Dinx - the Jinx Posted October 23, 2009 Posted October 23, 2009 You Finished in the Top 5: twice It seems like T20 is your forte :P i thought this is my first top 5 finish. completely forgot about the T20WC :--D btw.. pls dont say T20 is my strong area.. i dont want to be called a cow lasher :haha::haha:
Dinx - the Jinx Posted October 23, 2009 Posted October 23, 2009 Congratz Umangathavia (whoever u r)for the 1st place finish... i had been following ur selections for sometime now.. you seem to be having pretty good gut feeling and most importantly you've been backing it up... you gave Shane a run for his money during the entire competition and going past him in the last game is truly a last ball finish... @ Shane - congrats on 2nd place finish. But once again you have choked in the final stretch after being at the top for most of the tournament.. Good luck next time around... @ Bumblebee - you owe me a beer for the bronze medal mate :winky:... In an attempt to topple Umanga i took some gamble which made me slip to 4th and then 5th... @Virurulez - I dropped Lee and he went on to score big wit the bat, and I slipped to 5th behind you. Thanks to some poor batting by T&T against Clark, I could gain lost ground and finished at 4th.. :yay: We can celebrAte togther man..
Shane Posted October 24, 2009 Posted October 24, 2009 I Self-Proclaim myself as the South Africa of SS. :(( Chalo koi nahi agli baar.
Guest Hiten. Posted October 24, 2009 Posted October 24, 2009 Yet another unknown quantity sweeps away SS honors. God ...brb making a dupe account
Shane Posted October 24, 2009 Posted October 24, 2009 @ Shane - congrats on 2nd place finish. But once again you have choked in the final stretch after being at the top for most of the tournament.. Good luck next time around... Lolz, yeah should have won a couple of times at the least, Luck ran out at the last possible moment. :D Congrats you finally made it to the top 5. :nice:
nospam Posted October 24, 2009 Posted October 24, 2009 How about: -> 200 ICF$ to play super selector. -> Lose ICF$ for subs. -> Gain ICF$ instead of points. -> Winner gets 100 X Number of Participants X 200 ICF$ (for example: if 200 people play, 100*200*200$ = 4,000,000 ICF$, 2nd best gets 90*200*200$ = 3,600,000 ICF$ and so on. [Considering only top 10 get rewarded])
Dinx - the Jinx Posted October 24, 2009 Posted October 24, 2009 Lolz, yeah should have won a couple of times at the least, Luck ran out at the last possible moment. :D Congrats you finally made it to the top 5. :nice: Thanks dude.. yeah.. same here.. luck is one angel that rarely visits me... if only it visited me often i'll probably have more Top 5 finishes.. same in betting.. i betted onatleast 10 matches in this tournament and won just 1... in SS.. i'm more of a hardworker than a lucky guy.. in longer competitions, wit the opportunity to overcome bad luck with hardwork i am able to somehow manage to climb up.. in shorter touraments, there is hardly any chance to make amends for the mistakes committed in the initial matches and unless you get the initial squad spot on, it becomes very difficlt.. even though there is opportunity to sub, the higher penalty and the inclination to back the player that you have selected, make you to stay with the same squad and lose more.. in T20 tournamets, its hard work that pays off than luck.. hardwork = not working in the office, keeping an excel sheet open in front of yu all the time thinking of what substitutions to make for the next game, reading cricinfo previews, keeping a watch on injuries, knowing about pitch, changing the entire permutation and combination of changes, when someone is injured and not playing, cursing iphone when it refuses to open the site at crucial times, making changes somehow and praying, cursing J&K player, SS mods for no fault of theirs when the match gets delayed.. etc etc...it has become part and parcel of my life now... :--D:--D
Dinx - the Jinx Posted October 24, 2009 Posted October 24, 2009 How about: -> 200 ICF$ to play super selector. -> Lose ICF$ for subs. -> Gain ICF$ instead of points. -> Winner gets 100 X Number of Participants X 200 ICF$ (for example: if 200 people play, 100*200*200$ = 4,000,000 ICF$, 2nd best gets 90*200*200$ = 3,600,000 ICF$ and so on. [Considering only top 10 get rewarded]) sounds like a good idea to me :two_thumbs_up::two_thumbs_up: -> 200 ICF$ to play super selector. agree. can this be made flexible i.e you may invest 200 dollars or 2000 dollars and gain according to your investment -> Lose ICF$ for subs. agree -> Gain ICF$ instead of points. agree -> Winner gets 100 X Number of Participants X 200 ICF$ this is slightly less. it should be 1000 x no. of participants x amount you invested to play the game One thing that can be tricky here is how many will get rewarded. If we use this formula and reward everyone, then everyone will get a profit.. So only the top 10, 20 or 30 should be awarded. Instead of deciding how many get rewarded on the case to case basis, we can arrive at a % which will be applied uniformly across all competitins. Say 20% of the total number at the end of the competition. i.e if there are 100 players playing at the end, top 20 get rewarded, and rest lose all the money they invested including the substitution money (for example: if 200 people play, 100*200*200$ = 4,000,000 ICF$, 2nd best gets 90*200*200$ = 3,600,000 ICF$ and so on. [Considering only top 10 get rewarded]) Varun has already written a script for this which distributes the prize money according to relative scores. And its pretty good.
