KANKERA(Chhattisgarh): Hitting back at political opponents, Congress leader Rahul Gandhi on Saturday said that the term yuvraj used for him was "insulting". The 39-year-old Congress scion also took exception to his being projected as the future Prime Minister, saying he supports incumbent Manmohan Singh whom he described as "most capable". "I feel the word yuvraj is insulting. India is a democratic country and this word has no meaning today," Gandhi told reporters here when asked for his comments on calling him yuvraj . Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Mayawati often describes Rahul Gandhi as a yuvraj while attacking him. The description of Rahul Gandhi as a yuvraj of common man by a Congress member E M Sudarsana Natchiappan also sparked off an uproar in the Rajya Sabha on April 21 with BJP objecting to the use of the term as a blot on democracy.
When I read the headlines at first I thought someone had called him Yuvraj Singh :cantstop:

well lets examine his credentials for claiming to be "capable" and "eligible" for leadership of over a billion people: elite, yes, but not an academic or social elite, more of an economic elite thanks to this heredity... association with probably the richest political family outside the rockafellas in the entire world. educated, yes, and from Harvard... but there is no discernible record of him completing his degree. and that too a mere bachelors in computer science. of did i mention that his admission was the outcome of his heredity... not his merit. work experience, indeed, but as a banker, not as a public administrator. so yeah, he is indeed capable and eligible to run his family business. incidentally that family business is irreversibly associated with the life of over a billion people. any criticism of his schmuck is inadequate.

TBH , I dont hate him as I dont know anything about him. I dont think he has done anything wrong till now. Of course he doesn't have any qualifications or experience to be the next PM but then he will still make a better PM than the likes of devi Gowda , ChandraShekhar and VP Singh

Yar , whenever u see his Photo on web.. he is dozing. Ajeeb ajeeb PM mile hai India ko.. I must say Rajeev Ghandi was the best , he had a nice charm.
Guest Hiten.
Yar ' date=' whenever u see his Photo on web.. he is dozing. Ajeeb ajeeb PM mile hai India ko.. I must say Rajeev Ghandi was the best , he had a nice charm.[/quote'] :hysterical:

i guess we are trying to copy the united states a bit too much... keeping things in the family... business and now democracy. atleast george senior was merely a senator, and his son and grandson presidents... we are going to elect the gandhis to three generation of prime ministers and each one less deserving than the previous.

we are going to elect the gandhis to three generation of prime ministers and each one less deserving than the previous.
:cantstop: actually this will be the fourth Nehru Indira Rajeev and now Rahul Also, why cant he run a state first for 5 years or so. That'll give him experience on how to run a government.
Nehru won what one would call a popular contest. And for all his prowess, and farsight; he often anonymously penned criticism of his own popularity as a considerable threat to the democratic ideal, his adherence to the policy of appeasement gave us certain political individuals such as George Fernandez rather immaturely. i.e. his policies of extreme socialism in a nation without the resources and revenue to sustain social programs impended our economic growth for years. anyways, i am certainly more apprised with american history than india so that is as far as i would comment... but yeah of the entire family, while each had certain milestone achievements... electing Rahul simply on the basis of his legacy is rather disheartening that inspite of considerable economic and social progress, politically indians are just as immature as they ever were.
i guess we are trying to copy the united states a bit too much... keeping things in the family... business and now democracy. atleast george senior was merely a senator' date=' and his son and grandson presidents... we are going to elect the gandhis to three generation of prime ministers and each one less deserving than the previous.[/quote'] TYes, but Gandhi or not the constitution gives him a right to stand for PM as anyone else. Seems like you are prejudiced against him only becuase he is from the Gandhi famliy. He can stand for the election just like you and me. Its the people who are gonna vote!
TYes, but Gandhi or not the constitution gives him a right to stand for PM as anyone else. Seems like you are prejudiced against him only becuase he is from the Gandhi famliy. He can stand for the election just like you and me. Its the people who are gonna vote!
if this guy is elected, i would be more critical of those who voted him in rather than this dude himself. however, he will be open to criticism for any policy decisions he makes. as for my prejudice against the gandhi family... there is none. i am however critical of the process by which they have come into power, on the basis of sheer popularity rising from a sympathy vote due to a tragic loss or a suspension of democracy for their personal benefit... and the subsequent misuse of power that came with it. i am appreciative of their taciturn in the establishment of the state of Bangladesh but their lack of forsight, heavy handedness in dealing with the punjab and kashmir separatists will leave a dark smudge on our record of democracy and human rights for decades to come.

This rahul gandhi has alredy started his campaigning for PM, he has impressed all the villagers now. Villagers in India are bloody illeterate. they would just be impressed by the goodies given to them by Rahul gandhi during his campaign visit in their village, and hence in return they will all vote for mr. Rahul. i don't know how innocent this Rahul guy is. but this campaigning is all shyt stuff. all these Indian ministers before elections start this campaigning all around India. and specially visiting Villages and offering them some goodies so that in return they can earn votez. villagers are illeterate enough to accept those goodies and understand the person as a great person to lead the country..

maybe you should help those villagers... go volunteer at an evening school for adults or tutor some poor kid in your neighborhood. there are many private schools in delhi that has started this campaign. (helps to do something about the problem than point a self righteous finger at those who were unable to access the same resources that you had, those who never saw the inside of a textbook or a computer screen)

Cant blame the "illiterate" villagers here - basically almost all politicians have been crooks. Irrespective of who is in power, barely anything gets done to improve the conditions of the villages or the lives of the villagers. So they are naturally biased towards someone who showers them with goodies before elections, as they know that are they are screwed after elections regardless.

whoz blaming the villagers?? m saying, they are being fooled..
Cricketics, didnt mean to say that you were blaming the villagers. Just meant to say that villagers make the best of what they have available as they know very well that after elections nobody cares about them. One such instance is when people queued upto buy Rs.2 per kg of rice. From their perspective, they would rather vote for someone who gave them cheap rice rather than for someone with hollow promises. When you break down things to the very basics, it all boils down to what can they get out of this election campaign tamasha.