seedhi Posted September 14, 2008 Posted September 14, 2008 Absolutely shocking article!! UP Police did not arrest the terrorists behind the Delhi blasts as it might lead to communal tension!!! TO HELL WITH THE COWARDLY UP POLICE. http://www.hindu.com/2008/09/15/stories/2008091555541200.htm U.P. authorities stalled action against Delhi suspects Praveen Swami SIMI bomb-maker Subhan visited Azamgarh to discuss Delhi bombing plan Three men identified by two top SIMI operatives Authorities feared their arrest might provoke communal tension NEW DELHI: Uttar Pradesh authorities stonewalled efforts to arrest three Students Islamic Movement of India (SIMI) operatives who are emerging as key suspects in Saturday’s serial bombings in New Delhi, highly placed police sources have told The Hindu. Delhi Police sources said that the three Azamgarh-based men — whose identities are being withheld by The Hindu to avoid compromising the investigation — had been identified as core members of an Indian Mujahideen team planning fresh attacks by two top terror commanders held in Uttar Pradesh earlier this month. Fearing that police action against the three men might fuel tension in communally charged Azamgarh, police sources said, Uttar Pradesh authorities refused to order their arrest or detention for questioning, saying that interrogation reports from Gujarat and Rajasthan did not constitute adequate grounds for such action. According to a senior Delhi Police official, the three men were identified by Lucknow-based businessman Shahbaz Husain, who the Rajasthan Police says had overall charge of the terror cell which carried out the Jaipur serial bombings in May, and Azamgarh cleric Abul Bashar Qasmi, identified by the Gujarat Police as the controller of the murderous serial bombings that tore Ahmedabad apart in July. Both Qasmi and Husain told their interrogators that the three Azamgarh men had met with Abdul Subhan Qureshi, a top Mumbai-based SIMI operative, who is thought to have taught dozens of Indian Mujahideen operatives their bomb-making skills and authored the organisation’s e-mail manifestos. Qureshi, they said, had visited Azamgarh at least twice in August, soon after the Ahmedabad bombings, to discuss future attacks. New Delhi was chosen as a target during these meetings. U.P. networks Evidence on the central role of SIMI’s Uttar Pradesh networks in the Indian Mujahideen’s operations began to emerge in the course of the investigation into the December 2007 synchronised bombing of trial court buildings at Lucknow, Faizabad and Varanasi. Police learned that Jaunpur-based Mohammad Khalid Mujahid and Tariq Kazmi, using explosives provided by Jammu and Kashmir Harkat ul-Jihad-e-Islami commander Bashir Mir, had coordinated the trial court bombings. Mujahid and Kazmi were held, but their arrests provoked widespread protests by local Muslims who claimed the two men were innocent. As a result of the protests, Uttar Pradesh authorities ordered police to ease back on operations targeting SIMI. Among those who thus escaped arrest was Qasmi, an Azamgarh-based seminary student-turned-SIMI-activist, who the Gujarat Police alleges was the central figure in the July 27 serial bombings in Ahmedabad. Qasmi’s SIMI links been known to the Uttar Pradesh police since 2006, when he figured in the interrogation of Mohtasin Billa, an engineering student alleged to have facilitated that year’s serial bombings in Hyderabad. However, Qasmi was finally held only after the Gujarat Police obtained a warrant for his arrest early this month. Police officials believe earlier action could have disrupted the networks which carried out the Ahmedabad attacks. Police in Rajasthan, too, found that the networks responsible for executing the Jaipur serial bombing stretched east to Uttar Pradesh. Late last month, investigators arrested Shahbaz Husain, the businessman who, the Rajasthan Police say, was one of the Indian Mujahideen’s key organisers. Husain, who owned two successful businesses in Lucknow, is alleged to have helped organise the bombings in Jaipur and Ahmedabad — and, with Qureshi, co-authored the e-mail claiming responsibility for the attacks. Like Qasmi, Husain had long been known to the Uttar Pradesh police — but this knowledge failed to provoke action. Husain’s name figured in the interrogation of SIMI chief Safdar Nagori, who was arrested from a safehouse in Indore at the end of March. Nagori identified Husain, who he referred to by the nickname ‘Shaanu,’ as the ranking head of the group’s military operations. He told police that Qureshi had trained dozens of Indian Mujahideen operatives on Husain’s orders. Uttar Pradesh police determined that Husain was indeed a SIMI member, who was recruited into the organisation while he was a student of the Indian Institute of Mass Communications in New Delhi. Before SIMI’s proscription in 2001, police found, he briefly edited one of its English-language magazines, Islamic Movement. Interestingly, bomb-maker Qureshi worked at the Delhi offices of SIMI during this time, after resigning a position at the Mumbai-based computer firm Datamatics. However, Uttar Pradesh authorities again held back on making an arrest, arguing that the evidence available was inadequate to justify holding a prominent member of the community. Rajasthan Police investigators, however, were able to obtain an arrest warrant after several suspects held in Gujarat — including top local SIMI organiser Sajid Mansoori — correctly identified photographs of Husain, who they described as their ranking commander.
