Kriterion Posted August 30, 2008 Posted August 30, 2008 At one place There is a simple--islamic Dawah preacher, who says, look up -- there is allah, He is everything worship him and you will get all rewards including your sexual desires fulfilled when you are dead.......Ditto with Evangelical and their Miracle idiocy. this is actually not true. for example, many children born to mixed religion families, choose the non muslim faith because its "easier" to follow. you can drink, sleep around, don't have to wake up at 5 am to pray, don't have to fast, etc. why wait for the afterlife to bang 72 chicks, when ron jeremy's done a few thousand in the good ole hear and now?
mhr123 Posted August 30, 2008 Posted August 30, 2008 this is actually not true. for example, many children born to mixed religion families, choose the non muslim faith because its "easier" to follow. you can drink, sleep around, don't have to wake up at 5 am to pray, don't have to fast, etc. why wait for the afterlife to bang 72 chicks, when ron jeremy's done a few thousand in the good ole hear and now? U think only Virgins are women ?? Even Men can be virgin mate. The concept is both men and women will get companions in heaven, but in that live they will be different, it will not be like here on earth. there life will not be like marriage, sex or ... they will both be pure in sprit and companions of each other with out the lust of this world. should i say they will be true friends, boy friends and girl friends birth , marriage, children, and death are for this world. The Holy Quran mentions about "maidens chaste" and "companions in heaven":only.No number it specifies. In an unauthorized version of the traditions, it is so high lighted.! To the Muslims the Holy Quran is the book of prime guidance.Traditions help in clarifying issues.They are not binding when they are not in agreement with Quranic verses, if any. Islam is the only religion in the world which enjoins the head of the family not only to seek ways to get into the heaven all alone but ensure that the whole family to go with him to heaven (Holy Quran 66:6), "Enter the Garden(paradise), you and your wives, to be made glad(rejoice)!"( 43:70) One's own wife ,who has done good deeds here, would get transformed as "hur" in heaven!
punjabi_khota Posted August 30, 2008 Posted August 30, 2008 U think only Virgins are women ?? Even Men can be virgin mate. The concept is both men and women will get companions in heaven, but in that live they will be different, it will not be like here on earth. there life will not be like marriage, sex or ... they will both be pure in sprit and companions of each other with out the lust of this world. should i say they will be true friends, boy friends and girl friends birth , marriage, children, and death are for this world. The Holy Quran mentions about "maidens chaste" and "companions in heaven":only.No number it specifies. In an unauthorized version of the traditions, it is so high lighted.! To the Muslims the Holy Quran is the book of prime guidance.Traditions help in clarifying issues.They are not binding when they are not in agreement with Quranic verses, if any. Islam is the only religion in the world which enjoins the head of the family not only to seek ways to get into the heaven all alone but ensure that the whole family to go with him to heaven (Holy Quran 66:6), "Enter the Garden(paradise), you and your wives, to be made glad(rejoice)!"( 43:70) One's own wife ,who has done good deeds here, would get transformed as "hur" in heaven! Hahahaha...no chick likes to **** a virgin guy. :giggle:
fineleg Posted August 30, 2008 Posted August 30, 2008 according to you... I have undergone past life regression. Now anyone who tells me that there is nothing like a soul, etc just draws a smile from me, for I was like that once. Heck, I underwent hypnotherapy just to see for myself whether it was BS, or there was something that I did not understand.... Holy, What is this past life regression you underwent? What happens during this, and how did this happen for you?
