Its decided , South >> North

Desi Cartman

Its decided , South >> North  

NDTV Indian sports person of the century dekha tha tumne? Chand votes bhi nahi mile is Major Dhyan ko. :p He was good ( or so I hear), but come on, he's not the best sportsman of all time. You are over exaggerating here.
With all due respect - kabhi naam bhi sunna hai Major Dyhyan Chand ka????? He was so great that many a times the opposition team simply refused to take the field against him. The Holland team had his hockey stick checked for magnets hidden in it that caused him to score goals. There is a statue of Major Dhyan Chand in Vienna that has 4 hands and 4 sticks. After seeing his prolific play at the 1936 Berlin Olympics, Hitler offered him German citizenship and an offer to promote him to the rank of a Colonel (which he of course, refused) , at one stage in his career he toured East Africa and scored 60+ goals in just around 20 odd matches.............and his age in that tour was 42 or 43. On another tour to New Zealand he scored over 200 goals in a single tour. He is widely regarded as the greatest hockey player to have ever graced the game and was called a "magician with a stick". :D As for the NDTV sport person of the century, these days most people have'nt heard the name of Major Dhyan Chand or even if they have, seeing the current state of Indian Hockey, many people may not think that Indian hockey ever had such an outstanding player (for your information the Indian hockey team was one of the most successful sports teams of all time, winning 8 Olympic Golds among other honors)

Mumbai is the financial capital. Without Mumbai's tax money filling in Delhi's coffers, Dilli babus wouldn't have anything to stuff in their Nehru jacket pockets :bootyshake: And yes, GOD is a Mumbaikar :P
no body can lay claim on GOD. God is universal :two_thumbs_up::two_thumbs_up:

NDTV Indian sports person of the century dekha tha tumne? Chand votes bhi nahi mile is Major Dhyan ko. :P He was good ( or so I hear), but come on, he's not the best sportsman of all time. You are over exaggerating here.
You must be kidding :D
With all due respect - kabhi naam bhi sunna hai Major Dyhyan Chand ka????? He was so great that many a times the opposition team simply refused to take the field against him. The Holland team had his hockey stick checked for magnets hidden in it that caused him to score goals. There is a statue of Major Dhyan Chand in Vienna that has 4 hands and 4 sticks. After seeing his prolific play at the 1936 Berlin Olympics, Hitler offered him German citizenship and an offer to promote him to the rank of a Colonel (which he of course, refused) , at one stage in his career he toured East Africa and scored 60+ goals in just around 20 odd matches.............and his age in that tour was 42 or 43. On another tour to New Zealand he scored over 200 goals in a single tour. He is widely regarded as the greatest hockey player to have ever graced the game and was called a "magician with a stick". :D As for the NDTV sport person of the century, these days most people have'nt heard the name of Major Dhyan Chand or even if they have, seeing the current state of Indian Hockey, many people may not think that Indian hockey ever had such an outstanding player (for your information the Indian hockey team was one of the most successful sports teams of all time, winning 8 Olympic Golds among other honors)
This. He was a Legend :hail::hail::hail::hail::hail::hail::hail::hail::hail:

But he was from an amateur era when the standard of hockey was crap. Not too many people even took the sport seriously. He was just much better than his peers. If you put him in the Astroturf power game of hockey today he would be exposed and shown to be the ordinary player he really was. You're counting beating up minnows like East Africa and New Zealand as some sort of achievement?

But he was from an amateur era when the standard of hockey was crap. Not too many people even took the sport seriously. He was just much better than his peers. If you put him in the Astroturf power game of hockey today he would be exposed and shown to be the ordinary player he really was.
The same applies for Don Bradman :beee:

Oh' date=' and here I was thinking it applied only to Bradman. :winky:[/quote'] If Don Bradman is the greatest cricketer ever lived, then Major Chand is the greatest field hockey player :orderorder: Prof. accept it :protest:

You're preaching to the choir. :laugh:
I iz not "preaching to the choir". It is you who tried to belittle the great man :nono: - "But he was from an amateur era when the standard of hockey was crap. Not too many people even took the sport seriously. He was just much better than his peers. If you put him in the Astroturf power game of hockey today he would be exposed and shown to be the ordinary player he really was." That made me think that you're rooting for the King of astro-turf - Shahbaz Ahmed - as the greatest ever player. The same logic when applied to cricket, equals to Sachin. But, in your books, Don Braddy > Sachin :beee:

But he was from an amateur era when the standard of hockey was crap. Not too many people even took the sport seriously. He was just much better than his peers. If you put him in the Astroturf power game of hockey today he would be exposed and shown to be the ordinary player he really was. You're counting beating up minnows like East Africa and New Zealand as some sort of achievement?
As soon as i saw posts on Major Dhyan Chand, I was just waiting for this (kind of) post to come :-):giggle:

If Don Bradman is the greatest cricketer ever lived, then Major Chand is the greatest field hockey player :orderorder: Prof. accept it :protest:
lol the great Zelig does it again :hail: Outy is busted now....in b4 bossbhai and fellow worshipers :hysterical:

:mad: Outy went fishing and caught zelig and Ludhi. :acute: You guys are too easy :headshake:
I beg to differ :nono: But, I expected nothing else from a nerd like you..u peeps like sucking onto Profs, don't you? I'm OTOH is a thuganomic (:cool:). We sat at the last bench throughout the academy, while you guys were sucking onto them right below their eyes.F with us at your own peril :beee: