Ranatunga compares Bedi to a dog

King

Former Lankan Captain Arjuna Ranatunga took on former Indian cricket great Bishan Singh Bedi over his allegedly derogatory comments on Muttiah Muralitharan last week and compared him to a dog. More... Ranatunga compares Bedi to a dog Times Now NEW DELHI, August 17: Former Lankan Captain Arjuna Ranatunga took on former Indian cricket great Bishan Singh Bedi over his allegedly derogatory comments on Muttiah Muralitharan last week and compared him to a dog. What started as a usual 'Bedi outburst' against Sri Lankan spinner Muthiah Muralitharan has now turned into a major controversy with former Lankan skipper Arjuna Ranatunga unleashing an ugly war of words. Speaking exclusively to Times Now , Ranatunga lashed out at former Indian captain Bishen Singh Bedi and compared him to a dog saying that when a dog bites you, you don't bite the dog. The whole controversy surfaced when Bedi took a swipe at Murali calling him the best shot-putter in history. He went on to accuse Murali of killing the game. Bedi also said that even if Murali takes 1000 wickets, he would count them as run-outs. Bedi has been the biggest critic of Muralitharan and has time and again referred to him as a 'chucker'. Muralitharan is at present the highest wicket taker in Test cricket. The controversy has now deepened with former Sri Lanka skipper Arjuna Ranatunga coming out in support of Muralitharan. Ever since the controversy emanated, Ranatunga has been the biggest supporter of the off-spinner. Bishan Singh Bedi has captained India in 22 Test matches. He has always been embroiled in controversies for his forthright fearless speech. He is known to not take 'chucking' lightly, which he calls "a bigger threat than bribing and betting" and has been a vehement critic of Lankan player Muralitharan. One famous controversy occurred during a match against the West Indies in 1976 when he objected to the intimidatory tactics of the West Indian fast bowlers and declared the Indian first innings closed early after two players were forced to retire hurt. Subsequently, five players were absent hurt in the second innings of the match. Speaking to Times Now , Arjun Ranatunga dismissed Bedi as a publicity hound. He also said that Muralitharan should not be worried about an Old Man whose life is ending. Muralitharan is reportedly suing Bedi and demanding a compensation of $6.7 mn for the disparaging comments that were made against him.

Whoa.. This is getting ugly now, which is expected. Murali is such a HUGE figure in Sri Lanka , its odd no one has come out in open support for him. Now , Ranatunga has started the verbal volleys. I condemn Ranatunga for comparing Bedi to a dog and saying " Murali should not react to an old man whose life is ending" , but i do agree with him when he says Bedi is a publicity hound. Bedi is in trouble here, and rest assured there wouldnt be anyone rushing to his support if his travails deepens. Good luck , Mr.Bedi.

Yup although the life ending comment is OTT Bedi I suppose cannot expect to abuse someone and get away with it just like that. I'm sure none will standby Bedi. You call someone a cheat and a monster you are going to get back in kind of course.

ab maza aayge ab barbabri ka takkar hai akel bedi tar tar kiye ja raha tha.. sardarji ab khair manao road-roller tumhare pichhe hai.........

that's true. for Bedi' date=' I wonder why he keeps going on about it, you said it once so we know where you stand :regular_smile: this is almost like he sets an yearly alarm, then wakes up and bashes Murali :haha:[/quote'] :haha:

Do not have much respect for Bedi but even less so for Ranatunga. he's pretty much a beggar himself..he will stoop down to any level to get some publicity and a job. What he did to earn the India coashing job was descipable..even worse was his comments on Whatmore when he applied for pakistan coach job.

Ama yaar aisa kya kah diya tha usne he didn't like whatmore's style and he said it ..
He was the skipper and Whatmore the coach when the lankans won the WC. He wudnt have uttered a word against Whatmore back then..he simly appears to be way too sly now..

That's ur sensibility.. just because srilanak won world-cup negatives of whatmore which he saw from closed wuarters must be overlooked is an indian sense of gratitude, world doesn't work like that..