Indian Pop music started in the 80s with Babla coming out with 'Disco Diwani". We have come a long way from there with Alisha Chinoy, Baba Sehgal in the 90s to the Jassis, Sukhbir, Daler etc. Please list all the good popular ones here. I will go with: Qh74OunnjdQ&feature=related

Sharon Prabhakar was probably born in the wrong decade. Twenty years late and she could have achieved a lot of success and recognition.

The first name that comes to mind when you talk of Indi pop of 80s is Remo Fernandez. To me he was the first star much ahead of Alisha Chinai and Sharon Prabhakar. I beleive the first Indian pop song that I heard was Remo's - Graham Bell if you came to India you would have jumped into a well - probably a comment on Indian Telephone system but I can only vaguely recall listening to it in a New year's programme. The second name that comes to mind is Biddu. He of course is famous for his music with Nazia Hussain and in many Hindi movies, Qurbani being the standout even though I thought his song in the movie Goonj - Sama yeh Suhaana akele tum ho akele hum hain - was probably his best work. Goonj was also quite popular for its other number - Sutta lagao yaaro ek doosre ka joootha maaro sooota. Between Alisha and Sharon Prabhkar I kinda liked Alisha Chinai more. Had her very first album(I beleive it was called Babydoll) and others as well.

Yes, it was from Qurbani. I meant Biddu, when I said Babla. Who is Babla, anyway? I forgot about Remo. But he sang out and out Hinglish songs. Other guy who was famous in the 80s was another import from Pakistan - that Hawa Hawa guy.

Yes, it was from Qurbani. I meant Biddu, when I said Babla. Who is Babla, anyway?
Babla, if I am not mistaken, is related to one of the big music directors - Kalyanji Anandji or Lakshmi Pyarelal. Not sure who amongst the two really. Babla came into prominence thanks to doing Cover music for many of Gulshan Kumar casettes. Babla was the voice used to cover Mukesh's song of yesteryears(Kumar Sanu mimiced Kishore, Sonu Nigham mimiced Rafi and Anuradha Paundwal mimiced Lata). Also if you are into beating your head too much try following the casting of yesteryear movies. You will see Babla's name as Asstt Music Director to many music directors.
I forgot about Remo. But he sang out and out Hinglish songs. Other guy who was famous in the 80s was another import from Pakistan - that Hawa Hawa guy.
You are talking of Hasan Jehangir. He was kinda one hit wonder but that song was a rage. Around the same time as Hawa Hawa, Attaullah Khan(another Pakistani import) became the rage of nation with - Accha sila diya tune mere pyaar ka, yaar ne hi loot liya ghar yaar ka.