Desi Cartman Posted September 15, 2008 Posted September 15, 2008 I just hope that Indians stay calm and not do something stupid. Most muslims are peace loving and work as hard as anybody else. Its a shame that some idiots bring a bad name to the entire community which creates hatred resulting in creating more idiots who want to bomb the city where they live. I blame only politicians , poverty & illiteracy
CC1981 Posted September 15, 2008 Posted September 15, 2008 Do u have any clue what bush did ? or how Israel would have reacted ? Remains to be seen what they'd do. US/Israel have never fired upon or declared war upon a nation who has nuclear missiles capable of hitting them. Even the current US strikes in Pakistan are a completely different scenario to India attacking Pakistan because Pakistani missles cannot reach the US. So give us an example of what they'd do after they've picked a fight with a nation that can/could nuke them. Regardless of the provocation or activities, we cannot launch an allout war with Pakistan simply because it is a nuclear power and every single scenario of total war with Pakistan results to the MAD scenario ( mutually assured destruction) : we can nuke Lahore,Karachi and Islamabad but they can nuke Delhi, Mumbai and Jaipur...that is an inescapable conclusion and that is not an option !! Indian "Hindu's" dont have balls Indeed...they are gutless...they go around seeking retribution against the innocent muslims or being a bag of hot air, talking about Islamic barbarism and all that, instead of being like the west and making sure that each and every culprit is brought to justice and do our duty in keeping our eyes and ears open for these Islamic haraamkhors who'd destroy our nation and reporting them to the authorities.
punjabi_khota Posted September 15, 2008 Posted September 15, 2008 Remains to be seen what they'd do. US/Israel have never fired upon or declared war upon a nation who has nuclear missiles capable of hitting them. Even the current US strikes in Pakistan are a completely different scenario to India attacking Pakistan because Pakistani missles cannot reach the US. So give us an example of what they'd do after they've picked a fight with a nation that can/could nuke them. Yes indeed. At the time US invaded IRAQ, Saddam was telling the world there are no WMDs or nukes in IRAQ and US still went in. At the very same time, North Korea was crying hoarse about its own Nuclear arsenal..and US did jack ****.
Texy Posted September 15, 2008 Posted September 15, 2008 how long will indian hindus bear this and stay quiet? how many hindus will have to die for everyone to open their eyes........ when it comes to danish cartoons...these *******s come in doves and protest with their loudest voice....when Taslim Nasreen gives lectures.....these ppl vow to behead her and kill her in public.... when MF hussain draws Hindu goddesses in nude...there are absolutely hardly any protest from muslim community... they are taking hindus and Indians for a ride.... and they call themselves "indian mujahideen" ....and killing Indians...and our lame congress govt is sitting there and watching!!
CC1981 Posted September 16, 2008 Posted September 16, 2008 I sense a breaking point coming soon... Me too, unfortunately. One can only hope that the response would be against the endemic corruption, mob-mentality and religiosity and categoric panderings to religiosity in our nation. Where are the hindu Mistaravims ? How many blasts have happened in Israel over the last 10 years compared to India despite it being under 10 times more islamic-terrorist pressure ? We need an unit akin to misaravims badly...and these would be vital to our counter-terrorism as well as islamo-fascism ( we can take the war to the enemy). apparently our crores and crores of rupees worth VHP or RSS or hell- ANY government branch prefers to blow hot air and focus on inciting the masses to kill a lotta innocents, instead of having a proper game plan against the Islamo-terrorists, who can be very definitely beaten at their own game and made to fracture further.