Dinx - the Jinx Posted October 24, 2009 Posted October 24, 2009 ^^ oh.. in this concept, player finishing at no. 1 may earn less than someone finishng below him, depending upon investment made.. winners should be announced based on points scored and not based on prize money won..
gaurav92 Posted October 24, 2009 Posted October 24, 2009 c'mon now pay the Top 30 and yes give Rank 24 the max amount coz hes jumped from 88 to 24 with some clever sub and intellingent selection
Malcolm Merlyn Posted October 24, 2009 Posted October 24, 2009 c'mon now pay the Top 30 and yes give Rank 24 the max amount coz hes jumped from 88 to 24 with some clever sub and intellingent selection i jumped from 88 to 7.........
Shane Posted October 24, 2009 Posted October 24, 2009 in T20 tournamets, its hard work that pays off than luck.. hardwork = not working in the office, keeping an excel sheet open in front of yu all the time thinking of what substitutions to make for the next game, reading cricinfo previews, keeping a watch on injuries, knowing about pitch, changing the entire permutation and combination of changes, when someone is injured and not playing, cursing iphone when it refuses to open the site at crucial times, making changes somehow and praying, cursing J&K player, SS mods for no fault of theirs when the match gets delayed.. etc etc...it has become part and parcel of my life now... :--D:--D Lolz, that takes just a couple of mins. You are making it sound over-complicated.
ViruRulez Posted October 24, 2009 Posted October 24, 2009 Congratz Umangathavia (whoever u r)for the 1st place finish... i had been following ur selections for sometime now.. you seem to be having pretty good gut feeling and most importantly you've been backing it up... you gave Shane a run for his money during the entire competition and going past him in the last game is truly a last ball finish... @ Shane - congrats on 2nd place finish. But once again you have choked in the final stretch after being at the top for most of the tournament.. Good luck next time around... @ Bumblebee - you owe me a beer for the bronze medal mate :winky:... In an attempt to topple Umanga i took some gamble which made me slip to 4th and then 5th... @Virurulez - I dropped Lee and he went on to score big wit the bat, and I slipped to 5th behind you. Thanks to some poor batting by T&T against Clark, I could gain lost ground and finished at 4th.. :yay: We can celebrAte togther man.. Thanks dinakkar and yes we celebrate together :yay: :band: :amitdance: :yay:
gaurav92 Posted October 25, 2009 Posted October 25, 2009 i jumped from 88 to 7......... ok than u shud be awarded moarr :giggle: but we got nothing moarrrrr :winky:
varun Posted October 25, 2009 Author Posted October 25, 2009 Amit Mishra is missing from the SS. :dontknow: Added
ViruRulez Posted October 25, 2009 Posted October 25, 2009 missed the start by a minute and did not get chance to sub in SS .. Watson in my team and he is not playing :wall:
ViruRulez Posted October 25, 2009 Posted October 25, 2009 Watson playing :woot: All my SS players are playing :yay: