Prudent Posted December 11, 2008 Posted December 11, 2008 United Nations Security Council has placed sanctions against Pakistan-based Jamaat-ud-Dawa, a front organisation for Lashkar-e-Toiba (LeT), declaring it a terrorist organisation. Four top leaders of LeT including Hafiz Muhammad Saeed, Zaki-ur-Rehman Lakhvi, Haji Muhammad Ashraf and Zaki-ur-Bahaziq have also been declared terrorists by the UNSC. India had demanded ban on the outfit following terrorist attacks in Mumbai which were suspected to have been orchestrated by Lashkar. Imposing the sanctions, the Council asked all member States to freeze their assets and imposed travel ban and arms embargo against them. http://ibnlive.in.com/news/unsc-bans-lashkar-front-jamaatuddawa/80279-2.html
Lurker Posted December 11, 2008 Posted December 11, 2008 CNN is carrying it now as well, plus similar news. The Security Council's al Qaeda and Taliban Sanctions Committee added to the list: group leader Muhammad Saeed, chief of operations Zakir Rehman Lakhvi, finance chief Haji Muhammad Ashraf and financier Mahmoud Mohammad Ahmed Bahaziq. Bahaziq was also a former leader of the group in Saudi Arabia. http://www.cnn.com/2008/WORLD/asiapcf/12/10/un.lashkar/index.html Looks like this whole episode would put a big dent on Pakistan
jf1gp_1 Posted December 11, 2008 Posted December 11, 2008 WOW... what a great job, they banned a branch of LeT, by they way starting today they are called Jamaat-e- HAHAHA-ban
milkman Posted December 11, 2008 Posted December 11, 2008 Sums up my views this quote- The bans are useless. Dawood has been declared a terrorist for 5 years now. What's happened? nothing.. zilch.. nada.Does not the US know the truth about Hafiz Saeed and Azhar..What about the IC814 hijackers?
suraj Posted December 11, 2008 Posted December 11, 2008 Sums up my views this quote- Exactly- bans are useless, round up these bastards and get rid of them
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 11, 2008 Posted December 11, 2008 these cosmetics were achieved even in 2001 where LEt was banned.. it serves no purpose at all albeit givs a dilpomatic talkign point to India andembarrassment to pakistanin beyond that name-platew is change and the operation continues.. when you have a govt ready to give these moron shelters naming this or that brand og jihadi is nothng beyond feel-good
Lurker Posted December 11, 2008 Posted December 11, 2008 these cosmetics were achieved even in 2001 where LEt was banned.. it serves no purpose at all albeit givs a dilpomatic talkign point to India andembarrassment to pakistanin beyond that name-platew is change and the operation continues.. when you have a govt ready to give these moron shelters naming this or that brand og jihadi is nothng beyond feel-good Of course it helps. Putting them under the list of banned groups ensures that these organizations/fronts dont operate publicly, which they have been doing right now. What that in turn means is that you shall not have public discourse of preaching of hatred, nor shall you have easy access to money(most likely the assetts would be immediately frozen). I do agree with you about help by Govts(Pakistan) but banning is a significant move. Is it the move that will kill terrorism? Of course not. There are a series of steps that shall need to be taken, and this is one of those.
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 11, 2008 Posted December 11, 2008 Of course it helps. Putting them under the list of banned groups ensures that these organizations/fronts dont operate publicly, which they have been doing right now. What that in turn means is that you shall not have public discourse of preaching of hatred, nor shall you have easy access to money(most likely the assetts would be immediately frozen). I do agree with you about help by Govts(Pakistan) but banning is a significant move. Is it the move that will kill terrorism? Of course not. There are a series of steps that shall need to be taken, and this is one of those. How naive example of hwo they operate publicly with the names changed is right in front of your eyes LET banned ;up comes Jamaat-ul-Dawah This time Muhamamd-ul_Jihad or sothg similar might prop up , they don;t even need to start from scratch since govt in power in pakistan makes sure their infrastructure remains intact. Even helps in their name-plate change endeavour. this is nothign show will keep going on unless whole organization not just its name is targetted..
Lurker Posted December 11, 2008 Posted December 11, 2008 How naive example of hwo they operate publicly with the names changed is right in front of your eyes LET banned ;up comes Jamaat-ul-Dawah This time Muhamamd-ul_Jihad or sothg similar might prop up , they don;t even need to start from scratch since govt in power in pakistan makes sure their infrastructure remains intact. Even helps in their name-plate change endeavour. this is nothign show will keep going on unless whole organization not just its name is targetted.. Thats what I had suggested that this is only one step and other needs to be taken. Of course you didnt read that part. By the way opening and closing fronts are not as easy as you make it out to be. It takes a lot of time to establish a group, close connections, process, bank accounts yada yada. I remember very well how many different group of Communists Parties, mostly ML, variety used to be in the backwaters of Bihar. Mostl of them were supportive of squatting rights and were against upper caste landlords. Some of these were outlawed and it made a dent in the state of affairs. Of course the other side of the coin was that the law was enforced. So yes banning will matter. At the same time law should be enforced. However one doesnt exist without the other. How can you expect forces to hunt down LeT without the ban? Their lawyers will immediately argue that it is a legitimate front and under no law has been made illegal. Is that what you want? xxx
Fontaine Posted December 11, 2008 Posted December 11, 2008 This highlights the deeper, and dumber issues of a rogue state like Pakistan where banned oragnisations setup different fronts to take the heat off. Makes Zardari look like a real ***** for his interiew with Larry King. "No, Larry Bhai, I very much doubt he (captured terrorist) is Pakistani." Bring this stupid mofo back on air and how about asking him some tougher follow up questions?
Lurker Posted December 11, 2008 Posted December 11, 2008 "No' date= Larry Bhai, I very much doubt he (captured terrorist) is Pakistani." Bring this stupid mofo back on air and how about asking him some tougher follow up questions? :hysterical::hysterical: The two bhaala-dhaaris behind him would probably come in handy this time :--D
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 12, 2008 Posted December 12, 2008 http://www.ndtv.com/convergence/ndtv/mumbaiterrorstrike/Story.aspx?ID=NEWEN20080076242&type=News Pakistan is basically doing all this to avoid being declared terrorist nation, no conviction whatsoeve in controlling thigns just pathc-up work to avoid that terrorist tag
Lurker Posted December 12, 2008 Posted December 12, 2008 http://www.ndtv.com/convergence/ndtv/mumbaiterrorstrike/Story.aspx?ID=NEWEN20080076242&type=News Pakistan is basically doing all this to avoid being declared terrorist nation, no conviction whatsoeve in controlling thigns just pathc-up work to avoid that terrorist tag You seem to have issues no matter what the situation :(( Bhale aadmi this whole episode has put Pakistan on defence seriously. I doubt any country today supports Pakistan's version(had China supported Pakistan they would not vote for a ban). All evidences, collected by Indian/Western agencies, point to Pakistan. Many of these have been mentioned in media, at home and abroad. To cap it Pakistan's PM called out a "phone" call about potential strike that turned out to be hoax. Long story short Pakistan has little credibility. Now that Pakistan is defeated on diplomatic front, lets up the ante on economic side. Pakistan's economy is tottering anyway. So the threat of being a terrorist state is very real. I say thus far even though I am not 100% convinced all my grievances has been addressed I do feel the current regime has been quite successful in pushing Pakistan into a corner and isolating it. xxx
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 12, 2008 Posted December 12, 2008 You seem to have issues no matter what the situation :(( Bhale aadmi this whole episode has put Pakistan on defence seriously. I doubt any country today supports Pakistan's version(had China supported Pakistan they would not vote for a ban). All evidences, collected by Indian/Western agencies, point to Pakistan. Many of these have been mentioned in media, at home and abroad. To cap it Pakistan's PM called out a "phone" call about potential strike that turned out to be hoax. Long story short Pakistan has little credibility. Now that Pakistan is defeated on diplomatic front, lets up the ante on economic side. Pakistan's economy is tottering anyway. So the threat of being a terrorist state is very real. I say thus far even though I am not 100% convinced all my grievances has been addressed I do feel the current regime has been quite successful in pushing Pakistan into a corner and isolating it. xxx Because I have seen this event shaping out on these predictable lines too often...Pakistan has lost credibility since quite sometime now.Ii am interested in the real effort . Unless I see the real change I will remain sceptic of all this. The way things are pakistanis arre playing the same old game.. Whether indians once again are willing to be hoodwinked by these cosmetic measures remain to be seen. I do have bigger hope thsi time though ArooN purie of India-today has declared a non-stop campaign till some definite action is taken action terror . I always felt media is what drives the debate and urgency and all these years media was in collusion wiht do-nothing-policy of UPA. Hope somethign comes out of it this time but I will continue to besceptical till the real development happens.
Lurker Posted December 12, 2008 Posted December 12, 2008 Because I have seen this event shaping out on these predictable lines too often...Pakistan has lost credibility since quite sometime now.Ii am interested in the real effort . Unless I see the real change I will remain sceptic of all this. . You have started to remind me of that ultimate depressing song sung by Mukesh Woh tere pyaar ka gham ek bahaana tha sanam apni kismat hi kuch aisi thi ke dil toot gaya yeh na hota to koi doosra gham hona tha main to woh hoon ke jisse har haal mein bas rona tha Muskurata bhi agar to chalak jaati nazar apni kismat hi kuch aisi thi ke dil toot gaya. :cheer::cheer::cheer:
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 12, 2008 Posted December 12, 2008 Well that's what reality has been so far.... Hamen jhuth muth ka optimism nahin aata hai.. waise bhi I belive in pessimism of intellect and optimism of will.. And all thsi I am typing comes from my intellect, will to duniya jitane ka hai and that will remain but that must not obfuscate the real assessment of reality
Lurker Posted December 12, 2008 Posted December 12, 2008 ^^ Saale bhari jawaani mein itna maayusi?? abhi to tamaam umar gujaarni hai bandhu.