Vignesh Posted March 20, 2008 Posted March 20, 2008 Robin Singh Stays On Robin Singh to stay on Mumbai: Robin Singh does figure in the list of support staff for the three-Test home series against South Africa announced by the Board of Control for Cricket in India on Wednesday. On the advice of coach Gary Kirsten, the BCCI on Tuesday, virtually ruled out the possibility of Singh retaining his position as fielding coach. The South African had told the BCCI that Robin’s expertise would be more useful for one-day international series. The BCCI had also given word to Singh before last summer’s tour of Ireland and England that he would work with the team until May. Singh joins Gary Kirsten (coach), Paddy Upton (physical & mental conditioning & strategic leadership coach), Paul Close (physiotherapist), Venkatesh Prasad (bowling coach), Russell Radhakrishnan (travel assistant) and Ramesh Mane (masseur). Missing from the list is Lalchand Rajput, who was cricket manager for the World Twenty20, the home series against Australia and Pakistan, and assistant coach on the tour of Australia. The BCCI Secretary Niranjan Shah said a full time physiotherapist for the national team would be appointed by the end of April. SOURCE: www.thehindu.com
Brainfade Posted March 21, 2008 Posted March 21, 2008 It's a cruel world out there. I realize that things are cut-throat at the top, but statements like this still irk me: "Since Kirsten is now the new coach of the Indian team, I don't think he is needed," added Shah This is Niranjan Shah talking about letting Lalchand Rajput go. http://www.rediff.com/cricket/2008/mar/19support.htm
Brainfade Posted March 21, 2008 Posted March 21, 2008 Whats so wrong about this statement ? Nothing really. My mind's ear added a harsh tone to the statement. The "he was not needed anymore" seemed cold and harsh to me. Maybe "his services are not currently needed" would have been less painful. Maybe a word or 2 to thank LR for his stewardship during a successful Australia tour would have mitigated the pain a bit. The guy did a good job, and an acknowledgement of that would only be courteous.
Ram Posted March 21, 2008 Posted March 21, 2008 Nothing really. My mind's ear added a harsh tone to the statement. The "he was not needed anymore" seemed cold and harsh to me. Maybe "his services are not currently needed" would have been less painful. Maybe a word or 2 to thank LR for his stewardship during a successful Australia tour would have mitigated the pain a bit. The guy did a good job' date=' and an acknowledgement of that would only be courteous.[/quote'] You have to bear in mind, that the English oratory skills of most BCCI honchos isnt upto speed. So, most times, they end up, either in part or full, saying things they didnt mean to in the first place. Am pretty sure Shah would have been a bit more charitable had he answered in Hindi.
Brainfade Posted March 21, 2008 Posted March 21, 2008 You have to bear in mind, that the English oratory skills of most BCCI honchos isnt upto speed. So, most times, they end up they, either in part or full, end up saying things they didnt mean to in the first place. Am pretty sure Shah would have been a bit more charitable had he answered in Hindi. True dat. Not that I expect BCCI honchos to be the least bit charitable, though :haha:
Guest Hiten. Posted March 21, 2008 Posted March 21, 2008 add this to what Marirs said.... LR has not done jack **** himself, its just our team India are on rise and we have fielded a better outfit compared to what Greg chappel got during his reign.
Brainfade Posted March 21, 2008 Posted March 21, 2008 add this to what Marirs said.... LR has not done jack **** himself, QUOTE] Prove it. You can't, can you? Nor can I prove my POV that he did a good job. In the absence of any evidence either way, I'd rather assume the best of someone's effort. He kept his mouth shut, and didn't screw it up. Contrast this to the "million-dollar man" Lord and Savior Greg Chappell - the man who loved to be in the spotlight rather than figuring out how to manage his men.
Ram Posted March 21, 2008 Posted March 21, 2008 Rajput has nothing to complain really. In fact, he must thank his lucky stars that had given him such a big break in his life. Lets be honest, he wasnt meant be there in the first place. First Shastri said no to a full time coaching position and Ford embarrassed BCCI further. Rajput has been propelled from total obscurity to national fame. His one year stint with the Indian team is like a hen that lays golden eggs. He can piggy-back on that alone for the rest of his life and mint money out of it. I can see 100s of kids flocking to his cricket coaching academy that he already has, or will open soon in his home town.
Brainfade Posted March 21, 2008 Posted March 21, 2008 Rajput has nothing to complain really. In fact' date=' he must thank his lucky stars that had given him such a big break in his life. Lets be honest, he wasnt meant be there in the first place. First Shastri said no to a full time coaching position and Ford embarrassed BCCI further. Rajput has been propelled from total obscurity to national fame. His one year stint with the Indian team is like a hen that lays golden eggs. He can piggy-back on that alone for the rest of his life and mint money out of it. I can see 100s of kids flocking to his cricket coaching academy that he already has, or will open soon in his home town.[/quote'] Good for him. I just appreciate the efforts of a quiet, fade-into-the-background manager like LR. He reminded me of JW (in his style of operating, not his cricketing acumen). And being sick of Greg "Look-at-me-am-da-man" Chappell, it was refreshing to me.
