Khalpat Posted October 4, 2011 Posted October 4, 2011 It seems there is a war of words between Narayana Murthy and Chetan bhagat: NarayanMurthy: Thanks to the coaching classes today, the quality of students entering IITs has gone lower and lower," Murthy said, receiving a thundering applause from his audience. http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/news/news-by-industry/services/education/poor-quality-of-students-entering-iits-n-r-narayana-murthy-chairman-emeritus-infosys/articleshow/10217383.cms Chetan Bhagat: It is ironic when someone who runs a body shopping company and calls it hi-tech, makes sweeping comments on the quality of IIT students. http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/india/Those-who-run-body-shops-should-not-comment-on-IITs-Chetan-Bahagat-to-Narayana-Murthy/articleshow/10233070.cms
Khalpat Posted October 4, 2011 Author Posted October 4, 2011 There was a great reply in the comments section of TOI: "chetan babu, Engineering from IIT then MBA from IIM and worked for some investment bank in HK. finally you ended up writing books that are nowhere related to either subjects. Dude atleast Murthy is not as confused as you are:)" :haha:
Yoda-esque Posted October 4, 2011 Posted October 4, 2011 Narayan Murthy isnt a Btech from IIT either, is he?
Sachin=GOD Posted October 4, 2011 Posted October 4, 2011 Chetan Bhagat just has to comment on everything!!! He's an obnoxious fool and doesn't even realize it.
Yoda-esque Posted October 4, 2011 Posted October 4, 2011 Well,for once,I agree with Chetan. These students have slogged their way and deserve a place as anyone else in the hallowed institution.Remember that its 99% perspiration and 1% inspiration. Federer looks like a genius but he hit the same boring ball a million times before he could perfect it.Talent lies in hard work and perseverence. Good on Bhagat!
Khalpat Posted October 4, 2011 Author Posted October 4, 2011 Well,for once,I agree with Chetan. These students have slogged their way and deserve a place as anyone else in the hallowed institution.Remember that its 99% perspiration and 1% inspiration. Federer looks like a genius but he hit the same boring ball a million times before he could perfect it.Talent lies in hard work and perseverence. Good on Bhagat! Chetan Bhagat may be right in whatever he said but I dont think taking a cheap shot at Murthy was required.
Yoda-esque Posted October 4, 2011 Posted October 4, 2011 Chetan Bhagat may be right in whatever he said but I dont think taking a cheap shot at Murthy was required. Its not a cheap shot at all..Why look at it that way? With what authority or data did Murthy say that 80% of IIT students are not world class ? That was a rather sweeping statement. Also, What Bhagat says about Infosys is not incorrect at all. It is a sweat shop .Period.It might have a fancy building but its just that. Where are the world class products, the research facilities?
CSK Fan Posted October 4, 2011 Posted October 4, 2011 Well,for once,I agree with Chetan. These students have slogged their way and deserve a place as anyone else in the hallowed institution.Remember that its 99% perspiration and 1% inspiration. Federer looks like a genius but he hit the same boring ball a million times before he could perfect it.Talent lies in hard work and perseverence. Good on Bhagat! What about the brainy/talented students who cannot afford coaching classes, cannot afford the thousands of self-help books? Coaching classes and self-help books offer a short-cut by preparing the students for the exam questions, but dont act as a bastion of knowledge Hard work and preservance for the sake of knowledge and learning is great. But mugging up only to pass exams is not
Yoda-esque Posted October 4, 2011 Posted October 4, 2011 What about the brainy/talented students who cannot afford coaching classes, cannot afford the thousands of self-help books? Coaching classes and self-help books offer a short-cut by preparing the students for the exam questions, but dont act as a bastion of knowledge Hard work and preservance for the sake of knowledge and learning is great. But mugging up only to pass exams is not Well, most students nowadays come from smaller towns and villages as opposed to the 60s-80s when most came from urban and educated families with acccess to libraries,books etc.So, if anything, your argument has been weakened . Again, this is the IIT we are talking about.You cannot just "mug" your way in.You still have to apply yourself. IMO, most of the students from small towns and villages fail in their behavorial skills and lower confidence levels.But they are just as smart as anybody else ,make no mistake about that.
