Warm welcome for Ganguly in Kolkata

DesiChap

Re: Warm welcome for Ganguly in Kolkata media hogwah.. just because unlike moron fanatics in mumbai bangalore delhi kolkata crowd was not waiting baying for ganguly's blood they painted it as grand welcome.. not everyone has to be moron for being christened as indian fan.... similar scene media minions wud have painted in normal times as Kolkata crowd indifferent to dada..

Re: Warm welcome for Ganguly in Kolkata

back to the OP...its no mystery that Kolkatans have always shown a despicable regional bias....contrast this with the cold welcome Dravid and Kumble got in Bangalore.....these folks are mighty glad that India has been ousted and their "dada" has another chance at being skipper...
couldn't agree more. kolkatta seems to be dada obsessed and boy do we know how fanatic these dada obsessors can get. :lol:
Big load of bullcrap x2 :wtg: :wtg:

media hogwah.. just because unlike moron fanatics in mumbai bangalore delhi kolkata crowd was not waiting baying for ganguly's blood they painted it as grand welcome.. not everyone has to be moron for being christened as indian fan.... similar scene media minions wud have painted in normal times as Kolkata crowd indifferent to dada..
No DR. I watched it in the news. Sachin, Rahul, Sehwag, Dhoni, Kumble--almost everyone tried avoiding media and the people gathered there and went through the back door escorted by police; whereas Ganguly, though escorted by police, came out , greeted the crowd and went as they normally do. There was a huge difference. No violence was there anywhere but players were not greeted at other cities.

trying to justify supporting a different nation becasue they are similar people, is ridiculous irrespective of whether another state does it or not....
Look dude, we can drop the act right now. All i am saying is that it is expected for Bengalis to be more favourable towards Bangldesh than rest of India, just as Tamil guys in SL are to the TN folks. And kindly desist from telling me how the ground relities in WB are.

trying to justify supporting a different nation becasue they are similar people, is ridiculous irrespective of whether another state does it or not....
Look dude, we can drop the act right now. All i am saying is that it is expected for Bengalis to be more favourable towards Bangldesh than rest of India, just as Tamil guys in SL are to the TN folks. And kindly desist from telling me how the ground relities in WB are.
You are farrting man.. bangaldesh ebing supored by indians may be by mullah population and that's nothing unusual but for the rest of the folks well it's just a figment of imagination.. and nooooooooooooooooooooooo tamilnadu guy supports srilanaks over india never seen that

media hogwah.. just because unlike moron fanatics in mumbai bangalore delhi kolkata crowd was not waiting baying for ganguly's blood they painted it as grand welcome.. not everyone has to be moron for being christened as indian fan.... similar scene media minions wud have painted in normal times as Kolkata crowd indifferent to dada..
No DR. I watched it in the news. Sachin, Rahul, Sehwag, Dhoni, Kumble--almost everyone tried avoiding media and the people gathered there and went through the back door escorted by police; whereas Ganguly, though escorted by police, came out , greeted the crowd and went as they normally do. There was a huge difference. No violence was there anywhere but players were not greeted at other cities.
Told u there was no pooja no garlanding no nothign just because he was not hiding from morons unlike elsewhere in country media minions have painted it as ganguly being accorded as royal welcome.. BS unadulterated

All i am saying is that it is expected for Bengalis to be more favourable towards Bangldesh than rest of India, just as Tamil guys in SL are to the TN folks.
AHAHAHAHAHHAHAH! I missed this gem. Bengalis themselves will chide you for spouting such nonsense.I've been visiting Calcutta regularly since I was 5 and I consider it a second home. Searching on google for happenings in Bengal isn't how one can ascertain the 'ground realities'. Kindly desist from making such ludicrous statements in the future.

All i am saying is that it is expected for Bengalis to be more favourable towards Bangldesh than rest of India' date=' just as Tamil guys in SL are to the TN folks. [/quote'] AHAHAHAHAHHAHAH! I missed this gem. Bengalis themselves will chide you for spouting such nonsense.I've been visiting Calcutta regularly since I was 5 and I consider it a second home. Searching on google for happenings in Bengal isn't how one can ascertain the 'ground realities'. Kindly desist from making such ludicrous statements in the future.
:wtg:

Re: Warm welcome for Ganguly in Kolkata word from back home is that dhoni is $hit scared to go to dhanbaad and is parked in delhi for the time being.. job well done my moron state-mates .. :wtg:

