Post of the fortnight competition (Nov 27 - Dec 10)

Bumper

Re: Post of the fortnight competition (Nov 27 - Dec 10) best humous.. LOL I wanna nominate myself.. i thought i create a funny post... in the thread by rohan i think thread title was "Who on Indian team has best cover drive" i replied "Abey yaar, yaha par Indian team defeats ki tally mein gold jiiiti jaa rahi hai and u freakin talkin about who has best cover drive..."

Re: Post of the fortnight competition (Nov 27 - Dec 10) My nomination for POTF is this entry by Dhruv in which he discusses the clash between cultural inclinations and work-ethic in Indian cricket. A very well articulated post with some interesting observations. I am never easily impressed by anything, but this post was a very good one and one which i will remember for a while.

i wish i could take some time and post a little about various approaches to man management and coaching. but i will make it short and simple. 1) there is a whole lot of assumptions and stigma associated with how Chappell coaches which are not necessarily accurate in some places and far removed from the truth in other instances. for anyone who thought John Wright was some soft-spoken unassuming nurturing coach i reckon a quick read of his book threw those silly theories out the window. 2) i find it insulting that we have to bring up culture and tradition in what is a strictly professional environment. do you see it applied in your workplace? do you think that is how our country has gotten anywhere in the IT sector? through culture and kind words? 3) as i mentioned before, there are simple things that are non-negotiable in cricket. one is fielding and two is fitness. every other team in the world has been shouting it from the rooftops for the last 10 years, but we are impervious to such pesky little details. For that matter John Wright saw this too, but it turns out that he didnt do a great job on that front (mostly not his fault - he never got the bowling coaches and other staff that he asked for). it is a shame that Chappell saw this immediately as his first and the most important order of business and has not been able to evidently follow through. on that note i think the greatest possible thing that could have happened to zaheer khan's career was what did happen. i am a lot more confident about him as a bowler now. but for a senior player like sehwag to be dumb enough to bloat up like a balloon at the macy's thanksgiving day parade is atrocious, inexcusable and whatever gaali you can hurl at him. what i find even more hurting is people attempting to support him saying "he only put on a kilo or two under family pressure". HAH grow up fatty! you have to be an athlete to play cricket. the sooner our "culture" comes around to recognizing this, the better. IMO kind words and all are fine, but certain personalities require a fire to be lit under their asses. unfortunately that constitutes a number of people in our team. Harbhajan, Yuvraj, Sehwag, Zaheer. i think even Sachin to some extent, though not in the same manner - he is a consummate professional. anyway i have observed over a number of periods of ups and downs of these guys that when the fire is lit under them they begin to perform. so may be it could be that the "masterly rod" approach might not be a bad idea after all.

Re: Post of the fortnight competition (Nov 27 - Dec 10) Another nomination for humous post.... Yoda

Latest news is that Greg has told our batsmen that the number of runs aren't important, rather the process which is followed while scoring those runs. I expect some low methodical scoring this series.