A Complete New Test Team After All Seniors

Give Tiwary a decent run and then we'll see. He is normally asked to report straight to the ground from the airport after a 12-hr flight. And promptly dumped after the match. Did you see him play awkwardly against short balls somewhere? Even if that is the problem, he needs to (like Raina) work that out. Kohli seemed to have the same problem after the WI series, now he looks better. You'll always have a few handicaps when you try to make that transition from the domestic to the international.
+1. Tiwary is a pleasure to watch..the way his shots flow from his bat. Genuine talent.
I guess you are going by Bisla's IPL performances. He's hardly consistent and his technique would be exposed bigtime in Test cricket. Ratra had captained HP this year, so even if he comes back he's not be the first choice. I too like Yuvraj and hope he finally makes the grade at Test level. Regarding the spinner, I am yet to see a world-beating spinner emerging out of India for some time. A leggie specially!
Yes I was going for Bisla looking at his IPL performances and playing style :--D But, he looked a good one, given how well he plays the fast bowling and short pitch bowling as well. Forget about a quality leggie. Those are very rare. Even if you find one, they take a lot of time to settle down in international cricket and I doubt Indians have that much patience. I am sure there'd be some quality leggie hidden in some domestic team. Now, if we have to find him and then groom him. You can't expect all that from BCCI, that's too much to ask.
+1. Tiwary is a pleasure to watch..the way his shots flow from his bat. Genuine talent.
Tiwary is a classy batsman, mainly a front-foot player and a very fit fielder, strong in his arms and can turn the match on his own but he seriously has this problem of short pitch bowling. You yourself can judge that watching him play. He is always hurried by the half-pitchers. Many have noticed while commentary. Saurav01 rightly said that we will always have such kind of handicaps when players make transition from domestic to international. Now that depends on the player that they have to fight it out.
Our bowling is weak (both pace & spin).. Batting will survive, somehow. But if we are unable to take 20 wickets in a match or allow the opposition to make huge scores, we will not have any chance of even saving the match..
Now the trend is changing. Lots of bowlers are coming up. Infact we are second after Australia at the moment in terms of new upcoming bowling prospects. Obviously, Australia is too far ahead but we are reaching there too. We have an advantage of spinners as compared to Australia. We will always produce good spinners. If we can solve the problem of fast bowlers and give them good experience, our bowling will be complete.

I don't understand why people want Gambhir to be made captain. Man, have a look at his belly, his tid, already coming out. Just imagine What will happen when he will be made captain? Captain banane ke baad logo ke baal safed ho jate hain, pet bahar nikal aata hai, ladkiyan notice karna band kar deti hain. Gambhir bechara ye sab kuch jhel nahi paega :haha: ajl7cl.jpg

Regarding the spinner, I am yet to see a world-beating spinner emerging out of India for some time. A leggie specially!
What about Iqbal Abdulla or Rahul Sharma? Iqbal Abdulla has some sort of similarity to Bishan Singh Bedi. The way he tweaks the balls is remarkable. Rahul has similarities Anil Kumble
I don't understand why people want Gambhir to be made captain. Man, have a look at his belly, his tid, already coming out. Just imagine What will happen when he will be made captain? Captain banane ke baad logo ke baal safed ho jate hain, pet bahar nikal aata hai, ladkiyan notice karna band kar deti hain. Gambhir bechara ye sab kuch jhel nahi paega :haha: ajl7cl.jpg
Well spotted. Have you noticed that some of the youngsters like Rohit Sharma and Gautam Gambhir has much more loose flesh hanging than some of the seniors like Dravid and Sachin (who you detest)? These guys (Sehwag, Gambhir, Rohit, Zak, Ashwin) just don't care to be in shape. Regarding spinners, I hope for a good leggie - Abdullah is promising but he is a leftie orthodox meaning he'll compete with Ojha all the time, and Rahul looked good in ODIs and T20s but his FC figures are abysmal. I wonder whether he'll have Kumble like precision and would be able to bowl 60 overs in a match regularly with that kind of discipline.
Well spotted. Have you noticed that some of the youngsters like Rohit Sharma and Gautam Gambhir has much more loose flesh hanging than some of the seniors like Dravid and Sachin (who you detest)? These guys (Sehwag, Gambhir, Rohit, Zak, Ashwin) just don't care to be in shape.
I will defend Zaheer here. He has had fair share of injuries in his career. But you are absolutely right about the others, especially Sehwag and Ashwin are the main culprits. Ashwin is another VVS in the making looking at his fitness. The way he refused to run for second run, Mumbai test last ball(you wrote a very beautiful article on that as well) since the time, I am very critical of his fitness. You know, thats y we always talks about upcoming players physique on this forum and then guys like dumdumdigadiga and dandaroy criticize us that we talk non-sense lol

Before adding all these players can they play well overseas on pitches where the ball bounces above the knee, swings and has a lot of pace? Because if our current team is anything to go by we won't be winning test series overseas at all.