All i am saying is that it is expected for Bengalis to be more favourable towards Bangldesh than rest of India' date=' just as Tamil guys in SL are to the TN folks. [/quote'] AHAHAHAHAHHAHAH! I missed this gem. Bengalis themselves will chide you for spouting such nonsense.I've been visiting Calcutta regularly since I was 5 and I consider it a second home. Searching on google for happenings in Bengal isn't how one can ascertain the 'ground realities'. Kindly desist from making such ludicrous statements in the future.
Dude- I am a bengali. So please don't lecture me ok ? I am TELLING you that Bengalis are more favourable towards Bangladesh than the rest of India just as Tamils are more favourable towards those Tamils in Sri Lanka or Nepali and Sikkimi relations. To deny that is living in la-la land. Its cultural identity, which has nothing to do with religion like some hinduvta folks here who cannot see past religion. They speak the same language, eat the same food, wear the same cuts of sari and zillions cross over from both sides daily. To the rest of India, it may be no different than Pakistan or any other fundoo state- but to many, if not majority of Bengalis, Bangladesh is 'apon'. Some here make retarded analogies like 'Tamils dont cheer for SL against India' as a counter- as if that makes sense. Bengalis from WB dont cheer for Bangladeshi victory over India but it hurts less. Simple as. And why are you trying to educate me about my own culture ? Am i lecturing some Kannada or Punjabi or whatever here on what the outlook and what their society's nature is ? You may've lived in Kolkata a lot- but do you even speak or understand Bengali ? If you do, do you not see the very obvious support of West Bengal folks for Bangladesh in many quarters, particularly sports. MohunBagan-East Bengal is the same type of rivalry as its root. Do you not see how wildly popular the anandabazar patrika is to bengali readers and how its way more sympathetic towards Bangladesh than other Indian dailies ? Look bro, don't tell me what 'poschim bengali' people's attitudes and outlook towards 'purbo bengalis' are. Yes, many are deeply disgusted and horrified by these 'hindu-muslim' developments in Bangladesh and their attitude towards India in general - do not question our loyalty, either to India. However,it is a very different issue from Pakistan and it is much more charged and 'personal' an issue. Incase you didnt know, most older generation Bengalis get along pretty well from either side of the border and Bengal has always had a common identity that it shares with its identity with India. Tripura is in the same loop too and Assam+Meghalay much more so than any other region in the north east. There is a very obvious cultural bond between the 'bengali-sphere' and its stupid really to deny that this cultral bond makes Indian Bengali attitudes towards Bangladesh significantly softer and different than the 'typical' attitude from rest of India. And it is true for rest of India too- a Tamil's identity with fellow Tamil is stronger than with rest of India, as your identity is not just a nationalistic thing but also a cultural thing.

Re: Warm welcome for Ganguly in Kolkata Look- dada would never be booed in Kolkata. Why ? Because Dada's got balls unlike the 'typical Indian cricketer'. Bengal loves its 'against-the establishment' characters. Dada fits the role perfectly. Saurav is ironically, an example of the lesser talented Bengali player making it compared to far more talented Bengalis looked over for the 'bombay lobby', 'south lobby' and 'punjab' lobby- the three most powerful lobbies in BCCI history. His older brother Snehasish was a more talented batsman. As per Bengali players overlooked - well even right now as we speak, the best Indian pacer going around right now is a Bengali who's not in the team. And don't tell me its Bengali bais - Ranadeb is not a finished article but he has the very same things that made dada successful. He's got the mental toughness- didnt just back down from the big names in the ROI games. Plus more important than speed, he can actually MOVE the damn ball both ways and bowls an aggressive line and length. As per talented Bengalis looked over - there is SS Paul for starters. A guy who got more bounce than anybody in India recently and has very good control. There is Utpal Chatterjee- who was in the mid/late 90s what Powar is today. And how the hell can you forget Subroto Banerjee- completely screwed over by the lobby against him ? Guy gets only one test to play in - nails Geoff Marsh, Mark Waugh and Mark Taylor in his first two spells and unfortunately gets injured second innings. And never gets a second chance again. Gets Lara and two other tailenders in his first ODI and yet 5 ODI later and at 23 or 24 years of age, his career grounds to a halt.

