Sachin always flops when he is near any big milestone

Asoka

Endulkar: Sachin's career is fading fast The Faisalabad Test will go down in the annals of history as another run-feast. But as I see the game, I fear this may just be the beginning of the end of Sachin Tendulkar, the man we all respect, adore and love because of his tremendous natural talent and humble attitude. The more I look back at his dismissal, the more convinced I get that the downhill journey for the little champion has started, because it has been established that, according to the laws of the game, he was not out as the ball had made contact with the right glove that was not in play. What is even more mind-blowing is that he did not look at the umpire and immediately started his long walk towards the pavilion. I am not willing to buy the theory that Sachin did not know the laws of the game. Having played for 16 years at the highest level and having led his country for a couple of years, Sachin knows all the rules by heart. Then what prompted Sachin to leave the pitch on which six centuries and two 90s were scored? Hostile bowling by Shoaib Akhtar, or the tension-filled dressing room atmosphere that often gets on the nerves of the batsmen who start feeling suffocated? Whatever may be the real reason, the fact of the matter is that Shoaib Akhtar literally exposed Sachin's present-day ability against quality fast bowling during a spell that will certainly be remembered for long. Even on a dead track, Shoaib was charging in at Sachin, bending his back and putting all his energy into his deliveries. One could see those terrifying, hungry and wild looks in the eyes of Shoaib when he reached Sachin at handshaking distance on his follow-through. (PTI)
Check -To overtake Lara's record for max no of runs and reach 12000 he needed about 7 innings to score 100 runs -His disastrous form at present once he has neared 100 international tons -His endless list of 90s(even though he has played many many matches, his rate of getting out in 90s is alarming) Does Sachin get bogged down by impending milestones. Discuss.
Sachin's rate of failing in the 90s is not any more than most people, I believe Dravid has a much higher rate Sachin is always nearing some milestones, 50 centuries, Gavaskar's records, etc. You have convininently ignored the multiple times when he succeded near various milestones and picked a handful when he failed. IMO, his fialures in this series have nothing to do with the impending milestones but lack of preparedness So in short, you are making a mountain out of a molehill
March 30, 2007 Look into that mirror, Sachin Time to retire for Sachin Tendulkar? Ian Chappell thinks so In the fallout from India's early demise at the World Cup one of the major decisions will concern the future of Sachin Tendulkar. Before anybody else makes a decision on what will happen to Tendulkar the player himself has to have a good long look in the mirror and decide what he's trying to achieve in the game. At the moment he looks like a player trying to eke out a career; build on a glittering array of statistics. If he really is playing for that reason and not to help win as many matches as he can for India then he is wasting his time and should retire immediately. When you think that for a decade Brian Lara and Tendulkar went head to head in a wonderful battle of stroke play to establish who was the best batsman in the world, they are now worlds apart in effectiveness. Lara's quick-footed tip toe through a terrific innings against a good Australian bowling attack when the rest of the West Indies top order succumbed easily was in direct contrast to Tendulkar's stumbling effort in the crucial Sri Lanka match. The amazing thing about Lara's brilliant career is the fact that he hasn't changed his style at all over seventeen years. This is a credit to his technique and mental strength, as the aging process generally makes a player more progressively conservative. Tendulkar hasn't worn as well; his last three or four years have been a shadow of his former self. His double century at the SCG in January 2004 was a classic case of a great player really struggling. He came to the crease out of form and despite amassing all those runs and batting for in excess of ten hours he was no closer to recapturing his best touch than he was when he started out. It was a tribute to his determination but it was a sad sight to see; there are enough average players around that you don't won't to see a class one reduced to that level. Tendulkar hasn't been as lucky as Lara; the Indian batsman has suffered a lot of injuries in this period where his play has deteriorated and there is nothing that melts your mental approach quicker than physical handicaps. Lara has been relatively free from injury and he certainly doesn't have the weight of numbers riding on his shoulders that Tendulkar does. However, the population of the Caribbean might be small but they are extremely demanding. Despite all the fuss and the odd controversy that has surrounded Lara's career he has remained himself; this is my game and that is how I play. For whatever reason Tendulkar hasn't been able to maintain his extremely high standards for the last few years and unless he can find a way to recapture this mental approach he's not doing his team or himself any favours. If Tendulkar had found an honest mirror three years ago and asked the question; "Mirror, mirror on the wall who is the best batsman of all?" It would've answered; "Brian Charles Lara." If he asked that same mirror right now; "Mirror, mirror on the wall should I retire?" The answer would be; "Yes."
Guest Gunner
Nearly every series and every time he goes out to bat is a momentous occasion. Watching him bat over the last year, there is no way he should be retiring. He looks in amazing control, the movements are fluid and timing is as good as always I don't know about the Aus series, maybe if runs dry up, he may decide himself its time to leave. But for now, no calls for retirement
Between July 2011-12, he had two big series, Eng and OZ. He hasn't scored here and if he doesn't score in Oz, is there a point time continuing knowing that he will be 39? I would rather take the pain of rebuilding now rather than to delay it and be lost in the wilderness for years to come. India need to move past RSD, SRT, ZAK and Harby.
Sachin's rate of failing in the 90s is not any more than most people, I believe Dravid has a much higher rate Sachin is always nearing some milestones, 50 centuries, Gavaskar's records, etc. You have convininently ignored the multiple times when he succeded near various milestones and picked a handful when he failed. IMO, his fialures in this series have nothing to do with the impending milestones but lack of preparedness So in short, you are making a mountain out of a molehill
:two_thumbs_up:
You guys are missing the point' date=' this is the biggest series he is ever going to play in, there aren't much bigger or better ones to come. If he doesn't score here what are you saving him up for? To score against the mighty Windies in two months? I personally think it is over for the champion batsman of our generation. If he retires at the end of the Aussie series no one will think the worse of him, after all he will be almost 39. How much cricket do you guys think he has left anyway?[/quote'] Come no batsman, no matter how good he is, can pick and chose series in which he succeeds and fails. So if Sachin's one series failure co-incised with the English series, its not his fault. Even Dravid was given much more lee-way before the WI series I think the question should be, do we still need him in our side? IMO overseas, against tough oppositions, we still need him as our youngsters have not stood up. We cant afford to lose all three seniors at once and though Dravid has found a rich vein of form, IMO he will retire before Sachin
Between July 2011-12, he had two big series, Eng and OZ. He hasn't scored here and if he doesn't score in Oz, is there a point time continuing knowing that he will be 39? I would rather take the pain of rebuilding now rather than to delay it and be lost in the wilderness for years to come. India need to move past RSD, SRT, ZAK and Harby.
Zak and Harby will play for another 3-4 years at least. Zak's fitness and Harby's form is threatening but I am sure once they sort that out, they are here for more than these legends. But yes quite right, we need to groom the youngsters who are going to replace this star studded batting line up in the near future. Pujara, Rohit, Kohli should be given chances in Tests too and must be shuffled well so that each of them gets equal opportunity to showcase their talents. this would help us decide the future batting order as to who plays well at which position. We seriously need to think of another opening, we can't have an unstable opening pair for long. Dinesh Karthik, Mukund.
Guest Gunner
Come no batsman, no matter how good he is, can pick and chose series in which he succeeds and fails. So if Sachin's one series failure co-incised with the English series, its not his fault. Even Dravid was given much more lee-way before the WI series I think the question should be, do we still need him in our side? IMO overseas, against tough oppositions, we still need him as our youngsters have not stood up. We cant afford to lose all three seniors at once and though Dravid has found a rich vein of form, IMO he will retire before Sachin
I hope you don't think I am asking for SRT's head because of this series. If anything this series has just brought out the fact that the team is ageing and fading. Ageing is not a flaw, it is but natural. However we have to keep our heads on and realize that we need to bring in the new guys now and absorb the pain NOW so that we can have a better future. Longer we stick to RSD and SRT, we are going to be in deeper trouble. I hope you understand the crux of my argument. Yes the old guys will get the occasional runs but they are not going to last much longer now and it is probably better to let them go as champions so that we can have some good memories.
Guest Gunner
Zak and Harby will play for another 3-4 years at least. Zak's fitness and Harby's form is threatening but I am sure once they sort that out, they are here for more than these legends. But yes quite right, we need to groom the youngsters who are going to replace this star studded batting line up in the near future. Pujara, Rohit, Kohli should be given chances in Tests too and must be shuffled well so that each of them gets equal opportunity to showcase their talents. this would help us decide the future batting order as to who plays well at which position. We seriously need to think of another opening, we can't have an unstable opening pair for long. Dinesh Karthik, Mukund.
I stopped reading right there. :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:

Once your hand eye co ordination goes,that's it. When it goes it goes quick. Look at Gilly Hayden Gibbs The Colonel and even The Master Blaster, Anderson Richards. All shadows of their former selves at the twilight of their careers. The same fate will befall Virender, for he too shall surrender to the dæmons of hand eye co ordination. Gunner is correct

Time to retire. Age has caught up. I always kept saying this, it was not about fitness, it is in the eye and the reaction speed. Quarter of a second too slow and it is finished. I hope the great man knows it is time to hang up his boots.
He lost it in a matter of mere three months :((
Guest Gunner
He lost it in a matter of mere three months :((
Sir, you are missing the point. Do you really want to go down this road and watch the champion fade? I want to live with beautiful memories of the best batsman ever. I really don't want to see a caricature of him batting. And I am not just asking him to retire, I am asking for a major overhaul of the team.
You might not even see Zak play again :((

disappointed in his batting... skipped all practise and just walked in to the games. Failure.

Nearly every series and every time he goes out to bat is a momentous occasion.
humko maloom hai jannat ki haqeeqat lekin dil ko khush rakhne ka Ghalib ye khayaal accha hai. Dude thats a beaten down track and is spit out every time SRT fails. You think it is different for say Dravid? That every series and time he walks out, atleast for the past 8-10 years, it is any less important?? Just because the number of Sachin fans exceeds that of Dravid's does not make it any more, or less, momentous occassion. Gunner is dead-on in that this series is as big as it comes. If he fails to deliver in this one there is no point yapping at his last few series numbers. By the by the only saving grace from SRT is that his average, of low 20s, in this series would do a bowler proud...oh wait :--D xxxx
:hatsoff:

Look i think SRT recognized the importance of this series. That's why he skipped windies to be well rested after a tiresome 4 months of WC/IPL. He even came to England 19 days before the first test and well before others to practice in these conditions. Still it hasn't worked for him. I think there is some meat to the hand/eye coordination angle. His technique this series has been scratchy while England bowlers have persistenly bowled him in the offstump+ zone/pitched up.