Champions Trophy postponed until 2009

After a teleconference between board members on Sunday, the ICC have postponed to 2009 the Champions Trophy that was due to be held in Pakistan in 19 days' time. With South Africa already opting out of the tournament, and Australia, New Zealand and England players all publicly nervous about touring Pakistan, there was a concern of cricket reaching a contentious split if the tournament was cancelled. This was aggravated with India pledging their support to Pakistan. However, the ICC have at least appeased Pakistan for the time being in choosing not to cancel the competition entirely but postponing it until next year. The question, though, is when to hold the tournament next year - there is no window in the FTP till at least October, when there is a possibility of the Champions League being played. -------------------------------- :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: Ahahahhahahahaha :finger:

:hysterical: ... LOL ICC: "Pakistan, can you handle things?" Pakistan: "Yea no worries" ICC: "Ok" Pakistan: "Come here guys" Australia: "I dunno ... maybe ... Probably not" Bangladesh: "We'll come" Pakistan: "No! Go away. Anyone else?" India: "Yea, ok. Whatever" Pakistan: "Score!!!!" Australia: "We're not coming!" Pakistan: "What?" South Africa: "Yea, neither are we" India: "Oh come on guys, dont be slack" England: "Yea, we dont wanna come either" ICC: "Oh screw it. Forget the whole thing. You guys cant do anything right."

PCB's new slogan "Itna sannata kyun hai bhai?!!" :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
:hysterical: ... LOL ICC: "Pakistan, can you handle things?" Pakistan: "Yea no worries" ICC: "Ok" Pakistan: "Come here guys" Australia: "I dunno ... maybe ... Probably not" Bangladesh: "We'll come" Pakistan: "No! Go away. Anyone else?" India: "Yea, ok. Whatever" Pakistan: "Score!!!!" Australia: "We're not coming!" Pakistan: "What?" South Africa: "Yea, neither are we" India: "Oh come on guys, dont be slack" England: "Yea, we dont wanna come either" ICC: "Oh screw it. Forget the whole thing. You guys cant do anything right."
:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:

They've postponed it, but where exactly do they plan to fit it in? I doubt it's going to take place or if it does it won't be in Pakistan, its not like the political situation is going to change suddenly and rid the country of terrorists They're just postponing it to make Pakistan not feel like its being taken away from them

Next year is gonna be worse ... Australia and England have the Ashes ... before that Australia have a scheduled tour of SAF. In October dont they have the T20 world cup. Plus the IPL will be on again.
The T20 World Cup is in June, and it clashes directly with my exams. :angry_smile::angry_smile::angry_smile:
Next year is gonna be worse ... Australia and England have the Ashes ... before that Australia have a scheduled tour of SAF. In October dont they have the T20 world cup. Plus the IPL will be on again.
CT wont happen in 2009. The story says very clearly that the international calendar for 2009 is already packed. Its as good as canceled.