Khalpat Posted October 4, 2011 Author Posted October 4, 2011 Its not a cheap shot at all..Why look at it that way? With what authority or data did Murthy say that 80% of IIT students are not world class ? That was a rather sweeping statement. Also, What Bhagat says about Infosys is not incorrect at all. It is a sweat shop .Period.It might have a fancy building but its just that. Where are the world class products, the research facilities? Well Infosys provides job to close to 1 Lac people I dont think Bhagat can ever dream of providing bread and butter to even 10 families and as far as products are concerned Finacle and Flypp are not that bad. Their Global Delivery model is also considered to be one of the finest and innovative. Its a service oriented company, providing support to clients so you can not expect them to make Microsoft Office or Facebook kind of thing. Narayan Murthy gives hope to million of Indians who dream of becoming entrepreneur from middle class background. Chetan Bhagat gives hope to be in limelight by talking against every popular thing Amir Khan, Common Wealth Games, Indian Gov, Narayana Murthy. Choice is yours.
Lurker Posted October 4, 2011 Posted October 4, 2011 There was a great reply in the comments section of TOI: "chetan babu, Engineering from IIT then MBA from IIM and worked for some investment bank in HK. finally you ended up writing books that are nowhere related to either subjects. Dude atleast Murthy is not as confused as you are:)" :haha: Thats a great reply? That is a perfectly retarded reply in my opinion. It takes inherently more creativity to write a book than to join IIT/IIM or some Investment bank. Thousands, and hundreds of thousands of people have joined IIT/IIM, how many of them are known as much as Chetan Bhagat? xxx
Lurker Posted October 4, 2011 Posted October 4, 2011 It seems there is a war of words between Narayana Murthy and Chetan bhagat: NarayanMurthy: Thanks to the coaching classes today, the quality of students entering IITs has gone lower and lower," Murthy said, receiving a thundering applause from his audience. http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/news/news-by-industry/services/education/poor-quality-of-students-entering-iits-n-r-narayana-murthy-chairman-emeritus-infosys/articleshow/10217383.cms Chetan Bhagat: It is ironic when someone who runs a body shopping company and calls it hi-tech, makes sweeping comments on the quality of IIT students. http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/india/Those-who-run-body-shops-should-not-comment-on-IITs-Chetan-Bahagat-to-Narayana-Murthy/articleshow/10233070.cms Bingo. Infosys is little better than a body shopping company. This is not a news at all, most Infosys folks will readily admit it themselves. Where I live presently Infosys shut down a big shop, about 100 odd people, who were doing simple mainframe maintanence. This account, a shipping and courier company, used to be Infosys's largest account. Infosys folks will know what I am talking about. xxx
Lurker Posted October 4, 2011 Posted October 4, 2011 Well Infosys provides job to close to 1 Lac people I dont think Bhagat can ever dream of providing bread and butter to even 10 families and as far as products are concerned Finacle and Flypp are not that bad. Their Global Delivery model is also considered to be one of the finest and innovative. Its a service oriented company, providing support to clients so you can not expect them to make Microsoft Office or Facebook kind of thing. Narayan Murthy gives hope to million of Indians who dream of becoming entrepreneur from middle class background. Chetan Bhagat gives hope to be in limelight by talking against every popular thing Amir Khan, Common Wealth Games, Indian Gov, Narayana Murthy. Choice is yours. All the body shopping companies that are initiated by Indians combined would easily outnumber the number of people Infosys employs. Doesnt change the fact that they remain body shopping companies. Infosys is no different.
Lurker Posted October 4, 2011 Posted October 4, 2011 What about the brainy/talented students who cannot afford coaching classes' date= cannot afford the thousands of self-help books? Coaching classes and self-help books offer a short-cut by preparing the students for the exam questions, but dont act as a bastion of knowledge Hard work and preservance for the sake of knowledge and learning is great. But mugging up only to pass exams is not They wont make the cut. In most cases these small towners come from the local language based schools. And that by itself will get you enough low self-esteem in our country. But yes your point about when these guys do make it, it is thanks to their hard work and they go that extra yard.
Khalpat Posted October 4, 2011 Author Posted October 4, 2011 All the body shopping companies that are initiated by Indians combined would easily outnumber the number of people Infosys employs. Doesnt change the fact that they remain body shopping companies. Infosys is no different. Well its not how and what Infosys do. Its a company and they have a business model. They work on their own model which is most rightly decided by their management. In the end it proides employment to hundred thousand people. The question was Chetan Bhagat could have simply answered no he doesnt think IITians standard have gorn down. But Mr Bhagat has always been good in creating publicity. First he gets payment for 3 idiots, then he creates controversy as to why his name is not their in casting. I asked a simple question Narayana Murthy or Chetan Bhagat not Infosys or five point someone. Choice is yours. I will any day take the word of former.
Yoda-esque Posted October 4, 2011 Posted October 4, 2011 Well Infosys provides job to close to 1 Lac people I dont think Bhagat can ever dream of providing bread and butter to even 10 families and as far as products are concerned Finacle and Flypp are not that bad. Their Global Delivery model is also considered to be one of the finest and innovative. Its a service oriented company, providing support to clients so you can not expect them to make Microsoft Office or Facebook kind of thing. Narayan Murthy gives hope to million of Indians who dream of becoming entrepreneur from middle class background. Chetan Bhagat gives hope to be in limelight by talking against every popular thing Amir Khan, Common Wealth Games, Indian Gov, Narayana Murthy. Choice is yours. You are losing sight of the argument. This is not a Bhagat V/s Infosys issue.This is an argument on whether IIts are still producing world class students. These students are under privileged.Their parents probably did not even have a decent education.Globalization has opened up this whole new world for them in more ways than one.They will develop, their children will have better lives.Lets not grudge their success and hard work and be prejudiced against them.They have earned the right to be where they are. Yes, I know about Finacle.It is just one product.TCS has produced many such softwares (software for Indian railways).And their delivery model is no different from any other body-shops.Its just that their "rates" are higher .It all comes down to brand marketing.
yoda Posted October 4, 2011 Posted October 4, 2011 IIT quality is getting diluted not because of the coaching classes, rather because of the new so-called IITs which have sprung up in every corner of the country. You can't have six premier institutes and then suddenly bump that number to 3x and expect quality to be even anywhere the same. May be someone who has attended one of the newer ones can comment on the quality of education and the facilities there. Regarding Infosys, Chetan Bhagat is spot on, although I am not sure if that disqualifies Narayana Murthy from expressing his concerns about IITs.
akshayxyz Posted October 4, 2011 Posted October 4, 2011 IIT quality is getting diluted not because of the coaching classes' date= rather because of the new so-called IITs which have sprung up in every corner of the country.You can't have six premier institutes and then suddenly bump that number to 3x and expect quality to be even anywhere the same. May be someone who has attended one of the newer ones can comment on the quality of education and the facilities there. Regarding Infosys, Chetan Bhagat is spot on, although I am not sure if that disqualifies Narayana Murthy from expressing his concerns about IITs. ^this. Coaching has nothing to do with the average quality of students. Quality is a relative measure of skill/excellence. When #of IITs were low, and #of seats were low - as compared to present day - only cream of the cream used to get there. Yes, those days some deserving people might have left out due to lack of exposure/coaching. If you increase quantity, the 'average' quality is bound to go down. After increasing the quantity, we are selecting top 1.5% as compared to top 1% before.. ( these figures are just for example). %wise the new number might still be the same, as more and more people must be appearing, but still, you can not maintain top quality by increasing intakes to multifolds. In short, if you increase the size of the sieve, along with wheat, you are bound to get more chaff and/or low quality wheat. As for focus on research in IITs - it is a different topic. And at people comparing NRN Murthy with Chetan Bhagat.
akshayxyz Posted October 4, 2011 Posted October 4, 2011 Narayan Murthy isnt a Btech from IIT either' date=' is he?[/quote'] IIRC he is MTech. I would not comment further on that. But what he has achieved in life can not be predicted/achieved based on college degrees.