Crookbond Posted April 9, 2012 Posted April 9, 2012 see post#81 and 82. They aren't cheap shots. There are a lot of gracious words in the article too, IMHO. Any criticism of Tendulkar (other article) you find ok?
bulbul Posted April 9, 2012 Posted April 9, 2012 ^ you dont want response..but i still ask question...why you bring others names when some one asks questions...Past or present doesnt matter... I also dont need any response for this :two_thumbs_up:
Ultimate_Game Posted April 9, 2012 Posted April 9, 2012 ^ above all are your opinions... I ahve opinion whats best to team..whats wrong in that.. I am asking you some straight forward questions but you refer to UG....why cant give simple answers That seems to be BB's approach to debating on the forum related to SRT... 1. Shoot the messenger by claiming the point at issue is a "cheap shot" or the poster is a troll. 2. Refer to some other threads or posters even though that poster or thread may not have anything to do with the topic being debated :dontknow: In my guess he referred to India's performance thread and about some other poster who created that thread. With you he's bringing my posts in. I simply can't comprehend what that proves other than the fact that one can't counter the points raised. 3. If the above 2 points fail to derail the discussion or the thread then take some post out of context or take snippets of your posts like he did above about the interview related thing. I asked about 4-5 points and he quoted just one of those and claimed I was lying :omg: 4. Lastly, and most importantly, never debate the points raised in the thread and come up with something new. E.g., author is talking about divergence in SRT and team's objectives & priorities over the last year and BB is busy claiming the author is asking for SRT's retirement.
bulbul Posted April 9, 2012 Posted April 9, 2012 ^ honestly speaking i no longer care about International cricket any more..all IPL from now onwards.. My question is BB always talk about keeping the site clean...for that he will tell he attacks people who attacks Sachin.. But now he should have easily avoided unencessary discussions by closing this thread or asking OP to close the discussions..no he dont do that he just particpate and worry about some Writer and continue the debate..as i already wrote in one of the posts everyone can see where these debates lead into.. Why cant people stop this in begining itself rather than going midway then accuse others of spoiling the threads/forum etc..
Crookbond Posted April 9, 2012 Posted April 9, 2012 Can we see some examples ? I am asking you - What criticism of Sachin Tendulkar (an article, an opinion, a memo) have you ever found OK?
Crookbond Posted April 9, 2012 Posted April 9, 2012 That seems to be BB's approach to debating on the forum related to SRT... 1. Shoot the messenger by claiming the point at issue is a "cheap shot" or the poster is a troll. 2. Refer to some other threads or posters even though that poster or thread may not have anything to do with the topic being debated :dontknow: In my guess he referred to India's performance thread and about some other poster who created that thread. With you he's bringing my posts in. I simply can't comprehend what that proves other than the fact that one can't counter the points raised. 3. If the above 2 points fail to derail the discussion or the thread then take some post out of context or take snippets of your posts like he did above about the interview related thing. I asked about 4-5 points and he quoted just one of those and claimed I was lying :omg: 4. Lastly, and most importantly, never debate the points raised in the thread and come up with something new. E.g., author is talking about divergence in SRT and team's objectives & priorities over the last year and BB is busy claiming the author is asking for SRT's retirement. The point 4 is the real issue here. In addition, I wonder why is it not OK to be "disagreeable". X believes it is Statement1 and Y believe it is Statement2. I am personally fine with it. What I take offense to is Y "imposing" (by whatever means - abuse, name calling etc.) his beliefs on X. Finally, we all know who the Bhakhts and Bashers are. You won't find them on any other thread apart from Sachin. As far as I have been here, I can at least state that I find you in most other discussions too.
Crookbond Posted April 9, 2012 Posted April 9, 2012 Can't recall any. But the bigger problem is people accepting garbage like the one in the OP as honest valid criticism backed up by factually correct statements. Thanks for this clarification. Does this mean that you believe Tendulkar is infallible?
Crookbond Posted April 9, 2012 Posted April 9, 2012 The Bradman Samaj members are some of the biggest offenders in this regard. I concur but the Sachin fanboys too have contributed with an open heart to this cause. damn what a unique formula to nail down the culprits . So if I start spamming the forum on threads that don't interest me I will somehow become a poster that you would consider as non-bhakth ? Did I say you were a Bhakt? I was making a statement in general. Unless you are one, I don't think you should find the urge to respond. The answer to your question is NO. But most certainly, posters posting only on Tendulkar threads would have a high probability of being a Sachin Bhakht or a Basher. Furthermore, if you see that they the only "relevant" threads to them is Tendulkar you can nail them down.
