ganeshran Posted May 1, 2011 Posted May 1, 2011 After Chernobyl and F.u.k.ushima disasters, do you think Nuclear power is safe for India? If not, are there any other alternative ways to generate power for our huge energy needs? P.s yaar F.u.k bhi censor karte ho :facepalm:
someone Posted May 1, 2011 Posted May 1, 2011 Well Nothing is safe. Tsunami itself caused all this, so clearly using that logic, water itself is not safe. Everything is safe till it is used in balance.
ganeshran Posted May 1, 2011 Author Posted May 1, 2011 Well Nothing is safe. Tsunami itself caused all this, so clearly using that logic, water itself is not safe. Everything is safe till it is used in balance. Agree but why the liability law then which holds the Indian government responsible in case of a disaster and there is no legal recourse available to victims? Even if there is a liability limit for insurance purposes, it should be set high enough which forces plant manufacturers to make sure their plants are safe
Stuge Posted May 1, 2011 Posted May 1, 2011 I posted 25 years of Chernobyl disaster thread ,but for some reason that thread never got a single reply . http://www.indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=265458
Sachin=GOD Posted May 1, 2011 Posted May 1, 2011 Nuclear power, at its best, will provide only a very small amount of power required for India. So IMO its not worth the risk for something which will at best fulfill only a very small amount of our energy needs.
akshayxyz Posted May 1, 2011 Posted May 1, 2011 If "Tehri" Dam is destroyed due to some natural disaster - it has potential to kill even more people. But yes, the biggest -ive about nuclear disasters is the effect they leave around for generations. But guess what, nothing gets better w/o going through 'failures'.
ViruRulez Posted May 1, 2011 Posted May 1, 2011 People say nuclear power is not safe and are protesting it. People say mega dams are not safe and are protesting it. Har power generation resource ko agar unsafe ke nazariye se dekhoge to kya ghanta ka power generate karoge aur ghanta ka development karoge. There is already massive scarcity of electricity in the nation and if we oppose every power generation source from nuclear power to dams the how the feck are we going to generate and how the feck will industries come up or economy develop. Nothing is safe yet everything is safe. Without any risk there would never be development. China has got the world's largest mega dam and here in India people are opposing mega dams which are significantly smaller than that. China has freezed new nuclear projects now but they are a lot more earthquake and disaster prone than India and they have already created lots of nuclear projects which are already generating energy. There are risks in everything but unless we as a nation are ready to take some risks then we should forget about development and of becoming the superpower of the future. If we oppose every new power generation project in the nation then we are never going to have enough resource for development of the industries and the nation.
Show_stopper Posted May 1, 2011 Posted May 1, 2011 Depends on which you perceive to be a bigger risk. Nuclear energy has a clear advantage vis-a-vis fossil fuel based energy with its associated phenomenon of global warming. OTOH nuclear has its own set of problems. However India is not Japan and it is not seismically as active as the latter. All of India's reactors(except 1) are classified as falling in level 2 seismic zones (on a scale of 1-5). Tsunami is something you can't plan for but it is worthy to note that the reactors in TN shutdown safely during 2004 Tsunami. Lastly our country has spent a LOT of diplomatic capital to secure these civil nuclear deals. Would be a colossal waste if we were to abandon it now. Also the liability law regarding which thankfully the opposition parties brought pressure on the Govt provides for a compensation of 2,200+ crore rupees apart from SDR 300 mill from CSC which has been signed by India. So it is by no means as diluted as liability law of other countries. The only flaw is it that it makes the operator (NPCIL hence the Govt) liable instead of the manufacturer except in cases where design defect or mala fide is established.