ViruRulez Posted June 5, 2009 Posted June 5, 2009 NEW DELHI: UPA government on Thursday adopted an ambitious target of making India slum-free in five years with President Pratibha Patil announcing the launch of a special housing scheme for urban poor and slum-dwellers. Aiming to "create a slum free India" in five years, Patil unveiled the housing scheme — Rajiv Gandhi Awas Yojana — on the lines of the Indira Awas Yojana being implemented in the rural areas. Addressing a joint session of Parliament, the President said, "My government's effort will be to create a slum free India in five years through the Rajiv Awas Yojana." The scheme will extend financial support under the Jawaharlal Nehru National Urban Renewal Mission (JNNURM) to states "that are willing to assign property rights" to people living in slums. Patil said the existing schemes for affordable housing, including interest subsidy offer, would be dovetailed into the Rajiv Awas Yojana to make it a pilot project on affordable housing for urban poor. "The scheme for affordable housing through partnership and the scheme for interest subsidy for urban housing would be dovetailed into the Rajiv Awas Yojana which will extend support under JNNURM to states that are willing to assign property rights to people living in slum areas," the President said. "Over 15 lakh houses are under construction for the urban poor. There is a need to focus urban housing programmes on the poor living in slums," Patil added. Though the government has announced to make India slum-free, it is not going to be easy for the housing ministry and urban poverty alleviation ministry to fulfil the promise in five years. According to the ministry's data, urban housing shortage is around 25 million units and most of it, around 98%, is in the low income group and economically weaker section category. Continuing with the ambitious aim to revamp crumbling infrastructure in cities, the President emphasised that JNNURM will continue to focus on infrastructure and basic services with enhanced support to upgrade city public transport. "JNNURM, with approval of projects of nearly Rs 50,000 crore in the last four years, is reshaping our cities and has been widely welcomed. It will continue to focus on infrastructure, basic services and governance reform and increase support to cities to upgrade public transport," the President said. I dont think any govt. or anybody can eradicate slums within 5 years. It seems like a big joke rather than reality. And if they really start building houses for the slum people, I think even more people would come from villages etc. and make news slums .. it really sounds an impossible target which is quite impossible.. and going by the amount of slums in India, it would need to build millions of houses which wont be possible in 5 years :giggle:
ViruRulez Posted June 5, 2009 Author Posted June 5, 2009 Govt. plans 100% female literacy in 5 years NEW DELHI: In its second innings, UPA intends to do a balancing act between continuing and strengthening key educational programmes with some seminal changes, especially in higher education. President Pratibha Patil's speech to the joint session of Parliament straddled the two worlds with ease. She talked about eradicating female illiteracy, so much so that the National Literacy Mission is promised to be recast as National Mission for Female Literacy so that over 50% female literacy becomes 100% in the next five years. Patil said female literacy would become a "force multiplier" for all social development programmes. At the same time, the President talked about setting up a National Council for Higher Education in the next 100 days as recommended by the National Knowledge Commission and UGC's Yashpal Committee. A similar attempt by Arjun Singh met with stiff resistance from other ministries like health and agriculture that refused to give its turf to a regulator that is essentially seen as working under the HRD ministry. In fact, NKC is going to be more acceptable to HRD ministry now than during Arjun Singh's time. The President also reiterated the government's resolve to make right to free and compulsory education a reality soon. The bill is with the Rajya Sabha and is likely to be passed in the next session of Parliament. Patil reiterated UGC's decision to develop a "brain gain" policy to attract faculty from across the world for the 14 "innovative universities" proposed in the Eleventh Plan. Patil spoke of providing skill development training to about 50 crore people by 2022 to ensure that India contributes significantly to the global workforce. "Education which provides employable skills holds the key for equal opportunities for OBCs, SCs, STs and minorities," she said. The President's speech also praised the achievements of Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan, Mid-Day Meal scheme and spoke of new Madhyamik Shiksha Abhiyan promising to universalise secondary education. I still think that 100% female literacy might be possible to some extent though 5 years is quite less..but 100% slum eradication from India in 5 years is almost impossible for sure. :giggle:
seedhi Posted June 5, 2009 Posted June 5, 2009 I still think that 100% female literacy might be possible to some extent though 5 years is quite less..but 100% slum eradication from India in 5 years is almost impossible for sure. :giggle: Female literacy in India is about 55%. It will be an achievement if we raise it by 5% in next 5 years, forget attaining 100%. The UPA is literally promising the moon. There is no conceivable way that slums can be eradicated and 100% female literacy can be achieved in 5 years. Frankly, I cant understand the motive for making such outrageously naive promises - they are only mocking our intelligence and nothing else.
punjabi_khota Posted June 6, 2009 Posted June 6, 2009 I think it is possible to eradicate slums, build public housing (and banning any more slum settlements) but it will take far more political will than any politician has shown so far. In the end, whenever any kind of election approaches, populist measures rule the roost and uprooting of slums is never gonna be a wise move at those times.
vipin Posted June 6, 2009 Posted June 6, 2009 Atleast they have got their goals in order. Now it will be good if we can achieve even half of that.
