BCCI is using the same divide-and-rule policy : K. Srikkanth

Chandan

Re: BCCI is using the same divide-and-rule policy : K. Srikkanth Gator, Players get sponsorship for their performance and no one knows it better than the players themselves. If a young plasyer loses his head because of early success means he has a poor temerament and less dedication for the game. In that case he'll fall anyway. As far as chances being given to him because of the sponsorship money riding upon him, isn't it BCCI's job to reign its officials, selectors and give a clear directive to them that performance should be the only criteria for selection? Why blame a player or his sponsors if he is selected? It is selectors who choose the team. Every player would like to play as much as possible and every sponsor will like its ambassador to be represented as much as possible. There is no fault in this thinking. It is the BCCI and its selection committee which has to be strict and not pressurised by media or sponsors. To blame players here is an extremely pathetic way to hide your own deficiencies. BCCI should look to improve its own organisation first or else Indian cricket is almost gone. This divide and rule policy isn't going to last. Fans are not that patient these days.

Re: BCCI is using the same divide-and-rule policy : K. Srikkanth

Former Indian Selection Panel Chief Raj Singh Dungarpur Seeks Time To Reply To Krishnamachari Srikkanth's Allegations
Why seek time?? If he has the answer he should give it. there is no need to plan for another round of rumour!!

Gator, Players get sponsorship for their performance and no one knows it better than the players themselves. If a young plasyer loses his head because of early success means he has a poor temerament and less dedication for the game. In that case he'll fall anyway.
u havent addressed the example i gave, regarding financial windfall too early in a players career can cause his downfall....

Re: BCCI is using the same divide-and-rule policy : K. Srikkanth I have said it. I started a thread :" Indian cricket needs to reinvent itself", much before this meeting. http://indiancricketfans.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=3946 But unfortunately I hardly got anyone'd response there. So I thought maybe people are not interested in knowing how we can take Indian cricket forward.

Re: BCCI is using the same divide-and-rule policy : K. Srikkanth The players, BCCI, player agents every one sucks big time. The players don't perform consistently, BCCI don't do the right things most of the time and player agents are inflating the player?s value like real estate agents. I'm not siding with anyone in this one. After this debacle BCCI had to do something. They have scrapped the contract system and that is not good but at the same time they have also brought a lot of positives. Whether it will be applied or not is anyone's guess. I'm quite pleased they are trying to introduce few specialist coaches and are going to select players based on performance not by past credentials. To certain extent I also agree with performance based payments but they should not have scrapped the contracts. BCCI involved past players and have chosen someone like Ravi Shastri to manage the team which is not bad. As long as they don't make whole sale changes in test matches I'm with BCCI on this one. The ODIs are for young and ambitious, not for ones that have nothing more to achieve. I would like to see guys like Tendulkar, Ganguly, Rahul, Laxman, and Sehwag in the test team. In a nutshell BCCI had to look at itself and see where it could help Indian cricket. I won't agree two days of brain storming session will be enough to patch the bleed. They should rather put in place long term plans than the short ones.

Chandan' date=' selectors only select the XV. Playing XI is not decided by them.[/quote'] You mean to say that the captain is the person who does all this? Why have they retained the captain then? It doesn't make sense.

Captain has the final word but the team management also has VC and coach and they dont take decisions in isolation but in consultation with senior players.

Re: BCCI is using the same divide-and-rule policy : K. Srikkanth consultation... is just that. The captain's decision is final as we saw at Cape-town how Dravid over-ruled everyone on Sehwag's issue. But is a player is non-deserving why on earth will he be chosen even in 15? I hope you know what YOU are saying. The board has given the reason for a cap on endorsement to break the player-agent nexus. It simply means that they think that selectors are corrupt can be easily pressurised. But still they won't take a step to sack them. Instead they'd like come down heavily on the players---this is absolutely ridiculous!!!!

Re: BCCI is using the same divide-and-rule policy : K. Srikkanth Gator, My simple answer: Neither. Our young batsmen were failing in SA, another experienced bat Sachin was out of form, and the best batsman of the team Dravid was injured. Selectors had no option other than going for experience and the only experienced batsman available was Ganguly. Yuvraj was injured too and Ganguly could come back because that one spot was vacant and no one was putting his hands up to grab that place. Had it been because of media/sponsor, why would Ganguly have not come back months before? Why only in SA? Why only when the young guns failed badly and that too in 4 successive series (ODI)?

Had it been because of media/sponsor, why would Ganguly have not come back months before? Why only in SA? Why only when the young guns failed badly and that too in 4 successive series (ODI)?
because More was the chairman and he resisted the media/political/corporate pressure..... but not the dancing monkey, Vengsarkar.....

Re: BCCI is using the same divide-and-rule policy : K. Srikkanth There can be a billion views Gator. But till anything is not proven, I won't believe it. Even if Ganguly was chosen only because of Vengsarkar (as you say), it was a selector who got pressurised and BCCI should look in that direction rather than penalising the player ot their sponsors!! Isn't it?

Re: BCCI is using the same divide-and-rule policy : K. Srikkanth BCCI might drive the sponsors away from the game: BCCI draws India Inc's fury Sujay Gupta Tuesday, April 10, 2007 (Mumbai) Down and out after the World Cup disaster, the Indian players been made accountable, for the time they spend on ads and the money that they earn from them. However, the men in the game have taken this BCCI decision not too kindly. But even more furious with this BCCI highhandedness is corporate India. As their revenues get hit, they say, that it's ridiculous and too simplistic to blame the Indian debacle in the World Cup so completely on ads. "The sponsors who bring in all the cash to the BCCI have a huge question can they ban cricket? Can they put they money on the World Cup the next series?" "Those questions need to be answered. And if the board wants no endorsements, if Sachin Tendulkar's balance sheet is for Rs 50 crores, underwrite his 50 crores. He is yours for 365 days of the year," said Shailendra Singh, Joint MD, Percept Holdings. This following is the new rulebook that has prompted the fury: *Now players have take the BCCI's approval before signing any contract *No player can endorse more than three products *No sponsor can contract more than two players *Players will not be allowed to do any sponsor-related event 15 days before a tour or during a tour *Players will also have to submit copies of all existing and new ad contracts to the Board But sources say that the toughest clause is the hidden one. ------------------------------------------------ Once the sponsors and public turn their back, it'll be hard for Indian cricket to survive!!