Railways 2012

Marginal increase in passenger fares: The increase will be by 2 paise per km for suburban and ordinary second class; 3 paise per km f or mail/express second class; 5 paise per km for sleeper class; 10 paise per km for AC Chair Car, AC 3 tier and First Class; 15 paise per km for AC 2 tier and 30 paise per km for AC I. Minimum fare and platform tickets to cost Rs 5. 50% concession in fare in AC-2, AC-3, Chair Car & Sleeper classes to patients suffering from âplastic Anaemia and ôickle Cell Anaemia? Extending the facility of travel by Rajdhani and Shatabdi trains to Arjuna Awardees. Travel distance under êzzat Scheme to increase from 100 kms to 150 kms. SMS on passenger mobile phone in case of e-ticket to be accepted as proof of valid reservation. Introduction of satellite based real time train information system (SIMRAN) to provide train running information to passengers through SMS, internet, etc. On board passenger displays indicating next halt station and expected arrival time to be introduced. Installation of 321 escalators at important stations of which 50 will be commissioned in 2012-13. Introduction of regional cuisine at affordable rates; launching of Book-a-meal scheme to provide multiple choice of meals through SMS or email. Introduction of coin/currency operated ticket vending machines. Upgradation of 929 stations as Adarsh Stations including 84 stations proposed in 2012-13; 490 stations have been completed so far. Specially designed coaches for differently-abled persons to be provided in each Mail/Express trains. Introduction of Rail Bandhu on-board magazines on Rajdhanis, Shatabdis and Duronto trains. Setting up of AC Executive lounges at important stations 75 new Express trains to be introduced. 21 new passenger services, 9 DEMU services and 8 MEMU services to be introduced. Run of 39 trains to be extended. Frequency of 23 trains to be increased. 75 additional services to run in Mumbai suburban; 44 new suburban services to be introduced in Kolkata area, 50 new services to be introduced in Kolkata Metro; 18 additional services in Chennai area. 725 km new lines, 700 km doubling, 800 km gauge conversion and 1,100 km electrification targeted in 2012-13.
http://www.hindustantimes.com/India-Budget-2012/Chunk-HT-UI-IndiaBudget2012-RailwayBudget2012/Railway-budget-highlights/SP-Article1-825171.aspx hmm forget all this :these days its so hard to book train tickets even one month prior in advance .Even tatkal website goes off as soon as clock strikes 8:00am ,and it remains like that till all the reservation is booked .Looks like a Big SCAM in itself .

Another :facepalm: for UPA - the Rail Minister increased fares for the 1st time in 9 years without even consulting his own party and now reports suggest that Mamta Bannerjee has asked him to either roll back the fare hike or resign.

Can a minister discuss budget with his party, before it's released? I don't think so. I think he made a mistake of increasing the fare 'across the board'. A hike in fare for the 'upper classes' should've been a good start and then he could've increased the fare for all in the next budget.. In any case Mmomota Di is running amok now.. I remember the days she was holding the NDA n ransom, every other day. You don't need opponents if you've allies like TMC.. My hearty condolences to UPA..
Can a minister discuss budget with his party' date= before it's released? I don't think so. I think he made a mistake of increasing the fare 'across the board'. A hike in fare for the 'upper classes' should've been a good start and then he could've increased the fare for all in the next budget.. In any case Mmomota Di is running amok now.. I remember the days she was holding the NDA n ransom, every other day. You don't need opponents if you've allies like TMC.. My hearty condolences to UPA..
Of course. In fact most of the times the General Budget and Railway Budget are made in such a way as to reflect the policies of the ruling Govt. Every single ministry is consulted before preparing even a rough draft for the Budget. Increasing the fares in the Railway Budget is a very, very important decision and if its been taken by Dinesh Trivedi without consulting his own Party/Coalition then its wrong. Thats why I have always said that these small regional parties are bad for the country because they always find ways to blackmail the Govt and stall its agenda and thats why things like 3rd front can't materialize - these regional satraps are so unpredictable.

Railway fares are in the last decade. A Sleeper class fare from delhi to Tamilnadu costs 530 odd rupees. This is a distance of 2100 kms (25p per km) In Contrast a bus ticket from Bangalore to Chennai nowadays costs 300 bucks, close to 1 rupee per km. Prices need to be hiked marginally.

Fares should only to cover capital and operating expenses. Comparison to bus fares is immaterial. If buses are costlier to operate than train, then so be it.
Fares should only to cover capital and operating expenses. Comparison to bus fares is immaterial. If buses are costlier to operate than train' date=' then so be it.[/quote'] so where will money come from to cover upgradation ,Salary Hike etc ? If they don't increase price they will increase Taxes to cover that .
Fares should only to cover capital and operating expenses. Comparison to bus fares is immaterial. If buses are costlier to operate than train' date=' then so be it.[/quote'] What about costs to pay salaries, infrastructure upgradation, the huge pension bill that railways has to foot. Railroads are terribly expensive to build, typically 100-120 crore per km. Where does the fund to expand come from?
What about costs to pay salaries, infrastructure upgradation, the huge pension bill that railways has to foot. Railroads are terribly expensive to build, typically 100-120 crore per km. Where does the fund to expand come from?
Loan from treasury department.. It's basically 'Policy Paralisys' because of managing a coalition..

This fare increase is justified IMO. There are many reasons for it - Fuel prices are going up constantly but railway fares hadn't been increased in 9 years. There's lots of work to be done as far as safety and cleanliness in Indian Trains is concerned. Then there is the electrification of various railway lines across the country that will need huge amounts of money. Then there's the Bullet trains that are due to start from 2015 - I don't know whether work on that has started yet or not but its very expensive and any shortage of money will mean compromise on some important parameters like safety. Infrastructure upgradation and modernization is the need of the hour and that needs money.

Loan from treasury department.. It's basically 'Policy Paralisys' because of managing a coalition..
this year the gross budgetary support for railway ministry stood at Rs 24,000 crore. The Govt is already facing a Fiscal Deficit and has to give huge amounts in subsidies and not much is expected to come from disinvestment - how much more can the Govt afford??

I don't knw why Railwy is always in deficit. Most trains are always full, You have to book via Tatkal scheme and pay 150 Rs extra per ticket. Its time railway becomes 50% private...

What about costs to pay salaries, infrastructure upgradation, the huge pension bill that railways has to foot. Railroads are terribly expensive to build, typically 100-120 crore per km. Where does the fund to expand come from?
Ganesh and Stuge, I included salary in operational expense and infrastructure in capital expense. In any case, I was only arguing that high cost of bus fare is not a reason to increase the train fare. I was not commenting on need for the hike.
http://in.finance.yahoo.com/news/-live--railway-budget-2012-to-be-dedicated-to-increasing-safety.html?mod=budgetNews I have two options; either to keep the Railways in a status quo position or to bite the bullet, the railway minister says. I have a Himalayan task of running the railways, he adds. A sum of Rs 14 lakh crore (Rs 14 trillion) is required in the next decade for this sector. The twelfth plan investment will be increased to Rs 7.35 crore from Rs 1.92 lakh during the eleventh plan, he proposed.The railways have sought as much as Rs 40,000 crore of budgetary support from the government this fiscal, double the money it had demanded just a year earlier.

Got lucky!! I've been informed by NDTV people that I'm the first winner of their hourly sms contest on the budget day. Prize carries a cash reward of INR 1 lakh.

:woot:
:two_thumbs_up::two_thumbs_up:
:two_thumbs_up: