Poll on forum policy

The Outsider

Poll on forum policy  

• Petty insults and any other abuse should be dealt with infractions leading to a ban
    • Petty insults should be discouraged(by edit/delete) but should not lead to a ban

CP as much as that ivory tower concept of one nation with zero borders sounds juicy and hunky dory .... its impractical and unrealistic .... there is no way you are going to take the "Indian" out of "Indian Cricket Fan" and I would like to think that a vast majority here are Indians first and whatever later .... hence the rules will obvioulsy be as per those norms.
No, your likes and dislikes can be "as per those norms". But rules and regulations cannot be "as per those norms". Unless, being a patriotic person to both India and the team is an entry criteria into this forum. It wasn't when I joined, and now I will vote and fight to keep it that way. You hate the Indian team, and the Indian players - you are still a welcome member here. Just dont abuse other members personally.

Exactly. If I find something pathetic about India ... I want to be able to call it out. I fully expect to be rebuked by the majority .... and thats fair .... but NOT get banned for expressing my freedom of speach!

So finey tell me why Religious discussions are a taboo ?
If we are a zillion dollar website & have all the lawyers in the world to fight law suits, it wont be banned. The ONLY reason religious discussions dont go on here, is to protect the interests of this website.

Iam all for reforming even the un-reformable but no kiss-assing
All this brouhaha started because certain Mods consider one chhichhora-par-excellance with kid glove.. That sample came out of ban for some reason and very next moment did exactly the same thing for which he was banned..

Boss is the only guy who is failing to see the obvious... By sticking steadfast to his own premonitions and extreme stances, he risks losing all the respect and adulation he has earned from so many posters through his valuable contributions. Three cheers to the patience of the Mods in trying to answer all his questions and doubts, some of those border on being from rhetorical to downright naive sometimes, like when he says he is willing to take risks and stuff. What a waste of the Mods' valuable time. At a time when everyone should be discussing how to take the site forward, we are talking about how not to go backward. Unfortunate ! Make no mistake, we have some of the finest minds here, if we play our cards, we can go BIG places. But where's the time to think about all that ? When the Mods are busy settling petty, silly, juvenile fights ?

Religious discussion is tabboo because certain religion's edict are indefensible and any kind of rational talk turns out damning for them.. Hence the censorship of talk.. Kahte hain na baat nikalegi to phir door talak jayegi.. log bewajaha behayai ka saba poochenge.. ye bhi poochhenge aapne ye kyun ki wo kyunki.. batao bato mein unka naam bhi aayega..:D

no because you conveniently "forgot" about those million posts over there .... after which I got fed up and now suddenly you have woken up.
Not really. My exercise was to show you, what a ridiculous precedent we would be setting if we go down that path of banning people for calling others idiots. Posters like Anakin or dsr, who have been loyal forummers here, would be among the first to go, because they liberally use it on fellow forummers or a group of people, in majority of their posts. Infact, i cant think of a SINGLE poster here, who would not have used a petty insult towards a fellow forummer. If we ban everyone, why have a forum ? We can simply exchange emails or PMs right ? And what good is a forum, thats devoid of even that much aggro ?

For some comic relief I did a search on the world "idiot" to see how many forummers would be banned. Ofcourse, ignored the poll thread and other discussions on such words (as they dont constitute abuse). Here are the top entries: 1) dada_rocks http://indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?p=320674&highlight=idiot#post320674 http://indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?p=319803&highlight=idiot#post319803 2) CC1981: http://indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?p=320247&highlight=idiot#post320247 http://indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?p=319065&highlight=idiot#post319065 3) BossBhai: http://indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?p=319908&highlight=idiot#post319908 http://indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?p=320205&highlight=idiot#post320205 4) HouMac: http://indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?p=320124&highlight=idiot#post320124 5) Salil: http://indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?p=319842&highlight=idiot#post319842 6) sandtest: http://indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?p=319956&highlight=idiot#post319956 http://indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?p=319065&highlight=idiot#post319065 7) dsr: http://indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?p=319870&highlight=idiot#post319870 8) BongoSamaj2: http://indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?p=319071&highlight=idiot#post319071 Isnt it hilarious you guys are voting for your own bans ?:cantstop:
AB CC ko idiot nahi to aur kya bolun batao:haha:.. BTW u should post the percenateg of idiot word used meanign divide it by number of total posts multipy it by 100... let ussee who heads the list then..

And I told you I was prepared to take the risks didnt I... what next ?
But its not just about you, its about 10 of us. You may be prepared to take that risk, but others arent. If you really care about making a difference you should take that risk as an individual & move fwd with it. Hari has done it against Sai Baba, so there is a successful precedent there, if you have the will. But I cant be ar$ed with law suits to just get a few points across on a religion.

AB CC ko idiot nahi to aur kya bolun batao:haha:.. BTW u should post the percenateg of idiot word used meanign divide it by number of total posts multipy it by 100... let ussee who heads the list then..
Am sure you, CC, Boss & sandtest would be fighting for the Gold, Silver & Bronze medal (not necessarily in that order):haha:

Right so its nothing do with money .. and something else .... just as I thought. So why this excuse of "This is a Free Speech Forum" ? Turns out it isnt realy a free speech forum afterall.
Its got everything to do with money, time & drive. I dont want to spend a dime or a minute fighting religious lawsuits. Nor do i have the conviction or the drive to fight such lawsuits. If you are so driven, why dont you do something about it as an individual ? Why do you want to put Ravi & Sanjay at risk ?

Varun' date=' Can the ignore feature be coded such that even when people "quote" others, ignore is still ignore! Otherwise that ignore feature is losing its purpose.[/color']
No feature can help posters ignore each other. The "ignore" button you are looking for, is in the mental makeup & maturity of the forummers. If you want to ignore, you can ignore anything. And you can be assured that the ignore list is just an eyewash. I expect people to read EVERY post made by folks on their ignore list, not once, but twice. Cant stop your curiosity.

This is all so stupid. If Boss and CC want to insult one another, let 'em do it in the confines of the Politics forum. My suggestion - leave that section of the forum completely unmoderated. Let people say whatever they like; they start it so let them finish it. Most of the bad blood emanates from those discussions anyway, so instead of drawing attention to them (by making sticky polls on the main forum) just leave them alone as part of an isolated section of the forum. Intervention only makes it worse - i am sure the mods know this already. As long as this bullsh it doesn't seep into the cricket forum (and it rarely ever does) i don't see why anyone should care. Only a select few participate in those discussions; most tend to stay away - so why are you all allowing a conflict between two or three people to hijack the entire board ? It's not worth it. Stop boring all of us with all this meaningless drama - let those who want to talk cricket, talk cricket and those who want to talk politics, religion, etc. should be allowed to do so at their own free will, indirectly accepting the consequences. I am sure guys like Boss - someone who works his ass off for this website - knows where to draw the line. These are adults we are talking about, this isn't high school. Let them moderate themselves.