The folly of shielding the tail

And you think the instructions to them were to throw their bats around at anything and everything?:hysterical:
Its plain & simple. There was no special instruction to any player. The think tank just left it to the individual's common sense. I would have expected the set senior bat, to take over the initiative & guide the tailenders.

Its likely due to Laxman's inability to hit the big shots, or rather hiw unwillingness to try something he's not comfortable with, more than selfish reasons to remain not out. Whatever it is, lack of even one aggressive stroke batting alongside 3 tailenders is not easy to justify

Its plain & simple. There was no special instruction to any player. The think tank just left it to the individual's common sense. I would have expected the set senior bat' date= to take over the initiative & guide the tailenders.
Do you really think in a needle encounter like the one at Kotla against arch rivals Pakistan, there would not be a strategy as to how the tail should try to bat? And if these guys really thought that this was common sense then they deserve a huge kick up their backsides.
Guest BossBhai

-- Removed on request of the user --

and here's another one... :) I would like to know how some boring cricketers like Kallis, Inzy did with the tail... somebody grab the stats plz... I couldn't browse to cricinfo here...

Guest BossBhai

so Inzy was decent enough... but I don't think Laxman has the same reputation among the indian players as Waugh, Inzy or Kallis would have had... He was never their leader. it is not easy to handle guys, especially tail-enders ...

Guest BossBhai

and here's another one... :) I would like to know how some boring cricketers like Kallis, Inzy did with the tail... somebody grab the stats plz... I couldn't browse to cricinfo here...
Praveen, these stats can only be found here at indiancricketfans.com - nowhere else. See, Bossbhai has trained 50 chimpanzees into small time programmers and data base operators - these little chimps are chained to the the desks in a tight studio room in his basement, doing nothing but coding all day long, and Bossbhai exploits them by paying below average wages of 0.20 per hour (that's paise, not cents), no benefits. Yet he still provides us an excellent product, ie; these exclusive stats which you can use at almost no cost. indiancricketfans.com is like the Walmart of cricket statistics
these exclusive stats which you can use at almost no cost. indiancricketfans.com is like the Walmart of cricket statistics
sometimes, you have to go by stats too... they are just an illustration of what actually happened... if it is true that these stats can be found in ICF, you can probably guide me to them as I am a beginner... I bat only with SG bat..
Guest BossBhai

Likho phir ... :D PS : Did you take a look at Kapils stats and the scorecards ? Facking mind blowing yaar ... especially the ones in the Tied test and that Test in SAF where he was pissed at the state of affairs when he came in to bat and went on to man handle AD & Co ? facking bloody priceless. :hatsoff:
Chalo likhta hoon. Will need some time to think how to formulate it and will need more jaadugari with those numbers. Kapil's numbers are top notch!!
Guest BossBhai

Man!!! Some of you guys are harping about the same taking single off first ball, not upping the tempo theme even after I have told you how Waugh and other Aussies do exactly the same and the approach transformed Warne and Lee from sloggers to genuine lower order batsman, Gillespie into one of the best stonewallers in cricket, and McGrath into someone who blocked out the last 4 overs of an Ashes test under pressure and ended up with a Test 50. Now was that approach wrong despite the success it brought. If so, how?
Bump...