They surely can. The thing that I am noticing these days is our new prospects are more quick and well equipped to deal with different conditions than our players in the past. Looking at Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Rahane, Tiwary and many more. You get a feeling if given chance they have more passion and self belief that they will do better and atleast will not give up quite easily. So, I believe that they won't take much time to get accustomed to international cricket with different conditions.
They surely can. The thing that I am noticing these days is our new prospects are more quick and well equipped to deal with different conditions than our players in the past. Looking at Virat Kohli' date=' Rohit Sharma, Rahane, Tiwary and many more. You get a feeling if given chance they have more passion and self belief that they will do better and atleast will not give up quite easily. So, I believe that they won't take much time to get accustomed to international cricket with different conditions.[/quote'] On the other hand, I think our new players are hardly capable of playing well in overseas conditions. Take up anyone's track record or averages in Tests or ODIs - Kohli and Raina's averages would be abysmal in Tests, ditto at Sharma and Tiwary's averages in ODIs. Whatever tour matches Rahane played at Australia, he scored 3, 15 and 0. On the other hand, our seniors did way better and had much superior overseas starts. We are judging the young guns by their IPL performances and supposed potential, and not by the runs they actually make.
On the other hand, I think our new players are hardly capable of playing well in overseas conditions. Take up anyone's track record or averages in Tests or ODIs - Kohli and Raina's averages would be abysmal in Tests, ditto at Sharma and Tiwary's averages in ODIs. Whatever tour matches Rahane played at Australia, he scored 3, 15 and 0. On the other hand, our seniors did way better and had much superior overseas starts. We are judging the young guns by their IPL performances and supposed potential, and not by the runs they actually make.
The problem is that only...that the younger generation are constantly feed on Indian dull tracks & after an overseas their is always IPL or CL...to pat their ego also. But the likes of Kohlis & Rainas are the future.....I will like to see more scrappers like Pujara in the Test team also. BCCI also has to stop forcing all form on cricket on all players. They are to blame for Ishant poor bowling as much as Ishant himself. They need to identify players suitable for each form & stick with it.
Agree both on the IPL point and the 'player according to format' point. Just that, despite all the Under-19 tours and the A tours our young cricketers have done, I find it very disappointing that all of them (Pujara included) struggle overseas. They might take some time to get used to things and make an impression but most of them are taking too much time. Kohli was lucky to get an extended run, but everyone else would not be as lucky.
On the other hand, I think our new players are hardly capable of playing well in overseas conditions. Take up anyone's track record or averages in Tests or ODIs - Kohli and Raina's averages would be abysmal in Tests, ditto at Sharma and Tiwary's averages in ODIs. Whatever tour matches Rahane played at Australia, he scored 3, 15 and 0. On the other hand, our seniors did way better and had much superior overseas starts. We are judging the young guns by their IPL performances and supposed potential, and not by the runs they actually make.
No, I am not judging Rohit, Virat, Rahane, Pujara, Saxena, Bist, Saha or Dinesh Karthik with their IPL performances. These guys were not at all the extreme performers in last IPL. But you have to check out their games, their overall game is quite improved for tests. I mean, these guys have more confidence playing in any sort of conditions. Yes, they can take time about 1 or 2 matches at the start of their career but they won't react like they are playing in alien conditions.. But most importantly, our selections shud be spot on. We should recognize proper test players and give them chances. We have very good test prospects, believe me
Agree both on the IPL point and the 'player according to format' point. Just that, despite all the Under-19 tours and the A tours our young cricketers have done, I find it very disappointing that all of them (Pujara included) struggle overseas. They might take some time to get used to things and make an impression but most of them are taking too much time. Kohli was lucky to get an extended run, but everyone else would not be as lucky.
I will say Kohli was not lucky...but actually made his luck himself. Kohli was sent to WI tour after IPL. He and a bunch of future Test players were sent on that tour...but most of them or rather all of them failed. Kohli was then dropped for Eng Test tour...rathen then stick with him (He was leter selected as a replacement for injuries on that tour). & Yes....BCCI needs to keep the emphasis on those under 19 & A tours. I dont recall I read that India made any A tours in the last year. Every thing looked greed...I mean green in BCCI world so these expenses from BCCI point of view were dropped. They cant do that. They need to send India A team to atleast 2 overseas tour every year....& use the players from A team as back & replacement players for Team India.
Yar Pujara had only failed in 2 test matches in South Africa. Experts still see him as a classy test player. Just need to get his fitness back on track
No' date=' I am not judging Rohit, Virat, Rahane, Pujara, [b']Saxena, Bist, Saha or Dinesh Karthik with their IPL performances. These guys were not at all the extreme performers in last IPL. But you have to check out their games, their overall game is quite improved for tests. I mean, these guys have more confidence playing in any sort of conditions. Yes, they can take time about 1 or 2 matches at the start of their career but they won't react like they are playing in alien conditions.. But most importantly, our selections shud be spot on. We should recognize proper test players and give them chances. We have very good test prospects, believe me
Have you seen these two play? Regarding the others, are you talking about their general machoness when you speak of confidence? Their overseas numbers hardly point out anything solid, and most of the time they end up looking pretty poor as well. To keep the discussion valid, I thought we were comparing them with their predecessors (the present seniors) and comparing their performances. All I am saying is the current soon-to-be-retired lot looked miles better than these guys when they had their overseas starts. And I am pretty much sceptical as to how these young runs would fare going by their extremely unimpressive overseas starts and overall stats.