corps guy. He started it with Paki, terrorist slants, and then abused me, and started throwing punches. I overpowered him, made his girlfriend cry, and then realized we were doing it all in front of the barracks. The girl called another cadet corps member, who was a hulk, and I ran away, and never wandered in that area.:yay::yay: Proudest I have ever felt. Only problem, I stood up for Pakistan. :hysterical::hysterical: P.S.: I am not Sikh.
I would have instead educated him about difference of paki and indian... kucch to message failao ayaar
Sikhis mhas to be most practical religion as of today. Was watching a documentary on ndtv where they showed how volunteers from gurrudwara brought a dead river-bed to life without support from govt officials.. When president Qalam send his missive that if any financial help they need president's office will be ready to pitch in.. their response was cost is zero so we don't need any money..... You are hungy and no food to eat then go to gurudwara .. there is a reaosn u don't see sikh beggar.. Points you have pointed are very trivial yaar.. any organization who aspired to instill discipline will not come of as pleasing all the time..
Right attitude thhere:D but i replied to lurker earlier on different religions and how they dotn get along Im just saying in general that religion can prohibit alot of things which can be quite annoying, ie which dont go in ur favour, and i get easily frustrasted by these rules my parents tell me:D good bless them though
I would have instead educated him about difference of paki and indian... kucch to message failao ayaar
Arre bhai vo mere ko peetne vaala tha..samjhane ka time nahi mila, aur baad mein ek saand aa gaya...so main bhag liya vahaan se. :giggle::giggle:

Take religiois out of public square and all problme induced by religion disappears.. All religpon except the youngest one, consequently most assured of itself one ; has gotten this message. I hope the yyoungest inmate learns this at the earliest ..

Main ghar aaya karta tha dipawali/chhath mein during those six days there is complete shunnign of any non-veg items yet my father would go ( mind u he is sanskritacharya very religois person) if he eats then what purpose shunning those for few days serve.
Arre ghar ki baat nahin kar reha hoon. Ghar pe the situation is rather straight forward. Any such occassion, as in Saawan or Navratri, and Mom starts doing her monthlong stay away from non-veg. Baaki log ka koi problem nahin. :--D:--D Dum bhar ke khate raho! In fact that would be reason detre no 3 3) Hinduism mein practically speaking females are made to do lot more than men. Example, in Bihar they do fasting for husband(teej/karwachauth), brothers(godhan/bhaidooj/raakhi), kid(jeetiya). Of course us men do nothing of the sort in return :((
Panditji logon ka jab naam aata hai mere man mein ak hi shabd aata hai bechara.. unka naam vipra garib for a reason hai.. once in a while thori izzat se koi pet nahin bharta .. in my opinion they are being punished for the collective crime of kshtriya/obc ....Aapne Bihar mein hi kabhi aapne dekha hai koi brahman landlord ho..
Punditji ka situation is very strange. Not sure ke unko gaali doon ke should I feel sorry. I have seen so many Brahmins pulling carts, rikshaw, cleaning toilets etc. And they would hide their janeo, call themselves dalits just to get a job and escape from ridicule. It is one of the worst stories of modern India man. On the other hand I have also seen Pundits being very orthodox. Many of them stuck to Sanskrit even though everything around them became English. It can be argued that they were holding on to Indian culture and not joining the bandwagon but ultimately it went against them in the long run. xxx
Arre ghar ki baat nahin kar reha hoon. Ghar pe the situation is rather straight forward. Any such occassion, as in Saawan or Navratri, and Mom starts doing her monthlong stay away from non-veg. Baaki log ka koi problem nahin. :--D:--D Dum bhar ke khate raho! In fact that would be reason detre no 3 3) Hinduism mein practically speaking females are made to do lot more than men. Example, in Bihar they do fasting for husband(teej/karwachauth), brothers(godhan/bhaidooj/raakhi), kid(jeetiya). Of course us men do nothing of the sort in return :(( Punditji ka situation is very strange. Not sure ke unko gaali doon ke should I feel sorry. I have seen so many Brahmins pulling carts, rikshaw, cleaning toilets etc. And they would hide their janeo, call themselves dalits just to get a job and escape from ridicule. It is one of the worst stories of modern India man. On the other hand I have also seen Pundits being very orthodox. Many of them stuck to Sanskrit even though everything around them became English. It can be argued that they were holding on to Indian culture and not joining the bandwagon but ultimately it went against them in the long run. xxx
Interesting point Lurker, I think that all mainstream religions discriminate females to a varying extent, and I think this is because all religious leaders have traditionally been men?
Interesting point Lurker' date=' I think that all mainstream religions discriminate females to a varying extent, and I think this is because all religious leaders have traditionally been men?[/quote'] Munshi Premchand, the famed Hindi/Urdu writer, summed it up best. When a man takes a woman's traits he is immediately hailed as a Saint, if a woman's takes a man's trait she is immediately tagged a tart. Give it a thought. Typical women characteritics, kindness/thoughtfulness/emotions, if displayed by a man will bring tons of glory.In the above example of festivals while it is common place for a housewife to do all the festival I mentioned, if a man did half of that he would be deemed as "pious" and very "religious". On the other hand if a woman displays a typical men atitude - brashness, flirting, aggressive, impulsive etc - she becomes a tart. Is it because of the leadership? Is it nature? Is it because of inequality? Or is it just because it makes the world a better place overall?? Maybe all of them, maybe none. Probably the best answers has to come from the females since they would have experienced it firsthand. Personally I think it is quite unfair on them.