Crookbond Posted April 9, 2012 Posted April 9, 2012 it only means that I havent seen any such article. I can't possibly have read all articles on Tendulkar. But Iam all ears as to why you think the article in the OP is a genuine one. I think the article in the OP is an opinion. He doesn't mention complete facts but he doesn't muddle up completely either. He does raise a couple of important points. I am able to appreciate his opinion. I don't entirely agree with him but I don't entirely disagree with him either. Absolutely why should they not respond in kind ? I am no one to say what one shouldn't or not do. To each one his own. You feel it's appropriate to do so, I'm fine with it. Not now but you have said this before. I've said a lot of things before (which I may not have meant or even meant); doesn't mean we get history into each one of our posts. Lets discuss on the points at hand. If you feel the other is being unreasonable, leave it. I am just repeating what you said - "No prizes for winning debates on Internet forums". Correct. I just don't get the part where you equate someone being a SRT fan as something derogatory. Did I ever say SRT fans are derogatory? I don't think so. Hell I am one for crying out loud! It's the "fanatics" which drive some posters crazy. An opinion gets debunked emotionally. Here's one such post I pointed - http://www.indiancricketfans.com/showpost.php?p=1908049&postcount=68 Also, the same people whom you're arguing with have sung praises for the Little Master in various other threads. I firmly believe you're wise enough to separate the wheat (cricket lovers) from the chaff (SRT bashers). I will leave it at this.
CSK Fan Posted April 10, 2012 Posted April 10, 2012 They aren't cheap shots. There are a lot of gracious words in the article too' date=' IMHO. Any criticism of Tendulkar (other article) you find ok?[/quote'] It's nothing but a cheap article taking personal shots at a celebrity. If such an article was written on a movie star or any other sportsman (what dress he wears, how he celebrates, calling him words narcist) no one would take such an article seriously. But suddenly it's open season on Sachin and anyone who objects to the cheap publicity stunts of certain writers is a bhakt and non objective
tothepoint Posted April 10, 2012 Posted April 10, 2012 Give it up UG and McC. Had you two still been a die hard fan of Sachin, you would have clearly seen that this article is written in a bad light. What is it with him not making a single press appearance in England and Australia? Do you guys really think Sachin deliberately did so? Do you think he keeps a track record of media and all, when he has so many other records to worry for :P Yaar Sachin didnt do it because he was never told to do it, thats it, he is not the one who takes all the decisions. And what's up with making fun of his so called media blitz, he could not have gone in hiding after Asia cup, when everyone from Manmohan Singh to Ambanis were hell bent on celebrating it, even though it came in a losing cause. Even at the innings break, Sachin was humble enough to say that this century would mean nothing to him if the team doesn't win. Look Sachin has entertained us for so many years, yes his 100th 100 was one of the worst he ever scored because of the high standards he has set, was in a losing cause but he cannot be blamed for the loss. I am sure when he will retire you will feel bad as well. Why take potshots at the great man just because some of his erratic fans are/were doing the same for other great Indian cricketers! Like Dravid, he has been an almost perfect role model for all of us and we should embrace both of them. And BB, I am sure somewhere you must have written good things about our ever sacrificing great WALL. Kindly bring forward that and half the animosity between us INDIANS would be gone
urbestfriend Posted April 10, 2012 Posted April 10, 2012 Well, bit harsh but to the point, I felt the same after listening to his interviews/press conferences etc..He didn't have a word to say about team's performances at England and Australia, it was only about him, his struggle to get that hyped up century , how he was in so much pressure for this milestone, yada yada.. Almost as if he cares little for team's loss.
Marut Posted April 10, 2012 Posted April 10, 2012 The article is obviously "milking" the name of Sachin for the sake of cheap publicity. But the fact remains that Sachin is in steep decline and is only a shadow of his former self and must make way for a "new Sachin". His value in the team is diminishing rapidly given his age and it is only a matter of time he will leave a bad impression on his legacy if he does not have any retirement plan in place.