THX_1138 Posted August 30, 2008 Posted August 30, 2008 http://www.frontlineonnet.com/stories/20080912251806500.htm The Upanishads, composed in the 8th or 9th century B.C., form the basis of all major faiths that originated in India. SANCHI, SCULPTED TORANAS, 1st century A.D. This most significant Buddhist art was created under the rule of the Satavahana kings, who personally revered Hindu deities. The first 600 years of surviving art with Buddhist themes was all made under the rule of Hindu kings. Other early cultures of the world present numerous representations, in their art, of warfare, war memorials and prisoners. The Indus Valley Civilisation of the 4th and 3rd millennium B.C. is unique in not providing even one such image in its many artistic depictions. This is the only civilisation where archaeology has not unearthed evidence of weapons of war or barracks for an army or police. Historians are also fascinated that all evidence points to a thriving, cooperative system and not a conventional kingship. Perhaps the most remarkable aspect of ancient Indian history is the humility of rulers. Even a king whose territories were as vast as Asoka’s, covering practically all of the subcontinent, hardly, even in his numerous edicts and inscriptions, mentions his own name. He is just described as “devanampiya piyadassiâ€, “beloved of the divine†and “one whose vision is filled with adorationâ€. This is not a title he had given himself; it is a term used for his father, his grandfather, other Indian kings and even for kings beyond Indian shores. This is the same period of time when a thousand years of art does not have one portrait of a king, in sculpture or painting. The only exception was the period of the Kushanas, who hailed from southern China. They had portraits made of themselves in the 1st century A.D. After them, Indian art reverted to its traditions and the first portrait to come was 700 years later, in the time of the Pallavas, at Mamallapuram. It is marvellous to see that kings of early times in India gave equal support to all faiths of people they ruled. As an instance, from the earliest Buddhist art of the 2nd century B.C onwards, until at least the 5th century A.D, all ancient Buddhist art was produced during the rule of kings who worshipped Hindu deities. Best of all, while a king worshipped Siva or Vishnu, his wife freely worshipped the Buddha or Mahavira. In the meantime, his generals and ministers also freely followed the Buddha, Mahavira or any other deity they chose to. The earliest Buddhist art of the world are the sculpted railings of stupas of the 2nd century B.C. Asoka’s pillars had only images that were common to all Indic faiths, such as the chakra, which stands for the cosmic order and is very common in the Jaina art of the early period. anyone say Confucianism or Scientology? what about the Church of the Latter Day Saints? or the Jedi Order? so what are we celebrating there? that the origin of the inspiration of all the other forms of mass delusion is in india? i am more proud of our achievements in physics: Bose (i dont credit Einstein) Statistical Mechanics and the Photoelectric Effect.
Desi Cartman Posted August 30, 2008 Posted August 30, 2008 So are we still trying to prove that my religion is better than yours ? rZ-FAV9fBII thand rakho yaar.
CC1981 Posted August 30, 2008 Posted August 30, 2008 i am more proud of our achievements in physics: Bose (i dont credit Einstein) Statistical Mechanics and the Photoelectric Effect. Largely agree. We may indeed be the source of all the mass delusions that plague this world. But at the same time, our accomplishments in matters of science, mathematics, city building and governance is unparalleled in this world. For eg, knowledgable people here ( here be the west) are extremely proud of the British for giving them a comprehensive taxation system. Indeed, there is a good case that British surge in European polity is largely due to Britain's massively superior and re-worked taxation system in the early 1700s. Yet, people here do not know that the British taxation system (which is largely untouched in the last 300 years) is a direct adaptations of the taxation system implemented by one of the sons of our soil : Sher Shah Suri ( a Bihari-Pathan), which in turn followed the indic taxation system which is one the oldest taxation system where wealth is assesed in the forms of MONEY generated, not resources posessed. What i mean by the latter is, for most of antiquity and pre-modern age, the world has in general measured wealth in terms of gold (by weight) and resources posessed ( size of farm, size of the herd, how much rice harvested etc). Taxation schemes in egypt, china, babylonia etc used to be fixed by the size of your field (if you were a farmer) or the size of your estate - which is actually a cause of numerous economic collapses and political turmoil in those areas, since in the lean years, the masses couldn't provide the tax that was fixed by land ( if there was a drought, the farmer was fooked - he still had to pay resources in tax but now his field has nothing left in it). Arthashastra and other Indic texts predate Islamic taxation system where tax is fixed by currency value and therefore, provides a sliding scale based on one's worth from a year-to-year basis. Many such examples exist in our history and one day, when the world will realize the gravity of our history, there will be a lot less European names in the annals of scientific inventions/discoveries through the post-reneissance period. Newton or Leibnitz would be relegated behind Kerala school for inventing differentiation and integration, Kepler behind Aryabhatta for planetary trajectories and celestial movements and that our surgeons were performing complicated operations like prostrate removal, cornea surgery nearly 3000 years ago is a testament in itself to the Indic greatnesses in scientific and humanitarian persuit.