THX_1138 Posted June 7, 2009 Posted June 7, 2009 we need to control population :(( actually our population is now a possible advantage. if you can successfully educate a billion people, then even if 1 in every 10 is able to exploit his/her education into a successful career, then he/she transforms into a consumer who can then inspire a larger economy in itself.
THX_1138 Posted June 7, 2009 Posted June 7, 2009 I think it is possible to eradicate slums' date=' build public housing (and banning any more slum settlements) but it will take [b']far more political will than any politician has shown so far. In the end, whenever any kind of election approaches, populist measures rule the roost and uprooting of slums is never gonna be a wise move at those times. well said. though i would say its more than just politcal will. its a gamble. even if you build public housing, you temporarily depose people from their homes and that is never a welcome idea. could eventually antagonize the voters.
ViruRulez Posted June 9, 2009 Author Posted June 9, 2009 Today I have seen Kamal Nath promising on Times Now news interview that he will get more than 20000 KM of highway roads built during the next 5 years.. he says he will aim at getting 20 KM of highway roads built every day throughout his tenure I think they are becoming over-ambitious now
seedhi Posted June 9, 2009 Posted June 9, 2009 Today I have seen Kamal Nath promising on Times Now news interview that he will get more than 20000 KM of highway roads built during the next 5 years.. he says he will aim at getting 20 KM of highway roads built every day throughout his tenure I think they are becoming over-ambitious now Kamal Nath (strange name for a congressman) is day dreaming. The highways projects have been left in shambles by his predecessor TR Baalu (another strange name for infrastructure minister). Its not like someone can blow a whistle and the construction gets kickstarted.. it may take years to reach the rate of construction he is bandying about. Lets see though, for now the new ministers are grandstanding the media.
gs Posted June 9, 2009 Posted June 9, 2009 Kamal Nath (strange name for a congressman) is day dreaming. The highways projects have been left in shambles by his predecessor TR Baalu (another strange name for infrastructure minister). Its not like someone can blow a whistle and the construction gets kickstarted.. it may take years to reach the rate of construction he is bandying about. Lets see though, for now the new ministers are grandstanding the media. :--D
Lurker Posted June 9, 2009 Posted June 9, 2009 Kamal Nath (strange name for a congressman) is day dreaming. The highways projects have been left in shambles by his predecessor TR Baalu (another strange name for infrastructure minister). Its not like someone can blow a whistle and the construction gets kickstarted.. it may take years to reach the rate of construction he is bandying about. Lets see though, for now the new ministers are grandstanding the media. Kamal Nath is one of the better, and in this case driven, politicians that we have. I wouldnt put it all down to hot air when he makes a statement. 20,000 is a lot of mileage admittedly but is quite doable. From all accounts I hear the infrastructure in India is getting attention these days. If BJP would have won they would have done the same as well so this not a surprise. Same with literacy. Not so sure with the whole slum campaign.
seedhi Posted June 9, 2009 Posted June 9, 2009 Kamal Nath is one of the better' date=' and in this case driven, politicians that we have. I wouldnt put it all down to hot air when he makes a statement. 20,000 is a lot of mileage admittedly but is quite doable. From all accounts I hear the infrastructure in India is getting attention these days. If BJP would have won they would have done the same as well so this not a surprise. Same with literacy. Not so sure with the whole slum campaign.[/quote'] I am going by the past track record of the UPA which totally mismanaged the highways project which was kickstarted by the NDA govt. And if you think that 100% female literacy achievable in 5 years, then I dont know what planet you are living on. I would consider a 10% improvement from the current 55% to be a praiseworthy achievement. Anyway, it needs to be kept in mind that both literacy improvement and slum eradication are (and should be) the primary responsibility of the state governments. The Central govt can only provide funds and and create new programs. It is the state apparatus that has to do the implementation, and it is in this regard that many states are lagging. I would credit any success or failure in these social programs primarily to the respective state governments.
Mr. Wicket Posted June 10, 2009 Posted June 10, 2009 I'll believe it when I see it. (Will pigs be flying in 5 years?)
Lurker Posted June 10, 2009 Posted June 10, 2009 And if you think that 100% female literacy achievable in 5 years, then I dont know what planet you are living on. I would consider a 10% improvement from the current 55% to be a praiseworthy achievement. An earnest attempt at this can easily get us 10% improvement on literacy rate, although getting close to 100% is a tall order indeed. Still I would say getting upto 55% is a conservative attempt and we should be easy to overhaul it. One point to consider here is what does GOI mean by literacy rate? My understanding is that this means a citizen should be able to read a newspaper(any local language will do), ability to read and sign papers, and do basic maths. Atleast this was the standard in 80s when the GOI started the Adult Education Program. This in turn means a person was able to become "literate" in about a year. It is not that he/she had to do Class 1-10th as per ICSE schedule. And so yes an earnest effort should get us a good bump. Although I can see why Indians are sceptical when it comes to "earnest" effort from politicians. xxx