”The Art of Cricket’ is a three dimesional cricket simulation video game designed for modern computers. It plans to utilize the latest technology available, aiming to make gameplay the number one priority, though the graphic and audio features will be very good too. The aim is to design a video game that is the best ‘underground’ playable cricket simulation released to date, attracting a cult following within the cricket video games community, like the Linux operating system is to the Microsoft Windows one. Already it is gaining considerable support and interest from the cricket video games community. Let me introduce myself, am kartik, the co-producer, lead animator, lead artist and co-designer.i live in mumbai ;) and have been doing this part-time. The Game has been in development for several years as only 2 people are working on the core aspects of the game. i know you must be thinking.."What !! 2 people making a full fledged 3D cricket game?? thats crazy"! but we have the belief,motivation and dedication to take us through the end. since, am not allowed to post links or images, just google The Art Of Cricket and you'll find the website. check out the screenshots and videos. am pretty sure after looking at the screenshots you'll say..."Kya ******* Gfx hai yaar" but we believe in gameplay over graphics and since we are doing this part-time, no money etc..its very difficult to find a GFX engine to compete say a Ashes Cricket 2009 or EA Cricket 2007 but we know we'll be better than them in terms of gameplay. dont pay too much attention to the "crowds" as they will be changed before release. Actually,the project came to a grinding halt in late 2008 / early 2009..but we've changed the entire engine of the game. now, we are back with a bang...better physics, better graphics and even more vengeance. yesterday, we released 3 teaser videos to display our progress so far. you can check them out there... another video consisting of more features, physics and animations will be released shortly. we've also planned to release an alpha version of the game soon(within this month) where you can take control over the entire batting and bowling aspects of the game.also, you'll get to play it in The Lords. your feedback and comments are extremely important to us. so please do reply. one thing i can vouch for is no cricket game till date has had multiple bowling actions and especially of star players. The art of cricket will have the following bowling actions. Brett Lee James Anderson Lasith Malinga Paul Collingwood Shane Warne Virender Sehwag am also planning to do a Harbhajan singh and Dale Steyn Action if time permits :) Kartik

awesome!! I have tried my hand at 3d game programming, and know first hand how hard it can be to put a game together. Great job so far dude :clap: Look forward to playing it!! Will gladly pay for it too. :P Gameplay is the most important thing for sure. Graphics come distant second and your graphics aren't half bad. Is your graphic engine and physics engine home-made ? or are using some open-source engines etc ?

As someone who has played almost all the codemasters and EA offering since 96 and most of current AAA games, might i offer you a few suggestion, which hopefully might help you build a game suited for me (i am not going to be pretentious enough to suggest that what i like would be something what others want). Thats for you to decide. The graphics are simple. I can live with that. But to any cricket game, the fluidity of animations is important. When i play a cover drive, i wanna see it in all its glory on screen. Judging from your video, that seems decent enough. But some of the "coolness" is lost because the camera is back behind the bowler that the batsman looks like a stick figure. Might i suggest a camera position much closer to the batsmen when he is playing his shot. Even with all its programming might, Codemasters and EA just suck at opponent AI. Hopefully, this games AI would be more realistic or as simple as AI being able to chase a big score or protect their wickets while chasing a small target.

i completely agree with you. the animations are literally the life of the game. crappy anims can put you off even the good gameplay and physics. thats why am giving it all to make them as good as possible. also, the batting you see in the video is relatively old. the new one is under-construction and i promise you it'll be 10 times better. :D yes, the camera needs a lot of work atm....its one of our top priorities right now.. check out the "FEATURES" page on our website and you'll see the importance we've given to the gameplay aspects. :)
awesome!! I have tried my hand at 3d game programming, and know first hand how hard it can be to put a game together. Great job so far dude :clap: Look forward to playing it!! Will gladly pay for it too. :P Gameplay is the most important thing for sure. Graphics come distant second and your graphics aren't half bad. Is your graphic engine and physics engine home-made ? or are using some open-source engines etc ?
the engine is a combination of lot of things. cant reveal which though. :P
If the attached image and the promise on the website is anything to go by' date=' this is game is going to be an absolute success. Keep up the good work.[/quote'] thanx a ton ! :two_thumbs_up: