fineleg Posted December 4, 2008 Posted December 4, 2008 http://finance.yahoo.com/college-education/article/106254/College-May-Become-Unaffordable-for-Most-in-US
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 4, 2008 Posted December 4, 2008 Good there is internet and anyone who needs to educate oneself can do so free of cost and appear for the exam in the end..Hope they have enough resources to manage the yearly exam at least.
fineleg Posted December 4, 2008 Author Posted December 4, 2008 what the hell is good abt college being unaffordable? Internet education cannot substitute.
Holysmoke Posted December 4, 2008 Posted December 4, 2008 Dont worry. Like it or not, colleges and educational institutions are a business. They'll figure out some way to survive.
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 4, 2008 Posted December 4, 2008 what the hell is good abt college being unaffordable? Internet education cannot substitute. I subscribe to the views that socalled formal education is impediment in path of knowledge.. This way there will be more freedom to choose whatever one wants to pursue . No societal pressure nothing.. Best thing is education affoordable to more or less everybody see how brilliant is that
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 4, 2008 Posted December 4, 2008 Dont worry. Like it or not' date=' colleges and educational institutions are a business. They'll figure out some way to survive.[/quote'] I think video classes will come in voggue.. i am all for it no need to go to college get yourself educated at home.. Best thign is less education cost means it ebcomes affordable for percentage of population.
Holysmoke Posted December 4, 2008 Posted December 4, 2008 I subscribe to the views that socalled formal education is impediment in path of knowledge.. This way there will be more freedom to choose whatever one wants to pursue . No societal pressure nothing.. Best thing is education affoordable to more or less everybody see how brilliant is that Resulting in less motivation and millions of photoshop users and web developers, and next to none civil, chemical, or mechanical engineers, and very few doctors.
Holysmoke Posted December 4, 2008 Posted December 4, 2008 I think video classes will come in voggue.. i am all for it no need to go to college get yourself educated at home.. Best thign is less education cost means it ebcomes affordable for percentage of population. Yes, perform surgeries on dead bodies at home, and while you're at it, also learn how zinc reacts with HCL
fineleg Posted December 4, 2008 Author Posted December 4, 2008 Dada_Rocks, Are you going to homeschool your kids? Some families in US do it, but I hear its got its pros and cons.
cybervickey Posted December 5, 2008 Posted December 5, 2008 isnt oaba gonna give everyone who wants to go to college 4k /sem in grants ?
fineleg Posted December 5, 2008 Author Posted December 5, 2008 ^ well, some are. But there are some really bright kids too.
punjabi_khota Posted December 5, 2008 Posted December 5, 2008 finey is already worried about her kids. They will not go to school, will have to be home schooled and listen to whining all their life. They will turn out fine.
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 5, 2008 Posted December 5, 2008 Dada_Rocks, Are you going to homeschool your kids? Some families in US do it, but I hear its got its pros and cons. Have not decided yet.. Itani bhi chinta kya yaar abhi se..
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 5, 2008 Posted December 5, 2008 Yes' date=' perform surgeries on dead bodies at home, and while you're at it, also learn how zinc reacts with HCL[/quote'] Those can be arranged man have faith..
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 5, 2008 Posted December 5, 2008 isnt oaba gonna give everyone who wants to go to college 4k /sem in grants ? There is a Jewsih proverb: Candidate's election promises are worth as much as a garlic's skin.:--D
gs Posted December 5, 2008 Posted December 5, 2008 ^ well' date=' some are. But there are some really bright kids too.[/quote'] If you dont factor in the kids of immigrants (mainly Indian and "Asian"), you will probably find 0.005% of the US kids are bright.
THX_1138 Posted December 6, 2008 Posted December 6, 2008 already is... my fee bill this semester was $8987. though for the sake of full disclosure, it does include a $291 library fine that will be refunded when they get their books back.
vadodaravictor Posted December 6, 2008 Posted December 6, 2008 If you dont factor in the kids of immigrants (mainly Indian and "Asian")' date=' you will probably find 0.005% of the US kids are bright.[/quote'] There is an Indian fellow in my group who went to ivy league school here for his undergrad. No offence, but he is utter crap. His fundamentals and basics are goofed up. I think he was hired looking at his ivy league degree instead of a comprehensive interview. Man..I get so pissed off whenever I see him.
gs Posted December 6, 2008 Posted December 6, 2008 There is an Indian fellow in my group who went to ivy league school here for his undergrad. No offence, but he is utter crap. His fundamentals and basics are goofed up. I think he was hired looking at his ivy league degree instead of a comprehensive interview. Man..I get so pissed off whenever I see him. There are exceptions in every scenario. By and large the kids of first generation immigrants are pretty good. Then again, American highschool education ka tho bhagwan maalik!