Ram Posted March 21, 2008 Posted March 21, 2008 Good for him. I just appreciate the efforts of a quiet' date=' fade-into-the-background manager like LR. He reminded me of JW (in his style of operating, not his cricketing acumen). And being sick of Greg "Look-at-me-am-da-man" Chappell, it was refreshing to me.[/quote'] Yep, definitely good for him. Irrespective of what his actual role was, we have to give credit to the fact that he was in the team, when it was having a golden run. Though, isnt it a bit revealing that despite all the flowing accolades and glowing tributes, Rajput's name has hardly figured even rarely. I suspect that he was doing a manager role, more than a coaching role. So, rather than give technical inputs and help draw up match strategies, I think he was to there to make that everything was in order, the net sessions organized, team meetings attended by all etc.
Brainfade Posted March 22, 2008 Posted March 22, 2008 Yep' date=' definitely good for him. Irrespective of what his actual role was, we have to give credit to the fact that he was in the team, when it was having a golden run. Though, isnt it a bit revealing that despite all the flowing accolades and glowing tributes, Rajput's name has hardly figured even rarely. I suspect that he was doing a manager role, more than a coaching role. So, rather than give technical inputs and help draw up match strategies, I think he was to there to make that everything was in order, the net sessions organized, team meetings attended by all etc.[/quote'] To be fair, I haven't heard any accolades from the team for Robin Singh, either. I must admit that I pay attention only in spurts, but I have only seen VP's name cropping up regularly in quotes from players.
Zakhmi Posted March 23, 2008 Posted March 23, 2008 Let the coach take driver's seat, let him decide for the personnel needed. Give this pax a chance in this series and then decide the amendments in the official structure.
Feed Posted March 24, 2008 Posted March 24, 2008 Kirsten and Upton begin coaching sessions India's new coach Gary Kirsten and his associate Paddy Upton, who is in charge of the team's mental conditioning and fitness, have begun their official stints with workshops of an "exploratory nature" spread across two days at the team hotel in Chennai. The sessions, around 90 minutes each, focused mainly on paths to success and ways to overcome failure. More... South Africa in India 2007-08 Kirsten and Upton begin coaching sessions Ajay S Shankar March 24, 2008 Gary Kirsten is quietly easing into his new role as India's coach © Getty Images India's new coach Gary Kirsten and his associate Paddy Upton, who is in charge of the team's mental conditioning and fitness, have begun their official stints with workshops of an "exploratory nature" spread across two days at the team hotel in Chennai. The sessions, around 90 minutes each, focused mainly on paths to success and ways to overcome failure. The players were divided into groups, each asked to devise methods to deal with the two issues. They were also asked to come up with inspiring moments that were crucial in their careers. "It was a low-key affair where both sides (the new coaches and the players) tried to get a basic understanding of where each was headed," one of those present told Cricinfo. "Both sides were slowly getting to know each other better. One player spoke about coming through a period in which he couldn't score, and another spoke about a key childhood experience." Some of the major points identified as means to attain success and overcome failure were good planning, better understanding, responsibility, determination and enjoying success. "It was a stress-free affair, with both sides showing signs of settling down," the participant said. "Many of the players are already beginning to feel comfortable in the new set-up. Most importantly, there were no lectures, or any attempt to say, 'Look, we are going to show you something'. Rather, the idea was to make players look inside and come up with the answers themselves. By the second session, there was a fair amount of involvement from the players, though obviously this is just the beginning." Though the structure and content of the meetings were hardly new, they were an early indicator of the low-key manner in which Kirsten and Upton have begun to integrate themselves into the Indian set-up. This is in stark contrast to the forceful entry of previous coach Greg Chappell, who had the team in awe initially with his reputation and playing record. Kirsten's style is much more subtle, starting with the way he reached Australia as a consultant and remained in the background during that controversial series, letting the captain, Anil Kumble, and his think-tank take the big calls. "For now, and considering past experience, this seems the right way to start. But it's still early days," said another participant.
cochise Posted March 24, 2008 Posted March 24, 2008 Most importantly, there were no lectures, or any attempt to say, 'Look, we are going to show you something'. Rather, the idea was to make players look inside and come up with the answers themselves. By the second session, there was a fair amount of involvement from the players, though obviously this is just the beginning." Yes, this is a positive way to go about it with the Indians, I think. The talk down approach was always liable to get their backs up and cause resentment instead. Which is why Chappel's abrasive style didn't go down to well.
Dhondy Posted March 24, 2008 Posted March 24, 2008 Arre Cochise, these are all soundbites, yaar. Don't buy this stuff. We'll judge people after the first Test and the rest of the series. Till then, this is just scribes filling column inches.
Desi Cartman Posted March 24, 2008 Posted March 24, 2008 one of those present told Cricinfo. "Both sides were slowly getting to know each other better. One player spoke about coming through a period in which he couldn't score, and another spoke about a key childhood experience." Is this news ????
cochise Posted March 24, 2008 Posted March 24, 2008 Ya, true. What to do, I am a sucker for these reporters...they are notoriously fickle beasts...