Sahara bags Team India sponsorship till 2013

Feed

the economics of all this just doesnt make sense to me. No sucker will buy Sahara products and services just because that brand name is on the shirts of our cricketers. Even if they do it will have to be done by huge numbers and on a regular basis given the astronomical price tag of sponship.
Before Sahara started sponsoring India, i had not even heard their name. But now i know the name. I dont know anything about them(mostly because i havent lived in India for a decade) but if for some reason i have to buy a product that they sell and its competing with another company, i would lean towards Sahara, not because they sponsor but because i've heard about them (provided ofcourse if other checking around works out if its big like land or apartment). Or it could also be the Stanford scam, in which they get more investors for being famous than actual work and it will all come down in a few years.
Guest BossBhai

-- Removed on request of the user --

AIG's shirt sponsorship deal with Manchester United is $100 million (465 crores) for FOUR years (which obviously is the biggest of its kind in English football) Sahara will roughly pay 520-550 crores to BCCI in the next THREE years !! So this has to be one of the biggest sponsorship deal ever in sport...rite?

Manchester already signed with a new sponsor.........
damn! I should have known it :( Even the new deal with AON is 530 crores for four years whereas Sahara's of almost the same amount with BCCI is for three years !!

Team Sponsorship : No takers for India A, U-19 and women's teams While the India seniors team's title sponsorship rights were successfully bid for Rs 3.34 crore per match by Sahara India Financial Corporation, no bids were received for the India A, under 19 and women's team, it was learned. More... No takers for India A, U-19 and women's teams Press Trust of India 31 May 2010 (Mumbai) | While the India seniors team's title sponsorship rights were successfully bid for Rs 3.34 crore per match by Sahara India Financial Corporation, no bids were received for the India A, under 19 and women's team, it was learned. The BCCI had invited bids for all four teams through a tender notice issued few days ago but while the senior men's team fetched Rs 84 lakh more than the base price of Rs 2.5 crore per match fixed by the Board, there were no takers for the other squads. "No bids were received for the other teams," informed BCCI sources when queried on the matter. The Sahara Group outbid telecom giants Bharti Airtel today to retain the title sponsorship rights of the men's team till the end of 2013.

Guest Hiten.
damn! I should have known it :( Even the new deal with AON is 530 crores for four years whereas Sahara's of almost the same amount with BCCI is for three years !!
Canadian company :proud:. No wonder they're coming to toronto this summer :finger: I shall go and sing the blue song B->B->
Guest Hiten.
AIG's shirt sponsorship deal with Manchester United is $100 million (465 crores) for FOUR years (which obviously is the biggest of its kind in English football) Sahara will roughly pay 520-550 crores to BCCI in the next THREE years !! So this has to be one of the biggest sponsorship deal ever in sport...rite?
But you're comparing a Club's sponsorship to National team who plays year round and many more matches than Man U.
EPL is also thro'out the year....atleast as far as soccer goes. What is the sponsorship deal for England or Brazil? Much less, i would assume since they dont play a whole lot.
the economics of all this just doesnt make sense to me. No sucker will buy Sahara products and services just because that brand name is on the shirts of our cricketers. Even if they do it will have to be done by huge numbers and on a regular basis given the astronomical price tag of sponship.
Precisely, Bossbhai! I, for one, do not understand why so many brands vie for such sponsorship deals.