THX_1138 Posted September 16, 2008 Posted September 16, 2008 at a time when i have my own personal disaster, the coinciding disaster makes my problems look like a mere inconvenience... is it true that we now are facing a serious domestic terrorism threat that might not necessarily be connected to foreign elements?... if so then maybe it is time to let the dogs loose! while i cant find moral justification for POTA, and TADA... what are our other alternatives?
DomainK Posted September 16, 2008 Author Posted September 16, 2008 at a time when i have my own personal disaster, the coinciding disaster makes my problems look like a mere inconvenience... is it true that we now are facing a serious domestic terrorism threat that might not necessarily be connected to foreign elements?... if so then maybe it is time to let the dogs loose! while i cant find moral justification for POTA, and TADA... what are our other alternatives? Hardly so THX. If was entirely Indian, the investigators would have found them already. They need funding, recruitment, training, research, spying, ammunition, lodging, planning and practice. Usually these are the things where they get caught. Its very difficult to be discreet in all these. To walk up discreetly, plant a bomb and disappear is easy, but to stay funded, supplied, do the research and planning and still not get caught is not that easy. They definitely have foreign help.
Desi Cartman Posted September 16, 2008 Posted September 16, 2008 ^ plus what are they protesting against ? babri masjid episode .. I dont think many people give a damn about it anymore. In the early 90s I used to hear hindus talking about building a temple there and muslims opposing the idea and getting angry about it but I havent heard anything on the Mandir issue for a while. If u go through the email sent by the terrorists you'll realize that it doesnt make any sense. They are not asking for anything & only giving vague statements to justify it.
suma25 Posted September 16, 2008 Posted September 16, 2008 Hardly so THX. If was entirely Indian' date=' the investigators would have found them already. They need funding, recruitment, training, research, spying, ammunition, lodging, planning and practice. Usually these are the things where they get caught. [b']Its very difficult to be discreet in all these. To walk up discreetly, plant a bomb and disappear is easy, but to stay funded, supplied, do the research and planning and still not get caught is not that easy. They definitely have foreign help. boss some of the training for these terrorist the stuff required for bombs was made in training camps in india have taken place inside in kerala and karnataka while the govt was sleeping over this by the time something was done it was too late so it is not entirely far off when thx said it may be fully home grown they may receive funding from outside but the training, recruitment,lodging all everything was done in india.
Lurker Posted September 16, 2008 Posted September 16, 2008 ^^ Suma if you are reading this. I have been trying to look up some readings on Mumbai gangsters but there is very little on offer. I am talking of 2nd tier gangsters like Rama Naik, Bada Rajan, Ashwin Naik, Mahesh Dolakia and not the usual Dawoods and Chotta Rajan. If you have acess to some good readings can you point me towards them? (As of now J Dey. and Syed Hussain Zaidi are the ones who seem to have the most information).
King Tendulkar Posted September 16, 2008 Posted September 16, 2008 Are some posters finally starting to see the threat of fundamentalist Islam? I sense more and more people are taking their heads out of the sand and seeing the dangers before them. Time for the PC brigade to take hike and the dangers of Islam need to be confronted before more people are blown to pieces!