Re: Warm welcome for Ganguly in Kolkata Maybe I am in the minority but as a Kashmiri I would never support POK over rest of India. Country comes first for me. Regionalism/tribalism is the biggest problem with Indians :music2:

Regionalism/tribalism is the biggest problem with Indians
It is the regionalism and tribalism that gives India its remarkable diversity and regionalism/tribalism is very good if you keep a perspective. Yes, if it was war and we put regionalism over the whole of motherland, then its very bad. But all this hot air about regionalism, loyalty, desh-prem over a simple goddamn sport where some guy whacks a ball with a stick ? Give me a fugging break ! Besides, yeah i can understand why you wouldn't be supporting PoK but as i said, Pakistan is a different story. Bangladesh has its problems with India and its religions but its never declared war on India and invaded it like Pakistan did. And besides, nobody is saying or asking bengalis to support Bangladesh over India - don't twist my words. All i said - and its accurate- is that a loss to Bangladesh hurts less. Thats a far cry from supporting them.

Dude- I am a bengali. So please don't lecture me ok ?
By the same token, I am an Indian, you are not. So please don't lecture me ok?
I am TELLING you that Bengalis are more favourable towards Bangladesh than the rest of India just as Tamils are more favourable towards those Tamils in Sri Lanka or Nepali and Sikkimi relations. To deny that is living in la-la land. Its cultural identity, which has nothing to do with religion like some hinduvta folks here who cannot see past religion.
You TELLING me means jackshit. I've formed my opinion from what I've seen in WB and from what I've gleaned from Bengalis through conversations. First of all, you said it's expected for Bengalis to be partial to BDs than rest of India. Now you are saying they are more favourable towards BD. Quite a quantum leap in just 2 posts. Cultural identity also exists between Indian punjabis and Pakistani punjabis. Are they more favourable towards Pak punjabis than other Indians? There is definitely more commonality between Bengalis and BDs but that does not equate to them favouring them over us. Like I said, that is ludicrous. The Bengalis I know were saddened by the breakup of Bengal during partition but they don't have any special love or hate(I should hasten to add) for present day BD. Sure, they might have relatives there and commonality with the people but that is it. They will never ever support BD over the rest of India in anything. To even suggest that is ridiculous. In fact, I won't even insult them by asking such a question.
You may've lived in Kolkata a lot- but do you even speak or understand Bengali ?
What does that have to do with anything? Do you speak Tamil? If not, why are you making blanket statements about TN people and their affinity for SL/LTTE? I shall, however, answer your pointless question. I can understand Bengali but cannot extensively speak it.
Look bro, don't tell me what 'poschim bengali' people's attitudes and outlook towards 'purbo bengalis' are. Yes, many are deeply disgusted and horrified by these 'hindu-muslim' developments in Bangladesh and their attitude towards India in general - do not question our loyalty, either to India.
Who the hell is questioning "your" loyalty? You are the one who brought up this nonsense and if anyone, it's YOU who inadvertently cast aspersions on their loyalty by saying that they would support BD over the rest of India.

Some here make retarded analogies like 'Tamils dont cheer for SL against India' as a counter- as if that makes sense. Bengalis from WB dont cheer for Bangladeshi victory over India but it hurts less.
Now that is a retarded comment. It hurts Bengalis LESS when India loses to Bangladesh, yea right. Anways, you are not the only Bengali on this board and others have refuted it in more than one thread. So feel free to keep blabbering for yourself. :hmph:

By the same token, I am an Indian, you are not. So please don't lecture me ok?
Eh ? :huh:
Now you are saying they are more favourable towards BD.
I said they are more favourable to BD than rest of India is !
They will never ever support BD over the rest of India in anything.To even suggest that is ridiculous.
Can you even read ? I clearly said that nobody is talking about supporting BD over India- but it is a fact that Bengalis from WB are more favourable to BD than rest of India and a loss to them hurts less. Thats quite a long ways away from supporting BD over India.

Eh ?
Are you an Indian? I thought you were half Canadian, 1/4 Persian, 1/4 Kashmiri, 1/4 Pathan etc etc from what you've claimed over the years on different message boards. You don't even hold an Indian passport. So since you don't want to be lectured by a non Bengali on Bengali issues, I don't want to be lectured by a non-Indian on Indian issues. Kapische? And to sum up this is what you had said:
All i am saying is that it is expected for Bengalis to be more favourable towards Bangldesh than rest of India
And I said they will never ever support BD over the rest of India in anything. And then you say this:
I clearly said that nobody is talking about supporting BD over India- but it is a fact that Bengalis from WB are more favourable to BD than rest of India
Who is the one who can't read? You claiming Bengalis to be more favourable to BD over the rest of India equates to them supporting BD over the rest of India. Your so called 'fact' is ridiculous. BTW love the way you made this a 'fact' in just 3 posts.