suma25 Posted September 16, 2008 Posted September 16, 2008 sorry lurker cant help you there much though one of my dad's friends might be able to help will let you know if i get my hands on something though i found this on the net, but i guess you might have already read it... nothing muchbut small info on sadhu shetty http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/articleshow/9794431.cms
Lurker Posted September 16, 2008 Posted September 16, 2008 sorry lurker cant help you there much though one of my dad's friends might be able to help will let you know if i get my hands on something though i found this on the net, but i guess you might have already read it... nothing muchbut small info on sadhu shetty http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/articleshow/9794431.cms Suma, from the link that you suggested. In the meanwhile, the uncrowned king of Mumbai underworld, Karim Lala, eliminated Dawood Ibrahim's brother and the Shetty gang got the supari to eliminate Lala. This brought Shetty close to the `D' company through Chhota Shakeel. See this is exactly why I am looking for some good read. By most accounts Dawood Ibrahim's brother, Shabbir Ibrahim, was killed by Karim Lala's nephews Amirzada/Alamzeb and Samad Khan. In retribution Dawood's henchmen killed the trio of them, as also Karim Lala's brother and Karim Lala sought peace and retired. However who exactly killed the trio is very very murky. As per your link the supari was given to Sadhu Shetty. As per more popular version Dawood, along with Chota Rajan and Anil Parab, shot dead Samad Khan. In another version it was Dagdi Chawl goon Rama Naik who murdered Samad Khan. And then there is the angle of Bada Rajan killing Samad Khan as well, and as a result getting knocked off outside Esplanade Court. It would be awesome if you could lend me some more info. For now since there arent too many books on the subject I may actually write one myself! :winky:
suma25 Posted September 21, 2008 Posted September 21, 2008 ok lurker i checked with my dad's friend he sent me two books one was by j dey and th other on dawood ibrahim then there is another on called most wanted by roli publications he said there arent any books which focussed on smaller second rung dons as sadhushetty n lot
MarathaPride Posted September 22, 2008 Posted September 22, 2008 Indeed...they are gutless...they go around seeking retribution against the innocent muslims or being a bag of hot air, talking about Islamic barbarism and all that, instead of being like the west and making sure that each and every culprit is brought to justice and do our duty in keeping our eyes and ears open for these Islamic haraamkhors who'd destroy our nation and reporting them to the authorities. The concept of the "innocent overall Muslim community" demands serious reevaluation after recent reactions of the Delhi Muslims. Now, does this mean that every single Muslim in every part of India must be put under the scanner...no, absolutely not. But increased surveillance of Muslim communities in major metro areas (Mumbai, Delhi, B'lore etc..) is absolutely crucial in combating this evil. It is clear that this "Innocent Muslim Community" is not doing much on their own to root out the scum plaguing our nation. Sadly, expecting anything like this from the current lot of gutless psec politicans is asking for way too much...a hard-right BJP government is the need of the hour. Apologies to those Indian Muslims who are truly patriotic (and yes, I recognize that there are several of them)..but after on incident after another, the options this nation has are not particularly plentiful.
DomainK Posted September 22, 2008 Author Posted September 22, 2008 The concept of the "innocent overall Muslim community" demands serious reevaluation after recent reactions of the Delhi Muslims. Now, does this mean that every single Muslim in every part of India must be put under the scanner...no, absolutely not. But increased surveillance of Muslim communities in major metro areas (Mumbai, Delhi, B'lore etc..) is absolutely crucial in combating this evil. It is clear that this "Innocent Muslim Community" is not doing much on their own to root out the scum plaguing our nation. Sadly, expecting anything like this from the current lot of gutless psec politicans is asking for way too much...a hard-right BJP government is the need of the hour. Apologies to those Indian Muslims who are truly patriotic (and yes, I recognize that there are several of them)..but after on incident after another, the options this nation has are not particularly plentiful. Good post. Where we need to keep a close watch on all Muslims in metros, we must not forget that there still are many Muslims who love India. I am saying this because I know this. I have Muslim friends who not only love India, but even hate Pakistan for all the terrorist activities. Needless to say, they are all highly educated people.
Desi Cartman Posted September 22, 2008 Posted September 22, 2008 all this also makes me wonder why groups like Bajrang dal arent getting banned. Those groups are creating hatred which in future might create terrorists.
DomainK Posted September 22, 2008 Author Posted September 22, 2008 all this also makes me wonder why groups like Bajrang dal arent getting banned. Those groups are creating hatred which in future might create terrorists. Bajrang dal, VHP, Shiv Sena and MNS.....all should get banned along with all the parties associated with Islam, Christanism or any other religion. People like Shiv Sena are only left with the job of beating up couples on valentines day. We dont need these pests in India......we dont need parties that thrive on communal politics. We seriously need to take a break from religion and allow people to realize the fact that we are Indians first. And people are ready to believe and behave that way. Only these parties are pulling them back.